Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

OCEANFRONT Home on Private Beach w/ Kayaks & A/C
East Sandwich Vacation Rental - ID 25169

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 kings, 1 queen, 2 twins
Beach: You're on a private beach !
Guest Reviews: 24 reviews
Time active: 2 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Cathy Ann
Contact Cathy Ann, by e-mail.
Please mention Property ID# 25169 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
24 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Incredible September long weekend!

We spent a fantastic long weekend with friends at Cathy and Karl's beach cottage. Yearly road trip. 6.5 hours from Montréal. The house is superbly located, right on the beach, as evidenced from the pictures, but also only 25 minutes from Hyannis Port and 40 minutes from the Woods Hole ferry to Martha's Vineyard. So, very central. The house itself is very clean, comfortable and cozy (can easily sleep 6 adults and 2 children). Cape Cod style and colours get you in a vacation mood instantly, from the moment you walk in. Lots of amenities. There is everything you need in the kitchen, including a wide selection of dry spices should you choose to cook, which we did. We also used the gas BBQ. We lit a couple of bonfires right on the beach at sunset, sipping wine, watching waves breaking on the beach. Fond memories.

Dealing with the home owners was a delight. Frequent communications prior to and during rental period. They were very caring. Clear answers to questions we had and helpful all the way through. Overall, great place, beautiful house, great service. I recommend this location 100%.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Member since Jun 2017
Excellent spot!

If possible, the pictures posted on the listing don't do this fantastic house justice. This is a well-maintained, modern cottage, and Cathy is a very responsive owner who helped us navigate any quirks about the house that we couldn't figure out for ourselves. We had five people staying here very comfortably, including my parents and our toddler.

The location is very private, and we had the beach to ourselves without another person in shouting distance on most days. We had exactly the vacation we were hoping for when we booked.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Member since Mar 2016
Fantastic Family Getaway!

We loved our vacation at Cathy & Mike's cottage! My husband and I, along with our toddler, stayed here for a week in August 2017 and had a blast. The house is beautiful and you can't beat the location - steps from your own private beach. Cathy is extremely thoughtful and diligent (for example, I randomly mentioned we typically bring a blow up pool for our toddler for the beach and she bought a 50 foot hose so that it reaches the beach! So extremely sweet.) The house is very private and quiet and we enjoyed full relaxation. The beach is lovely - it was rocky when we were there (a few storms came through in early Spring) so I'd recommend bringing water shoes. The water was crystal clear at high tide!

This is a beautiful location and the owners really are fantastic. Highly recommend, especially for families.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
New York, NY
Member since Sep 2017

Hi Cathy. We just made it. Haven't even walked all the way in and we are in love with your place. Thank you so much for the beach bags and the sand toys!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Marti F
Ontario, Canada
(Homeowner Entered)
The best rental! So happy!

"Thank you! Your cottage is beautiful! The cleanest, best decorated & well equipped cottage we have ever rented. We tried the ferry to Nantucket -- great place! Beautiful & lots to do. Locally we enjoyed Seafood Sams, Ice Cream Sandwich & shopping at Cuffys. The week went too fast! The beach bags were greatly appreciated :)"

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Penfield, NY
Member since Apr 2011
Beautiul beach retreat

This is our third time back to this perfect cottage, and each time we return we feel like we are at our home away from home. The owner always adds some special touches, this year a new dishwasher and lovely sleeping alcoves in the bedrooms. The house has everything you need for relaxing, cooking, and enjoying your vacation. But the best part is the private beach, just steps away, where you can enjoy nightly bonfires. Heavenly!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Member since Apr 2014

Everything is great! We love the house. And thank you for the beach bags!!
We just left. Thank you very much for everything. The stay was wonderful!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Rachel T
Pennsylvania
(Homeowner Entered)
Beautiful, Clean and Bright Beach House :)

This beautiful, clean and bright beach house was perfect for our family. Two bedrooms upstairs were more than enough room for my husband and I with our two kids (ages 3 and 5) while my very active parents enjoyed the master bedroom downstairs (with its own bathroom and epic shower).

The back patio is private and has latched gates so the kids could be out there playing (waiting for us to walk down the stairs to the beach...) while we were inside.

It was a really great stay. We had one random appliance issue and the homeowner was very attentive in helping us resolve it. She was helpful and easy to communicate with, followed up to make sure everything was continuing to work fine after issue was resolved.

We had a beach fire almost every night. Neighbors were friendly. We met the homeowners on our last day on our way out. Wonderful people.

It was a fantastic stay, perfect fit for our family, and I would absolutely recommend vacationing here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Member since Jan 2017
Look no further!

This is a terrific place to stay whilst visiting Cape Cod. The property is full of character, very comfortable and well-equipped, with the owners having clearly thought through everything a guest may need. The best part though has to be the location - right on the beach. It's a privilege to be literally a few steps to your own section of paradise. The beach is huge, has lovely views and yet is almost deserted. We loved walking for miles in such a tranquil setting, kayaking, swimming, watching the sun go down, having BBQs...

As we own a holiday cottage complex in Somerset, England, we are probably rather picky - and we would pick this cottage again and again. Ann was very helpful, with lots of advice for us Brits! We loved going to Ice Cream Sandwich, the Fisherman's View Restaurant, whale-watching from P'town but above all just relaxing here. We looked at loads of properties before choosing this Oceanfront cottage - you don't need to look any further than here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
United Kingdom
Member since Feb 2016

Thank you both for sharing your cottage. We had a wonderful week! Thanks again! (Text from last day)

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2017
Keri C
Michigan
(Homeowner Entered)
Perfection!

Anything and everything you need is in this beach house! Clean, comfy, and well equipped from inside out. The owners are very responsive and helpful, emailing us links, ideas, and activities for our kids in the area! Steps bring you right onto a private beach for days of complete relaxation and enjoyment! Great beach and house for families!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Chappaqua, NY
Member since Aug 2016

Thank you for the pie, jelly and allowing us to share your home for a week. We were not sure what to expect from the house to the town and surrounding areas but in the end we were pleasantly surprised. The kayaks were fun...it was the first time for us to ever use them. The cottage was lovely inside and out. We loved how private it was, especially on the beach. The traffic was the worst part but the friendliness of everyone made up for that! We went to local shops/galleries and purchased a few pieces to bring a little of the Cape back to our homes. We can't believe it's over already but we did enjoy ourselves.
Thanks again (From email)

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2017
Kortni B
Pennsylvania
(Homeowner Entered)
Amazing get-away home

This is our second stay at this beautiful home and we are already planning our return! We have found it provides the perfect combination of privacy and a natural setting, yet is close to everything we needed. The owner is great to work with, and has everything so well organized and labeled, with helpful information all collected in a binder. We especially loved the well-equipped kitchen with a brand new oven/stove this year. The owner has meticulously stocked the kitchen with every spice and utensil that one could want (including a pizza peel we used for delicious grilled pizza). We also loved having cook fires right on our own private beach. The kayaks (brand new this year) kept our teenage children busy, and they loved being able to jump in the water whenever they liked. The owner is constantly adding new touches and has thought of everything to make your vacation relaxing. We can't wait to come back to this true treasure, simply the best place on the Cape!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Apr 2014
Awesome! Beautiful!

We have stayed here before and love it. This house is beautiful inside and out! We love renting this house. It couldn't be more perfect! Thank you, Cathy, for everything!!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Weston, CT
Member since Jun 2017

Hi - Our pleasure! We had a fabulous time. You've really thought of every convenience and made the home very welcoming, enjoyable and most importantly easy! Thanks again. (From Email)

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2017
Audra J
California
(Homeowner Entered)
Another great year!

We stayed (and reviewed) this cottage last year, but I wanted to update our review. We were so pleased when we arrived this year to return to this beautifully decorated cottage. Every room is so beautifully and professionally decorated, and the owners have given so much thought to the premises. Everything you possibly could want is included in the kitchen, and I noted they had upgraded the oven/range with a lovely new glass top appliance. We love to cook, and enjoyed both the kitchen and a nice little grill on the patio.

Additionally, they had made many other improvements to an already wonderful property. In addition to a canoe, they now have a kayak available, and new steps have been built down to the beach. They also have a nice gas fire pit available this year. My daughter and her husband noted there were many new board games and enjoyed several epic scrabble matches.

But, amenities aside, the best part for me was the total peace and quiet. Bird song, the nature sounds of waves and wind off the bay were so restful. Yet, for those who want to go and do, the location is close to almost everywhere on the Cape.

For those who may follow us, be sure to visit Heritage Gardens and see the extensive antique car collection. We picnicked and enjoyed the gardens, car collection, and carousel, and this year they have an exhibit of movie costumes on display.

I sure hope the Vacation Gods will be kind to us, and allow us to return once more to Sandwich, and to this marvelous cottage on the shore!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: June 2016
Seneca, SC
Member since Feb 2013

We had a lovely time at your cottage! It is lovely!
Thank you so very much! (From Email)

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2017
Dr. Dan and Nancy R
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

Cottage is wonderful!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2017
Tracy E
Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)
Relaxing Week on the Cape with Breathtaking Sunsets

We had a wonderful family vacation (with two teenage children) on Cape Cod at this lovely cottage. The setting right by the water was beautiful. The cottage was well-equipped with everything we needed including a grill, beach chairs, linens, beach towels, a fully stocked kitchen, and a full size washer and dryer. The large flat screen TV in the great room was an added plus. We loved having three large bedrooms (gorgeous views from second floor bedrooms) with two king sized beds and a queen sized bed. It is located near grocery stores and several charming ice cream shops and local restaurants. The sunsets were amazing and we enjoyed our nightly fires on the beach with s'mores. It was easy for us to travel to other parts of the Cape including Hyannis for catching the high speed ferry to Nantucket. We had fun going to several Cape Cod league baseball games. A relaxing, peaceful week.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Libertyville, IL
Member since Mar 2012
Cape Cod Beach House

A slice of heaven in Cape Cod! This beautiful home captures the true spirit of a dream Cape Cod vacation. The owners have meticulously updated this cottage to a perfect blend of original beauty and modern amenities. The open floor plan invites the entire family to gather, and the kitchen is equipped with everything one could think of, including an ice cream maker. The natural setting of the private beach is truly spectacular, and our family really enjoyed being steps away from the water. A very authentic beach experience. We are already planning our next stay!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Member since Apr 2014
: Beautiful Cottage, Gracious Owners

My family and I just stayed at this beach cottage and we had a great time! The cottage is located in a gorgeous area and was beyond our expectations. The bedrooms are beautiful, the beds are so comfortable and the sea salt ocean breeze absolutely delightful. The bathrooms are clean and good looking. We loved the open main living area -it's cute, colorful and fun, and with the kitchen and dining areas right there, we could all be together while cooking, having a meal, playing games or watching a movie. The patio out back is lovely and private, but the best part is that the private beach is just steps out the back door! The owners are very thoughtful and seem to anticipate ones every need in the way they have equipped their home and take care of you. Its a very beautiful COTTAGE, and we had a GREAT vacation! We plan to come back again and again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Seymour, CT
Member since Jul 2015
Perfect Cottage, Generous Hosts

We have just concluded a week at the beach at this wonderful cottage. Everything was simply perfect. It was a great floor plan, beautifully decorated. I have back problems and the master bedroom had a very comfortable mattress. I did not suffer any back aches as I often do sleeping away from home. The beach was right at the back door. There is a wonderful small deck at the top of the dunes where I enjoyed sitting and watching the sunset each evening. The kitchen was great and very well supplied so my son-in-law, who is a foodie and terrific cook, was able to enjoy making some of his specialties for all of us. My son grilled some on the outdoor grill, and we enjoyed the ample seating at the picnic tables in the back porch. There is plenty of parking. The kind owners allow a canoe of theirs to be used if you wish, and there is a shed chock full of beach chairs and other supplies. A nice touch was that the cottage was supplied with milk, butter, eggs, and a specialty loaf of bread for us, making that first day a lot easier. The cottage was well located for us to explore any direction - rather centrally located - so it did not take that long to get to either end of the Cape. Our family really loves the outdoors, and we appreciated how quiet it was at night, and how many birds there were and the conservation nature trails nearby. I hope to rent this cottage again. We have rented quite a few times, in Nantucket, and at the Outer Banks and Hilton Head, and of all the summer rentals, this was one of our favorite places.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Seneca, SC
Member since Feb 2013
Private Summer Celebration with Family

We felt lucky to find this serene place on the Cape as it was easy for our family arriving from all over the country. The back patio became the evening gathering for happy hour, grilling and major bean bag toss competitions. The wooden steps led to the private beach where we then enjoyed a nightly bonfire. We had paddle boards delivered to the door and had a blast on the water each day. The house has a perfect layout for hanging out together; an open great room, large dining table and two very clean bathrooms. The location right on the beach, we never slept so well in the very comfortable beds. We gladly look forward to returning, the owners were very kind and so helpful with suggestions and information. It is a peaceful, special place to truly vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: April 2015
Fremont, CA
Member since Apr 2015
Beach home

We have stayed here several times throughout the year and every stay is memorable. Both my kids love it and always ask when are we going back. It's very private and cozy. It's just feet away from the beach and water, minutes away from stores and site seeing. The home and grounds are clean and well kept and inviting. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a private and relaxing getaway!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2014
Date Submitted: April 2015
Milford, CT
Member since Apr 2015