Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Cottage by Pleasant Bay
South Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 12283

2 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 4 twins, queen sized sofabed and pack-n-play
Beach: 1 mile
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 11 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Gail McCullagh
Contact Gail McCullagh, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 237-7387.
Please mention Property ID# 12283 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Stay!

We had a wonderful, end-of-summer stay with our two teens in this cute and cozy cottage. It was a great base for our outdoor loving family- close to the water, paddling and fishing and convenient to Orleans. And snuggled into the woods, it was very quiet and perfect for the end of the day cocktail on the deck. Working with the owner was a breeze and the house was exactly as advertised and what we expected. It's a simple cottage, but well stocked, very clean and did I say 'quiet'?

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Silver Spring, MD
Member since Aug 2017
A special house

Since 2007, we have rented this house on Cape Cod for a few weeks almost every summer. We've always had a quiet, lovely vacation. When we vacation at the Cape, we like a cozy and easygoing space, and are always so comfortable here. We find the home just right for us and our dogs. We love looking out at the treetops at breakfast, enjoying the spacious deck, taking nice walks through the neighborhoods, and driving a short distance to the beautiful Orleans beaches. The house has everything we need for a casual vacation and we sleep so well in this quiet home. With 2 bathrooms, bunk beds for the visiting grandchildren, a comfortable family room and living room, we are quite content here.

Over the years we've become friends with Gail and her family, and we couldn't ask for a nicer family as our "landlords." Any questions or repairs were handled immediately and one off my favorite stories I tell about this house is how quickly Gail's dad got Comcast to the house to fix the cable when we were there during a Red Sox playoff series. (Big plus to having a "local" as your next door neighbor.). A vacation at this very unique home is a huge treat! And we get to bring our small dog, who loves it too.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Millis, MA
Member since May 2015
An amazing vacation in S. Orleans

Our trip was so much fun, and your home was just perfect for our family. It was like being in a tree house. The house had plenty of room available for everyone to have their own space when needed. It was nice that you had every amenity imaginable available. The location was perfect and so convenient to everything. We loved the fact that there were two boat ramps and fishing docks just a short bike ride down the road. Our children were so happy to make friends with some of the neighborhood kids. They would make plans each day to go on bike rides to fish down at the docks. Just a short drive to the Nauset Beach and the other National Seashore beaches. Although we didn't go to the National Seashore due to the shark sightings, we did find the amazing Paw Wah Pond down the road. It was so peaceful and serene, a total hidden gem. We also spent time at First Encounter Beach in Eastham floating down B’s River as the tide went out.

We experienced the most magical sunsets at Rock Harbor beach. We were also surprised to find stationed in the harbor the original thirty-six-foot rescue boat “CG 36500”. that was used in the movie The Finest Hours. This was the boat that Bernie Webber used in the rescue of the crew of the SS Pendleton, a stricken oil tanker, off Chatham, MA, in February 1952. This was one of the most heroic deeds performed by any Coast Guardsmen anywhere, anytime. While we were all listening intensively to the story told by a woman named Patricia who was with the National Historical Board, she revealed to us at the end that her name was Patricia Webber Hamilton and she was Bernie Webber's daughter. It was not only an honor to hear of the heroic rescue, it was an honor to meet Bernie's daughter.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Natick, MA
Member since Jun 2013
Great Cape Rental

We really enjoyed our stay. House was great. Everything was neat and clean. Loved having a washer/dryer, dishwasher, and wifi. I would definitely re-rent.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Member since Feb 2017
Wonderful House

We stayed at this house for three weeks last summer (2017). It was wonderful. A charming house in a wooded area. Close to all activities. The house was well supplied and quite comfortable. It was pet friendly and our dogs loved it too! We would certainly stay there again in the future!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Washington, DC
Member since Jun 2017
Wonderful Fall Visit to Cape Cod

We spent a week at the Treetops and enjoyed every minute. The cottage was clean and very well equipped with everything one would need to prepare meals and enjoy leisure time at home. The cottage is very well situated for access to the most enjoyable parts of Cape Cod from our perspective, including the National Seashore and several bird/nature sanctuaries in close proximity. Located right off Rt 28, we had easy access to the nearby towns of Chatham and Provincetown, as well as Orleans. There are many restaurants and cafes in Orleans, a wonderful Birdwatchers General Store, a farmer's market (through October) and grocery stores and other shopping options within minutes.

The owners obviously have made every effort to make their home comfortable for their guests, including offering a great music collection and even bird food for those who wish to enjoy watching the birds from the large window in the dining/living area. We found the owners very responsive and caring, and we would happily rent from them again. Thanks, Gail, for your kindness!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Member since Jun 2014
Charming

The house is simple yet cozy and charming. The bird feeders in the yard were a nice little show with all sorts of birds coming and going, the hammock allowed for the world to go by, the house was clean and was close to town and the beaches. Our lab loved the sights, sounds, and smells, we took a nearby walk to the bay. The owners could not have been any kinder and were helpful. They truly wanted us to enjoy our stay and we did.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Congers, NY
Member since Oct 2014
Nice and cozy !

It's a very clean, nice and cozy house. You can feel hospitality of the hosts in each and every detail. We (5 people) enjoyed our stay there a lot.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Astoria, NY
Member since Sep 2013
Up in the trees!

Sitting on the couch in the living room, you are looking out at the tree tops. It is very pleasant and relaxing. The house is convenient to so many beaches and ponds. All amenities are close by. I'd rent again in a heartbeat!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Brookline, MA
Member since Jun 2012
A nice house for a quiet vacation

A perfect home for a family with dogs. We really enjoy the porch. All the conveniences for a pleasant stay. A quiet neighborhood, close to beaches and Orleans for shopping and restaurants. The owners very accommodating and available if you have any questions.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Canada
Member since Mar 2012

"We (two adults and two dogs) stayed in this cottage for several days in the Fall. The description of the cottage is accurate and the pictures are good. We found the place to be very comfortable, charming and well-located for quiet and convenience to Orleans. The owners were very accommodating and helpful---our experience was excellent! Highly recommended. We hope to return for a visit."

Date of Stay: October 2009
Date Submitted: July 2010
Nashville, TN
Member since Feb 2009