Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Homestead: Enclosed Pet Yard, Near Trails, Near Downtown A/C

Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 9776
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, NOTE 2 twins convert to a 2nd KING
Beach: 1.5 mile to "Bend-in-the-Road" Beach (State Beach)
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 15 years, 3 months
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Down the dirt road

Absolutely LOVED being off the beaten path, quiet and peaceful and still just a quick ride to downtown Edgartown. Tons of walking paths which our pup just loved. The house had everything you need and there was something we needed or questions Ellen was there to help! The house was super clean - I highly recommend booking your stay here! Can't wait to set up our 2021 stay!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Franklin, MA
Member since May 2012
Amazing Stay!

We have been coming to MV for the past 6 (moving around Chappy/Edgartown) and this has been the best summer yet. This house is settled on a dirt road off the main road into downtown Edgartown. It feels like you are part of a hidden community that has hiking trails and large open space. We found ourselves biking into downtown Edgartown (12 minutes) every morning for coffee and breakfast. No need to worry about finding parking when you can bike.

The house itself is great. The outdoor deck is partially covered so you can use it even when it is really hot or drizzling. And the grill situation is perfect - new/clean/big! We also have a puppy who loved the dog run in the back. The area around the house is ideal for dog walks also.

The homeowners were great. We texted them throughout the week if we needed anything and they were extremely helpful with recommendations and guidance. We had a wonderful stay and will be coming back next year for sure!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Madison, NJ
Member since Oct 2020
Wonderful Stay!

Just returned from a fabulous week at this beautiful home! What a hidden gem located close to everything yet set in tranquil privacy among beautiful landscaping and natural surroundings. Every day we came home from the beach and relaxed on the ever so inviting deck and enjoyed spending as much time as we could out there. It was the perfect set up for wine and cheese followed by dinner and s'mores ! Even better was that our two dogs were welcomed and could spend time both inside and out with all of us. There is a lovely fenced area completely safe for your dogs and both of ours came home without even one tick! The house and decor is beautiful and was spotless. When I walked into the bathroom with the rock tiled floor, I thought I was at a spa! The house was equipped with anything you need and the owner was immediate with responses to any questions. We hope to get back next summer or maybe even a long weekend before then!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Holliston, MA
Member since May 2018
Well equipped, private home

My husband and I, along with our 3 children and 1 yellow lab, enjoyed a 2 week stay at Ellen's wonderful, private home this past August. The home was clean, spacious, and all-equipped with all you could need from kitchen essentials to beach equipment. We enjoyed taking outdoor showers for 2 weeks, and the private covered back patio was welcoming to many home-cooked meals. Biking to town, the library, Jaws bridge, and parks was a breeze down the .5 mile dirt road with direct access to the bike path. Ellen was always immediately available with questions we had about the house and/or island. We would highly recommend this rental to anyone seeking a private atmosphere with close proximity to the offerings of Edgartown center.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
West Newbury, MA
Member since Sep 2018
Edgartown Homestead

Our family had a great vacation at this very private three bedroom home near the center of Edgartown. We went at a busy time of the year, so the quiet of the beautiful wooded setting was very nice. The fact that the rental week was from Monday to Monday made the ferry arrangements much easier. Ellen, the owner of the house, was very responsive to any questions or problems we had.


Cleanliness of home:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Arlington, MA
Member since Sep 2018
Wonderful home in a beautiful setting.

This home is just a short distance from the ferry and an even shorter distance to the nearest beach. When we arrived and got out of the car, a wonderful aroma met us from one of the various flowering bushes around the home. The beautiful yard is surrounded by trees, which makes it seem very private.

Once inside we noticed the house was very clean, spacious, with lots of light and lots of nice woodwork. The appliances in the kitchen seemed like new and worked wonderfully. The bedrooms had lots of storage space for our clothes and the beds were very comfortable. Our girls thought the bathrooms were pretty! The owner had provided a binder of information that was very thorough, and included info about the house, the various beaches, where to shop for meat, fish, fruit, vegetables and other groceries. The closets was well stocked with beach towels and beach chairs. Our girls enjoyed using the outdoor shower after a day at the beach.

The owner had thought of everything, and even provided old sheets for us to put on the couch so that our dog could get up on them (which he often does!). We enjoyed eating our dinners out on the back deck. We would love to come back to this house someday and highly recommend it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Smithsburg, MD
Member since Aug 2017
Wonderful Home on the Vineyard

My family, including our dog, had a memorable extended stay in this wonderful home. From the start, Ellen, the owner, made the overall experience painless, including booking. She's very responsive, honest, and accommodating. As soon as we arrived it was apparent she puts a lot of thought and care into this home.

The house itself is everything we hoped for; homey with an ideal location. It's very private in a tranquil, wooded setting, but still easily accessible to nearby convenience stores, State Beach, and other parts of the island. The house is nicely furnished, clean, and well stocked with necessities The layout of the home is spacious and was very comfortable for my family of four (and a few sporadic guests who visited). A true home away from home.

We hope to stay here again sometime in the near future.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Ramsey, NJ
Member since Jul 2017
Impeccable Property for a Quiet Weekend Away

We stayed in the home for a week, and it was absolutely amazing. The interior of the house is beautiful, nicely furnished, lovely details, and completely stocked with everything we might need. From the wide pine floors to the wooden ceiling beams we loved the style! Ellen, the owner and manager, is incredibly responsive and delightful. This is the second time we've stayed at a property she's managed and couldn't have nicer things to say.

The home is close enough to quickly bike or take a 30 minute stroll into Edgartown. We chose to drive in and had no problem finding parking. Our dogs stayed with us and they are little yippers at times. The house is near other houses but far enough away that we didn't have to worry the dogs would be bothering anyone. The deck is lovely and the landscaping well attended to. Highly recommend staying here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Sharon, MA
Member since Jun 2017
11 Days of Spring on Martha's Vineyard

When we arrived on the island, it was only a short distance from Edgertown and a lovely ride down a private wooded drive to the property. The home was exactly like the description and photos that were provided. We found everything clean and neat and even a stack of firewood near the hearth of the fireplace in the living room. Everything we needed was provided except for our food and beverages. The rooms were spacious and bright with lots of windows and the beds were very comfortable. The use of wood throughout the home such as a built in bookcase, wood trim, staircase and beamed ceilings reminded us of our home. The sliding glass doors open up to a spacious deck with a beautiful wooden post and beam covered pavilion on one part of it. The large gas grill was a pleasure to grill on and worked great.

There were even a few small wildlife around such as rabbits, squirrels and chipmunks and a variety of beautiful birds. The property is landscaped with many beautiful shrubs, bushes, trees and flowers with a low stone wall along one side of the yard. We met the owner Ellen when we arrived. She was so very pleasant and accommodating. Everything went perfect regarding our reservation, transaction of payment and the lease agreement. She made everything go so smoothly and our security deposit was returned quickly. We plan to return next year for even a longer stay. We have already recommended this property to family and friends

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Member since Aug 2016
Clean, Quiet, Comfortable

Wonderful home nestled in the woods, but still close to shopping and restaurants. Very clean, all the amenities. Comfortable both inside and out, loved the deck and the outdoor shower. Will definitely return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Hicksville, NY
Member since Sep 2014

From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. The Homestead is spotless and beautifully maintained, from the quality furnishings and appliances to the peaceful garden. The deck was perfect for mimosa breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese, and dinner from the Weber gas grill or honest-to-goodness New England shore dinner cooked in the huge lobster pot. Shopping for the shore dinner made me feel like I had stepped back in time: Going to the green grocer (Morning Glory Farm) for home-grown corn and potatoes, to the fish monger (Edgartown Seafood) for the freshest lobster and clams and fantastic clam chowder, and the butcher (Shiretown Meats) for home-made linguica was the most enjoyable grocery shopping I can remember. Ellen was a pleasure to deal with and readily available for questions. This was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard, and if we have the opportunity to return, Ellen will be our first contact.

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: October 2013
Mary B
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time at Ellen's place. 10 minute bike ride along safe path into downtown. Great outdoor patio and bbq. Great outdoor shower. Comfy beds. Pretty much everything you need and of high quality. Ellen was easy to work with and made trip smooth and enjoyable. Would definitely return...

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2013
Paul M
San Jose, CA
(Homeowner Entered)