Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Private Beach, Secluded Location & Walk to Edgartown Center!
Edgartown Vacation Rental - ID 1815

4 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 1 queen, 4 twins
Beach: < .5 mi. on private dirt road to your own beach
Guest Reviews: 21 reviews
Time active: 18 years, 9 months
Contact details:
  Email Elizabeth
Contact Elizabeth, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 237-5292 (Home).
Please mention Property ID# 1815 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
21 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Our new favorite spot!

My family goes to Martha's Vineyard every year, and it's one of our favorite places in the world so we don't take looking for a house lightly. This A-Frame house is the quintessential MV home away from home. Everything you need, and nothing you don't. It's got a beautiful sun deck, private beach, 4 bedrooms, and was very clean and inviting. We rarely watched TV but there is great internet and cable as well.

Another highlight of the trip was the owners! Elizabeth and Sandy really made sure we were comfortable at the home and gave us tips to make our trip even better (letting us know where the best tennis courts were, restaurant recommendations, even a lift to the airport after a little bicycle incident).

All in all, this house is the perfect MV retreat. It's tucked away on a private road, in the best little town, and the private beach was a wonderful bonus. Bring bikes and enjoy the outdoors from this great spot.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
New York, NY
Member since Sep 2016
Wonderful Week!

What a great week we had at the A Frame!!!! My husband and I traveled with our 2 year old son, in-laws, and had our extended family visit throughout the week. My family and I have been coming to the island for many years, and this was our first time in this part of Edgartown. The property has the feel of seclusion like you are staying on Chappy, tucked away in the woods with so much privacy, but yet such a quick walk to Main St. Edgartown.

The private beach is what makes this property. Absolutely gorgeous, perfect for families with children. It was amazing not having to deal with the issue of finding a parking spot and having to shlep all of the gear to the beach. PRIVATE BEACH!!!! The house itself is old, cannot sugar coat that, but it is a beach house and was perfect for our needs for the week. If you love air conditioning, this would not be the house for you as there was only one window unit. There are lovely breezes in the evening and throughout the night that cool the property down, and various fans that help. The owners are lovely and attentive to anything you need throughout your stay. We look forward to another week at the A Frame in the future!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Scituate, MA
Member since Jan 2016
Perfect Edgartown Family Rental

My wife and our two young children stayed here in September, and it was perfect. To begin with, the house is very comfortable with all the amenities you need, a great yard, beautiful ocean view, and an easy 5 minute walk (1 minute drive) to your own private beach. There's a wonderful screened in porch off the kitchen, which is perfect for meals with kids or a cool drink at the end of the day.

Having the convenience of your own beach and access to Edgartown within easy walking distance is amazing, especially because the location feels so remote, peaceful and serene. One would assume you're at least 20 minutes from anything. We particularly appreciated the timeless nature and charm of this property, rural setting, spacious layout and thoughtful owners. Approaching the A-Frame from the tree lined dirt road of Lenssen Way is almost like driving down a country road in Alabama. As the listing mentions, you get the very best of being up-island with access to everything Edgartown has to offer in addition to your own beach - what else could you want? This was our second visit to the A-Frame, and we hope to return in 2016!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: November 2015
Marshfield, MA
Member since Nov 2015
Great, Relaxing Vacation

This had to be one of the best vacations I have spent on Martha's Vineyard. Lovely A-Frame, with all the amenities you would need to have a beautiful, relaxing vacation. Lovely meals on the screened porch. The surroundings around the A-Frame are beautiful. Your own private beach comes with the rental. I even kayaked for the very first time and loved it. Lovely walks into Edgartown - yes, I said you can walk to Edgartown, where we shopped and had lovely dinners, or just drinks, in their wonderful restaurants!!

The owners are a delight and so very informative. We loved it so much we leased it again for our 2016 vacation. Two weeks is never enough, but we have to come back to reality some time:( We are definitely looking forward to next year's vacation. Thank you, Beta and Sandy.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: November 2015
Mattaponi, VA
Member since Oct 2014
Perfect Getaway

My wife and I and our 2 kids (10 and 12), and our dog stayed at the A-Frame for a week this past summer. The location is unbelievable. Less then a 1/2 mile from a private beach and less than a mile from Edgartown. The house itself, while not updated, has everything you need for a great vacation (including a great view of the ocean from the deck). In addition, Elizabeth is a very gracious and helpful host.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: November 2015
Chappaqua, NY
Member since Nov 2015
Tucked away from the traffic and crowds

Fantastic vacation week for our family of four with teenagers! Enjoy low key living without pretense in a home with plenty of room to relax and unwind. We loved the private beach and secluded spot, tucked away from the traffic and crowds. Owners are welcoming. We will look to come back when schedule permits.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: April 2015
West Roxbury, MA
Member since Dec 2006
Stress-free rental with excellent location!

This property was perfect for our family! We had three adults and two children. Our favorite spot was on the roof deck — the view is beautiful. We loved walking through the preserve, but we also rented bikes, which made getting to the private beach and Edgartown even easier. The house has loads of space, so everyone had their own spot if needed, but we could also be together if we wanted. We were a little worried about the stairs to the second floor being so steep, but there is a gate at the top, so we felt very comfortable having our toddler up there. The house has everything you need for a simple, stress-free vacation (we ate out a lot and weren’t making gourmet meals when home!). It is also very, very clean, beautifully landscaped, and the homeowner is fantastic to work with. We look forward to returning!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: November 2014
Falls Church, VA
Member since Nov 2014
Absolutely a dream

I have been coming to Martha's Vineyard since my three children were toddlers. Eleven years later we discovered this beautiful home! Teenagers now, the children had the freedom of their own beach and biking to Edgartown within minutes. This hidden gem is tucked away amid such peaceful surroundings - woods, flowers, trees and the ocean. The roof deck offers a peaceful getaway that is a must to experience! The homeowners are just as special. Lovely, welcoming and want you to enjoy their special place. The entire experience was a vacation we will never forget and cannot wait to return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Natick, MA
Member since Jan 2009
Fantastic place

If you want a mix of woods and beach that's also close to town, the A-Frame is fantastic. The whole week was amazing. Friendly and helpful owners - laid back house - it's great.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
New York, NY
Member since Jul 2014
Best vacation on Martha's Vineyard!!!

My husband, daughter, black lab and I all had one of the best vacations ever at this property on Martha's Vineyard!! We lived on Martha's Vineyard a couple of years ago and it was exactly what we needed to restore and rejuvenate before heading back to the mainland.

This is an amazing rental. It is within walking distance to Edgartown with the feel of being up island with the remote and woodsy setting. It literally was like a dream each day waking up to full sun and being able to walk to our very own private beach. I have never had my own private beach. It was truly like living a fantasy! We often grilled out in the evening and went into town a few nights to hit our old stomping grounds like the Atlantic for a nostalgic glass of Prosecco, the Wharf for some dancing, and The Newes for a burger. We spent one rainy morning at Morning Glory Farm. We biked from the property to South Beach to enjoy the sunset one evening and picked up some lobster at Edgartown Seafood on the way home.

We had such an amazing time that we changed our ferry reservation to come back later! I HIGHLY recommend this wonderful property. It was also very safe and comfortable for our 21 month old. Our dog was the happiest I have seen him in quite some time:-) Thank you so much for offering up your beautiful home and allowing us to share in the true experience of what is the ultimate Martha's Vineyard vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: July 2014
Marshfield, MA
Member since Jul 2014
We had a Wonderful Vacation at the A-Frame

This was our 1st time at the A-Frame, but we have been vacationing on the Vineyard for twenty years. As we drove past Sheriffs Meadow and turned down [name deleted] Way under an umbrella of trees and open fields, the peace and tranquility of this location set in. The private and secluded beach was only a ten minute walk or a two minute drive away and the highlight of our stay! The home offered a classic screened porch with deck that accommodates eight for dinner, a fully equipped kitchen, two full updated baths on the 1st level, a third half bath on 2nd level and three comfortable bedrooms with sleeping accommodations for 7. The upper deck provided distant ocean views and the yard was informally but beautifully landscaped with an available grill and ample seating for grilling at home.

Our dog enjoyed the yard and beach as much as we did! The walk to downtown Edgartown was only 15 minutes or 2 minutes by car. The living room offers comfortable seating and flat screen TV viewing. The pictures of the interior are true to the home which is a clean and nicely furnished throwback to the Vineyard 50 years ago. We truly enjoyed our Vacation and hope to return next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Marblehead, MA
Member since Jun 2009
A Little Slice of Heaven~

We had a FABULOUS time for a week in Sept. 2012!! The short walk to the beach in the morning was one of my highlights of each day and we tried to make it back every afternoon for a swim. The beach is perfect! LOVED the new outdoor shower, too.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Hartford, CT
Member since Aug 2008
Charming House

We stayed here for 1 week in August and had a wonderful time. The house is lovely, charming and spacious enough with a nice screened-in porch, huge upper deck overlooking the ocean, nice outside shower. It was clean, had comfortable beds (a must when you are on vacation) and provided plenty of privacy. It was hard to imagine that it is a walking distance to the centre of Edgartown! The beach was nice, no big waves - perfect for swimming (unless the ocean was cooperating that time). The owners are very nice and welcoming and we are very appreciative to them for letting our dog join us and have a time of her life! Would definitely stay there again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: September 2012
Jamesville, NY
Member since Sep 2012

The A-frame has a terrific location. A few minutes' bike ride brings you to a fabulous private beach backed by a grassy dune; a 10-minute pedal in the other direction takes you to all the conveniences of Edgartown. And yet it felt like we were in rural Up Island, the house tucked away down a dirt road, the quiet broken only by birdsong (and the rare car). The house was quirky—imagine a cool family's funky vacation home frozen in the year 1969—but spacious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed meals at the large table on the screened porch, having breakfast in dappled sunlight and dinner lit by hurricane lamps. Enjoy!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jun 2008

We loved your place and would like to reserve next year, if possible. We really enjoyed the location of your home, being able to be in Edgartown, yet feeling like it was elsewhere on the island, so quiet and private. Just such a beautiful spot and surroundings! Only complaint is the time always goes too fast!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Robert and Nancy K
Redding, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

The A-Frame is a hidden gem! The private beach, 10 minute walk to Edgartown, and it's privacy-wood setting makes you feel like you are up island, but yet, 10 minutes to town. It' an incredible spot. The house is deceivingly large, and great for two families. The homeowner is very sweet, and the description of the house is accurate. It's funky, but casual, and lots of space! Suggest renters bring or rent bikes, since it's a 2 minute bike to the beach - just makes it a little easier rather than walking! Enjoy this gem!... We truly loved, LOVED the A-frame. I think I told you about this before, but what an amazing spot. It exceeded our expectations and then some. So I know this is early, but we are DEFINITELY interested in renting the same week next year.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Portsmouth, NH
Member since Feb 2011

We enjoyed the A-frame for its large, shady yard and the beautiful beach. The very private yard offers beautiful flowers and a large, flat area for the kids and dog to play. The beach was very calm and was shallow for a long way out making it a great family beach. Also, the owners leave chairs and an umbrella so there's no need to take anything from the house on a bike. The house has an overall campy feel to it. The first floor is open and airy and the screen porch offers a great space for eating or gathering to play a card game. The master bedroom is spacious. The location is close to Edgartown Center (easy bike ride) and a playground at the local school.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Duxbury, MA
Member since Jul 2009

This is our 5th week at the A-Frame. The years we could not go were not from lack of wanting to return. It feels like home. The house is very large and comfortable and the grounds just beautiful. If you are looking for a "hotel" vacation experience, this is not for you but if you REALLY want to relax in a place that makes you and your eyes very happy, don't hesitate.

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Brick, NJ
Member since Sep 2009

We really enjoyed staying at your house. The rooms are quite spacious, the house very comfortable. The deck is fabulous for its spaciousness and view - very relaxing place to gaze from.

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Bob S
West Lebanon, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

It is extremely inviting. Our first impression driving up in the cab to the house was how beautiful the setting was, the large space, and how well made it is for relaxing and socializing. It's cosy and yet quite large enough to get away and have privacy on your own, read in a corner of the living room or on the AMAZING large deck that overlooks the ocean. It's surrounded by trees but also has grass and lovely flowers around the house. I picked this house without visiting it so I was a little nervous, but all my friends said "way to go Kelly - this place is fantastic." I've rarely had a place exceed my expectations, and this does. The beach stands out as well. It's a good size beach with all the chairs and umbrellas down there so you don't have to do anything. We haven't even been to another beach because this one is so beautiful and the water is great to swim in.

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: March 2009
Kelly M
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The "A-Frame" was truly perfect and we had a wonderful week. We really felt that we had rented a "home" rather than just a house! The surrounding property is very beautiful and we especially loved having our own beach.

Date of Stay: August 2003
Date Submitted: September 2009
M.A. & Jim G
Wellesley, MA
(Homeowner Entered)