Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Pet-Friendly 3-Br, 2-Ba Ranch Home with WiFi, HDTV & W/D!
South Yarmouth Vacation Rental - ID 14849

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 0.2 mile to Long Pond Beach
Guest Reviews: 58 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 1 month
Contact details:
  Email Scott Laughlin
Contact Scott Laughlin, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (215) 275-1685 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 14849 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
58 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great house on the Cape!

This is a fine house to rent..convenient to major roads, but in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance to a nice lake. House is well stocked and supplied in every respect. I personally loved the outdoor shower! Our dog Newman felt at home here, and the house was very dog friendly. Scott, the owner , actually cares about your experience at his house, and it shows!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Dear Daniel,

So glad that you, the family and Newman had a great first vacation at Long Pond Cottage, and thanks for already reserving your week for 2018!

Voorhees, NJ
Member since Jul 2017
Jewel Box of the Cape!

Long Pond Cottage is a beautiful home. Scott took such care to prepare it to receive us upon arrival. We enjoyed breakfast each morning and dinner most evenings in the dining room. Our daughter loved making s'mores on the grill after dinner. We also relished eating at our favorite local restaurants: Seafood Sams and Yarmouth House. My husband and I had an amazing date at Harvest Wine Gallery on Thursday night with amazing cocktails and danced into the night to live jazz and blues. We will cherish the memories made this summer staying at Long Pond Cottage. Thank you again for trusting us to stay in and care for your home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Dear Dee,
So glad that everyone enjoyed the cottage, and that the backyard was well used by all. I have never been to Harvest Wine Gallery, so thanks for the tip and I look forward to trying that place out when I get back up there myself!
Scott

Mamaroneck, NY
Member since Jul 2017
Hidden jewel on Cape Cod!!

This is a marvelous place for families and kids of all ages or your family dogs. It is very close to Long Pond which has a nice playground for younger kids, basketball court, and a wonderful beach. There is also a great spot right around the corner from this house for dropping in your kayaks- so convenient and private that we felt comfortable leaving our kayaks on the water's edge for the week. The house had everything from books to toys and a well equipped kitchen with every possible appliance. The neighborhood was quiet and and no traffic so great walking for the family and dog. The large patio was perfect for grilling and evening meals and playing frisbee with the dog. Scott has thought of everything and is really focused on his guests having a perfect vacation. I highly recommend this fun and cute house PLUS a gracious and responsive owner!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Dear Carol,
It was great to have you, your family & your Portuguese Water Dogs at the house! Thank you so much for the compliments on the way we've stocked the house for your comfort in mind! I look forward to having you back next year!

Marlborough, MA
Member since Jul 2017
Wonderful vacation home for a family!

My family and I had a wonderful week here! The house was exactly as described and perfect for our needs. The house is very clean and well-maintained, and it is obvious that Scott, the owner, has put a lot of time and care into taking care of the house. We brought our dog, and it was very easy to have her there with the fenced in back yard and crates available for her when we were out of the house. Our dog enjoyed lots of walks in the neighborhood, in a recreation area in West Dennis and on a trail near a beach.

Our kids ages 14 and 10 slept comfortably in the bedroom with 2 twin beds and the adults had plenty of space in the other bedrooms. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything we needed and more! We enjoyed having a barbecue one night and loved having breakfast out on the patio every morning.

Scott's specific instructions about the house made it easy to take care of everything we needed that week. He was available by text when I had a question and was very helpful! The house is close to a lake, beaches, restaurants, mini golf, an inflatable park for the kids, supermarkets etc. If we plan another vacation in Cape Cod, I would be happy to stay here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Dear Lisa,

It was so great to have you, the family (and your dog!) at Long Pond Cottage for the first time. I do hope you become another one of our regular vacationers! So glad the house served your needs so well, and that you enjoyed all that Cape Cod has to offer in the Spring!

Maplewood, NJ
Member since Jul 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Long Pond Cottage. This beautifully decorated home is full of charm and provides a great home away from home on the Cape. Beach weather had not yet arrived during our visit, so we spent our days exploring the area. Some highlights included Whydah Pirate Museum, Heritage Museum and Gardens, Edward Gorey House, and the Cape Cod Natural History Museum and Trail. The kitchen is small, but well equipped. There is a great fish market close by and we grilled shrimp and fish a couple of nights. Owner Scott is a pleasure to deal with and very accommodating. When we reported a broken toaster, he had a new one sent to the house. Long Pond Cottage is also one of the nicest dog friendly homes we have rented, with dog crates, sofa cover provided, and a very nice fenced back yard. The neighborhood with its pond is very charming and perfect for walks. Our Porties give it 5 stars, too.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Kelly A
Gettysburg, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

I've rented close to 20 houses on VRBO/HomeAway and Scott's cottage in South Yarmouth may be my all-time favorite. Loved the layout, decor, comfort level, fenced yard, great location, and especially how welcoming Scott is towards his canine guests (including dog beds, crates and blankets for the furniture!) Clancy and I enjoyed trips to the National Seashore, meals from Arthur's Clam Shack in Eastham, pies from Marion's Pie Shop in Chatham (cannot overstate how incredible these were), and just chilling in the family room or backyard. We hope to be back with more friends next year!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
Serena L
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

This was our second time staying at Long Pond Cottage and it once again did not disappoint us. It definitely gave us the feeling of home away from home. It's location was perfect for us as we attended a wedding in Chatham and made many quick visits to the beach, taking advantage of beautiful late-September weather. The layout of Scott's home worked perfectly for us and was equally convenient to manage the dogs over the long weekend. Scott was very helpful with restaurant and travel logistics. We'll definitely keep this on our regular go to rental list. Thanks Scott.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
Jim & Jody K
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

I have been renting houses on the cape for 20 years. I can honestly say this is the best house I've ever rented, and I can't wait to rent it again next year. The house is in a lovely neighborhood and a 5 min walk to Long Pond. My kids and my dog loved swimming in the pond and playing on the playground. It is a nice quiet neighborhood with pretty homes and friendly neighbors. It's a 1 min drive to route 28, so easy access wherever you are headed. If you have kids there is plenty to do within 10 mins of the house - beaches, arcades, golf, ice cream, shopping, etc. It's a great location. The house is roomy, clean and I personally really liked how it was decorated. It felt like a beach house, but it wasn't cluttered with too much beachy stuff. Everything is well organized and easy to fine. Scott is on top of everything. I am pretty picky, but I honestly can't say anything negative about the place. The best part was that my 11 year old son who hates renting houses (why would we stay in a house smaller than ours that doesn't have any of our stuff?) actually enjoyed himself and wants to go back!!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
Kristen & Brian M
Attleboro, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Scott, what a relaxing and enjoyable home for a vacation, it was more then we could have imagined, everything for a kitchen was available for all of our cooking needs. The decor just lovely, as well as your photos on the walls.we never made it to the estate sale,but thank you for that info. There was so much to do, the lake, the beachs. Shopping and more.My granddaughter is still talking about the vacation house she was so happy , we will definitely be back ,Thank you again and I will be in touch about next summer. , Peace, Lori, & Bob

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
Lori & Bob M
Milford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

As soon as we walked in the door we fell in love. This house is decorated with beautiful photography, pottery items and the furniture is perfect. We loved how we could close off half of the house after the children went to bed and there were plenty of kitchen supplies. We had a great time and look forward to next year in this perfect house! Thanks Scott!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
Lisa & Derek M
Scotia, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

When we walked into Long Pond Cottage, we were overwhelmed at how beautiful and tranquil the house makes you feel. There is plenty of room in the house for 6 people. The house was cleaned to the hilt. It feels very private with the beautiful shrubbery in the front of the house. It has everything to offer for comfort and we wanted for nothing when we cooked our dinners in the well stocked kitchen. The comfort of the TV room was beyond words, we could have sat in that room all day, very cozy. Scott has decorated the house impeccably. The neighborhood is beautiful, a walk to the lake is well in order. We chatted with Tony across the street and he was very gracious and helpful. Our big adventure was to get out to Martha's Vineyard in Oaks Bluff, well worth the time as the boat ride and Oaks Bluff is fantastic. Also, we stopped at the Metal Detector store and talked to Eleanor who had plenty of stories. Scott, thank.you for a beautiful vacation at Long Pond Cottage, see ya next year, John & Leah

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
John & Leah W
Highland Falls, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

...It had been a few years since our last stay at the lovely cottage and if possible, it was even better than remembered. The cozy home is so comfortable with two "living rooms" for stretching out and relaxing -- and the entire house is decorated perfectly so you don't feel like you're in a rental! Since our last visit, Scott has redone the master bathroom and it's a great update. And while we enjoyed every minute at the house, we had forgotten how incredibly convenient the location is! My husband got to golf some great courses and I found that I was never far away from some great attractions (such as the Heritage Museum in Sandwich) or shopping in Chatham, or great photography drives. Also, grocery and drug stores are less than five minutes from the house even though the cottage is tucked on a quiet street, just a short walk from Long Pond. Logan, our big goofy dog, couldn't get enough of romping in the back yard and we never had to worry because it is all securely fenced in -- a great convenience! Scott is a pleasure to deal with and really wants his guests to feel at home and make the most of their time on the Cape. ...We couldn't have asked for more....and can't wait to return for another visit!!!

Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: July 2017
Barbara P
Cranston, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

We found Long Pond Cottage clean and inviting upon our arrival. The decor was playful and very Cape Cod. In other words, delightful! Was impressed with the care and thought the owner put into making our stay comfortable and relaxing and creating a charming home away from home. The location is ideal, centrally located to all the must-see attractions and Routes 6, 6A and 28. Churchill found the backyard exciting, to say the least. So many new things to investigate! The area was secure and dog friendly as well. We look forward to visiting again to celebrate the anniversary of our Big Event

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: July 2017
Sharon S
Glenside, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

Scott was incredibly responsive, professional and easy to work with. Should I ever rent a vacation property, I will model myself after him. His welcome book should be published...it covers everything.

The home is the perfectly decorated cape house and better equipped than most homes - kitchen, electronics, everything you need! The fenced in backyard was perfect for our mini Schnauzer to wander safely, play fetch or just sit beside us while we enjoyed our morning coffee or afternoon read.

We will be back. Thank you, Scott, for your sharing your home and the thoughtfulness you took to ensure your guests, both 2 legged and 4, have everything they need.

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Jane & Bob D
Londonderry, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

I am so glad my "human" family chose this house for our vacation. I know it can be difficult to find dog friendly properties, but they hit the jackpot with this place!! My tail is still wagging every time I think of that big fenced in backyard with so many new places to sniff and explore! We all loved going for walks to Long Pond which was so close and easy to get to. Mom and Dad loved that the master bedroom suite was so private while the 16 yr old twins loved that their bedrooms were on the other side of the house, too! We all loved eating outdoors but found the lovely dining room a great place for playing board games and cards. The chess and checker table was really neat! I lay right under it as the nightly challenges took place. After long days at the beach,the outdoor shower was a favorite for everyone, but me! This house is so conveniently located to beaches, shopping and restaurants. My personal favorite eating establishment is The Dog House on Lower County Rd. in Dennis where dogs are welcomed! The owner even took my picture and placed it on their Facebook page! He gave me doggie treats too, while my family rave about the hot dogs, hand cut fries and onion rings. Scott, the owner of the this great home, also loves dogs and he is very responsive to any need that may arise. We all had a fantastic time here and next year maybe we'll get to stay for two weeks! I give this lovely Long Pond Cottage the top rating of four paws up!! Thank you, Scott! Annie, the Boston Terrier

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Denise & Kyran R
Weymouth, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Homey, comfortable base to explore the Cape

My wife and I (+ son and friend for 2 days) recently spent a week at this property. Our first visit to Cape Cod and our first trip with Chloe, our 9 year old lab/pit-bull mix.

We chose the perfect place - comfortable, homey, dog friendly (fenced in back yard - perfect for Chloe) tastefully equipped with furniture to match the home's character.

This home is centrally located and it was easy to get around the Cape. We took the opportunity to visit most of the major towns/areas. Our favorite was Wellfleet, mainly because it had managed to keep its village feel, its old-world charm, and the harbor had not been converted into a modern marina. We also took Chloe on long walks to Coast Guard Beach (30 minutes drive to Eastham but well worth it - dogs need to be on a lead at all times). We managed to avoid the high summer (starts June 19th) car parking fees of $15!
Another highlight of the stay was Marion's Pie Shop (mentioned in the welcome folder). Best pies outside of the UK :-) .

Overall, a comfortable, relaxing week spent in a well equipped, tastefully decorated, charming home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: June 2014
Owner Response:

So glad all of you had a wonderful first visit to Cape Cod, and that our Long Pond Cottage was the perfect respite for your daily treks!! I SO LOVE Marion's Pie Shop in Chatham, always get their seafood pies when I'm up there!! I do hope that you become another one of our regulars!

Landenberg, PA
Member since Nov 2013

We needed to find lodging around the Hyannis area as my daughter and her friend were running the 1/2 marathon....in Feb no less. Scott's Long Pond house ended up being the ideal situation. The layout of the home worked real well, the fires made us feel right at home, and the dogs enjoyed the fenced in yard. The proximity to the Nantucket beaches was perfect too, as we walked there each day (fortunately the weather cooperated with sunny skies and decent temps each day). The location of the property made it very easy to get to the different Cape locations we wanted to visit. Thanks Scott.

Date of Stay: February 2014
Date Submitted: February 2014
Jim & Jody K
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved our stay at Long Pond Cottage! The house is exactly like the photos, so there were no surprises. It is beautiful inside & out! We felt at home, so it was easy to relax. It's wonderfully decorated and very clean.

There are so many cool places to curl up with a book, (if you get that chance). Our little dogs were not scared at all, in fact they got up early every day just to watch the squirrels playing outside! They really enjoyed playing in the backyard....They loved it as much as we did. The house is in a nice neighborhood with very little traffic, but it's just a 3 minute drive to the beach or to Bass River.

There are restaurants & stores within minutes as well. I had the best lobster chowder at Skippers Restaurant and the pizza at Carluccios was delish!

Overall, this house was amazing and I would stay again in a heartbeat:) thanks Scott!

Date of Stay: October 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Leisa & Jeremy N
Sulpher Springs, TX
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great stay at this cottage. It was perfect for our two families, with the house having practically two wings, one for each of us. The tv room was really cozy. We also enjoyed the backyard, making the most of the great Sept weather and the BBQ. The location was perfect for us to enjoy both the top of the Cape and the beaches and national park, as well as a day trip to Martha's Vineyard. Scott was very helpful and responsive to make the booking and ensure we had a really nice stay. Thanks Scott!

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Monica G
Hennicker, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

This cottage is in the perfect location for enjoying both Dennis and Yarmouth beaches. Aside from being charming, this home is spacious, very clean and offers all amenities. The lovely garden and fenced-in backyard provided the setting for many hours of relaxation. Our Wheaten terrier enjoyed swimming daily in the fresh water pond right down the road. A fantastic location to stay and enjoy the Cape-and a bonus to be able to bring your pup as well. We look forward to coming back for another visit!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Alex & Ellen J
Menands, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family had one of our best vacations at the cottage on Long Pond!! The house was just perfect with a fully stocked kitchen, spacious lay out, and relaxing environment. This was our first time renting a home for vacation, and the family was more than happy! . Everyone had their own space (including our dog). Long Pond is a short walk from the home, and offers a perfect spot for fishing, or just relaxing. Beautiful beaches and golf courses are just a short drive from the home. Also, there are plenty of shops, restaurants, and other attractions very close by. Our family strongly recommends this cottage to anyone looking for a place to call their true home away from home!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Linda & Chet K
Greenwich, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed this property. It was a last minute decision to head up to the Cape for some relaxation, and traveling with a dog could be a problem. We were so lucky to find this rental!

The back yard was great for our dog Riley to run around in, the location was perfect home base to get to the beaches and some great shopping in Hyannis and Chatham. On one of the colder nights we even had a fire in the fireplace. Things to note: On Season the rules are strict regarding dogs on beaches, but if you go up toward the National Seashore, they are allowed passed the lifeguarded areas, and also allowed on most all beaches in Provincetown. We heard that Marconi was the best "dog beach" but the stairs were being replaced so it was closed while we were there.

We can't wait to go back! A true home away from home, complete with our dog! Thanks Scott!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Sheila & Dave G
Gardner, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"If you want to get away to old Cape Cod, have a relaxing stay with
great beaches, fantastic cuisine, and a stay in a spacious artfully
furnished master builders Cape Cod cottage, then you have have found the
right place to stay.

This cottage is in a quiet neighborhood, yet minutes away from shopping,
the ferry, and great restaurants.

We loved staying in this authentic Cape Cod Cape with a large fenced
back yard, just minutes from Dennis Beach but in a quiet old Cape Cod
neighborhood. A gem of a find !

We give it Five Stars *****"

Date of Stay: March 2013
Date Submitted: March 2013
Sean & Vicky M
Bridgeton, ME
(Homeowner Entered)

We love Long Pond Cottage. My wife, dogs and I have stayed several times now at Long Pond and we feel like it is a home away from home for us. The home itself is very comfortable, spotlessly clean, well maintained, beautifully decorated and very spacious. With three bedrooms and two full baths (one recently remodeled), a dining room, living room, den and nice fully fenced in outdoor space you cannot go wrong. Just read the guest book when you get there and you can tell that most people feel the same about Long Pond Cottage. It is easy to tell that the families that stay there care about the place and feel at home when they stay.

The location is ideal. It is situated in a nice quiet neighborhood on the central Cape and easy to get to everything. Take a nice walk with your dogs in the neighborhood, strike up a conversation with a friendly neighbor or walk down to the Long Pond beach. You can do it all right there. Otherwise Nantucket Bay beaches are a quick drive and there is a ton of sightseeing, mini-golf, restaurants, museums and other things to do very close by.

Not much more of a drive and you can be at the national seashore or Provincetown; or you can go in the other direction and visit the Woods Hole area. Long Pond Cottage is the perfect base to get to everything on the Cape. Whatever you want to do there are ample maps and guide books in the living room to explore and figure out what will be your next adventure.

We love the place and think anyone would be happy staying at this home.

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
John & Kim G
Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful stay at your cottage! The house literally had everything you could possibly need. House is very well maintained with clear pride of ownership. It was fun to explore! Played fetch with our dog in fenced-in yard and I used the outdoor shower everyday! Great neighborhood for walks with our son & dog. Nice pond & beach with playground for our son. Great if we didn't feel like lugging everything to the ocean beach. Smugglers beach was really close & perfect for families-nice snack bar & facilities, great boat launch, pier for fishing & warm water beach with terns diving for fish! We enjoyed Seafood Sams & Cape Cod Creamery-both a short walk/bike ride from house. So much so close-great location! Hope to come back someday! Thanks Scott!!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Meghan S
Hudson, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
A great week on the Cape!

We had a great stay at Long Pond Cottage. It was our first visit to Cape Cod and we couldn't have asked for a more centrally located place to call home for the week. The neighborhood was a quiet refuge after long days of sightseeing, shopping, and whale watching. The fact that we were never more than a hour or less from any of our activities allowed us to take advantage of all the area had to offer, and gave us time to relax as well. The house was well appointed and helped to immerse us in the Cape lifestyle. We are looking forward to returning again, maybe during warmer weather to get in some sun bathing!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Owner Response:

So glad you all were able to explore every corner of Cape Cod on your first visit. It was great to have you in our home, and look forward to you coming back in the Summer months!

Abington, PA
Member since Jun 2012

Yes, WE HAD A WONDERFUL VACATION!! Love-love-love your house!!

We have not one complaint-the cottage was perfect. You thought of everything. Lovely décor, comfortable attractive furniture - loved all your rugs too! Neighborhood is quiet and perfect for walking solo or with a canine or two, yet close to 28 and 6 for excursions.

We really got into miniature golf this trip and loved the Pirate’s Cove; two courses, great water features. Laughed ourselves silly. Went to the Edward Gorey Museum; well worth the visit. Tea at both The Dunbar Tea Room and the Optimist Café. Sandwich is fun to walk around and has a cute dog shop; Sandy Paws.

Dining room table was perfect size for Scrabble and card games (our nightly activity). Kitchen was well stocked-but we only use the coffee maker and fridge.

Thanks for the dog crate – we did use yours and set it up in the dining room; two little Italian Greyhounds had plenty of room.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Margaret D
Peekskill, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks Scott for opening your house to us. You have such pride of ownership. It shows in all the decorating you have done including all of your own landscape photography.

My girls loved the antiques around the house.I loved the roomy dining room. Our puppy Cora was happy she had lots of room to walk around. The location in Yarmouth was perfect for us because we could get to route 28 quickly where all the restaurants and stores are conveniently located. A great place for breakfast is the Keltic Kitchen.

Going in April is still off season but we enjoyed our week.Its a good opportunity to explore places such as the nature museum on 6a in Brewster. We took our car on the ferry to Martha's Vineyard for the whole day and spent another day out in Provincetown. The weather was cool on most days but we still managed to go to a different beach each day and park anywhere with ease. Scott even sent us information on an estate sale near by.

We will definitely like to return next season.

Date of Stay: April 2012
Date Submitted: April 2012
oradell, new jersey, usa
Member since Apr 2012

This home was spotless, very comfortable, beautifully decorated, and dog friendly. We had a great time at Cape Cod and will definitely visit again and stay at this home. A very positive experience!

Date of Stay: October 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Palmerton, Pa
Member since Oct 2011

Our family was pleasantly surprised by the size & charm of this home (feels bigger than pic shows) -- beautifully decorated and very clean. Our almost year-old lab loved the enclosed back yard and tuckered our little boy out at nights running around :)

We all went swimming in the nice pond around the corner, ate out at DiParma's, Sun Dancer's, Skippy's, played tennis, went fishing off the nearby jetty (the whole pier clapped when our 6-yr. old landed a bluefish!), mini-golfed, rode go-karts, and relaxed.

Landlord is wonderful to deal with. Thanks a lot!

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Paula & Brian C
Milford, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

If you're looking for the Cape Cod experience, this home will fulfill your wishes. It's located in a quiet residential neighborhood, close to restaurants, shopping, beaches and entertainment destinations. The decor is quaint, comfortable, and full of New England charm. It feels like home the minute you arrive. Dogs can spend their free time investigating all the nooks and crannies in the backyard. The owner provided a basket full of brochures of things to do and see. He also took the time to notify us of some newly listed events he thought we might be interested in while we were on vacation.

When we return to the Cape, this is where we'll stay......

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Albany, New York
Member since Sep 2011

Packed up with our Italian Greyhounds and left for a wonderful vacation. Our dogs couldn't wait to get out in the yard and run around and it was so nice to hang out outside and grill and read knowing they were safe inside the fence! The beach was so close and we walked the dogs through the neighborhood to the pond to check it out. We shopped and visited nearby towns and flea markets, but our favorite spot was at the house just relaxing and playing with our granddaughter. We put up her blow up pool and she had a blast! Thanks for a great vacation.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Eileen & Jim K
Farmington, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We really enjoyed our week at the cottage. The neighborhood was quiet and peaceful. It was a luxury to be able to walk to the pond beach with our 2 year old. The playground at the pond was a nice touch as well. The location was absolutely perfect and was only a quick ride to stores, restaurants, site seeing, South Yarmouth beaches, and of course the Cape Cod Creamery! The house itself was a great fit for our family. The fenced backyard provided a play area for our son and dog and a Weber grill for Dad. The master bed and bath were beautifully renovated. Loved the hardwood floors too! We'll certainly be back again next year.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Dave & Randi M
Ashland, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We found this house to be in the perfect location for our girl's escape week. The interior of the house was charming and there was nothing we looked for in the kitchen we did not find. Scott is a great host and paid attention to all the details. I would definitely come back! We did not have the best of weather but that didn't matter to us, we still had a great time. Thanks again for the opportunity.

Date of Stay: May 2011
Date Submitted: May 2011
Roberta W
West Milford, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

"The house was great! The fireplace made it cozy at night and the Cape Cod beaches made it perfect during the day. There were six of us there, and everyone had their own space. We cooked a great dinner on the BBQ then sat around the dining room table for a good family dinner. Would recommend this house to anyone looking to get away to a quaint, quite home on the Cape."

Date of Stay: March 2011
Date Submitted: March 2011
Alex B
Jenkintown, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an absolutely wonderful time, spent quietly reading and playing board games, with outings to the Black Cat and Captain Parker's on Route 28. Also a trip to Woods Hole. It was so peaceful this time of year, I wonder whether I would ever trouble to brave the traffic and crowds in the summer. One thing I must say, the watercolors are exquisite -- and 2010 seems to have been a very productive year for you. You must be an admirer of Winslow Homer, as I am. Again, thank you for everything. You have a beautiful home.

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Steve & Betty E
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was great. Our time spent on the Cape this year was mainly on the beach and at the cottage. We visited the local beach in Yarmouth, Nauset Beach, Marconi Beach and the beach in Chatham as well during the week. We saw seals swimming at every one we visited, except Yarmouth! That was fantastic. We went on a whale watch out of Barnstable. We saw 20 whales. It was amazing! The boat ride was worth the trip, as it was a gorgeous day to be out on the water. I went to a card class at Colorful Creations in Hyannis...you might want to mention that store in your book, as there are lots of people who scrapbook and can find Cape Cod paper, etc. to scrapbook their Cape Cod memories! We did a lot of cooking and baking at the cottage as well. We also went to Captain Parkers...a tradition and Spanky's Clam Shack. It was fantastic...even better than Captain Parkers in my opinion. One of the things we all love about the cottage are all the books you have to read...the coffee table books especially. We even took a look at your own book of photos, which we don't remember seeing last year. They are gorgeous! You honestly have a little slice of heaven in Long Pond cottage. We know that we will be staying there for many years to come, as long as it remains available. Thank you for everything Scott! Already looking forward to next year :)

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: September 2010
Kim & John F
Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time at the cottage! It is so beautiful and spacious. We took a boat trip to Monomoy Island to see the seals, that was amazing. We loved the location of the cottage, it was close to everything. Hayley really enjoyed cooling off in the pond. One of our best Cape vacations ever! Hope to visit again soon.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Ellen & Alex J
Menands, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"This house has all the charm of being home...friendly neighborhood and quiet...rarely do you see anyone except for dog walking. Being in S. Yarmouth was easy access to anywhere and you can take your bike to the beach if you like. There's lots to do within minutes from the house like kayaking, golf, CC Rail Trail is 10 minutes away in Dennis, miniature golf or a max 45min car ride gets you anywhere else. We liked this a lot because exploring is in our blood. We saw the entire Cape without the hours of driving at a time and still had afternoons on the beach...Woods Hole to P-Town, bay to the ocean. Oh, and the fenced large backyard was great for the dog! For those with small children Long Pond has it's own beach so you are even closer to the house then the ocean. Hardest part of the trip was leaving to go home..."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Frank C
Ridgefield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We all enjoyed our stay this week, including our Golden Retriever Sofi! Your home is lovely and so relaxing. We found all of the comforts of home and had a nice family BBQ on the patio. My mom was admiring the decor and how well equipped every room is and is mulling around the idea of possibly spending some off season time on the Cape. We visited a few new beaches (in between the cloudy days), found a few new places to enjoy the favorites of summer, stopped at some of the usual standards and saw seals at Nauset today but luckily for us no sharks. The other night we took a sunset cruise out of the Sesuit Marina - Lobster Roll cruises - the sunset cruise was amazing and priced reasonably at $42 pp for a 2 hr cruise complete with lobster dinner or other selections. The views were amazing and dinner was great too!! It's something I think that vacationers would enjoy that's one of those off the beaten path things. While we were down Nauset way, we traveled over to Arnold's for some of the best clams on the Cape.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Gloria & Lisa V
Quincy, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great vacation. As always, it ended too quickly! This was our sixth summer in a row at the Cape and we plan on continuing that tradition. We would be very interested in staying at Long Pond Cottage again in the future. We were so impressed with it and we were very comfortable there, and our family and friends who visited liked it a lot as well. We especially enjoyed the private fenced-in backyard--it was so nice to let the kids play out there and know they were safe. It's a comfortable, well-decorated, well-stocked home. The location is also very good. Last summer we rented a house close by on Wood Street. We really like Yarmouth because it's centrally located and there's so much to do around there. We went to the lake beach a few times, West Dennis Beach once, we went to a Y-D Red Sox game at the high-school, went to the Lavender Farm and Marion's Pie Shop at your suggestion and both were very nice (I think we'll be getting pies at Marion's every summer from now on), Cape Cod Mall, shopping, dining out, things like that. Nothing too exciting, but very relaxing and fun. Thanks again for your hospitality and for answering all of my questions quickly. We will be in touch in the future!

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Peter & Donna C
East Granby, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a terrific time on the Cape and at the cottage! The house was wonderful and we hope to be able to spend another week there in the (hopefully not too distant) future. The furnishings were beautiful and the kitchen well stocked! We enjoyed having my family over for dinner and there was plenty of place settings for all (not the norm for a rental). Your wall photos are beautiful and I enjoyed looking through the Cape Cod books w/ my morning coffee. Our youngest, Nathan, had a good time learning to play chess too! We enjoyed our side trips...tour of Fenway Park, walk down Main St Falmouth, boat to Martha's Vineyard, Provincetown, Cape Cod Creamery (the best!), Pirates Cove for mini golf and of course morning walks around the neighborhood w/ our dog and the beach and park on Long Pond. Our week went by too quickly but we brought home some very fond memories! Thanks for providing such a great home for us to come back to each day of our stay!

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Dawna & Stan G
Summerville, SC
(Homeowner Entered)

My mom, Maggie and I had a wonderful stay! Thanks for opening your home to us. We so much love visiting the Cape, and your home was so lovely that it made our stay absolutely perfect. The location of your home was perfect, close to everything. We are both antique furniture buffs and appreciate beautiful decorating so the interior of the house was so warm and welcoming to us. Loved the seating areas in the bedrooms, it made it so cozy. Also, you had absolutely everything we needed there for it to be our home for a week. The closeness to Long Pond was also terrific. Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation- the only negative I can point out is that it had to end!

Date of Stay: May 2010
Date Submitted: June 2010
Tracy L
Shelton, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"We booked Long Pond Cottage, and found ourselves tucked conveniently in Yarmouth between Long Pond and easy access to Route 28 attractions and restaurants. We were enchanted by the ample floor plan and the gracious furnishings with a touch of classical and whimsy. We came together with cards and puzzles at the vintage game table, and dined with choice table settings and easily prepared meals from the well-equipped kitchen. Our two octogenarian moms easily navigated the one-level living and relished the outdoor spaces. Looking forward to our future return to this divine retreat."

Date of Stay: October 2009
Date Submitted: October 2009
Marueen & Michael T
Melrose Park, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

"We arrived safe and sound, if a little bit wet, on Saturday afternoon. Once we stepped inside your home, we felt like we were "officially" on vacation and the rain didn't matter one bit. The photos of the cottage do not do it justice. It's absolutely beautiful! It is certainly a wonderful place to call a "home away from home." We love it and will definitely be back next year. I've read many of your coffee table books on the Cape and cottage life already. I also plan on making a recipe from your Cape Cod cookbook. Oh, and not to be forgotten are the dogs...they are very happy here as well. We've noticed some of the pillows you have with "dog" sayings and it makes them feel very welcomed."

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Kim & John G
Fairfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"The house was great!!! It was extremely comfortable and had EVERYTHING we needed. The AC's were key on the extremely hot days and the location was great! We are so glad we chose to stay at your house! We can't think of anything that you could do to make the vacation better next time."

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: August 2009
Jillian Z
Millbury, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"It's even better then the pics. Great location as well. Everyone was totally amazed at the cleanliness and decorating...very comfortable and everyone can have their privacy with the layout. We will definitely return at some point in the near future. We have recommended this place to many of our friends with and without pets."

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: August 2009
Ridgefield, CT
Member since Apr 2008

"We had a great time! The house was awesome. We loved everything about it. My mother, the dog fanatic was thrilled that the dogs could run around...it was like they were on vacation from their leashes. I love to cook, so I loved all of the equipment and the great knives! For the most part, we had great weather and enjoyed the beach and the pond!"

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: July 2009
Megan L
Brookline, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had a great week, the weather was the best the Cape has seen so far this summer. I so look forward to my week on the Cape and the weather is key because I love the beach. The house again made our stay all that more enjoyable, it is a quiet neighborhood and a very comfortable home. Thanks for the new washer/dryer, although we hardly spent much time doing laundry it is appreciated. We too noticed some new pictures, wall hangings etc. we found ourselves taking time to notice what was there before and what was not. Some of the highlights of our stay aside from the beach were a visit to the Lavender Farm, a boat ride around Hyannis harbor, and Provincetown."

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: July 2009
Kathleen P
Troy, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"We all had a wonderful time at your cottage. I love being at the Cape and your home brought back all of the wonderful feelings of how busy (or not) that you care to make your vacation. I made good use of the numerous books that were provided, although I only had time to read 3 of them. The others were playing Wii or watching TV while I just relaxed and read. Your home is lovely and there's enough room for people to spread out and not be in each other's way. I would definately rent your Long Pond Cottage when we return to the Cape."

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: June 2009
Ann & Norm G
Springfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Just returned from a week's stay at this incredible home. No detail has been overlooked by the owner of this beautiful home. From the decor of the home itself, to the well-equipped kitchen, beautiful back yard, great neighborhood, this home has it all. Not to mention the most complete guest book I've ever seen to help with all aspects of your visit including The Top Ten List of things to do on the Cape, restaurant recommendations, shopping destinations, etc. I hesitate to tell you to run to book your stay in this home for fear that I might not be able to get back on the calendar myself. But regardless, if you are considering this home for your vacation, don't hesitate for it is a great home in a terrific location for exploring all of Cape Cod!"

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: June 2009
Glenside, PA
Member since Jun 2009

"We had a very good time on our vacation, even though the weather was not that great. But we really enjoyed your home, so I did not mind being indoors more than planned. Your house was very cozy and I loved the style! The neighborhood was nice, we enjoyed walking down to the pond every evening. The information left in the Long Pond Cottage book was very useful, and I enjoyed looking at the Cape Cod cottage books on the coffee table as well."

Date of Stay: May 2009
Date Submitted: May 2009
Laura W
Oneonta, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"I can't tell you how much we appreciated all your attention to detail - the beautiful furnishings, Wyeth prints, the cottage books and all the great information in your binder...and yessssss we greatly appreciated the soap in the "oops-i-forgot closet" (We restocked because we figured we wouldn't be the only ones......)"

Date of Stay: May 2009
Date Submitted: June 2009
Barbara P
Cranston, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

''The photo's on the Internet, while superb did not fully prepare us for our arrival. Your home is a treasure. My friends and I just loved your home. It was far enough off the beaten track to offer some peace and quiet, but close enough to get to the many points of interest that the Cape has to offer. We loved everything about your home, the colors, the decorating, and I especially loved the sitting areas in the bedrooms.......I enjoyed the Master Bedroom and wished I could have brought it home with me. My friend Robert brought his Cairn Terrier and Phen loved the freedom of the back yard and being able to run around freely without supervision.''

Date of Stay: February 2009
Date Submitted: March 2009
Jane C
Clinton, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

''We are very excited about coming back again next year... The house is really beautifully decorated, and was comfortable and great for all our needs. My mother-in-law was in the middle bedroom this year, and she particularly enjoyed hearing the rain on the roof there at night, which brought back some happy memories for her. Maybe it was more noticeable in that room because of the skylights, but she was delighted and mentioned it several times! Thanks again for a beautiful place, and we definitely look forward to coming back next year.''

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Karen B
Mayfield Heights, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

''We had a great week and many thanks for our ''deluxe'' accommodations. My son commented on the web site and was afraid he would loose me to your home. It is very much my style and we couldn't have been happier. We found your home to be comfortable, spacious, and felt very safe there. My 80 year old Mother was even impressed by the way she was able to easily get around.''

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Rose, Casey & Josephine P
Troy, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

''Everyone had a great time, including the dog. The dog crates were very useful when we wanted some family time out (even though we took the dog nearly everywhere, even on a day trip to Martha's Vineyard). The dog and I ran around the lake every morning and my family enjoyed the convenience of the lake for swimming. Your house was well designed for both family togetherness and time alone. We would love to return sometime off season for another stay.''

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Alan & Nola K
Longmeadow, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

''We absolutely LOVED the house- the fenced in yard, the warmth of the home- it was just wonderful. It's a beautiful place- perfect for our family (including Sydney our dog). We'd love to go back in the winter- we are teachers and have more time in the winter.''

Date of Stay: June 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Heather & Ron P
South Hadley, MA
(Homeowner Entered)