Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Bright, Airy Beach Cottage
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 26273

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: Mayo Beach is 100 steps away across the street
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Pamela
Contact Pamela , by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (774) 383-0654, (518) 441-4236.
Please mention Property ID# 26273 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
An amazing home to rent

We have rented homes on Cape Cod for the last few years after my folks sold their home in Eastham. This is by far the best place we have rented. Literally everything you need is in the house including washer and dryer. Lots of areas to store all your things. Home is in excellent shape and very clean. .It was in an excellent location across from Mayo Beach and close to several restaurants and walking distance to Main Street. Home has good size living area and plenty of room outdoors. My favorite thing to do was to sit on the front porch and people watch. A constant breeze from the bay kept the house cool. Owner made the whole rental process so easy and was quick to answer any question I had. Personally I feel this is the best rental in Wellfleet!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Hudson, MA
Member since Jul 2012
Cape Coddage

Highly recommend Wellfleet Cape Coddage!!! Location is great! The 4 of us had a wonderful time!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Hackensack, NJ
Member since Feb 2018
Great Location

Enjoyed a week here just after Labor Day. The cottage is very comfortable and clean! Centrally located in Welfleet made this the perfect place to explore the Cape from. Each day we went a different direction and typically returned by late afternoon to stroll across the street to Mayo Beach and enjoy some wine and a sunset. It was a very short walk to the Pier and we enjoyed clams and oysters on the halfshell about every evening. The nearby restauraunts are all amazing. We are anxious to return to this perfect retreat.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
New Hyde Park, NY
Member since Jun 2017
Great house, central location

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed this property! It was our first time on the Cape and won't be our last. The house is clean, has everything you need, and is very welcoming and comfortable. A key thing to know is that the house is on the same block as four restaurants (all good - the gourmet restaurant was one of the best meals I ever had - make a reservation there as soon as you get to town -- or before. We walked around the pier every morning and evening - a mix of commercial fishing vessels, sport fishing, and sail boats. Pam Grandin, our host, was great to work with. We will return here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review!

We look forward to having you return and see the new 'outdoor space' that was created this past fall from a required home project at the cottage. (You'll see the pictures soon.)

Happy Holidays!

Warmly,
Pam

Bethesda, MD
Member since Dec 2016

Hot and Sunny – perfect weather for a week in Wellfleet!

My dad ate 100 oysters and we went to the beach every day. We went to all of our favorite restaurants. We also rode our bikes 12 miles on the Cape Cod Rail Trail. It was one of my favorite weeks ever! The cottage is very cozy!

Me and my mom went to Great Island and had a blast! We tubed in the nice warm water! It was the best!
Cape Cod is my favorite place to be. Dad, Mom and me all enjoyed it very much.

We can’t wait to come back next year!!

*Review written in guest book by daughter

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Mark M
(Homeowner Entered)

Our July week turned out to be amazing week of sunny and hot weather.

Loved the cottage! It was so clean and had everything we needed – especially the washer and dryer!

We spent the week Beaching It – which was a given with Mayo Beach just across the street. One day brought a trip to Wellfleet Drive-In to watch The Secret Life of Pets while others included games with the family, visitors and dinner with friends.

Our vacation ended up being great and we look forward to coming back next year.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Bill G
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfectly appointed. Excellent location! Will definitely return.

Our family of 4 rented the Wellfleet "Cape Coddage" for almost a week in June of 2016. Attempting a beach vacation with a 3 and 1-year-old was risky, but the location of this cottage could not have been more ideal for us. Positioned directly across the street from Mayo Beach, and a stone's throw from the town playground and athletic courts, we had endless options for entertainment, all within walking distance... not to mention, we could easily divide and conquer when it came to nap time. The kids loved discovering treasures and creatures in the bay at low tide, and watching the fishing boats come in and out of the harbor at high tide. The water was always calm in the bay, and we were comfortably wading in June...don't forget your water shoes, though!

The house is smack-dab in between a handful of great restaurants and bars. Our favorite was Mac's on the pier (we could walk over and eat lunch or dinner on picnic tables outside while the kids played in the sand and ate ice cream- it's also BYOB). They have a great seafood market, too. Moby Dick's on rte. 6 was another perfect family friendly option - just a quick drive. We also ate many meals on the back deck of the house. There is a charcoal grill, and the kitchen (while small) has everything you could possibly need for a proper lobster bake, etc. The house is very clean, comfortable and left us wanting for nothing! There were beach chairs and toys available for our use (sooo nice not to have to travel with them). The house also has a washing machine and dryer in the basement, which made packing a lot easier! Mattresses were even comfortable ;)

On the days that weren't ideal for the beach, we were able to easily wander into town to shop and explore. We decided to drive up to Provincetown one afternoon and it only took about 20 minutes. The Beachcomber was also another fun lunchtime excursion & allowed us to explore the ocean-side beaches.

Pam, the owner of the house, was such a pleasure to work with throughout the rental process. Incredibly kind and accommodating...she even allowed us to extend our stay a few days when our travel/work plans changed. She is very familiar with the area, and has great recommendations. There is a helpful binder at the house that has a ton of local information, as well.

We are looking forward to returning to this cottage in 2017, and hopefully for many years to come! I would recommend it to any group of four. It was great to be there with the kids, but we would love to stay with another couple sometime. While the location isn't "secluded," we were never really even aware of street traffic. It was plenty private for us, and the convenience can't be beat!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for the lovely and complete review! It helps us to hear about the cottage from a family with little children as ours are all grown now! Your detailed description of your stay helps confirm in our minds what we will do when *cough* grandchildren *cough* arrive - in the distant future.

We are so very happy that the cottage worked out so well for your family and we look forward to having you return.

And thank you for the suggestion regarding the chimney starter for the grill! That is on our list to find before the start of the 2017 summer season.

Happy Holiday to your family!

Warmly,
Pam Grandin

Rochester, NY
Member since Mar 2017

This cottage is centrally located in the heart of Wellfleet (by the harbor) with the beach right across the street, restaurants a few houses down and a beautiful walk into town. The cottage is bright and well kept. The cottage also has a beautiful large back deck that has a great view of the sunset (if the weather cooperates). We had a wonderful time and Pam could not have been lovelier. It's the perfect Wellfleet beach getaway.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Siobhan F
(Homeowner Entered)
Genuine Cape Cod

We spent three days and nights at Wellfleet Cape Coddage during the Memorial Day weekend. This was a celebration, as our daughter graduated from college in Boston. We're from California. The place is as advertised, and there is nothing negative to say. Two bedrooms, full kitchen, laundry, bikes, beach chairs, across a two lane road from the beach looking south from the village of Wellfleet.

Ten miles from Provincetown, lots of hiking and biking trails and both Atlantic and Bay parks and beaches. Walk into Wellfleet, buy fresh seafood at the harbor, nice restaurant and bar close by, grocery, and plenty of native New Englanders. You can drive to interesting historical sites, or you can vegetate on the beach. The holiday drive from Boston was bumper to bumper for awhile, but by the time we got to Wellfleet, we were beyond crowds or stress. Thank you to the owners. Loved it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Placerville, CA
Member since Jan 2017
Relaxation at the Harbor!

As a family of four with 2 avid readers and 2 guys that like to be busy, we found the cottage the perfect spot for all of us. A chair on the porch was a great place to read my book and catch the early spring sunshine. Also easy to keep an eye on the kids as they shot hoops right across the street. We are lucky enough to have a truck, so we brought along our bikes - we rode them around Wellfleet and then took them to the bike trail for a 16-mile ride!

We found this to be a central location to make our day trips to Provincetown, visit various lighthouses and a museum or two. Each night we returned to the cottage which is like a cozy home away from home to rest up for our next day of fun!!

Date of Stay: April 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for this 'active' review! We're so glad to hear that it met your family's needs in various ways.

We, too, find the location to be perfect for 'day' trips whether it's Hyannis, Chatham or P. town. And there is no shortage of places to hike, bike, swim and eat, either.

We look forward to sharing the new outdoor space with you.

Happy Holidays to your family!

Warmly,
Pam Grandin

Greenwich, NY
Member since Dec 2016
Great Family Location

My family of four (Mom, Dad, plus 9 and 4 year old) had a very enjoyable vacation week at this cottage. The cottage is small and cozy with everything we needed for our stay. Kitchen, bath, and rest of the interior were clean and well organized with comfortable furnishings. Back deck is large and private. The cottage is everything we needed for a great week's stay, but the real advantage of this rental is the location.

A short walk across the street is the town beach. Right across the street are nice basketball courts where my son and I enjoyed many games of hoops, and my younger daughter enjoyed riding her scooter on the large and very smooth surface. Excellent playground just down the street as well as open area for soccer and baseball.

There are occasional cars on the street, but very low speed, and not so much as to be troublesome. The traffic drops off quickly at night and did not bother us at all for sleeping.
We walked to town for restaurants, the library, and small grocery pickups. I didn't measure the distance, maybe about a mile, and very safe sidewalks along the way.

We are planning to return this year for another stay at this super spot priced for family enjoyment.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Westford, MA
Member since Jan 2017