Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Ridgevale Beach - Cockle Cove/Creek Tidal Salt Marsh View

near South & West Chatham line Vacation Rental - ID 31022
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 king, 4 twins, note: 2 twins and 2 X-Long twins
Beach: 6/10 mile to Ridgevale Beach and 3 mile drive to Hardings Beach
Guest Reviews: 30 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 11 months
30 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Home with lovely marsh view

We spent two weeks in this home enjoying morning coffee and evening drinks on the deck which overlooks a marsh. We were mesmerized by the blue herons who frequented the marsh
We found the home to be meticulously clean and well stocked ,( kitchen appliances,dishes,pots ,linens ,towels and beach accessories). Beds were quite comfortable .
The house is convenient to the bike path and beaches ,and near restaurants for take out during the pandemic

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
Member since Mar 2021
So peaceful

Our 6 person family had a blast. All the extras were fantastic. Not having to bring linens or beach supplies was a huge help. The layout of the house is perfect for families. Favorite part was sitting on the back porch in the mornings just watching the cranes in the marsh. Evenings watching the bunnies were nice and relaxing as well. Hope to return in 2023

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
Owner Response:

Mellissa,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We're pleased that the layout of our home accommodated your family's needs. We provide linens and towels (bath and beach) as well as beach chairs, etc. to lessen items tenants need to pack and bring with them. We'd be happy to have you return for a future vacation.

Kathleen

Concord, NH
Member since Feb 2021
Cockle Cove House Review

We found the house to be very clean and comfortable. It well equipped with beach going things and cooking things. We really enjoyed the gaming basement and spent all our evenings there. There was a nice large deck that overlooked a tidal marsh, which would have be nice to have breakfast on if it weren't so chilly in the mornings.

The street was quite and close to the Ridgevale Beach. It was a short 15 minute walk to the beach. The house was a short drive to Chatham, which has nice downtown area to shop, eat, and walk. The house is centrally located on the Cape, which made it easy to get to Provincetown to the north and Hyannis and Falmouth to the west. I would definitely recommend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Owner Response:

Mark,

Thank you for providing your review. Your thoughtful comments provide unique prospective to assist others in choosing a property. We're pleased that our Chatham home accommodated your family's Cape Cod vacation.

Kathleen

Bethel Park, PA
Member since May 2021
Great house - great location!

We stayed in this house in early September and couldn't have asked for a better place. The house was spotless and included lots of amenities like a washer/dryer, beach chairs, outdoor shower, and linens. Plus, the kitchen was well-stocked and the beds were very comfortable.

The location was perfect - we could walk to the beach and ride our bikes (or run) to the bike path, about a half a mile away. And we enjoyed sitting out on the large deck and looking at the marsh.

The house isn't far from Chatham's main street, which is filled with lots of stores and good restaurants.

And the homeowners were great - very responsive to any questions we had. We hope to stay here again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: November 2020
Midland Park, NJ
Member since Aug 2020
A peaceful vacation home with every amenity

We enjoyed a very pleasant vacation here in early September. The owners were so responsive and incredibly thorough in arranging the rental, sharing local information, and in caring for their home. We'd never seen a vacation home so well stocked with every item you could need in the kitchen, bedrooms, rec areas, BBQ, etc. The back deck is sun-drenched and has a full view of the marsh - very peaceful. It's on a cul-de-sac so very quiet. Walking distance to Ridgevale Beach, which was perfect for the kids. Highly recommended!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: November 2020
Cambridge, MA
Member since Nov 2020
Another great stay at Ridgevale Beach

This is our 7th (?) year renting this house. It continues to be our home base in Cape Cod and we absolutely love it. The living area is spacious and comfortable with 2 large couches, and lots of rug space to play for my kids. The basement is awesome with games of all kinds to entertain in the evenings and on any rainy days. The beds are all super comfortable, and the bedrooms all have fans to keep things cooler at night. The basement is stocked with all beach toys, chairs, coolers, wagon etc needed to take with us. It's wonderful to not pack that stuff with us from our own home. The owners are always available to answer questions and are great hosts. We look forward to 2021!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Madhavi ,

We appreciate that you took the time to provide such a wonderful review of your family's recent (2020) vacation stay at our Chatham home and thank you again for your past reviews. We are complimented by your many returns and pleased that your family has enjoyed several summer vacations in Chatham.

Kathleen

Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jun 2012
COVID vacation

We had a wonderful week in this very clean, well equipped home just a short walk from Ridgevale beach. There were beach chairs, boogie boards, noodles and buckets for the beach. For non beach days there were games and puzzles. The deck overlooking a marsh was great for relaxing and also for grilling and eating outside. The beds were very comfortable - the best we have ever slept on in a rental house - they seemed brand new. Kathleen provided us with lots of information on things to see and do as well as restaurants and beaches and up to date information on any COVID regulations. We were sad to leave at the end of the week - one week was not enough.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Christine,

We appreciate that you provided a thoughtful and excellent review. We're pleased to know that our Chatham home provided you with respite during COVID. We strived to comply with all government guidelines and recommendations to provide a thoroughly clean and disinfected home as well as to provide you with pertinent information. We thank you for also complying with our COVID procedures.

We're pleased that you were able to enjoy your time in Chatham. We were very pleased by the condition in which you left our home and would be happy to have you return for a future vacation.

Kathleen

Bronxville, NY
Member since Jun 2020
Spacious family-friendly beach home in quiet part of Chatham

My husband, nearly 3 year old son, and I thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay in this lovely beach home close to Ridgevale Beach. The owners were super responsive and communication with them was seamless from start to finish. The house was clean and fully stocked with anything we might need (plates and cutlery, pots and pans for eating in, grill on the deck with a full tank of propane, and even beach gear!). Appliances worked well (toaster, coffeemaker, dishwasher, and even washer/dryer). The house could have easily accommodated several additional guests. We brought our boat along with us and there was ample room in the driveway to park it. It was easy to pack up the car (and assorted toddler beach accessories!) and drive a few minutes to Ridgevale, which has tide pools and shallows that were ideal for our son. There was also a lovely salt marsh in the backyard for viewing of wildlife. Travel to a boat ramp with our boat and trailer and heading over to Main Street were both easy by car as well. We would definitely consider staying here again (and my son is still asking if someone else is staying in "our vacation house" many weeks later)!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Mattapan, MA
Member since Jul 2017

This is our 4th year staying at this lovely home. It's just perfect for our family of 5. It has all of the amenities of our own home, I hardly have to pack home goods along with us! The home is a ten-minute walk to the beach, we often walked with the stroller and our baby while my husband drove the car with all the beach stuff. Ridgevale is one of the best beaches for kids. The house is clean and spacious. The huge deck is beautiful and great to hang out in the morning noon and night. We love staying here and are so excited to return every summer. Kathleen is a fantastic owner and super attentive to anything we may need. My three kids all call it their summer house which makes me so happy that they love it as much as me.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2020
Madhavi G
Cranford, New, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

Two generations shared this beautifully located home overlooking a tidal marsh rich in wildlife. Early mornings on the back deck were a joy watching birdlife and the occasional deer. The house itself was very well supplied for the enjoyment of guests with a home-away-from-home feel. The high ceiling and skylight in the open living room/dining area gave a feeling of spaciousness, and the furniture was very comfortable. In the bedrooms, closets were large and there was plenty of drawer space. Downstairs was a haven of entertainment for keeping amused in bad weather – which didn’t happen during our 9-day stay. Our wish would have been for more storage space for food, but it didn’t affect our enjoyment of this lovely home.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: June 2018
St Clair Shores, MI
Member since Jul 2018

We booked the house last minute and we're not disappointed. It was very clean and close to the beach. Kathleen and Michael were very helpful is getting us all the information for our stay. They met us st the house and have a tour and advice on certain features of the home and where everything was located. Beautiful and very clean home with a deck overlooking the marsh that provided great sunset views. The house and rooms were very clean and the beach was a 10 minute walk and very nice as well. The house was close to downtown Chatham and we spent a lot of time there when we weren't at the beach. We would definitely recommend this house for anyone new to the Cape or those who are looking for a nice quiet home within close proximity to the beach, Chatham and Rte 6. We and our kids had a great time and were very happy with our selection of the house. I would not hesitate to return for our next trip. Great vacation!!!!!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: June 2018
Ludlow, MA
Member since Jun 2015

Great Place - Owners Fantastic

Mike & Kathleen were great supplied all the information for the area you could think of - The house was clean and well maintained - great location close to downtown Chatham.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: June 2018
Lynnfield, MA
Member since Jul 2018

Lovely home

My husband and I enjoyed 2 wonderful weeks at this lovely Chatham home in a very quiet neighborhood. The house was immaculate and Kathleen and Mike were very helpful in giving us a tour of the home and suggesting activities we might enjoy. The house was very open and bright and had a lovely large deck with a beautiful view of the Cockle Creek Salt Marsh. The kitchen was well stocked but we generally chose to explore the many wonderful restaurants in the area. Ridgevale beach is my favorite beach on the Cape. There is ocean swimming and sandbars and little creeks that are perfect for families. Downtown Chatham with lots of stores and great restaurants is just a few miles away, and it's easy to get to all parts of the Cape from this central location. We definitely recommend this house!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: June 2018
Chestnut Hill, MA
Member since Mar 2015

Repeatedly Attractive

The wife and I have repeatedly come back to this house for twenty enjoyable years. Aesthetically, the house offers a quiet, clean, picturesque setting with all the amenities.

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
Geneva, NY
Member since Jul 2018

Spent a most restful and peaceful month in a home that provided wonderful amenities. Everything was scrupulously clean. A wonderful oasis!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: July 2020
Sarasota, FL
Member since Jul 2020

Charming House Great Location SIX stars

We went to Cape Cod to celebrate my milestone birthday. We wanted it to be special and we had done a lot of research and decided that Chatham would be best for us and ideal to our needs. We spoke to Kathleen on the phone several times before booking and she was patient and most helpful. Our flight from London arrived very late into Boston and we didn't get to Chatham till nearly midnight. Kathleen and Michael were most thoughtful and considerate and had arranged to have all the beds made up, knowing we would be shattered after such a long journey. They had even left a variety of teas to welcome us as we were British! Kathleen and Michael had left a selection of maps and things to do, ferry timetables to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, Restaurant suggestions with telephone numbers. Once we lost our keys to the front door, on phoning Michael, he calmly and immediately arranged for a spare set without any extra charge. I forgot a silk blouse behind, Kathleen posted this to London immediately. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple. The house itself was charming, immaculate and nicely furnished. It was very well equipped for any and every eventuality. The basement was great and we had such a fun evening playing table tennis and cards. The outside deck was fabulous with great views over the marsh. The beach is walking distance. I had a wonderful birthday . We would love to return there one day. We give the house and the owners SIX stars ******

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2018
Pam L
Northwood, Middlesex, United Kingdom
(Homeowner Entered)

All The Comforts of Home

This home has everything you could possibly need for a great vacation. The deck overlooking the salt marsh has a wonderful view of wildlife activity. The beds are comfortable, kitchen is supplied with absolutely everything you would need, the location is within walking distance of a great beach and a quick drive to the shops in Chatham. The house was very clean. The owner's were helpful and thorough throughout the process.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: July 2018
Tualatin, OR
Member since Jul 2018

Great Vacation Rental

It was so great to escape the 90+ degree heat and humidity of Tennessee and spend a wonderful week at this house. The house worked perfectly for our family of six. A few highlights are: open layout inside, truly beautiful view of the salt marsh from the large deck, and great game room downstairs (we hadn't played ping pong in years). This house is very well equipped throughout, and it is an easy walk down to the beach. I hope we can return to 12 Crest Circle again!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2018
Brentwood, TN
Member since Jul 2018

Great place, great location

This is the second time we have stayed at this property (the previous was 6 years ago) and loved it both times. It hadn't changed a bit. Coming from California, we just bring our clothes so it is wonderful that the house is well stocked with everything we need, walking distance to a great beach and located in the best town in the Cape. The owners were helpful and made sure we were comfortable. We will not stay any other place when we come to Cape Cod.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2018
Erin C
Riverside, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

WHAT A FIND!

Four of us had a wonderful stay at Michael and Kathleen's house. They were very helpful and attentive to the questions I had. The house was well equipped in the kitchen, we enjoy cooking. The deck overlooking the marsh was very relaxing in the early evenings. We had some fun pingpong tournaments. Even though the weather was not great from Tuesday thru Sat., we were able to kayak, golf, shop, bike the dunes in Provincetown and walk the beaches to find the seals. We had great lunches in Chatham, wild blueberry pie from Marions'( could walk to it), and would cook fresh seafood for dinner. It was also nice to be able to walk to the small beach from the house. We hope to go back in the future.

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: July 2018
West Hurley, NY
Member since Jul 2018

a gem!

My husband and I stayed at Michael and Kathleen's for 6 nights, last minute (our luck). First, they are fabulous landlords, attentive, considerate, and helpful, both responsive and responsible. The house is fine, great ping pong table in basement. The highlight is the deck, backing up onto the marsh/inlet tributary. Very peaceful, some birds and other wildlife. Fully stocked kitchen, beach chairs and towels provided made it a hassle-free vacation. No AC, but we didn't need it. We had a fabulous time, and even their neighbors are friendly and helpful!

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: July 2018
Brookline, MA
Member since Jul 2018

Best vacation house ever!

This home had everything you hope for in a vacation - spacious house -fully equipped, beautiful marsh views & close to our favorite beach in Chatham. After vacationing in different houses for many years, we finally found one that has it all!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2018
Holly and Tom C
Hingham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Once again, was the perfect vacation home

This is our second time staying in Michael and Kathleen's home for a week this summer. It was even better this year since I knew in advance that it came stocked with just about everything we needed, so I had to pack much less than last year! This year we came back with our now 4 yr old and 6 month old. It's great that the bedrooms have blackout shades, for the baby to nap. It's such a bright space, they are definitely helpful. We enjoyed ourselves so much once again, and walked to the beach (since we had a stroller) more times than we did last year - the beach is even closer than I remember from last year. We will be back in 2015!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2018
Madhavi G
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Chatham Rental

If you are looking for a nice Cape vacation, this house has it all. Quiet cul-de-sac in a great location that is walkable to beaches (though we drove) and a short drive to town. The house was immaculate and had all the things we needed for our Cape Cod getaway. The view from the back deck was gorgeous overlooking the salt marsh - very serene and quiet - a great place to have our meals. We had fun playing ping pong in the basement and we slept great in the very comfy beds. The kitchen is well-appointed and had everything we needed for our obligatory lobster feast! The owners were very easy to work with. We would definitely rent this beautiful home again. Highly recommended.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: July 2018
Hugh M
Stamford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Peace and Serenity in Ridgevale Beach

Returned to Ridgevale beach area again and love the peace and tranquility this house provides with its quiet cul de sac location and beautiful back yard views. We will return again

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: July 2018
Heather L
Norwalk, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect, relaxing with all the comforts of home

My family of three had the most perfect stay here last summer. The home is in great condition. All the rooms are very clean. The owners have everything one could need, all the kitchen tools needed for the chef in me. The bedrooms are all a great size and very comfortable. The basement space was great for our young son to run around. Love that its on a culdesac as our son played in the front a lot in the mornings. The home is so close to the beach, some days we walked and others we drove. This is the perfect beach for families with small kids. We absolutely love this area. The home made our trip that much more enjoyable. We've already booked our stay here for this summer and cannot wait!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: July 2018
Madhavi G
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect Chatham Getaway!

We recently got back from a weeks stay at this property and a wonderful vacation. My wife said it was one of the best vacations she has ever had and I agree. Very relaxing and peaceful. Right from the beginning the property exceeded our expectations. The grounds are very well maintained and private. The deck and view (off the deck) is definitely one of the best feaures of the house. It is spacious and has a gate so if you have little ones you don't need to worry about the stairs. Our 1 1/2 yr old could roam freely on the deck with no worries. An added bonus was the ducks in the creek/marsh that kept her occupied and amused always pointng and looking for them. The inside of the house was very clean and had everything you could possible need. From the stuff we brought down and what the owners had there, never once did we say "we wish we had this or that" They even had lobster pots and the nessesary tools for a lobster. We didn't use the basement game area but it would be perfect for older children. We walked to and from the beach everyday. Sometimes even twice a day. I thought it was going to be longer so after the first walk we were both in agreement it wasn't a bad walk at all. Actually nice and leasurely. We enjoyed walking. We had a stroller so we were able to tuck stuff underneath. If you have lots of stuff, it maybe wise to drive down and drop everything off beforehand. The one time I did drive down, the attendent at the beach was really nice and let us drive past the gate house to drop everything off as close as possible to the beach. We were very satisfied with the whole experience and we would without question rent this Chatham house again!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2018
greg T
Weymouth, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Happy Renting Experience

We found the house very relaxing and well equipped. There is nice finished basement that has bumper pool, ping pong, and games. It's a nice way for kids to do something different. There's a nice deck and view. The beach is very close. We drove but its quick and easy. The house was clean and not cluttered. We would rent this house again.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: July 2018
Charles B
Hopkinton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Very Nice Home

We stayed there in August 2010. This is a very nice, well cared for and well-stocked home. We enjoyed the location and walked to Ridgevale Beach every day. The owners were easy to work with and we'd consider staying there again.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: July 2018
Julie H
Hudson, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely Home

We had a lovely time at the home. The view from the back deck over the marsh was beautiful. Not as walkable as we may have liked as there were no sidewalks (we have a child), but would stay there again nevertheless. Wonderful place!

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: July 2018
Nancy M
Charlestown, MA
(Homeowner Entered)