Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charming Starfish Cottage-Walk to Onset Bay!
Onset Vacation Rental - ID 28136

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 5
Beds: 2 BRs: 2 queens, 1 rollaway Twin
Beach: 4/10 mile (10 min walk) to beach on Onset Bay
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 1 year
Contact details:
  Email Cindy
Contact Cindy, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (978) 239-0499 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 28136 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Starfish Cottage

My sister, daughter and I stayed at the Starfish Cottage in Onset this past fall. The cottage is so tastefully decorated, cozy and has every amenity one could want. I had to communicate with Cindy several times because of changes in my travels. She was always quickly responsive in getting back to me and very accomodating to the changes in my plans. The cottage is extremely clean and very close to the Onset beaches and town. This is a very delightful cottage.
Rosemarie Frydman

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you Rosemarie for the lovely review! We are happy that it all worked out and that you and your sister and daughter had a nice time. Please know you are all welcome back anytime for a summer vacation or a short stay. You were all wonderful guests!
Cindy and Dean

Walnut Creek, CA
Member since May 2012
Fun time

I stayed at the Starfish cottage with my two teenage daughters. We had a wonderful time. The cottage was cozy, warm and very welcoming. Cindy and Dean thought of everything and truly made it a home away from home. The cottage was a short walk to the beach and the town. There were great restaurants and a few shops. I also liked that Onset was located just outside the hustle and bustle of the Cape, yet a short drive to so many things the Cape has to offer. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet Cape getaway. For a family or a couple getaway. I would like to mention that our hosts were wonderful !

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you, Dawn, for the very complimentary review! It is so nice to hear that the cottage was "a home away from home" for you and your girls. That is music to our ears! You expressed exactly how we felt the first time we stayed in Onset before we had our own cottage, and we still feel that way. Thank you for putting it into words for other guests to read as it will help make them comfortable to book our cottage.

It was a pleasure having your all here and I do hope you can return again soon!
Cindy and Dean

Ludlow, MA
Member since Jun 2017
Clean, equipped, and as advertised

We couldn't have been happier with the rental of Starfish Cottage. Cindy and Dean were great with quick responses and all that they provided. Upon arrival, we found the cottage to be immaculate and was close to town and stores to grab anything needed. Highly recommended.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: November 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Micah! We are so happy that you found the cottage to be to your liking and that you had a nice vacation. You and your family treated our cottage with care and are welcome anytime, and we hope you will return!
Cindy and Dean

Wallkill, NY
Member since Jan 2016
Relaxing!!!!

My family and I had a wonderful time in MA The cottage was extremely clean, cozy and sooo….relaxing which is why we came. Cindy and Dean, you really thought of EVERYTHING! We had a blast and an educational trip to Plymouth, Whale Watching, and Battleship Cove. The food and I cannot say this enough, was AMAZING! And everyone was sooo NICE! Some places we ate were:
--Lindsey’s Family Diner (Awesome!)
--Breakfast Nook (Awesome!)
-- Marc Anthony’s (Good)
--Cape Cod Cakes (Good)
--Katie’s Burger Bar (Awesome)
--Cupcake Charlies (Awesome)

The Cape Cod Canal was beautiful and the history amazing. We definitely want to come back again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you, Carey, for the wonderful review about your family's stay at our cottage! It makes our day to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy your time with your family for a much needed getaway! We are amazed at how much you explored as we know there is so much to see and do in this area. Thanks for pointing out all of the good restaurants you tried too! You and Vincent and family are always welcome back at any time!
Cindy and Dean

Member since Mar 2017
Cape Cod Gem

Dear Cindy and Dean,
We really enjoyed our stay at your lovely cottage. We felt at home, straight away. We did not want for a thing. Everything was provided. Some family members stopped by for a visit and all were enchanted. We are definitely thinking of coming again next year. Thank you for sharing your Cape Cod gem!
Susan and Bennie

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Dear Susan and Bennie,
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! You were perfect guests. We do hope you will consider coming again next summer. Thanks so much!
Cindy and Dean

Mohawk, NY
Member since Jul 2017

Home away from Home (Helena R) Lowell, MA
Reviewed 22 Jul 2016
Dear Dean & Cindy, Always a pleasure staying in your cottage, this is the second year, and as always we had great fun, the girls went to onset and we went to the Bourne Scenic park we had family camping there we had them come over the house for dinner we had a barbeque it was perfect we would recommend this cottage to anyone it was just perfect, hope to rented again

Owner's reply:
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at our cottage again this year. You and your family always take good care of everything and are welcome anytime. Thank you for choosing our cottage!
Cindy and Dean


Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: April 2017
Helena R
Lowell, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Awesome Cottage (Manny S) Sterling, VA
Reviewed 12 Jul 2016
This whimsical cottage would be absolutely perfect if it’s right on the water. Even though its not our planned vacation, it fills up the sadness my family felt at those times. My sister inlaw was diagnosed stage4 cancer. The cottage made us feel at home. The decorations inside n out are done with perfection. Cindy the owner, is a very warm and sweet person. I can recommend their place 100% .Hope to see u again! Thanks for your great hospitality.

Hi Mannie and Robert,
Thank you for choosing our cottage. I wish it had been for pleasure rather than a medical reason but I’m glad we could make it work even at the last minute. Try to enjoy the rest of the summer. I will keep your sister-in-law in my prayers. It was a pleasure meeting you both!
Sincerely,
Cindy and Dean MacIsaac

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: April 2017
Manny S
Sterling, VA
(Homeowner Entered)

Seashore Cottage (Jane B) Pompano Beach, FL
Reviewed 14 Jun 2016
My husband Paul and I had a great 10 days at the cottage. It is so adorable and so comfortable. Everything you could think of is in the cottage. And, by far it is the cleanest rental home we have ever stayed in. We are originally from Braintree, MA and now live in Florida. We have some family in the Onset area. We had our kids for dinner one night and cooked steak on the grill. My sister and her partner came 2 nights for cocktails and appetizers and then we were off to dinner. Fabulous restaurants in the area. Stonebridge Bar and Grill is on the same street as the cottage. Onset Village is a really cute place to walk around. It is within walking distance of the cottage. Lindsey's Restaurant on Cranberry Hgwy. in E. Wareham and The Gateway Tavern also in Wareham. Percy's in Wareham is great for lunch. All had very good food!! We were so lucky to be so close to my sister and our son and his family. Just a 20 minute ride from the cottage. We went to Province Town, Hyannis, Buttonwood Zoo in New Bedford, Plymouth Plantation, Dartmouth Mall for some great sales at Macy's. We just had a wonderful time. For sure we will go back to Seashore Cottage. It is so cute with the retro decorating and the cottage atmosphere. Cindy and Dean are great and gave us a lot of good information. Now back to Florida and on a diet after all that great food. Don't hesitate if you want a great place to stay. Seashore Cottage is the one!!

Owners Reply: Thank you Jane and Paul for that wonderful review! It is especially meaningful to us knowing that you also rented your vacation home in the past and appreciate the importance of cleanliness, comfort and well-appointed cottages which make for a stress free vacation! We are so glad our cottage met your expectations and that you were able to relax and enjoy your visit with your family. We hope you will come back to Onset again and that we will meet again!
Cindy and Dean

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: April 2017
Jane B
Pompano, FL
(Homeowner Entered)

A DOLL HOUSE! (Iris K) Brooklyn, NY
Reviewed 18 Aug 2015
From the moment we turned the key we were bowled over by the immaculate decor. We looked around to see a quaint, welcoming doll's house with every amenity taken into account. No detail was left out & no expense spared to make us feel as comfortable as possible. The location is central to beaches, shopping & houses of worship. The owners are the nicest & most organized couple. We were in constant contact throughout the rental process (by phone & email). My kids came to visit for a few days & felt right at home as well. I can't say enough. We would definitely return to this property again. The Kahns.

Dear Iris,
Thank you so much for doing the laundry which you didn’t have to do!! We are so pleased that the cottage was a pleasant retreat for you from city life. Also, we want to say we were thrilled to receive such a wonderful review! We usually don’t get reviews until our renters have checked out so this was especially nice to see and we now have 9 five (5) star reviews! Cindy and Dean

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2017
Sherman & Iris K
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)
Beautiful and cozy!

The cottage was perfectly sized for our family of four and was immaculate. It is obvious the owners put much effort into decorating and thinking of every detail. All you need to bring is your bathing suit, clothes, and your toothbrush - Cindy and Dean have thought of everything else! The town of Onset allows you to skip the typical Cape Cod "bridge" traffic but is still close enough to enjoy most Cape activities with only a short drive. There were plenty of suggestions neatly organized and left in a binder at the cottage so you don't have to wonder, "what should we do today?" Our family had a wonderful trip!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2017
North Andover, MA
Member since Apr 2017

Fun in the Sun : - ) (Cheryl S.) Franklin, MA
Reviewed: 11Aug 2015
Had a wonderful time visiting the cottage. The décor was amazing and relaxing. The location was perfect for a beach goer like myself. I would return in a heartbeat!

Owners reply:
Thank you so much Cheryl! We love hearing that people feel relaxed at our cottage. Let us know when you need to get away again!
Cindy and Dean MacIsaac

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: April 2017
Cheryl S
Franklin,, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Great Week!

We stayed in the cottage for 1 week in July and were very pleased with everything about the rental. It was clean, convenient, and charming. Even though it is located on the main road, we didn't find the traffic noise to be a concern, especially with the newer windows and air conditioners running. We appreciated the ability to walk to the beach, which was quiet and calm - no waves or undertow to worry about with our little one.

Plenty of good places to eat in the area, but we also took advantage of the grill and cooked our own meals. Would recommend renting bikes from Sailworld in Buzzards Bay and riding down the canal bike path. We took day trips to Hyannis and Chatham, but really enjoyed the calm of being back "home" after a fun day. If you're renting over the July 4th holiday, the fireworks on the beach were great!! Overall a great spot at a great value. Thanks to Cindy and Dean for sharing your home with us!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: April 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you, Jill and Matt, for your kind words about our cottage. We are so happy that it met your needs and that you loved Onset Bay too. We love hearing that you had a relaxing and fun vacation. Thanks for the Sailworld recommendation for renting bikes to do the Canal Bike Bath, which is something we want to do sometime! Hope you will come back again…you are always welcome!
Cindy and Dean

Merrimac, MA
Member since Apr 2017
Delightful Cottage

The cottage is exactly as described--delightfully new and clean, with every amenity possible. It is adorably decorated as a beach cottage and very comfortable, and the price was right. We cooked and barbecued quite a bit and were able to find all the pots, pans and utensils we needed. Cindy was very responsive and easy to communicate with, and our deposit was returned immediately. We love the beach in Onset because it is not crowded at all, and parking is reasonably priced. It's very easy to get around town because traffic is light, especially compared to the Cape. Onset is a hidden gem. The only somewhat negative comment I have is not related to the cottage itself. Unfortunately there is road noise on Onset Ave. at certain times of the day and night, but we closed the windows and turned on the AC when necessary, and it was fine. We read for hours on end and slept very well after our beach days! Even the neighbors were nice, and offered to let our son-in-law park on their driveway when he came to visit one day.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: July 2017
Framingham, MA
Member since Jul 2017