Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Fisherman's Farmhouse - Perfect for families or large groups

Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 4219
4 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 12
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 3 doubles, 2 twins, pack'n'play
Beach: 1 mile Hardings Beach and 1 mile Ridgevale Beach
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 16 years, 8 months
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Comfortable & great for entertaining

Fisherman's Farmhouse was very comfortable for our two families, with lots of space to spread out downstairs. The house was well stocked with everything we needed to cook full dinners in the updated kitchen, cleaning supplies, as well as beach chairs and games for indoor & outdoor fun. The unique artistic touches, puzzles & book collection was also enjoyed by all. Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Stratham, NH
Member since Jul 2020
Great house!

Our 2 families thoroughly enjoyed fisherman's farmhouse over a week long stay. The house itself was the perfect size, clean and conveniently located from 2 great beaches on the sound, restaurants and the town of Chatham.

Great back deck, very private and relaxing. Kids room got a lot of use, bigger than the pictures. The decor really made us feel we were on the Cape. Would definitely rent again, thanks for a great week!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Member since Nov 2019
Fisherman's Farmhouse - 6/27/20-7/4/20

The listing states it perfect for families or large groups and such was the case for the 3 families in our relatively large group - 6 adults & 5 children. The house was more than adequately equipped with everything that could possibly be needed for a great vacation in Chatham, MA (One of my favorite places on the planet):

Items for fun included plenty of beach chairs, a chest full of outdoor games like ring toss, a upright piano, and a kids game room plus an array of board games for those rainy days not to mentioned plenty of televisions if you're into that. There was nothing lacking in the kitchen for meal preparation, outdoor BBQ included, and the kitchen even came equipped with a pot large enough to fit 4 lobsters in the 2 to 2&1/2 lbs. range. Very well stocked with bath towels and the laundry facilities were perfect. The outdoor shower was simply amazing. Good proximity to beaches and the town.

Would definitely recommend this a great place to rent for families with children and will certainly consider this for my future vacations.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Member since Jun 2020
The Best

We have stayed numerous times at the Cape in the same rental. Could not book this year and it was definitely a great twist of fate because we found this home! It is located in a great area with ample parking. Love has been poured into this home and it is very tasteful. But it is the kitchen where we jumped for joy. Beautifully equipped, all you could possibly want for cooking some of our best meals...kept us from going out every night! Bedding was comfortable and ample baths. Outdoor shower was a hit. Artistic touches throughout and to be honest, we did feel at home. A relaxing week and we will book this home again. Thanks for being so accommodating

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2019
Date Submitted: January 2020
Loveland, OH
Member since Jan 2020
Dirty and disappointing

We have been vacationing in Chatham for over ten years and this was by far our worst rental experience. The house was extremely dirty even though the cleaners were still on site when we arrived. It smelled like they dumped an entire bottle of Pine Sol in the front porch, likely to mask the smell of dog urine where a large dog crate is kept. We swept large piles of dust, wrappers, and old dog bones out from under the living room couch and chairs. The playroom was completely unusable as it had large rodent droppings (most likely raccoon) all over as well as broken wood and exposed nails. The "linens included" was a pile of mismatched sheets and old towels shoved into an open shelf. We ended up cleaning the entire house ourselves and purchasing mattress pads, sheets, and towels just to feel comfortable staying. The owners did refund the cleaning fee and paid for the mattress pads and sheets we purchased, but it was a huge disappointment that our one hard earned vacation of the year was spent at this dirty, unsafe house.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: June 2020
Owner Response:

I suppose if you rent your home for 10+ years to many happy and repeat clients eventually you are bound to have a nightmare renter. Please see the other and more recent good reviews of our home and know that this review is full of false statements. She refused any help I tried to offer, and then demanded that we return half of her payment. We refused to be blackmailed and got this review as a consequence!

When she arrived, the cleaners were trying to finish cleaning but she rushed them out immediately and then complained to me that they hadn't done a good job. The cleaners leave a card saying to call them if there are any issues, but she would not call them. I spoke to the owner of the cleaning company and she said that she and her cleaners would come back and take care of everything, but she refused to let them come back and demanded that I refund half of her money. At this point, I called her bluff and said that if the house was so bad, I would give her a full refund to leave, but she wouldn't accept that either. She was determined to be upset without accepting any offer I made to help.

I accepted that the house did not meet her expectations and my only goal was to try to make things right for her. Her first complaint was that she couldn't believe there had been dogs in the house and that 3 of her party were having 'severe allergies', although apparently not so severe to accept my offer of a full refund. We have always advertised our house as pet friendly, and had she ever mentioned these allergies in her original request I would have told her not to rent our place. Of course she did not, and I truly think she was mad or embarrassed that she had unwittingly picked a pet friendly home. I do not believe for a second that the house smelled of dog urine. She never mentioned that at all in the litany of things she did spend the week complaining about. Every time she had a question and I answered it she had another to come up with more 'issues' and demand money back.

I apologized if the cleaners had not done a good enough job and it was clear that the previous tenants had left the house untidy, which was why the cleaners were still there working when she arrived. However, she refused any help I tried to offer. There were clean sheets for the beds which she did later admit, after saying she 'needed' to go and buy new ones, which I paid for and she took with her. The shelf she complained about was our backup sheets and in fact, freshly laundered sheets were in the bedrooms and she knew it. The shelf had been left a mess but could have been cleaned up in 15 minutes if she'd let our cleaners back in the house! The previous tenants had broken the arm off a bench in the play room which did leave nails exposed. Again, I apologized, breakages happen, but it took literally 5 seconds to put the arm safely back in place, something that she wouldn't do and wouldn't allow anyone back in to fix. And there was absolutely no raccoon in the play room. To suggest so is absurd.

My wife and I take great pride in trying to create a clean, comfortable and family friendly home. It is an updated 1800 Farmhouse so it certainly has its quirks, but it is not unsafe and it is not dirty. Had she just let the cleaners finish up, or come back to address any issues, we could have resolved everything in an hour, but she was determined to be mad, refused my repeated attempts to help, and kept demanding money back, holding us hostage for the week. I'm not sure what prompted this review a year after her stay. Had it been so awful I would have thought an immediate review would have been forthcoming! Sometimes things don't meet expectations and I'm sorry for that, but I bent over backwards to try to help and I've never before had anyone simply refuse my offers.

Member since Mar 2018
Disappointing

Our family has been coming to the Cape for 15+ years and we've never been this disappointed. The house wasn't clean, wasn't well-kept, and the pictures were deceiving.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: December 2019
Owner Response:

I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay but I do feel that you review is very unfair.

You complained to me that our cleaners had not finished when you arrived at the house and that you were annoyed that you had to wait. I completely understand that when you arrive at your vacation after a long day of travel that you want to get in, but unfortunately there were circumstances beyond our control which held them up.

Chatham had been hit by a tornado the previous week and the whole area was a mess. You contacted me at 6PM on the day of arrival and I immediately called the cleaners to see what had happened. They explained that they were running behind schedule because everyone's house had needed much more attention that week. They felt bad that you were waiting so they hurried out because you were clearly upset and apologized if they had missed anything. I arranged to have them come back the next day to address any outstanding issues and was been back in touch with you about this within 30 minutes.

They came back the next day and I specifically asked them to address any issues you had. I followed up with you to make sure that everything was taken care of and you said they had apologized again and that everything was all set. You were also upset because you thought that the fridge wasn't working although it turned out it it just needed some time to cool down all the new food you had put in it as you told me the next day. You also said you needed an additional house key which I had the cleaners drop off with you right away.

My wife and I take great pride in our home and spend a lot of time there with our family. I do understand that when you arrive you don't want cleaners still at the house finishing up and I apologize for that, but it really was circumstances beyond our control, and to suggest that the listing is inaccurate and pictures deceiving is plain wrong. The house is exactly like the pictures and the listing information is absolutely accurate. I was immediately responsive to you and tried to remedy the situation as quickly and politely as possible.

Member since Jan 2014
Best 4th Ever - Why would I lie?

This house was absolutely perfect for my best girlfriends and I. We rented this house for a week over the 4th of July and it was perfect for the 10 of us! Each of us had a bed and there was room to spare! The outdoor deck was perfect for grilling and relaxing and you feel right at home being there. The backyard was private and secluded and also this location could not be more convenient. We will definitely be going back for years to come!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Member since Jan 2018
Perfect in every way for a large family

From the moment we arrived, I was relieved how much time I spent researching the perfect rental because this house was so good on paper, it made me nervous until the moment we stepped foot inside. It was a perfect layout for us.

This family has created the ultimate vacation getaway house. The easy accessibility of this house from the main road, number of bedrooms, gourmet kitchen, fenced back yard, proximity to both downtown & beaches, tranquility of the backyard, made our stay truly excellent. It was the first time a rental checked every box for us and still was an affordable price!

I typically don't spend time in the kitchen when we are on vacation, but this beautifully appointed kitchen was a pleasure to cook in. The dining room is huge and seats 12+ people, though we are only six, so the extra space felt luxurious. The living room and separate playroom were such a bonus when we wanted to watch a movie and relax, but still wanted the younger children be close enough by to keep an eye on.

We loved the fact that we didn't have to bring linens, an iron, pots/pans or beach towels. This family house is literally stocked with everything you could possibly need.

Thank you again to Matt & Linda for opening your home as a rental. We simply could not have wished for anything else during our stay!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Member since Feb 2017
Great Vacation Spot!

We loved every minute of this vacation! The house is exactly what the pictures show. The outdoor shower was our favorite!

We loved that the house is in the middle of two great beaches (Harding's & Ridgevale) for young kids. The bike trail was a half mile away. My husband and I hopped on it a few mornings and rode in to downtown Chatham for breakfast.
We rented kayaks from Chatham Kayak with our daughters (6&8yr old) and explored Stage Harbor and Oyster Pond.

There is so much to do that we need 2 weeks next time!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Member since Feb 2015

From our Guestbook:
Sadly our Fourth of July was spent indoors, but the rest of our stay was beautiful! We enjoyed a different beach every day from Dennis to Wellfleet but our favorite was Cahoon Hollow beach - we were able to bring our dog and enjoy lunch at the beachcomber. We've been coming to the cape for years but this was our first stay in Chatham, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: November 2014
Joe C
Waltham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

From our Guestbook:
13 years at Fisherman's Farmhouse :-)
Catching a few keepers - Striped Bass & Cooking them up!
What a beautiful new kitchen to enjoy! Thank you so very much Linda & Matt.
Family from Montana, New Jersey & Florida joined us for some days - great family time!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: November 2014
Nona C
Bozeman, MT
(Homeowner Entered)

From our Guestbook:
We too had three generations - 5 under 5 - who had the greatest time at Chatham. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful house and making our family vacation a great success.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: November 2014
Gary L
St. Joseph, MO
(Homeowner Entered)

From our Guestbook and email:
Three generations - including two babies had a great 4th of July in Chatham. Everyday at Ridgevale beach! Thank you so much for lending us your great house!
Just wanted to thank you for a great Chatham Fourth of July. It was my retirement present to myself. The house was perfect for us - My 5 year old granddaughter and I read "Pirate in a Bottle" which started a week on the high seas. She listened to all 24 chapters of "Treasure Island" - bought cutlasses, and one cloudy morning the Whale Room became the Hispanola as we escaped from Long John Silver. Seals, crabs, lots of chowder and 6 trips to Ridgevale Beach completed our wonderful week. Thanks again so much - two of my children were away on their honeymoon so we will try to return next year

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: November 2014
Elise M
Putnam Valley, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We have been going to the Fisherman's Farmhouse for over ten years each May. It has been a great gathering home for our family, relatives and guests. We love that it has the warmth of an antique, yet it has all the amenities you would want on vacation to have a great time. We do lots of fishing and biking while we are there, so we especially love the front porch where we can stash all our fishing gear and waders. My elderly mother loves to sit on the secluded back deck and read a book in the sunshine. The kids love a game of volleyball or croquet in the yard.We have really enjoyed the updating that Linda and Matt have done since they purchased the property.We have had a very easy time working with the owners and we would definately recommend it...but don't you dare try to rent it during our weeks at the end of May!!!!

Date of Stay: May 2010
Date Submitted: November 2010
Bozeman, MT
Member since Jan 2010