Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Relax & Rejuvenate in Ideal Cottage Setting
Chilmark Vacation Rental - ID 2470

1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 2
Beds: 1 BR: 1 queen
Beach: 5 miles to Lucy Vincent, the Island's best beach
Guest Reviews: 24 reviews
Time active: 16 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Mary
Contact Mary, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (617) 519-9455.
Please mention Property ID# 2470 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
24 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Quiet bungalow for two

We were looking for a quiet place to enjoy a relaxing vacation with our pup. Imagine our surprise when we opened the door to find a wonderful, homey, all you would need bungalow for two. It was very spacious, and the kitchen had all the amenities you would need to cook or grill. My boyfriend loved the outdoor shower.

We both enjoyed running the trails and looking at all the wildlife that was around.
The property was tucked out of the way, quiet and peaceful but convenient to everything.

We left there appreciating everything Mary does to make your stay there wonderful, and we will be returning soon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: June 2016
Wilmington, DE
Member since Jun 2016
Private oasis

Stayed at this wonderful little cottage last month just as the weather warmed and the sun came out-- it was perfect. Privately located on a quiet dirt road, it reminded me of the Vineyard before it was "discovered." There are miles of walking trails nearby-- no need to get in the car. There is a small but well stocked grocery store 5 minutes away.

In one direction and in the other, the beautiful fishing village of Menemsha-- the freshest fish and the best sunsets. The cottage was outfitted with everything needed for a comfortable stay-- quality appliances, gas grill on the deck-- even a gas fireplace to cozy up a cool evening. The kitchen had all the utensils one could need without the clutter of home.

This is a gem of a find -- so nicely decorated, well designed and maintained. Mary, the owner, was so pleasant to deal with and was eager to respond if something was needed. I can't say enough about this charming little place-- I'd love to return when the trees and landscaping are in full bloom.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: June 2016
Cotuit, MA
Member since Jun 2016
An Idyllic Way to Start the Summer

Finding Mary’s cottage was like discovering a secret … one bedroom Chilmark cottages like hers simply do not exist. Short drive to any point on the island, yet tucked away in the ‘up island’, the cottage exudes comfort and quiet. The kitchen is ready to cook anything you could find on the island. The décor is a mix of treasures that come together and beg a closer look. There is thoughtfulness in the little touches that Mary, the owner, has provided ranging from the ice ready for a cool drink when you arrive to my favorite, a copy of the Walking Trails of Martha’s Vineyard in the kitchen drawer.

I wanted a vacation that I could spend with my dogs. We walked the trails, visited the towns and the beaches. It was a vacation dream come true. Each day on Martha’s Vineyard is different by which way you go when you leave the driveway and what you choose to find. Mary’s cottage is the perfect place to start the day and retreat to when it ends. Reserving now for next year, as there is no place on the island that I would rather stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Lancaster, PA
Member since Jul 2015
Comfortable, charming and private, too!

Spent a week here in April and have already booked a week for next May. The perfect spot! Located less than 15 minutes from the VH ferry terminal, but imparts a very “up island” feel. The cottage and grounds are extremely well maintained and you will enjoy all the amenities of home: flat screen T.V., washer and dryer, gas grill… You’ll want to plan most of your meals right here: the kitchen is well-appointed and the ambiance can’t be beat! We even entertained off-island friends for the day and served a relaxed wine and cheese here before our dinner reservation. Also the most private of all the properties we’ve rented through the years on Martha’s Vineyard.

Mary, the owner, goes out of her way to insure your comfort and relaxation. Practically on the property are walking trails maintained by the land bank trust that beg to be explored, and the town beach, “Lucy Vincent” is a short drive away. This island get-a-way is perfect in every way!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Burlington, CT
Member since Mar 2015
Hidden Gem

So glad we stumbled upon this rental during our vacation search. The cottage is perfect for those like us that enjoy solitude and the great outdoors. It is located on a private dirt road with access to an extensive trail system right out of the driveway--our pups were in heaven! While not outside, we were enjoying the pristinely clean and wonderfully decorated cottage. The kitchen was even better equipped than ours at home, and we totally fell in love with the outdoor shower! Mary was so helpful and accommodating every step of the way. We can't wait to visit again soon!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Member since Apr 2014
Chilmark Cottage

We have being coming to this Chilmark cottage for several years--and each time is better than the last. The cottage is beautifully kept up and in an excellent location, allowing us privacy as well as access to the Chilmark beaches. The gardens and grounds are well-tended and the hammock in the trees and the deck are lovely spots to relax. This cozy one-bedroom cottage is perfect for a couple. Mary, the homeowner, is quickly and pleasantly responsive to any needs or concerns. Several excellent restaurants are within a ten minute drive. We highly recommend this vacation spot!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
New Salem, MA
Member since Dec 2009
Slice of Heaven in Chilmark

It's tough to find accommodations for two anywhere on the island but even harder to find a place with a separate enclosed bedroom. Mary's cottage is like a mini home with a separate bedroom. No lofts to worry about with early risers waking those who like to sleep in. After all, recharging the battery is what I call a good vacation. I also love to cook even while on vacation, and the kitchen is very well equipped. I didn't once say "wish I had this to do that". The outside shower is the icing on the cake. We had a cooler than normal week this past summer but we still showered outside every day. The deck overlooking the perennial gardens is so serene, and when the moon rises star gazing in the hammock takes your breath away. We could not ask for more. We are already looking forward to our return next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Natick, MA
Member since Mar 2009
Chilmark bliss

Our "home" on the Vineyard. Beautiful, peaceful, filled with everything we need for a delightful time on this magical island. A charming retreat for a couple (or single)--Mary has provided many aesthetic touches. Fresh and clean, filled with artwork and antiques, this cottage is simply a gem. We wait all year to return to "Mary's place" and to spend time at Lucy Vincent Beach (the most beautiful on the island), grill fresh swordfish on the deck, admire her wonderful gardens and just kick back and enjoy Vineyard life. We have been renting cottages on the island for many years and this is by far our favorite.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Ithaca, NY
Member since Oct 2014
Heaven on the Vineyard

Experience the ultimate getaway for two. Immaculate doesn’t begin to describe the cottage, the landscaping, or the property. It is first class. Attention has been given to every detail. Every amenity is provided with access to one of the island’s most scenic beaches. A car is a must. It is up island. The only nightlife is an occasional deer crossing your path. We’ve being staying here for nearly 15 years. Every visit has been more enjoyable than the last.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Allendale, NJ
Member since Jul 2012
Peace & Quiet

I'd never stayed "up-island" -- and it was a wonderful experience. Near lots of beautiful hiking trails that I didn't know existed, and a short and scenic drive to two of the nicest beaches on the island, Lucy Vincent and Squibnocket. I totally loved the daily routine: a hike in the morning, afternoons on the beach, picking up fresh seafood in Menemsha and veggies at the local farm stands and a baguette at the Chilmark Market for dinner back "home" in the lovely house and grounds.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
New York, NY
Member since Aug 2013
Peace and Quiet

After many years of vacationing on the Vineyard and MANY different rentals, we have finally found the perfect spot. The peace and quiet of Chilmark, the beautiful landscape, and the immaculate and cozy cottage couldn't be more perfect for our annual anniversary get-away. Haven't needed to bring our dog, but so nice to know we could if we needed to. It's an added bonus to deal straight with the owner who couldn't be more agreeable and helpful. Just love it....can't wait until next summer!!!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
South Chatham, MA
Member since Sep 2010
The perfect getaway

Once again we had the pleasure of staying in our very favorite nook of the beautiful island of Martha's Vineyard. Mary's cottage is clean and cozy without feeling cramped. Everything you need is there, including a fully stocked kitchen, a washer and dryer, a comfy couch to read on, and a wonderful hammock in your own private yard. Mary was very responsive to any question we had, though we certainly had the peaceful privacy we were looking for. This rental is close to many great spots on the island, from the bike ferry to the Chilmark film series, and lots of wonderful beaches and bike rides. If you want a get-away that is truly rejuvenating, check out this fantastic gem! We'll be back for sure.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Shutesbury, MA
Member since Feb 2011
Ideal Cottage in Chilmark!

Can't count how many times we have been to this charming cottage. The accommodations are a 10+. House is lovely, perfectly clean and comfortable. Mary takes wonderful care of the cottage and landscaping. Our dogs love it almost as much as we do. Just wish we were there right now!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Basking Ridge, NJ
Member since Jun 2010
A Very Special Place

We’ve been staying at this charming cottage for close to ten years and it has become an integral part of our family’s life. We fell in love with it since our very first stay. The cottage and grounds are impeccably maintained and appointed. Everything about it exudes quality and sophisticated taste, from the artwork and furniture to the appliances and kitchenware. The cottage’s privacy and its proximity to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, Lucy Vincent Beach, add so much to the Vineyard experience. Waking to its bright and cheery kitchen with a view of the perennial garden is a wonderful way to start the day. The outdoor shower, located on a raised teakwood deck, revives you after a day at the beach, fishing the Menemsha jetties or touring the up-island art galleries. Prior to starting each stay, we make a ritual stop at the W. Tisbury Farmer’s Market for a bouquet of flowers to place on the handmade soapstone and antique wood kitchen island. The cottage’s placement and its ample windows allow for gentle afternoon and evening breezes. It’s such a nice place to return to after an evening stroll in Edgartown or Oak Bluffs. Mary adds something new to the cottage each year that makes your next stay even more enjoyable. We actually keep a picture of the cottage posted on our refrigerator at home to remind us that a very special place awaits our summer arrival. And it is a very special place, indeed.

Doug & Gladys

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: December 2012
Acton, MA
Member since Mar 2008
Vineyard perfection

This slice of heaven is not for everyone. It is the perfect couples cottage … an escapist’s dream…a little remote yet close…a peaceful, tranquil setting…perfectly landscaped. Inside, it is immaculate…feels like home…nothing is left out. It is the very definition of what the Vineyard is about. Lets you leave the real world behind. If you want a quick transition to ‘island time’…book it.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Allendale, NJ
Member since Jul 2012
Absolute Bliss in Chilmark

We've been coming here for 10 years now (ever since the first time we discovered the Vineyard) with both our Chocolate Labs and love it just as much now as we did then. We love the quiet, remote location, the simple but comfortable cottage with every amenity, the acres of biking and walking trails, and the quiet and peace of mind we enjoy when we come here! The cottage is perfect for us and we can't wait to come back every year! Not only that, Mary is a great homeowner and just wonderful to deal with!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Parsippany, NJ
Member since Jan 2013
Idyllic Vineyard Vacation Spot

This is seriously the most idyllic, relaxing, and adorable cottage in Martha's Vineyard - and I'm not exaggerating. I spent a week here and didn't want to leave. It is close to everything but just far away to be private. It comes with a pass to one of the most exclusive and beautiful beaches on the Vineyard - Lucy Vincent Beach. You can't go wrong with this gem!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Jamaica Plain, MA
Member since Jul 2012
A wonderful cottage

We absolutely love this private, clean, beautiful cottage! Some of the images that come to mind about this place: a peaceful serene setting; an open, inviting kitchen and living space; breezes through the windows that look out over a lovely lawn and flower garden; grilling fresh fish on the deck under the stars; walking and hiking in the nearby trails, a great outdoor shower! This place is clearly well-loved and well-cared for. We've stayed here four times and are planning to return again and again.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Arlington, MA
Member since Feb 2009

We had one of the best weeks ever - truly a jewel of a cottage. We absolutely loved everything about it. I decided to leave all my cares behind once I boarded the ferry and sure enough, it magically happened. You have an abundance of butterflies and hummingbirds that love your Rose of Sharon and I had the best view from the hammock. Of course, Lucy Vincent is spectacular and the surf and warmth of the ocean was perfect. Can't say enough about what a wonderful week it was for us. We've been staying in Chilmark for years, but this is the first time we rented a cottage and that made all the difference in terms of flexibility, privacy and relaxation.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2011
Regina M
Marshfield Hills, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I are always skeptical when we rent " dog friendly" accommodations. Most times the place looks and sounds nice , but we often find the rooms to be worn down, pet stained, and not very clean. Not in this case. We were more than pleased with everything. The owner obviously takes pride in her cottage and the grounds that surround it. The location is so peaceful and beautiful with gorgeous landscaping. Everything one can possibly need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay is provided. We felt welcomed with our dog as if we were family. Mary went out of her way to share all the dog friendly places to visit, so that our pooch could have a great vacation too. This place is a gem and we look forward to coming back. Lucy and Bill

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: December 2010
Cambridge, MA
Member since Jun 2010

We've rented this property twice, will be doing so again this year, and plan to continue for as long as we can. It is absolutely perfect for us: the setting is private, serene and calm, the house itself cozy yet immaculate and well- appointed, and the location is just right on the island (not too far to things, but not too close). Hiking trails and beaches are both nearby. The gardens are beautiful; a commitment to the care and upkeep of the entire space is obvious. The owner is friendly and clearly takes pride in her property. It's now gotten to the point where we plan our vacation based on the rental's availability! We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on the island, as we have everything we need at this home-away-from-home... it fits us perfectly. I have nothing but a perfect score for this great find!

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: April 2009
Peter R
Taunton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

This will be the fifth year of renting at this cottage, and we look forward to our return each summer. Located in a peaceful and tranquil spot, the grounds are beautiful, the cottage warm and cozy, and the owners friendly and welcoming. We love exploring the miles and miles of hiking trails just down the road and just spending time sitting in the garden. While the vineyard can be quite busy in the summer months, its great to be able to easily visit our favorite spots and then return to this quiet, up island hideaway in Chilmark.

Date of Stay: June 2009
Date Submitted: March 2010
Scituate, MA
Member since Nov 2007

Martha's Vineyard has been our vacation spot for 28 years. My husband and I discovered this incredible paradise eight years ago. I will never forget the first time we pulled onto the property. We knew immediately that we had found a cottage that we would want to come back to year after year after year. The location could not be more perfect. The grounds are glorious. It a joy to water the garden, while listening to the birds and the sound of the wind through the trees. The inside of the house is as beautiful as the nature that surrounds it. To say that it is well maintained and perfectly appointed is an understatement! I love to swing in the hammock at night when the stars come out. Cecelia B.

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Cecelia B
Baltimore, MD
(Homeowner Entered)

"We've been renting the beautiful vacation home since 2002 and can't stop going back! We love the secluded location, the well appointed house, the deck for grilling and relaxing and not least the beautiful garden along with its supply of herbs! Everything is well maintained and in perfect order and we always feel right at home. The best beach on the vineyard (Lucy Vincent) is only a few mins drive as is the lovely fishing harbor of Menemsha. This is a great base to explore and enjoy the Vineyard from! We can't wait to go back again this June!"

Date of Stay: June 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Parsippany, NJ
Member since Apr 2009