Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Artisan Home w/Hot tub, 3 Bedrooms, Loft, 2 Baths, Lg. yard
Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 30596

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 2 queens, 2 twins, Futon in upper den, 2 twins trundle
Beach: Long Point Beach entrance 1.5 miles
Guest Reviews: 38 reviews
Time active: 1 year
Contact details:
  Email Betsy
Contact Betsy, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 627-3998.
Please mention Property ID# 30596 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

Perfect location, beautiful home, wonderful hosts.
08/20/2017 at 7:15 PM

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: May 2019
Vincent T
Boston
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house, and 10 min from Edgartown. The house is roomy, clean and far more well stocked with kitchen utensils, equip than anywhere else we've stayed. Great hot tub right of the back. This house is really private.
07/11/2016 at 8:19 PM

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: May 2019
Joanne L
Vermont
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Rental Second Year in a Row
This is a wonderful rental that is not missing a single thing. The layout of the house is wonderful for small families with teenagers, it is more than pet friendly, and the kitchen has every amenity plus more! The hot tub is such a wonder added value, that on some days we just stayed home and enjoyed the tub. The Proximitiy to Long Point Beach is about 10 minutes, the Airport is three minutes (near hear a thing from the planes) and Edgartown center 9 minutes. Don and Betsy are incredible friendly and responsive. It's the first rental property that I have stayed in in 20 years, that there was not one problem or issue. Everything was perfect. I hate to recommend it because I want to keep it a secret!
06/25/2015 at 2:42 PM

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: May 2019
Anthony B
Baltimore
(Homeowner Entered)

Great relaxing vacation
Wonderful rental home with tons of privacy for the whole family. Plenty of room for outdoor activities for the whole family including some great, nailbiting soccer golf. The kitchen & outdoor grill were fantastic to cook all of our meals. We had a wonderful time at this home and would definitely rent there again.
09/03/2015 at 11:23 AM

Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: May 2019
Diana and Mike W
Springfiled
(Homeowner Entered)

Our favorite place to stay
We started visiting Martha's Vineyard almost 20 years ago and have continued to visit every couple of years. Fore the first 5 or 6 visits we rented a different house each time, exploring different parts of the island. We liked most of them, but were always looking for something else. Once we found this house we were hooked and have not considered another house since. The location is great - between the Morning Glory Farm and the Long Point Wildlife Refuge you have everything you need for a perfect week nearby. The house is clean and has everything you need plus plenty of extra space and a wide open yard. The owners live in another house on the other side of the yard, so if you were to need anything they are right there and very helpful.
04/17/2015 at 6:14 PM

Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: May 2019
Glenn and Jen A
Venice, Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect
We stayed with our grown kids and 2 golden retrievers. It was great because the dogs could roam freely and we did not have to worry! The house was roomy and quaint and exceeded expectations along with a well-equipped kitchen. The outdoor shower was a big hit for everyone. We really liked the location as it is away from the crowds, but close to just about anywhere on the island. We also enjoyed having the bike path so close. The owners have created a nice sanctuary and are great hosts. We really appreciated their hospitality which helped make our stay memorable. We highly recommend this rental.
07/23/2014 at 8:08 PM

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: May 2019
Tyler and Marie H
Charlotte, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

Hidden Gem in Edgartown!
After a very stressful few months of work and tons of snow this winter, I decided to book a summer rental in Edgartown for a week during the summer. I was looking for comfort, serenity and classic style in Edgartown without the hustle and bustle of being right downtown. This property MORE than delivered on all fronts! Although the attached photos are great, they do not do this home justice. It is so homey, stylish and has everything you need. The main living area has an amazing chef's kitchen with everything anyone would need for spectacular meals at home and plenty of outside seating to enjoy the evening air on the deck or in the yard. The home sits on 2+ acres and is private, quite and very well maintained. I had my two senior pugs with me for the week and they thoroughly enjoyed waddling around the yard each day. Another highlight was the the outdoor shower. After a day at the beach, showering in the private garden area was totally a delight. The bedrooms were comfortable, spacious and great for anyone with a family or friends joining for a few days. Easy 10 minute drive into downtown, 5 minutes to Morning Glory Farm and centrally located for access to the airport, beaches and ferries. If you want a real MV experience -- this is the house for you. I would rent this house again next summer or in fall. Awesome experience.
07/22/2013 at 2:41 PM

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: May 2019
Angela B
Houston, Texas
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved this home not only is the location fantastic, but the house is beautiful. Just what we needed. I'll be back often to this home-far better even in person. LOVED IT.
06/18/2013 at 8:44 PM

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: May 2019
John G
Chicago, Illinois
(Homeowner Entered)

We’ve rented on the Vineyard 20 years. This home has moved to the top of our list. You'll appreciate it’s location. Downtown Edgartown can be crazy –traffic and noise. But quiet, parking and privacy are hard to come by downtown. Here a you’re a 5 minute ride to Morning Glory Farm. Go to OB or Vineyard Haven? Each 5 miles away. The Home Port? You’re on the side of town that makes a trip quicker. Secluded, you drive down a winding drive, a last bend brings to view the home. A wide swath of greenery with a large yard and shade trees. 1st on our list of amenities was the hottub, right off the deck. Next to it is a grill I always wanted, a Weber Genesis in pristine shape: burgers n dogs and chicken and scallops and cod - it’s the Lexus of grills. A great grill, one you push the igniter once, and it lights – it lit every time on the 1st push. Outside, plenty of chairs and chaises, on the deck and the back yard. An outdoor shower gave a sand-off after a beach day. Inside, a home away from home. No cheap IKEA, Christmas Tree Shop or hand me downs we’ve suffered in past rentals, this is quality throughout. Furnished – everything! the linens, pillows, cleaning supplies, pots/pans, table and barware, etc. Betsey left Italian roast coffee beans to grind in the coffee maker. The “Garden Fairy” even left fresh eggs from the farm next door, and basil, onions, and sun-dried tomatoes. Amazing owners! The downstairs wide shower -two heads with tons of pressure and hot water – it’s privacy and convenience made it our primary shower, but the upstairs shower/bathroom was nice, too. Towels were luxurious, and the wash cloths were new. So nice to not have to run to Stop & Shop to get TP, paper towels, dish soap – the basics we’ve had to get in the past, when it’s been provided. The bedrooms were private, and the TV room had DirectTV on a large flatscreen. We loved the kitchen and large wooden table by the back slider. The gas 4 burner Profile stove was modern and clean, the dishwasher a quiet Kitchenaid, and the icemaker of the Kitchenaid more than kept up with our needs. The fridge was huge – plenty of room for drinks and food. A builtin microwave was handy. Every pot and pan imaginable was there, and we enjoyed the numerous French influences. As Betsey wrote in her last email before arrival “Relax, you’re on vacation, now.” Yes, we were.
06/08/2012 at 4:11 AM

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: May 2019
John R
Delray, Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

I am not one to write reviews but after such a wonderful vacation I had to do something to acknowledge what a wonderful property this is. If you are looking for peace and quiet, a fantastic central location, away from crowds and traffic, this is the perfect spot. The house was spotless and very well equipped. If you like to cook you will love the beautifully outfitted kitchen. The huge fireplace in the center of the house and the hand hewn beams give such a feeling of warmth. Also a fun note: These timbers are the same timbers that were also used for the Black Dog Tavern! The personality of the house was so interesting with artwork and antiques that we never felt we were really in a "rental". The other wonderful feature was the large deck appointed with a huge 6 person hot tub overlooking a large and open back yard. Beautiful, Comfortable, Clean, Well Equipped. We feel we really lucked out with this cyber experience. Thanks so much to Don and Betsy for sharing their beautiful home with us. After so many rentals we have been in that have just 6 plates for six beds I cannot do anything other than rave about this little piece of heaven. It really is a the perfect Vineyard get away! Thanks again....we will be back!
07/24/2008 at 4:07 PM

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: May 2019
jack and Louise B
Spokane, Washington
(Homeowner Entered)

Whether fishing at Menemsha, Sancastling at South beach,blading, biking, basketball or barbecues. This is the ideal home away from home. Times to remember and to look forward to every year!
01/29/2007 at 6:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: May 2019
Sandra M
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family has some of our fondest memories of our time spent over the years in this beautiful home. Thank you again Betsy & Don, see you this summer. Glenn.
01/30/2007 at 6:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: May 2019
Bennett M
Sante Fe, New Mexico
(Homeowner Entered)

We thoroughly enjoyed Betsy and Don's wonderfuly secluded home. We and our dogs were made to feel welcome in every way. The house is furnished in an artistic/eclectic manner and provides every amenity. We enjoyed badminton/wiffle ball/frisbee in the yard, hikes from the property to Felix Neck and Long Point and most of all, evenings in the hottub gazing at the stars. We'll definitely be back!
07/25/2007 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: May 2019
Jason A
Philly, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

It is the quiet and the solitude we enjoy in the house.
Near everything you would need to get to on the
island, only you never hear anything beyond the
treeline. Will return.
01/29/2007 at 6:00 AM

Date of Stay: June 2007
Date Submitted: May 2019
paul S
Pheonix, Arizona
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful yet comfortable home. It had everything we needed and that we oould get on the bike trail right at the end of the driveway to bike or run was especially attractive. I'd HIGHLY recommend it to people who want a relaxing stay on MV.
07/03/2006 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: June 2006
Date Submitted: May 2019
Celene B
Melbourne, Florida
(Homeowner Entered)

AMAZING HOUSE!! Such a warm and comforting feeling wanted to stay forever. Really made our vacation the best ever!!
04/11/2006 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: April 2006
Date Submitted: May 2019
Devon T
Ann Arbor, Michigan
(Homeowner Entered)

I've had the pleasure of renting several homes for several years.
But this house is ranked very high. A great experience,
relaxing inviting space.
This house is SO much better than a web site could present"

06/31/2004 at 6:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2004
Date Submitted: May 2019
Lynne P
Brooklyn, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We were looking for a nice, relaxing
week on the Vineyard to beach, bike,
hike, explore, play wiffle ball, chill in
the hot tub, grill, hang out on the
porch, catch up on life. We got it and
more! Thank you so much, we had a
great time. Loved the private yard,
spacious porch, comfortable rooms
and kitchen. I felt rejuventated when I
came back to the real world. Could'nt
have been better of a place to stay.
See you next year :)
07/20/2004 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2004
Date Submitted: May 2019
Marilyn M
Nyack, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We rented this house for a week and it was everything and more than is depicted on the website. The yard is a huge flat piece of an ideal sporting field. The back deck is very relaxing overlooking the hot tub. The kitchen worked out great for large meals. I've been to MV about a dozen times and this was one of the best vacations.
07/13/2004 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2004
Date Submitted: May 2019
Henry and Denise W
Newark, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you very much we had a fabulous time! Thanks for helping us find those delicious mussels.
See you next year.
01/24/2004 at 6:00 AM

Date of Stay: January 2004
Date Submitted: May 2019
Barbara and Even T
Washington, DC
(Homeowner Entered)

As was last year, we had a great time in your home this year.

The house looks marvelous. Thanks for a wonderful vacation again.
08/03/2003 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2003
Date Submitted: May 2019
Melanie and Daniel M
New York, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks for such a great place to stay on vacation. Will be back next year we loved it. You thought of everything, and the kids loved it too. Have a great year.
07/24/2003 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2003
Date Submitted: May 2019
Amber M
Houston, Texas
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Betsy and Don,
We had an amazing time enjoying your beautiful home and playing in your spacious toy filled yard. You have been incredibly hospitable with all of the games you provide It made the stay even better!
07/12/2003 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2003
Date Submitted: May 2019
Francis and Barbara S
Los Angeles, California
(Homeowner Entered)

The most wonderful home for our family reunion I could never have thought a rental could have so much. I felt that you met our every need. You have every kitchen gadget made. Thank you so much for letting us rent.
08/04/2002 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2001
Date Submitted: May 2019
from another site T
all over, the US
(Homeowner Entered)

A lovely house. Full of charm. We especially liked the picture above the tolet in the downstairs bathroom.
We had a blast-Thanks
07/28/2001 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2001
Date Submitted: May 2019
Becky C
Cambridge,, MA
(Homeowner Entered)


The art is in the details. This house is art.
We had a wonderful stay.
08/10/2001 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2001
Date Submitted: May 2019
Tom D
Manchester, New Hampshire
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for the beautiful week. your house is charming and brought with it very nice weather. This was our first trip to the island and hopefully will not be our last. The ramp was very helpful getting our son in and out. And the visitor book really helped us get to know the island.
07/14/2001 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2001
Date Submitted: May 2019
David H
Newport,, Rhode Island
(Homeowner Entered)

We had such a wonderful time on the island, so much to do! We toured the wine vineyard and took a cruise on Mad Max. We enjoyed all of the different towns and beaches! The children loved the carousel. Your home is so lovely. Straight out of the pages of Martha Stewart. The kitchen had everything we needed we really enjoyed your artwork around the house.
i9t really added a lot of charm& personality. We are coming back next June. Thanks for everything.
06/09/2001 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: May 2001
Date Submitted: May 2019
Rodger W
Taunton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a tremendous time, thanks to your easygoing style. Your house is just what we wished to find on the island. We invented a game utilizing the crochet balls, the hammock and one adirondack chairs. It's a cross between golf, baseball, basketball and jeopardy. If it becomes wildly popular we will name it "Betsy-Ball" after the lady of the house.
You can feel the fun in these walls.
Hope to see you next year.
08/06/2000 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2000
Date Submitted: May 2019
Judy L
Fairfax, Virginia
(Homeowner Entered)

Loved the house and all of the books about the island, its' history and customs.
07/30/2000 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: July 2000
Date Submitted: May 2019
Gordon R
Washington,, DC
(Homeowner Entered)


Rented for a month and could have never gone back. Your home was mine. Games, comfortable beds, great furniture. I'll see you next year. Peace.
06/17/2000 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: May 2000
Date Submitted: May 2019
Gus G
Golden,, Colorado
(Homeowner Entered)

Part of the ritual of the Vineyard for us is driving up to an unknown rental property and hoping against hope that it will be a described.... It doesn't always happen. But THIS time we drove down the fabulous driveway I love that driveway and into the yard and stepped in and voila. As described and much more! We have had a wonderful 2 weeks in your home…. This place is great what more can I say.
08/27/1999 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: November 1999
Date Submitted: May 2019
Romona S
Newark,, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

As we drove down the driveway we realized that we had found the perfect vacation spot. Plenty of woods around for privacy. Tons of things to do. Just an ideal spot. Games, videos and books. I didn't want to leave the house. It was the best vacation we have ever had.
11/28/1999 at 6:00 AM

Date of Stay: August 1999
Date Submitted: May 2019
Abby S
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for a wonderful week! The weather was spectacular. We never found the nude beach, but had fun trying! There were a lot of hangovers but plenty of space to rest our heads. Martha's Vineyard--Carpe Diem
06/26/1999 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: June 1999
Date Submitted: May 2019
Tom and Lisa t
Springfield,, Ohio
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks for sharing your beautiful get-away spot with us. Our whole family enjoyed the time spent here!
06/18/1999 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: June 1999
Date Submitted: May 2019
David F
Delaware, Wyoming
(Homeowner Entered)

What an enjoyable week. This was a lovely place for a bunch of girlfriends to celebrate one of our upcoming weddings.

Since we don't get together very often it was nice to be a bit secluded and be able to catch up with one another.
10/12/1998 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: October 1998
Date Submitted: May 2019
Denise P
New York, New York
(Homeowner Entered)

What an enjoyable week. This was a lovely place for a bunch of girlfriends to celebrate one of our upcoming weddings.

Since we don't get together very often it was nice to be a bit secluded and be able to catch up with one another.
10/12/1998 at 5:00 AM

Date of Stay: October 1998
Date Submitted: May 2019
Maureen W
Meza, Arizona
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for the very generous use of your home over this very special week. It was great to be able to spend time with new and old friends in such a comfortable atmosphere! Don't have too much fun in that outdoor Shower.
Cheers
04/02/1998 at 6:00 AM

Date of Stay: March 1998
Date Submitted: May 2019
from another site t
Boston
(Homeowner Entered)