Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charming Restored Cottage: The Summer House in East Orleans
East Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 28852

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 2 miles to Nauset Beach
Guest Reviews: 23 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Jim
Contact Jim, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 255-8555 (Work).
Please mention Property ID# 28852 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
23 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Thank you so much for our lovely weekend in The Summer House. We all had a relaxing time and the baby enjoyed crawling from room to room. We had our meals on the porch, especially breakfast and dinner. The Summer House is a beautiful and peaceful spot. Thanks again.

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Martha G
Orleans, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfection!

This cottage was so charming, full of character and comfortable. Jim and Barbara have done a spectacular job on its renovation and décor. Thank you for making my 65th a very special birthday. I would highly recommend this rental and would love to come back another time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Owner Response:

Thanks, Kathy! It was great having you and Jan stay at the cottage and so glad you could be there for your birthday. We look forward to the next time!

Fort Myers, FL
Member since Sep 2018
Last Days of Summer

I can’t say enough about this summer cottage. It is perfect in every way. Decorated to perfection, comfortable and in such a great location - so close to Nauset Beach! This was our second year renting and we are looking forward to renting again next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Beverly, MA
Member since Sep 2018

Fantastic!!! Will book again!
Close to beaches and great food! Beautiful house and so comfortable. The porch is fantastic as is the outside shower. The location cannot be beat. We have stayed here twice we liked it so much. Happy to return for another wonderful vacation at the cottage.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
John R
Lyme, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a terrific stay at the Summer House beach cottage in Orleans. It is just miles from the bay beach (Skaket) and the ocean beach (Nauset) in a very private location away from hustle and bustle. The 3 bedrooms and screened porch made our family of 5 feel very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped with all necessary dishes, frying pans, collander, etc. It is an easy drive to Orleans, with easy access to fine eating and seafood. There is an charcoal grill for at home eating.The O'Briens were gracious hosts, easily accessible for questions. We would highly recommend this cottage to our friends for future Cape vacations.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Craig and Barb A
Brattleboro, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

This rental was the perfect rental for a family. Every small detail was thought of by the owners and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip! We had 3 adults and 2 children and it never felt crowded. The spacious screened porch was perfect for winding down at night. Was within a few minute drive of several beaches. My children loved the outdoor shower which was great for rinsing off the sand after the beach. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Kristin A
Hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Your cottage was a great place to stay during our vacation. Lots of outdoor room for the kids to play. Lovely indoor space to hang out. Thank you.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Angelo P
Wakefield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for sharing your super cute cottage with us and our family. We especially loved having “grown up” time on the back porch after the kids went to sleep.

See you next summer!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Jeanmarie R
Needham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Fabulous stay at The Summer House

My family and I loved staying at the Summer House and can not wait to go back! The owners were amazing to deal with, so hospitable and nice. The cottage was recently wonderfully restored and all the rooms are so comfortable, clean, and relaxing. Very beach feel! My daughter loved the bedroom with the windows that opened out into the porch, great place to take a nap! The porch itself was lovely, we really enjoyed spending time out there, the yard is so private and peaceful.
The cottage location was perfect for us, we could walk down to the market or ice cream shop, and it is close to the Rail Trail and many restaurants and shops. Its also an extremely short drive to either the bay or ocean beaches, and it's a great base to explore other other areas on the Cape.

All in all, it was such a great vacation house and we look forward to returning!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Diana,
Thanks so much for your review of The Summer House. It was great having you and your family stay at our cottage. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back again soon!

Bayville, NY
Member since Aug 2018

What a charming and peaceful home! We had a wonderful week with our family--and felt so welcome. Beautiful job on the renovation and we loved all the little details you put into making this retreat so special. A beautiful home in an ideal location.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Jay L
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

AMAZING! The reviews are 100% true and the photos do not do it justice. A truly amazing house--we wanted to bring that feeling home. 100% recommend Jim, fantastic guy, really friendly and helpful. Loved it and want to go back!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Simon P
Lanark, Scotland, UK
(Homeowner Entered)
Quintessential Cape Cod Cottage

We could not have been happier with our stay at the Summer House. The house is open, airy and bright. The screened in porch is one of the best rooms in the house. The house is newly renovated and the decor is shabby chic. Jim and Barbara have done a wonderful job on renovating this house. The house was spotless. Jim was super responsive in answering all of our questions prior to our arrival and even during our stay. We will definitely be back next summer and maybe even sooner!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

Colleen,
Thanks for your review! It was so great having you and Tim stay at the cottage last week. We're looking forward to having you come back soon and maybe even get to stay longer!

Troy, NY
Member since Jan 2018

What a wonderful, special and memorable few days our family shared here. What a lovely home...so creative and distinguished.

Thank you for all the very evident care and attention to detail in both comfort and the hospitality you have provided for. This home and the environment were the best components of our vacation, so relaxing here.

Thank you again.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2018
Bevinn R
Franklin Lakes, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Loved our stay at Jim’s house. Everything is brand new and the rooms were very clean. The screen porch was amazing. Jim was also very helpful in answering our questions. Overall great experience.

Date of Stay: May 2018
Date Submitted: June 2018
Shanshan S
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

What can we say? This place is just plain beautiful! The quiet surroundings took us away from home (which was very needed). I definitely could live here. You did such a great job fixing it up. I love what you did with everything! Thank you so much for sharing it with us. We feel so blessed.

Date of Stay: May 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Heidi M
Brattleboro, VT
(Homeowner Entered)

What a delight to stay here. It is absolutely beautiful and clearly built with such love! The details really make it a "one of a kind" place to stay. The quiet and cozy atmosphere was a wonderful place to rest and recharge!

Date of Stay: November 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Steve and Sarah A
Littleton, Colorado
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great weekend at your cottage. My kids loved the porch. With summer weather in October, we were able to enjoy the porch and the yard. We even spent an afternoon at the beach!

It is such a beautiful cottage and recently renovated. It is immediately clear upon first entry the level of detail put into the renovation. There was more room than needed for a family of 5 (with 3 small children). The large screened porch adds an additional room to lounge in as well.

We felt very at home and relaxed here and the renovations are simply beautiful.

Date of Stay: October 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
TJ and Diana B
Kingston, Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an amazing time with our family in this beautiful and cozy cottage. It is very charming and well appointed. Thank you for your hospitality. Looking forward to returning here and making more memories.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Jessica A
Seattle, Washington
(Homeowner Entered)

I recently stayed at this cottage with my family, including my Mom. Just enough room to be together without stepping on each other. Mom loved sitting on the porch for her morning coffee. This cottage is extremely clean and the owners thought of everything that would be needed. Thank you. I plan to come back to Cape Cod next year and will definitely book this cottage.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Robin B
Mooresville, South Carolina
(Homeowner Entered)

Jim was a very gracious, responsive host who answered all our questions promptly.

We had a wonderful stay--The house is beautiful--like something out of an architectural magazine, and the owners did a wonderful job rebuilding it. Truly beautiful design and décor. Location is very close to Nauset and Skaket beaches, as well as market, ice cream, restaurants--all on a very quiet, private street.

We will definitely look to stay here again. A wonderful visit.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
John R
Lyme, New Hampshire
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great week and really enjoyed your home. It was perfect for us and especially for my dad. He was very comfortable and relaxed there. We hope we may be able to stay there again in the future, and maybe off season. Thanks very much.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: July 2018
Steve G
Poughkeepsie, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful family vacation in this beautiful cottage. The décor really makes this a special place--so relaxing. Every detail was thought of--there was nothing we needed all week. Love the style so much. Highlight was playing board games on the porch! Thank you again.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Andrew and Karen G
Concord, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Charming and comfortable cottage in super location

We feel very lucky to have found this wonderful cottage soon after it was renovated. Was the perfect size and style for our family of four, with just enough space for each of our teenagers to have their own room. The white and airy decor, with thoughtful Cape inspired details, made us feel right at home. The screened porch opening into the kitchen provided a great connection between indoor and outdoor living. Yard was great for family games. And the location, on a quiet street two miles from Nauset Beach and a mile from the Cape Cod Rail Trail and downtown Orleans, was perfect. Was even walking distance to morning coffee at Nauset Farms. Owners were terrific and obviously put much love and care into the renovation. Overall the experience was better than advertised. We hope to return next year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

John and Cathy,
Thanks so much for your kind and gracious review. It was great having you stay here at The Summer House! We hope you can return sometime soon!

Blessings!
Jim and Barbara

Beverly, MA
Member since Mar 2016