Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Historic Village Home with Waterview - 4 day minimum
Cotuit Vacation Rental - ID 5250

5 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 11
Beds: 1 queen, 4 doubles, 3 twins
Beach: 2/10 mile to Ropes Beach, 1 mile to Loop Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 11 months
Contact details:
  Email Margaret
Contact Margaret, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (215) 340-1305, (508) 428-7731.
Please mention Property ID# 5250 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Beautiful House and Wonderful Hosts!

We stayed at Margy and Rick's Ryder home for four nights in mid August with four families. We had such an amazing time and cannot believe how welcoming and accommodating Margy and Rick were for our group. I have rented many vacation homes and have never come across one so stocked for vacation. This included toilet paper, paper towels, laundry soap, shampoos/conditioners, beach toys/equipment and beach towels. Margy even stocked the home with a bottle of wine, milk, and coffee at our arrival! We enjoyed the short walk/ride to both Ropes and Loop beach from the house and the best was the market right across the street. I would highly recommend this property for families/groups with children and would love to stay here again. The backyard is a dream for the kids to run around and we loved eating our dinners outside. The pictures are exactly what you will get, the house is beautiful and full of charm. 5 stars all the way!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Ellicott City, MD
Member since Aug 2019

Margy and Rick are wonderful and attentive hosts. They were there when we arrived to walk us through the space and give us the lay of the land. They came by a few times during the week for rubbish removal and grounds maintenance and to check in. They gave a lot of great tips on the area which helped our stay to be as fun as possible. And the home is a lovely historic home, kept with love and attention. The whole family really enjoyed our time there!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Nancy L
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Rick and Margy are wonderful hosts. Their home is great for large groups, and was perfect for our several small children. There were plenty of things to do within walking distance (including a great little cafe/market RIGHT across the street, and beaches and a library within a mile). The house was fully stocked as well. This was our first time using AirBnB and Rick and Margy exceeded all our expectations. They truly thought of everything to make our stay comfortable and were very good about communicating with us before and during our stay. We can’t thank them enough for helping us have an awesome vacation!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Matt R
Malden, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family spent a week at the Ryder House to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary, and we could not have enjoyed it more. It is a great spot for a group looking to enjoy a charming historic home in a lovely location. Margy and Rick showed amazing attention to detail and thoughtfulness throughout the entire booking and check-in process. They met us at the home and explained everything in detail, shared local tips and history, left us with groceries, and were available throughout the time we were there to respond to any need. The kitchen is very well equipped, and there is an outdoor gas grill as well. Our family enjoyed cooking meals together during our week there. The house is not large but it has many very comfortable spaces, making it easy for large groups to spread out in different areas for different activities. We had a number of children in our group and they were thrilled with the toys, puzzles and outdoor games, as well as the great muffins from the general store across the street. Cotuit was an easy jumping off point for visits around the Cape as well. We went to the beach, local museums and took at day trip to Nantucket. There is a small beach just a short walk from the house that was perfect for the kids. All around a wonderful stay.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Elizabeth S
Costa Rica
(Homeowner Entered)

Marty and Rick were great hosts. They purchased some items for us to make our stay more welcome. Beautiful setting and their patio was a great day place to start the day having coffee and breakfast. I had a group of 9 people and it was roomy enough for everyone and I would definitely stay there again.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: October 2018
Ken F
Bothell, WA
(Homeowner Entered)

The house is historic and beautiful, perfect for our three generation family reunion. Margy and Rick were always available and responsive to any need. Many happy times spent in the gorgeous back yard gazing at the distant water, while our youngest was swinging on the tree tire. Great to have a car pass to the pretty Cotuit beaches. HIghly recommended.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2018
Diana D
Los Angeles, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ryder House this summer, and it proved to be the perfect landing spot for our trip to Cape Cod. We were able to do lots of day trips, and Margy and Rick had everything needed for a wonderful stay. The owners were so wonderful and met us as we checked in. They showed us around, told us everything we needed to know and provided us with a guidebook of local destinations, restaurants, etc. Their barn was stocked with all the necessary equipment for a great time at the beach, and we had access to it all. The garden was in full bloom. The house, though on the historical registry felt wonderfully clean with a layout conducive to a family stay. I should also add that prior to our trip, Margy was SO helpful in our planning efforts. What a wonderful hostess! We would happily return to the Ryder House if we ever vacation in Cape Cod again. It was truly a week to remember!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2018
Courtney W
IL
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time at Margy and Rick's place and the location was perfect for us. The view of the bay from the garden was beautiful and the children loved playing outside. Thank you!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: October 2018
Celine J
Seattle, WA
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star review:
Margy and Rick's home is a beautiful, comfortable place to stay in a wonderful location (you can see the sea from the kitchen window!). It was clean, the breakfast was great, and Margy and Rick were incredibly helpful, giving us recommendations for restaurants and places to visit.

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Matthew T
London, England
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star review: My friends and I were only able to stay for one night but it was a lovely start to our weekend at Martha's Vineyard. Margy was pretty flexible with our arrival time and showed us around her beautiful home. She also had a great breakfast for us in the morning and made sure we were all as comfortable as possible.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Laura K
San Francisco, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star review:
Our stay at Margy and Rick's house was great! The rooms and bathrooom are very nice and clean. The backyard is just beautiful and we spent some good evenings in the veranda. Margy and Rick were very helpful along our stay and told us how to get easily to the places we wanted to see in Cape Cod. The location, Cotuit, is great to go to Martha's Vineyard and whales watching. Their house is so cute and typical. We really loved staying there and felt like home. Margy also makes breakfast with fresh fruits, english muffins, bagels, eggs... which is just amazing. It was my parents' first Air BNB experience and they were thrilled!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: January 2017
Claire L
Paris, France
(Homeowner Entered)