Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Great waterfront w/ private dock&beach, full AC. New renov.
Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 15893

4 BR
4 baths
Sleeps 10
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 2 queens, 2 twins, queen sofabed in private den
Beach: .7 miles to State Beach
Guest Reviews: 31 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 11 months
Contact details:
  Email Cindy
Contact Cindy , by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (914) 980-7133, (914) 980-9368.
Please mention Property ID# 15893 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
31 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Amazing vacation property

My family has been vacationing on the Vineyard for the past 20 years and this was by far the best place we have stayed. It is a gorgeous home inside and out with amazing views of the water from the house. We enjoyed walking across the footbridge to the Island and pond with daily kayak trips over to State Beach. The property is beautifully maintained and the decor inside is modern and upscale. Also we really appreciated how well stocked the kitchen was with everything a big family needs! It is truly a slice of heaven! We have already planned our vacation at this house next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Owner Response:

Hi Beth,
Thank you for your kind review - we try hard to make the house inviting. We look forward to your visit next year.
All the best,
Cindy

Boylston, MA
Member since Sep 2018
Beautiful Place by the Sea

This particular rental is exceptional. Our family consisted of 6 adults and 2 children, There was plenty of room and plenty of privacy as well. Each couple had their own bathroom. That was critical for us. Some of us slept late. Some got up early. The 'pirate' themed kid's bedroom was a delight! The main floor had a yellow-ducky themed bathroom with a large, tiled, walk-in shower. The outdoor shower was a real convenience as well. We ate 'in' 4 days out of 7. The beautiful, screened in porch made family style dinners a pleasure.

The grounds were well maintained and beautifully landscaped. But, the height of fun was walking that long dock and finding a sloping, sandy beach. Easy to put in the kayaks and terrific for the kids. I would mention though, that neoprene water shoes are essential. There are clams and mussels one could get cut on. Just an aside; my husband uses a small scooter if there's any long distances to walk. Much to our delight, he was able to go right down the dock on the scooter! Once there at the beach, there's a picnic table and 2 comfortable Adirondack chairs. We spent a quiet day down there while the rest of the clan went exploring. I highly recommend this rental. The home is beautifully decorated while allowing for real living with a large family with kids. It's well supplied with beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and toys. One could happily stay at this rental and not go anywhere else!

The owner was a pleasure to deal with too. She had a list of favorite restaurants, ice cream stands, and places to rent bikes, boats and kayaks. She also helped with navigating the Port Authority as well. It was a wonderful vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

We enjoyed having you rent our house - so glad you liked the house and property. All the best, Cindy

Pepperell, MA
Member since Aug 2018
Martha’s Vineyard fun

We would highly recommend this property. Cindy is a very hands on owner and is available to answer any questions that might come up. The home is extremely comfortable and clean. Everything you could want for a fun family beach vacation is available. As others have stated, the gun club is next door and you will hear the shooting. It is not a constant by any means. The pros of this property greatly outweigh that con.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Southbury, CT
Member since Aug 2018
Another great stay

This is our third stay at this property and as always it was a treat. The location is excellent for touring the island or simply staying home to enjoy the beautiful big yard, or deck, or dock!
Our favorite place is the screened in porch where we have big family dinners. With bed/bath suites for each couple (us and our two adult children) and an extra full bath on the first floor, not to mention the outdoor shower, no one is underfoot. The kitchen is well-equipped and the family room has a wonderful couch and TV for down time or Wimbledon or World Cup Soccer for us, or whatever the kids like. Outdoor and beach toys are abundant and the owners are wonderful to work with.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

We are so happy to have you and your family at our home. We love to hear that other people find the property as inviting as we do. Thanks for picking us. Cindy

Boston, MA
Member since Aug 2018

Beautiful home, amazing property: perfect!
5 of 5
This is our home away from home on Martha's Vineyard. The view is amazing but you still have privacy. The location is perfect - right between Vineyard Haven and Edgartown so you are minutes away from everything! And the home itself is actually LIKE home! The linens are nice, the furnishings are nice, and the kitchen is actually made for people who cook! So many Vineyard rentals are nothing but white walls with one garage-sale picture on the wall, linens from 1995, four spoons, and maybe a fry pan or two - but not this one. This one is just like being at home. And if you're a cook, you will not be disappointed. The kitchen is truly well-stocked with quality cookware and every tool you could use! The décor is superbly well-thought out - beachy and relaxing. It's upscale but not overly formal. The layout is also wonderful for a family with enough bathrooms (NICE, updated bathrooms with fluffy towels!) for everyone. The outside space is our favorite place. It's large and has both an open porch plus a screened in porch, and a spacious yard where the whole family plays corn-hole non-stop. We've been coming to the Vineyard for about 20 years, and we've stayed in this home for a few years now. This is truly the best home and location of anywhere, and we'll be coming here from now on. Finally, Cindy and Ken are wonderful, amazing owners who truly care about their home and their guests. We've been so lucky to find them and their property.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Tiffany L
(Homeowner Entered)

Fantastic!
5 of 5
What a great rental property! The home is immaculate, with everything you need for a stress free vacation. The location is beautiful. We especially enjoyed the dock for fishing and boating. The owners are extremely accommodating and helpful. We highly recommend this beautiful property!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Patti C
Avon, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Spectacular Summer Retreat
5 of 5
Our family has been vacationing on MV for 13 years, always renting a home in or near Edgartown. The entire family agreed that this was by far our best experience. This wonderful home on an absolutely stunning piece of property was a perfect setting for a great trip. Every detail to ensure comfort and convenience was carefully attended to. Cindy was an ideal host, promptly answering questions and doing everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. We have already rebooked next years trip here!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Terry M
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful property for active families
5 of 5
Our family has been returning to The Johnson's home for almost a decade, As our grandchildren get older, they continue to enjoy all this beautiful property has to offer.

The house is always spotless when we arrive. There have been numerous renovations over the years, each thoughtfully expanding the use of indoor and outdoor spaces. The back yard is large enough to have games of Corn Hole, Scatter, and maybe even croquet all going at once. Scavenger hunts all around the grounds are another hit. Some of them sit on the deck and paint, or on a rainy day there's the screened porch for board games. But it's the dock and pond that are the main attractions. They can swim there or paddle board and kayak under the "jumping bridge" and around to State Beach.

The location is perfect for biking in any direction -- into Oak Bluffs or or out to South Beach. You can catch a Vineyaders baseball game just down the road.

Cindy and Ken are very gracious hosts, always attending to any problem immediately, and then asking for suggestions to improve your stay.

We feel lucky to have found their property all those years ago!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Donna D
Winchester, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Slice of Paradise!
5 of 5
The house is beautiful, bright and well maintained. All the comforts of home and then some! Traveling with a large family, there was plenty of room for everyone to eat, sleep, play games, and still have quiet time when necessary!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Diane O
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house. Beautiful setting.
5 of 5
Wonderful house with lovely grounds and a great view. The house was very well equipped and the owners were very eager to make everything perfect for us. The house was large enough for each member of our entire family to have their own privacy yet be together comfortably for group "togetherness."

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Myra B
(Homeowner Entered)

Great property, great location!
5 of 5
This property is perfect for our family get-away. The kitchen is fully stocked - I mean FULLY! We cooked lobster - they had butter warmers! I mean, if you like to cook this is the place. We clammed right off the dock - got probably 100 of them! Yum. The décor is upscale while still warm and inviting. Linens are included - can't tell you how annoying renting on the Vineyard is when they tell you to wash all your sheets and towels - or even bring your own! I mean, WHAT is it you are renting?! These owners truly understand the needs of families on vacation - they have not missed a single thing. There is a gun range next door but they don't shoot often and seemed to maintain reasonable hours so it really isn't bothersome at all - most of the time you'll forget it's there. The location is convenient to everything, the view cannot be beat, and the home is amazing. If you have discriminating taste this is your relaxation destination.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: December 2017
Tiffany L
(Homeowner Entered)

The perfect getaway
5 of 5
My husband and I joked that it felt like home away from home, only better! The house is lovely and contains all of the comfort and conveniences you should need. There is no need to bring bed linens or kitchen supplies. They provide beach towels, bags, chairs, and toys for the kids. The views from the home are gorgeous and serene, and there are many places to relax outdoors, whether it is their first or second floor decks, the hammock, or the screened in porch. I could go on and on, but we just suggest you take a vacation there yourself- we hope you enjoy as much as we did :)

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2017
Andrea H
(Homeowner Entered)

Another great stay on the Boulevard!
5 of 5
The first thing my grandchildren ask when we get home from the Johnson's is if we'll be returning next year. And we always do go back, as it's so much fun for everyone.

The pond and dock were especially appreciated this summer as it was very hot in New England. Lots of swimming, paddle boarding and kayaking, with jaunts across the water to State Beach. Biking on Chappaquiddick and the surf at serene Wasque Reservation were a welcome retreat as well. In the late afternoon, the lawn games get into full swing, then the deck and screened porch are perfect for dinner. There's a fire pit in the sand for roasting marshmallows. And when you want to go to town for the evening, Edgartown, Vineyard Haven and Oak Bluffs are all close by. For baseball, the summer league plays right down the road.

Cindy and Ken have done many renovations since we've been going to their home, each time enhancing the space, light and comfort. The house and grounds are very well kept, The view out back and over the marsh is always beautiful, even more so from the new deck off the master bedroom. It's a wonderful vacation spot.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2017
Donna D
Winchester, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The home was perfect for our family.
5 of 5
We loved the home, and how the owners thought of almost every detail. There were suggested things to do, places to eat, sights to see. We enjoyed our visit tremendously. The view of the sunrise was spectacular and we all enjoyed our dinners on the screened in porch followed by s'mores over the fire pit!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2017
Diane O
(Homeowner Entered)

Stellar property with breathtaking view
5 of 5
Our two weeks flew by with gorgeous weather and so much to do! The house is spotless, lovely, completely stocked and comfortable; the linens are top quality and the bathrooms luxurious. We ate in the large screened porch every night; the large table easily accommodated our extra family and friends for lobster dinner! Rosewater and Edgartown Meat & Fish as well as Larsen's Edgartown location were a hit; also enjoyed a fabulous wine dinner at Atria. If you get up early, leave by 7:30 a.m. and run Up Island to Black Dog on State Road and shop at Cronig's...no crowds, no fuss, everything done and no hassle! Our adult kids biked into Edgartown to Rosewater each morning and biked out to Morning Glory for produce for us! Cindy is wonderful to work with. Barn stocked with every beach toy/wading pool/umbrella/chair, etc and more than a dozen beach towels are provided for use. Our kids enjoyed the large yard for games. And if you have a rainy day and want to watch the Olympics (for us, Wimbledon), the TV in the family room is incredible! Did I mention the view?

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: December 2017
Cynthia O
(Homeowner Entered)

A wonderful place for our family to gather!
5 of 5
Since arriving home -- anytime life gets hectic, I just close my eyes and picture the view you see on the right. I was up for each incredible sunrise. We enjoyed the dock for fishing, playing in the water with kids, kayaking, cycling (both rentals) around the island. This home was recently redone and it is beautiful, everything you need. There is a skeet shooting range nearby, but the beauty of this home, yard, water, views far outweighed occasional noise.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: December 2017
Robert G
(Homeowner Entered)

No detail has been left unconsidered!
5 of 5
This is a beautiful, exceptionally comfortable vacation home. We rented this property to celebrate my 40th with a few members of my family. There were six adults and one baby and a small dog and it could not have worked better for us. Everyone had their own space and bathrooms but the common areas were spacious and comfortable for gathering, cooking, playing games, etc. The property is absolutely beautiful and very private. Unfortunately it was quite cool and windy when we were there so we weren't able to take advantage of the outdoors and water as much as we hoped but I can see how it would be a perfect spot for swimming and paddling on warmer days. Every detail in the house has been thought through - there was nothing missing and everything from kitchenware to sheets and towels were of excellent quality. Cindy was a dream to deal with - friendly, helpful and professional. It was a very smooth booking process from start to finish. One word of caution - it is right next to a rod and gun club and while, for the most part, you would never know it, there is the occasional shooting session. As well there was a wedding going on one night we were there, which meant music into the night. I was not particularly bothered by either thing but a couple of people in my party were. Just an fyi. Overall we had a magical vacation and would definitely recommend the property.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: December 2017
Gabrielle C
(Homeowner Entered)

Idyllic summer retreat
5 of 5
We booked this property this particular week as our West Coast children, one with a toddler in tow, were coming East for a wedding in NYC. Being Vineyard regulars, I worried about the traffic and the President being on island. All my worries were for nothing! This is a wonderful location, near to Edgartown & Morning Glory farm for shopping, which my daughter and fiance did on bikes (which they rented on a morning jog), and easily accessible to go Up Island too. But why would anyone want to leave? The home and property are exactly as illustrated: new, clean, attractive, comfortable with views, a large yard for fun and access to the warm water of Sengey for swimming and kayaking (just around or over to State Beach) complete with picnic table for lunch, a wonderful new screened porch for dining and a large deck and a great outdoor shower! Communication with the owner was excellent and helpful! Next year we will leave behind the sand toys and extra beach towels as the house was well stocked. There were indoor toys and games too. We were 8 adults and a toddler; one couple used the downstairs den as a bedroom: the pullout queen was most comfortable and the large full bath had plenty of storage. The kitchen is indeed well stocked as described, with excellent pots and pans, dishes, even Tervis tumblers. We brought in cooked lobsters from Larsen's one night and there were stainless butter cups, bowls for shells and crackers and pics for all. How much did we love staying here? We have already booked for next year!

Places we used? Soigne for a special order for dinner; they and the food are fantastic. Rosewater Cafe/Market, new this year was a morning favorite for the bicyclers.

One last note: The Rod & Gun club is indeed next door. We did hear some target practice around noon a few of the days. It didn't bother our toddler and did not last very long and was easy to ignore. Not an issue for us!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: December 2017
Cynthia O
(Homeowner Entered)

IDEAL FAMILY VACATION
5 of 5
This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard in over 15 years and we could not have found a more perfect location and house! The house and the property had everything we needed and even our teenagers had a great time!! We rented a small boat to get to the beach across the pond so we could enjoy the beautiful Sylvia State beach. We rode bikes every morning and easily took the Vineyard bus into downtown Edgartown for dinner at night. Thank you, Cindy and Ken, for a most memorable vacation!!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: December 2017
Laurie O
Houston, TX
(Homeowner Entered)

Love it!
5 of 5
We have had many years of family vacations at this gorgeous rental. The house is clean and more than well-maintained. Every time we come the owners have improved the house--and this last summer Cindy and Ken did a fantastic new renovation. I can only say nice things--they are the sweetest couple, the house is in a great location-right on the water, it is comfortable and beautiful.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: December 2017
Guest A
(Homeowner Entered)

Spacious house, gourmet kitchen, beautiful views
5 of 5

We have rented this great house for 3 years. The large, gourmet kitchen is great for entertaining and is very well equipped. The property and views overlook Sengikontacket Pond - beautiful and private. We love that there are 2 ensuite bathrooms, making it perfect for renting with friends. The house is very clean, well maintained and well furnished. I highly recommend this house for a great Vineyard vacation.

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: December 2017
Guest P
West Hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
It just keeps getting better!

I found this listing five years ago on your website and we have returned every year since. It has been the perfect spot on MV for our extended family.

The house is casual and comfortable -- very well equipped and maintained. The owners are attentive to any concerns and continue to improve the property. We've enjoyed the deck for morning coffee, reading in the afternoon, and barbecues in the evening. The large back yard is great for lawn games.

But the magic begins for our grandchildren when they leave the grass to cross the walkway over the marsh, enter the woods, and come out on the sand to put a kayak or paddle board in the water. They love jumping off the dock and having swimming races to the buoys. We can kayak across the pond and under the bridge to State Beach. The location is also close to the bike path, so we can ride into Edgartown or go the other way to Vineyard Haven. Rain or shine, there's always been something to do. We will be back again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Winchester, MA
Member since Jun 2009

What a perfect family vacation home - the right mix of elegance and casual living. There is something for everyone. The back yard was a hit - volley ball, golf and jarts.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: April 2012
Joanne O
NY
(Homeowner Entered)

An amazing vacation house and what can I say about the location. Beautiful views, a swinging hammock, great yard and deck. We had an amazing time from running around outside with the kids, to kayaking or just sitting and admiring the view.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: April 2012
Kelly G
NY
(Homeowner Entered)

“We have been here for two weeks and had an amazing time. Our children really enjoyed fishing and swimming off the dock. This is a very nice, quiet, beautiful retreat.”

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
James B
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

“What a beautiful spot you have on MV. It is a perfect spot for kayaking, relaxing in the hammock and watching the sunset. Your home is beautiful and it has made for a wonderful retreat for us for the week. The view from the backyard is stunning. The kids really loved exploring the little island.”

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Mark D
CT
(Homeowner Entered)

“Another delightful stay has unfortunately ended. Every year we and our grandchildren love coming here more and more. It’s been a wonderful vacation home for our family”

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Donna D
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time at the house as expected! Thanks so much! Everything was great. June 2010 I just wanted to let you know we had a great time at the house. I feel like the more we go there, the more we appreciate all the little details of the house. I love how you've decorated each and every room! June 2011

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: August 2010
Simi S
NYC, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a fantastic time at your house in Martha's vineyard. and the weather even cooperated in the end.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Oliver B
London
(Homeowner Entered)

The house was lovely and we appreciated all your little touches. The herbs were a big hit! The view from your house is incredible. We loved our stay and you have made it a very comfortable environment.

Date of Stay: October 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Jeanne S
PA
(Homeowner Entered)

The layout of the house worked out great for us. We do enjoy being on the deck etc and spending lots of time outside. The views are great and we loved the layout, especially having the two family areas. Your home is lovely and we had a wonderful vacation.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: August 2010
Debby G
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)