Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Oceanfront in the National Seashore

South Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 9712
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 200 Feet to private beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 12 years, 7 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Solymar on the Atlantic

My wife and I rented this wonderful cottage for a week's get together with our three daughters. We have been visiting the Cape (South Wellfleet and North Truro) for 35+ years. We all agreed that it was certainly at the top of the list of all the ones we have rented! First of all, it is perched on 100 foot dunes that overlook the Atlantic with easy access to vast beaches on which you could walk all the way to Provincetown if you so desired.

The views are perfect from the deck or from the inside of the cottage. It is located in an ideal spot from which you can reach Wellfleet Town and the Town Pier very easily for groceries and fresh seafood. The cottage itself is equipped with every comfort you could possible need. The one question I had concerning trash and recyclables was quickly answered by a call to the caretaker, who told us not to hesitate to contact him if anything came up that needed attention. Nothing did, as we spent a most comfortable and relaxing week enjoying the sights and sounds of the seashore. Our stay more than surpassed our expectations … we hope to return soon!

Phil & Cindy Cykon
Montpelier, Vermont

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Montpelier, VT
Member since Oct 2020
Wonderful Oceanside Stay!

We had a wonderful stay in this oceanside retreat. The pictures and listing were spot on for location and overall home description. The short stroll to the beach was a wonderful daily treat for us, our 2 children and dog. There are a lot of stairs (83) down the dune to the beach but the reward was so well worth it! If stairs are a problem, the public entrance is a short 5 minute walk (with dog and kids) from the house.

We had a very minor issue due to a strong storm during our stay and once reported, we were immediately greeted at the house by a lovely gentleman who made all repairs fast and asked if we needed anything else while he was there! Nothing short of pure professionalism and great customer service by him and the owner, Anne.

Waking to the ocean sunrise and falling asleep to the crashing waves were by far the highlights of this trip! We would absolutely be delighted to stay at this well equipped and beautifully located home in the future again!

Wellfleet is truly a place to be treasured and enjoyed slowly :)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Amherst, NH
Member since Jan 2013
Family Gathering

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home. The views from the leaving space and outdoor upper deck were spectacular. The house is modern, warmly decorated and easily accommodated everyone (5 adults in our party). Easy access to the beach - which allowed for long walks daily. Staying in Wellfleet allowed for great day trips throughout the Cape area.

Anne and her management team were great to work with - really made the stay very enjoyable. Hope to return soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2019
Date Submitted: May 2019
Cary, NC
Member since May 2019
We will return

My husband and I have been choosing a spring Cape getaway for years. This year the house we usually rent was unavailable. We took a chance on Sol y Mar and it's our new #1 choice. Location, location, location! It's on a quiet little dead-end street that ends at a dune cliff with an unbelievable view. It's a beautiful home with so many comforts. The upstairs kitchen-living-room open space is brilliant...that's where you'll hang our with a non-stop view. The kitchen is beautiful, well designed and stocked with great appliances and dishes. The beds are super comfortable in rooms that were toasty warm on those cool spring nights. There are two sweet, brand new bathrooms that warm up super fast on chilly mornings.

I lived on the upper deck with my binoculars watching birds and for whale spouts. And I saw lots of both! Because it was spring, the stairs to get to the shore were not in place yet so getting down the dune to walk along the surf is a quick 3 minute walk.

I don't think the descriptions or photos do this property justice. It's a gem that we will be returning to, for sure.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Member since Mar 2017
Breathtaking Serenity

We have stayed at Sol & Mar many times and always leave feeling relaxed and refreshed. The setting is so perfect and with the large floor to ceiling windows you can see everything right from the living space. Watching the ocean and the clouds and sometimes spying whales right from the window make the stay even more magical. The house is always clean and the owner couldn't be more delightful. Anne knows Wellfleet so well and has wonderful recommendations for where to eat and what fun activities are around. We love Sol y Mar!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: March 2019
Date Submitted: March 2019
Skaneateles, NY
Member since Mar 2019

This property and the owner will only set your VRBO standard higher. The description is spot on. If you do not have experience with an upside down house, this will encourage a very positive opinion. A note in the very robust Renter's Guide (found easily on the kitchen table) politely requests renters be mindful of the outdoor lighting, and only put the lights on sparingly as a courtesy to the neighbors. Well, with the long bank of huge windows facing the ocean, we found an extra bonus: Enjoying the Star showers and star gazing at night with all the lights off. The night time view is strong competition for the glorious view of the ocean during the day. The appliances and such are all updated and worked prefectly. Although 'small', we hosted another family of two adults and three children under 14. No problem. We stayed between Christmas and after New Years, and were warm and comfortable every moment. The Kitchen is well supplied, with matching cutlery and sharp knives (you know how that can go many times). Our dog, a southern hunting mut, absolutely loved it. Be mindful about Ticks and the expected wildlife just out the door. We enjoyed the home immensely. The huge windows and sliders allow a 'small structural footprint' to be perceived as a larger place. We hiked daily along the beach below, and also enjoyed hiking the Province Lands out by P-Town (a must!). The French boulangerie , just up the road is a super plus. We loved the rustic environment around the home, and also the simplicity of the home itself (updated, clean & homey with breathtaking views). * The Owner, Anne, was most welcoming and accommodating. By far, Anne sets the standard for VRBO owners. We will be returning for sure. Just leave us time around the Christmas Holidays ;)

Date of Stay: December 2018
Date Submitted: February 2019
Mary H
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Spectacular views and setting with all of the amenities of a bright, comfortable house with plenty of room for 6. We will definitely be returning for a longer stay!

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: February 2019
Sophie H
Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful beach cottage- just as advertised

The property was just as the description read, location was ideal. If you are looking for an easy going house for a relaxing beach vacation, this is the one.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: February 2019
Lindsay H
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Location, Location, Location = VIEWS!115 Rockwell Avenue, Wellfleet, MA, 02667, United States
Date of Stay
Jun 16, 2018
Helpful votes: 0/0
We were initially concerned about the square footage of the home but no issues - we were upstairs and on the deck most of our home time and bedrooms were sufficient. Kitchen was fully stocked and so were the beach needs (chairs, umbrellas). Two entrances to the beach (which is the best - few folks, clean and unlimited views), closest one has 82 stairs with a rope handrail - (we used it as our exercise challenge) and the other is a dune walk, which is not a far walk either. Bikes were easily delivered and picked up at home. Book this one- you will love it!

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: February 2019
Barbara B
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful setting, fantastic views!

Although mother nature was not kind to us this week, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the upper deck is gorgeous. It's a nice quiet location and easy to get to. We will certainly try our luck here again. Thank you!

Date of Stay: April 2018
Date Submitted: February 2019
Mark l
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Well, sadly our wonderful week has come to an end. Everyone agreed that yours is the best place we have ever rented. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! The views from the living room and decks are amazing! We ate almost every meal out at the picnic table on the upper deck, so that we could take in the magnificent ocean view, and hear the waves. The walk to the beach is short, and includes a long stairway, and therefore we never needed a car. The beautiful beach is expansive and clean, with a good surf most of the time. The cottage is gorgeous, with all the amenities we needed, and the beds were so comfortable, we slept better than we do at home. We would rent again in September if there were a week available. --Donna P

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2019
Donna P
CT
(Homeowner Entered)