Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Antique Cottage in Private Location

Provincetown Vacation Rental - ID 22137
1 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 2
Beds: 1 queen
Guest Reviews: 20 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 6 months
20 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect in Ptown

This is the 3rd summer we have stayed at Tom's place in Provincetown. It is perfectly situated to everything. Commercial St. is only a few short minutes walk away but it's removed enough that it's quiet. The cottage is beautiful and comfortable and Tom couldn't be a better host. My child and dogs and I always enjoy our stay! We will be back every summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Jamaica Plain, MA
Member since Feb 2018
Charming cottage

We really enjoyed our week in this cottage, which is very close to everything you might wish to do but very quiet and secluded. It is in the backyard of the owner's home but there was plenty of privacy. The decor is eclectic and colorful. It contains all essential items for a week of housekeeping. There is plenty of space inside and out for a two people. The owner was friendly and accessible. It is a 3 minute walk to Commercial Street, in the lovely East End of town. Beaches are less than 10 minutes away. My husband and I would definitely stay here again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Schenectady, NY
Member since Jul 2020
A P'town Gem

We have been lucky enough to stay twice at this gem of a cottage and plan to do so again soon. Tom, the owner, has done a great job designing and decorating a comfortable place for guests to stay. He takes pride in his work and it shows! Tom lives next-door --- he is there if needed, but otherwise gives his guests complete privacy. The central location is ideal!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: June 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you for your kind review of this property. We feel equally lucky to have such nice people stay at the cottage. Please return again!

Arlington, VA
Member since Mar 2017
Perfect Ptown Experience...again and again

Last August, we rented this cottage for the third time and we'll keep coming back. It has everything you need but is so much more than your average Ptown rental. It has soul.

Sure, it has all the comforts; spacious, two FULL bathrooms, W/D, A/C., Parking(!). But it is also articulately decorated with a wonderful mix of poignant, interesting, funny and sexy memorabilia that makes it a truly unique stay. It's located behind a lovely, historic Ptown house in a lush, green yard. The yard is super shaded but the cottage has tons of windows, so it's very bright and airy with great cross breeze thru the windows or out the French doors to the back of the house. You really feel like you're a townie when you stay here; like you're in your own home.

Tom is a lovely host. He never hovers but he has always been quick to respond to any requests.

All three of our rentals were in summer and we love coming to Ptown then but I imagine the cottage is a great home base any time of year, even in winter.

We will absolutely be back. It's the perfect stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: June 2020
Owner Response:

I am truly appreciative of the comments. It's a great treat to have guests return. Their enjoyment of the cottage and time in Provincetown translates into a touch of kindness that enhances this property. Looking forward to your visit again.

Member since Feb 2018
We love this private cottage getaway!

We loved our stay at Tom's cottage and can't wait to return! A converted cottage for two, set back in the garden, with a picnic table for outdoor dining, and an outdoor grill, as well. Perfect for the two of us, with a large bedroom and two full baths(!) and washer/dryer, as well as comfy dining area and living room. Tom is nearby, not intrusive, but very responsive when we had a question. It can be hard to find a stand-alone private and roomy place for 2 in Ptown, this is a gem -- and not far from Commercial Street, but far enough to be quiet and calm. Love this place!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: June 2020
San Francisco, CA
Member since Jan 2018
Not What We Expected

Having read all the other glowing reviews we felt confident this would be a great place to rent in August. We were pretty disappointed. While the cabin was pretty much as described our first night there the pillow cases and sheets had an odd scent of men's cologne so we laundered them the next day and then we were fine. There were some dust webs in places on the walls of the living room which seem to suggest no real thorough vacuuming had been done in awhile. The surface of the cooking pans in the kitchen were bad and even with oil everything stuck to them. There are no blackout/privacy shades in the bedroom which is full of windows, so its like being in a lit fish bowl at night and then floods with sunlight before 6AM which wasn't great for catching up on our sleep. We felt an intense lack of privacy while we were there. Tom's policy that all guests must be pre-approved by him in writing that he explained in a text to us is applicable to even having dinner guests over which we just found weird as we tend to socialize with friends and have not encountered such a policy at any Ptown rental before. It's rented as a one bedroom, but in fact it is licensed by the City of Provincetown as a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom dwelling given the loft above the dining room according to the Occupancy Certificate posted in the rental. Of course, Tom can rent it out as he desires but just again seemed odd. The close proximity of fences and other buildings to the cabin really prevented many cool cross breezes so we really appreciated the A/C at night. Being tucked back deep in Tom the landlord's backyard with just a small side path to the street and very little privacy by proper window shades or plantings ( albeit a small dividing row of shrubs is growing) In short just not our cup of tea...but it may be yours, of course. I left early and left the place immaculate according to Tom.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2019
Owner Response:

I am very sorry to hear that this guest was disappointed in any way with my home. I work very hard to provide a spotless home and an enjoyable stay for my guests. I was shocked to hear of his disappointments and wished he had informed me of his concerns during his stay so that I could have remedied them right away.

Here are my responses to his concerns:
- There are window coverings on all windows in the unit. There are no black out shades, nor has this ever been raised as a concern.
- All linens including pillowcases and pillow protectors are freshly laundered, the bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned, the premises thoroughly swept and vacuumed and the floors washed before check in. This takes approximately 5 hours. There are also additional fresh linens included with the rental.
- Dishes, pots and pans, refrigerator and stove are also washed and cleaned.
- The Tenant might have misunderstood. Friends of the Tenants' are welcome. I simply ask that the Tenant inform me if they plan to invite a number of visitors to the property. It is standard policy with many Rentals here.
- This Rental is in a private and quiet neighbourhood. There are surrounding properties separated by privet bushes and high fences which afford good privacy for the rental premises. The location of the premises is shown on the listing to inform potential renters about the property and the surrounding neighbourhood. Renters have expressed how they appreciate the location and the privacy it offers, in contrast to other rentals in more congested and noisy locations in Provincetown.
- This guest may have left a few hours before Check Out time, but his review implied that he left over 24 hours early, which he did not do.

Once again I wish to express that these concerns would have been resolved immediately if the guest had informed me at the time rather than to contain his grievances until after he had left the premises.

Quincy, MA
Member since Sep 2019
What a gem!

My husband and I just stayed in Tom's cabin for a week. The cabin was everything we were looking for, all the comforts of home but decorated like a quintessential New England cabin should be. It is right in the heart of Provincetown, everything within walking distance, a block and a half away from Commercial Street but far enough away that it was quiet. We loved it! Tom was an amazing host, made sure we had what we needed every step of the way. Linens are even provided. He made sure we had an amazing vacation and we can't thank him enough.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Manassas, VA
Member since Jun 2019
Very special place

My only reluctance in giving Tom's cottage a 5 star rating is that it could draw too much attention to this gem. If you're looking for the quintessential Cape Cod cottage, this is it. Comfortable, great location (keep in mind it's in a super quiet area and not an appropriate rental for those looking to party), fascinating decor; it's impossible to pin point my favorite thing about this place. We loved having two bathrooms and because our week in Ptown was abnormally hot, we really appreciated the AC in the bedroom. Tom is a great host; doesn't hover but is easy to contact with questions. Over the years, we've rented many other places and this was our favorite. We really felt at home here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
Member since Feb 2018
Amazing Rental

I have to say this was the most amazing cottage to stay at. So clean it made me feel as if I was at home. Tom has the most amazing personality always willing to help, and if he cant he finds out the information for you. I give my overall stay an A+++. Tom, thank you for the awesome stay and hopefully I'll see you again next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

It was a delight to host Lori and Chris - an absolutely wonderful couple. I am happy to know they enjoyed their stay; and they left the cottage spotless for me. 5 Stars back!

Coventry, RI
Member since Jul 2018
Warm inviting cottage

My one month stay in the dead of winter exceeded my expectations! The cottage was warm, filled with light, and charming. The queen size bed was so comfortable (great mattress) with a down comforter, a large wool blanket and really nice pillows. The owner was more than helpful with information about restaurants, beaches and things to do in town. He was friendly, accommodating and professional. I would stay here again and again. Thank you, Tom, for being a wonderful host!!! Provincetown is a magical place at anytime of the year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: February 2018
Date Submitted: March 2018
Member since Aug 2017
Perfect get-away

Ideal place...warm, cozy, quiet, impeccably kept, right in the center of everything. My only regret is not having more vacation time to stay longer..this time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: December 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Member since Nov 2017
Quaint and quiet

The cottage was tucked away in a quiet & convenient location that we liked so much we asked him if he'd sell it to us. Tom was very gracious and if we needed anything he was there. The cottage was spotless, comfortable and even with the hot weather, we never really used the A/C with all the shade from the trees and the breezes through the windows. Commercial Street was just a short stroll away, which made it convenient for the dozens of walks we made up and down it.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Feb 2016
Cozy, Quaint and Great Location!

From the moment we stepped foot in the cottage, we felt right at home! It was decorated in a very quaint, eclectic Cape cottage style that was very welcoming and cozy. We loved the old pine floors, tons of windows and two modern bathrooms! The bed was very comfortable; best sleep ever on vacation. It was a short walk or bike ride to pretty much everything. We were just off the beaten path, so it was private and quiet. Our host, Tom, was very accommodating and friendly. We would definitely come back again. Our dog, Brady, made himself right at home too!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Norton, MA
Member since Mar 2016
Relaxing Retreat

If you're looking for a quiet haven away from all the noise and stress of everyday life, then this home is the place for you. Situated on a quiet side street, the cottage is set back from the road and you won't hear any traffic, yet you are within easy walking distance of Commercial Street. The cottage is very spacious for 2 people. The interior is nicely furnished, the bed is comfortable, and there is an added bonus of 2 bathrooms. The landlord Tom is very hospitable, and he goes above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need. We have been renting in Provincetown for 18 summers, and this cottage was one of our best rentals. We highly recommend it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Cummington, MA
Member since Apr 2016
Charming Ptown Cottage

My husband and I loved our stay at this totally charming Ptown cottage. The location was perfect-- just a block or two off of Commercial Street but far enough so that it was peaceful. Tom is such a nice guy and available at a moment's notice for anything a tenant may need.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Watertown, MA
Member since Aug 2016
Incredible Time in an Incredible Property

I actually spent the entire summer in Tom's fantastic cottage working from Provincetown, and it was an incredible experience through-and-through.

The place itself is lovingly and painstakingly decorated (it's Tom's passion as well as his work). The space is large and homey--perfect for an afternoon lounge or an evening meal. And Tom is a gracious host who cares about the property and its steward. Whether you are there for a week or longer, this is the place to stay.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: October 2014
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Mar 2014
Home away from home!

Absolutely wonderful place to stay! Perfect for my partner and me during Women's Week! Tom, the owner, is delightful! (He even called us on our way to ensure we had good directions!) Upon our arrival, we were met by him and his Maine Coon. He offered to help with our bags, gave us a tour of the cottage and made sure we had everything we needed. Very personable and extremely accommodating; even allowed us to stay a few extra hours the day we were departing. (So nice to alleviate that rushed feeling!)

The cottage is very clean and neat; in a quiet location. Off the busy beaten path, but close enough to make the short walk to Commercial Street. Furnishings are comfortable and sense of home truly felt; surroundings are exceptionally relaxing...which suited us perfectly as we found ourselves wanting to be there more than in town. It is a fun place to explore - each piece feels like it has a "story to tell." You can tell the owner has put a lot of creative thought into the cottage. We absolutely loved it!

Thanks for a great place to stay! We plan to visit again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Holland, MI
Member since May 2012
Amazing Vacation!

I hesitate to tell readers how awesome this property is -- my vacation here was nothing short of peaceful, beautiful and very special. It is clean, pretty, and quiet. I fell into a depression when I came back to my "real" life. Tom and Matthew are wonderful hosts -- anything you could possibly need or want, they can accommodate to make your stay as nice as ours was. I will for sure be back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: May 2013
Jersey City, NJ
Member since May 2013
The best kept secret in Ptown

This cottage truly has everything. Its absolutely adorable, has one of the most comfortable beds in Ptown, two bathrooms so no one has to climb over each other, a terrific kitchen, and a truly fascinatingly eclectic interior that makes the atmosphere truly Ptown. It is near absolutely everything and is a great price. Tom the owner is truly a peach and is always helpful when you need directions, advice on activities or dining options.

You can not go wrong with this place - it's amazing!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Jamaica Plain, MA
Member since Jul 2012
Very relaxing week in Provincetown

I arrived on the last ferry from Boston and was immediately charmed by the cottage, set back in the garden behind the main house. The exterior is clean and simple and the pine-panelled interior charmingly and creatively decorated with whimsical objects and painting, many representative of the nautical and artistic culture that characterizes the tip of Cape Cod. All the amenities worked well. While just two short blocks to busy Commercial Street, the cottage is in a secluded area, its quiet location deepened by the surrounding shrubs, trees and small lawn. Looking out from the unusual large number of windows, one could see the row of rosehips lined the fronting "gallery" and the bird feeder encouraged birdsong at dawn. An idyllic spot. I had my best sleep for months!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
New York, NY
Member since Jul 2012