Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

House With Character, Walk to Ocean and Bay! Pets OK!
Chappaquiddick - Wasque Vacation Rental - ID 20170

3 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 1/5 mile to Katama Bay;1/4 mile to Atlantic Ocean
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Rebecca
Contact Rebecca, by e-mail.
Please mention Property ID# 20170 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Relaxing Rental

I cannot wait to return to this house for our fourth summer this upcoming August. At this point, I would call it more of a home than just a house. It is easy to make yourself comfortable when everything is well stocked and ready to go - as this house is.

Between the books and records, there is plenty to keep everyone entertained on the rare gloomy day indoors. But the highlight is absolutely the nearby beach and the water views from the top deck. The beach is the most serene I've been to (that is, until we set up paddle ball or bocce there). Being able to spread out and have privacy on the beach is such a luxury. Having that benefit while still being able to walk home for a snack or bathroom run is even better! This beach would be a great place for kids - there are hardly ever other people, and the water is shallow/ protected from waves by a sand bar. This past year we brought big tubes and drifted out in the bay with a cold drink in hand.

At some point you will have to tear yourself away from Chappy (it's not easy) to explore the rest of the Vineyard. My favorites are ice cream in Oak Bluffs, seafood in Menemsha, and shops in Edgartown. We finish many of our nights at the Seafood Shanty right across the ferry- that way we can park for free on the Chappy side and travel across on foot. What could be better than fresh seafood with a water view and cool breeze?

I would absolutely suggest this house to anyone looking for a funky place to relax and unwind. Rent your linens, make a car ferry reservation, and get yourself to paradise!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: April 2017
Washington, DC
Member since Mar 2014
Funky, fun and fabulous

Our family loved the house, the location, and of course Chappy. Wonderful colors and unique furnishings (check out the grandfather's clock and all the books). The decks are great, especially the top one with a view of the bay and ocean, and the one downstairs with a big picnic table for meals. Lots of birds and even a resident spider (outside) with a gorgeous web which changed daily. The house has everything anyone could want (the best equipped of any place I've stayed), and Rebecca was a wonderful resource before and during our visit. The beaches (Katama Bay and Wasque) are a 5 min. walk from the house, and we had a great time kayaking on Katama Bay. We highly recommend the house for a relaxing and comfortable family vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Brattleboro, VT
Member since Jul 2011
Ideal spot for laid-back vacationers

This past August, we had the pleasure of returning to this charming house for our second summer. Once again, we could not have been more pleased!

After a couple years, we have established a routine. We bring our car across to MV on a mid-day ferry Friday. I cannot say enough how beneficial the Friday rental start is. The ferries have more availability and town is quieter while we stop by the market to get any fresh foods we didn't bring over in our cooler. (Don't plan on buying anything once you cross over to Chappy- there are no stores). We then have Friday afternoon to unpack before weekend visitors arrive.

We spend the next few days scooping up guests from the airport and ferries. We explore the Aquinnah Cliffs and various lighthouses, but the best part of the day is always coming home to Chappy. When the snow piles up in the middle of winter, I think of the heavenly outdoor shower, boys grilling in the backyard, and music + cocktails on the deck. We make sure to walk down to the end of the road and catch the sunset over the water every night. We always have the beach entirely to ourselves (with the exception of the burrowing crabs and resident seagulls).

This house is absolutely what you make of it. If you are looking for luxurious accommodations or to be in bustling downtown, this isn't it. Bring games (we like bocce, cornhole, dice, and cards) and friends, and I guarantee you will have a great vacation here.

Rebecca is a responsive and caring homeowner who makes the whole booking process run smoothly. We have already signed up for our week this summer and recommend that any other laid back, nature- loving vacationers do the same!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: February 2016
Washington, DC
Member since Mar 2014
Amazing Chappy Week!

We had the most amazing week at this cozy escape on Chappaquiddick. We arrived as overtired city goers in need of a vacation. This rustic paradise was exactly what we needed! The house was perfect for hosting friends and family, grilling in the yard, and getting some sun on the many decks. A quick walk down the road provided a secluded beach where we were able to spread out, play beach games, and observe some fabulous birds & wildlife.

Having tried other towns on the Vineyard, I am very happy we landed on Chappy. The island offers peaceful nature preserves for fishing, clamming, and sunbathing. The sunrises from Cape Poge and sunsets from Wasque were unlike anywhere else. Yet the restaurants and shopping of Edgartown were only a two minute ferry ride away!

You will definitely need to pack your car, some company, and a good book- you are in for a week of calm and quiet! We are so lucky we found somewhere where we could really feel at home. Thank you to our homeowner for being so warm and welcoming & keeping the most well stocked rental I have ever seen.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2014
Owner Response:

Hi Anna,

I want to thank you for the rave review! Five stars! I'm super happy that you, Billy, and your friends and family had such a great time at the house and that you dove into and enjoyed all of Chappy's beauty and bounty: its gorgeous (near-empty) beaches, clamming, bird watching, stunning sunsets, and a big slice of rare peace and quiet.

Frankly, a few renters haven't cottoned to the house. "Too remote." "There are moths in the house." (gasp!) Of course, I'm completely biased about the house. I love it. So when guests like you and Billy express such appreciation for the house and for Chappy, it really does my heart good.

It would be wonderful to have you as guests again next summer.

All best,
Rebecca



Washington, DC
Member since Mar 2014

This has been the beach vacation that has inspired us to make this a tradition. The house's charms and Chappy's fun-filled activities provided us the greatest setting we could hope for. Thank you. It was sheer joy.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Nick G
New York City
(Homeowner Entered)

As soon as we pulled into the driveway, we loved the house--from the millions of books to the lanterns and the little window connecting the dining room and the kitchen, the deck and the record player. It was amazing how close we were to the water! We had such a great time staying at your lovely, colorful and fun house! We hope we can come here again. Thank for the great experience!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Ilyan B
(Homeowner Entered)

We've had an awsome time at your house! WE LOVE CHAPPY! We enjoyed tanning on the beautiful beach right down the road! Summer here is gorgeous and we've enjoyed every minute of our time here. We've been coming to Martha's Vineyard for 17 summers and truly love it here. We're sad our trip is over--can't wait to be back soon

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
David R
(Homeowner Entered)
I love this house!

I have been to this home multiple times over the years. I love it. One of its main attractions for me is its four decks. I'm an early riser and spend my mornings on the back deck overlooking the garden, drinking my coffee and reading. Lunch time takes us to the shady deck outside the dining room, and the cocktail hour to the upper deck for ocean and bay views and, if we're lucky, a beautiful sunset. The outdoor shower is the best of any I have ever used. I've spent many a cozy evening in the dining room in front of the "fireplace," and cooked many a fantastic dinner in its airy kitchen. I could go on and on, but I'll stop now. This place is the best -- unpretentious, homey, and above all, real. Thanks for sharing it with us!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: June 2013
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jun 2013
Peacful respite

Quiet, remote -- the very definition of a peaceful vacation. It's a pleasant walk through a very nice nature reserve to the ocean or down the road to the bay. The summer bustle of the main island is close by car but way out of sight and mind. The house is very comfortable and well equipped, with a private outdoor shower (in addition to one indoors) and handy laundry. Several outdoor decks and a nice dining area are great for relaxed meals. See stars -- and passing satellites -- from the top deck on an island free from light pollution. The place is heaven.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: July 2013
Philadelphia, PA
Member since Jul 2013

What a lovely cottage. We've stayed at this Chappy house several summers when our sons were little and we fished and swam, played tennis and rode the carousel at Oak Bluffs. Now they're grown and we're back for another visit and it is just as lovely.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: May 2013
Mary O
(Homeowner Entered)

Absolutely wonderful! So serene and calming after a long day of work or play. The back yard is my personal favorite--the gardens, the outdoor shower, the birds and insects--so amazing! The house is so fun and funky. I love the colors and patterns in every room! Thanks a million, see you soon.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: May 2013
Zoe M
(Homeowner Entered)