Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Classic Cape Cod - and walk to beaches! Capt. Rogers House
Cotuit Vacation Rental - ID 24335

5 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 11
Beds: 5 BRs: 1 king, 3 queens, 3 twins
Beach: Loop Beach 1/4 mile, Rileys closer
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Nancy
Contact Nancy, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (703) 893-5198 (home), (703) 623-4915 (cell).
Please mention Property ID# 24335 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
2017 Family Vacation

Just returned from a terrific week at this very nice home. Eight adults and four kids under six! Plenty of room for all. Lovely neighborhood, easy walk to beaches. Everything we needed was there, and then some, including a terrific caretaker! Thanks, Mr. C!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

We're so glad you had a great time! Thanks for such kind words.
And you are right, our caretaker is the best. we're lucky to have him:).

Naugatuck, CT
Member since Jan 2013
A GEM!


Our family of 7 adults and 3 children (ages 6 months to 3 1/2 years) stayed at the Captain Rogers House for our first-ever vacation on Cape Cod. From the moment we walked in to the house, we felt welcome and "home". There were many positive features of the house:
Location: Cotuit is a charming, quiet town with easy access to tourist spots. Nearby grocery stores and shopping was a definite plus. The easy walk to 2 different beaches was great for the little ones (thanks for the wagon, beach toys,towels, etc. -much less for us to cart on the trip).
Layout: The house allowed us to have our "group time" as well as private space as well. The sun porch - just off the large living room was a favorite as well as the screened in porch in the back of the house. The little alcove at the top of the steps was sweet, and the eating nook in the kitchen worked well for meals and a few card games.
Kitchen: The well stocked kitchen, while dated (the future plans for this room look great!), was terrific. We had 2 "eat in" meals and the kitchen served us very well. What a treat to have the cooking oil, S&P, spices, pots, pans, serve-ware, plastics, foils, etc. available.
Beds and Baths: Comfortable beds (not always a given) as well as clean, efficient bathrooms were truly appreciated. The towels and amenities were like an upscale B&B. Just an all around comfortable space.
General thoughtfulness: Nancy is a joy to work with. Prior to arriving, she had communicated in a timely, efficient manner. After arrival, she and her on site manager made sure that they were available to help should we have any needs (we did not). All the little extras in the house speak to an attention to detail and guest comfort that puts this vacation home in a class by itself!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Bethel Park, PA
Member since Oct 2017
Amazing Cape Cod Vacation Rental!

We had a total of 11 people staying in Cotuit at the Captain Rogers House, a combination of three families with six adults and five children (age range 3 - 13). The Captain Rogers House was everything that we could have wanted in a vacation rental. Starting with Nancy, who was helpful from the beginning of the booking until the very end (even after we checked out and forgot something at the house - she responded quickly to our ask for help and mailed out our left behind item).

The house was clean, the kitchen was well stocked with everything needed to prepare meals at home. The beds were extremely comfortable. Nancy provides beach towels and toys, and the back porch served as our outdoor living & dining room!

There were two small beaches in walking or biking distance (a wagon was provided by Nancy for the small children to ride in and there were four bikes stored in the garage). On most days we traveled 15 to 50 minutes to enjoy larger beaches and/or bigger waves. Every trip was easily accessible via the highway and it was nice to return to Cotuit at the end of the day as it was away from the hustle & bustle of the towns that housed the larger beaches.

Everything else from groceries, to liquor, to seafood was within a 10 - 15 minute drive.

My family & I highly recommend renting from Nancy! Thank you, Nancy, for your kindness and your hospitality!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you so much, Angela, for such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have your family in our home, and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Latham, NY
Member since Jul 2017

We recently stayed at the Captain Rogers house. We were 10 people in total - 4 adults and 6 kids (4 or which were teenagers!) The walk to beach and store were perfect for them. They enjoyed taking one of the 4 bikes at the house and exploring the area. The house itself fit us comfortably and we couldn't get over the beds! It was the first time we renting a house where we didn't dread going to sleep. Most of the house - including bedrooms and bathrooms - has been updated and has everything you need to make this a great beach vacation. This house would be perfect for a big family with multiple generations as there is a wing on the first floor with sitting area, bedroom and bath. Also a great house for people with young child who might have to return to the house from the beach often. The beach in walking distance is very calm and inviting for younger children. Everyone in the area was very nice an helpful with any problems or questions we had. I would recommend this house to anyone looking in the Cotuit area which is a hidden treasure. Beauty beyonds words!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Amy S
CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Ideal and Idyllic - and location location location

The Captain Rogers House is ideal in so many ways. Plenty of space for a large family - with many different spaces to "hang out" without being on top of each other. Home location is perfect - short walk to the beach or a bit longer to the local (well-stocked) market, and Cotuit is a great spot on the Cape.

The house was totally thoughtfully stocked with virtually anything you think you would need on a vacation - from bikes to books to barbecue to washer/dryer. Bedrooms were comfortable. Plenty of towels/sheets etc. Best place to hang out - the back porch - as pictured. Caretaker was very responsive to our needs. Cannot say enough good things about this home. Seems like all the other reviewers have similar observations.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Owner Response:

Many thanks for your kind words. You and your family were a delight! We hope to see you again ~

Member since Mar 2016

We rented the house to have a family gathering of children and grandchildren. There were 8 of us, so the many bedrooms and bathrooms made it possible for everyone to have privacy and be able to get out of the house in the morning to go to see different sights, and go the the beach. There is a local beach which is about a 5 minute walk from the house (they have life guards). Other family joined us there one day, so we made use of the like new Weber BBQ. The house is located about 25 minutes from a lot of things; Hyannis, Woods Hole (great access to Martha's Vinyard) and Yarmouth Port. We went on a fabulous Whale Watching trip out of Provincetown (about 1.5 hours away). The house is very well equipped. Everything from linens, kitchenware, paper towels, soap, basic seasonings, cooking oil, etc. was there. This made it easy for us to spend time on family and the food we needed without having to buy fundamentals like can openers and aluminum foil. A full service grocery store is about 10-15 minutes away. You will definitely need a car. Nancy is a delight to work with...she is very positive and responsive. She should own more properties. If you are looking for a historic home to stay in on the Cape, this is a great choice.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Bill R
Phoenix, AZ
(Homeowner Entered)

We're back!!!!
We thought that our vacation couldn't bet any better than last year. We were wrong. It was wonderful. The girls had fun walking to the beaches while the "grownups" had time to unwind and distress, or just go for long walks.. There was nothing that the house lacked. It was fully equipped including 2 ovens and a gas grill. Bedding was comfortable, and towels and sheets were plentiful.The owners were thoughtful, as was the caretaker, who answered our questions quickly..Our favorite room was the back porch where we spent many enjoyable hours watching the girls play badminton, and soccer. We even got a chance to meet the gardeners who have done a lovely job in the yard Thanks, Nancy, for adding a stool next to the washing machine. Didn't have to bother anyone to help me put the clothes in the dryer. We were able to celebrate 4 birthdays and an anniversary. It was so much fun Would we come back? Absolutely. I've rented many houses down the Cape, but this is by far, my favorite. I just hated to leave We lost our daughter this year, and your house was truly loved and enjoyed by her, before her death, so this house has special meaning for us. Thanks for a perfect vacation.
Stayed: June 2016Submitted: July 8, 2016

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Nan B
Chelmsford, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
A perfect house for a multi-generational vacation

A wonderful assortment of public and private spaces. The spacious screened porch with its pretty wicker furniture and the cozy living room and 5 comfortable bedrooms made this the perfect spot for our three generations. Close proximity to both Riley's and Loop Beaches was a huge benefit, even the three year olds could walk. The kitchen lacked for nothing, and lovely beach towels and toys were provided as well as a wagon to carry them. General store and playground are nearby and a shopping center a short drive away. The owners love of the house comes through in a very personal way and adds to the welcoming feel.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Owner Response:

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We really try hard to think of what our guests may need to keep their vacation packing simple. We love that our home provided a backdrop for your family to paint their own happy memories. We'd welcome you back any time!

Rochester, NY
Member since Mar 2015

We had a wonderful week in this house this past summer. For six adults and four children age 5 and younger - it was a great layout. The grandparents stayed downstairs and enjoyed their own private bathroom and sitting room while their children and grandchildren stayed upstairs. We spent a lot of time on the back porch where the kids could easily go outside and play in the yard or on the driveway. The sheets and towels were excellent quality, and it was so nice to have a stack of beach towels we could use. We did a lot of cooking in the well equipped kitchen. The kids enjoyed the sidewalk chalk and beach toys. There was even a wagon to help us get everything to and from the beach. Both beaches are a short walk away and child friendly. The owners were exceptionally welcoming and had thought of everything - so we really only needed to bring food. You can walk to a nice playground in the town center and a nearby restaurant. We would definitely stay in this house again!
Stayed: August 2015Submitted: October 19, 2015

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: July 2016
Katharine G
(Homeowner Entered)

Our large family of 11 had a great time in the house. The back yard was great and we enjoyed the hammock. Accommodations were perfect with beds for everyone and plenty of space. An extra bath would have been nice, but otherwise we loved the house. It got warm at first as we were there in August, but the property manager promptly brought us fans. There is a large table that we enjoyed eating around and playing cards, as well as a great back porch. The eldest member of our family has poor mobility, but managed fine as there is a main bedroom and all main rooms on first floor. Adorable town, so glad we chose to vacation here!
Stayed: August 2015Submitted: June 30, 2016

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: July 2016
Caroline S
Knoxville, TN
(Homeowner Entered)


My family and I rented the Captain Rogers House last summer (2015) and found it to be outstanding in every way. If we weren't at the near by beach we were on the screened in porch which was absolutely delightful. Everyone was very happy with the beds, and the kitchen was as well stocked as any home could possibly be. Don't hesitate to visit....you'll love it.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2016
Peppy B
Clinton, CT
(Homeowner Entered)