Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Nauset Heights Classic: Walk to ocean and cove beaches
Nauset Heights (East Orleans) Vacation Rental - ID 22515

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 1 double, Trundle with 2 full-size twins
Beach: 5-10 min walk to Nauset Beach -- ocean or coves
Guest Reviews: 16 reviews
Time active: 4 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Wendy
Contact Wendy, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): 508 292 1441.
Please mention Property ID# 22515 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
16 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
A cottage with personality

If you're looking for a quintessential Cape Cod vacation then this is the place for you. The house has fabulous nooks and crannies for reading, game playing, TV watching or napping. This isn't a high end, granite counters don't touch anything kind of house. It feels like you're staying with your favorite Aunt who's thought of everything. We all fought over the outdoor shower and discovered the joy of late night showers under the stars. Easy walk to the beach (we're all adults though) and we caught some terrific sunsets on the bay side. Wendy, the owner, couldn't be more accessible or helpful. The entire experience was a pleasure!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

"...the joy of late night showers under the stars..." What a brilliant idea - never thought of it, will definitely try it out, and perhaps I'll add it to the household guidelines, too! My thanks to Sophia and her family for enjoying the place so much and so well.

South Salem, NY
Member since Mar 2010
A great week at this home!

We had a great week at this roomy, comfortable and very clean home. All amenities were great. Cozy, yet room for everyone to spread out. Outside areas wonderful as well. As this has truly been someone's "home" for a generation or two, it had character and a homey feel. This house was so "easy" to stay in for a week (especially with not so perfect weather), laundry, outside shower, comfortable beds, fun and easy walk to beach, plenty of parking. We would come back in a heartbeat!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

My new policy in 2017 is to reply to all reviews -- although it may get repetitive, because, so far in my rental history, I have rarely encountered tenants I wouldn't want back. And so I thank Joe and his family for their stay and their appreciation and wish them back anytime.

Shrewsbury, MA
Member since Mar 2017
A Nauset Gem

For families traveling with young children, choosing a rental and going on vacation more broadly can be stress-inducing. However, staying in this home was anything but. The house has a great layout, with lot of space. It has a wonderful cottage-feel while not seeming overly cramped.

We spent just one week and left wishing we could have stayed the whole summer. The location is just wonderful. It is an easy walk to Nauset Beach or Priscilla's Landing and a short drive from Skaket Beach. The house is on a quiet, somewhat secluded road, which is lovely both in the mornings for our bike rides and in the evenings when we sat outside watching the sunset.

Inside, the kitchen was well-equipped with everything we needed to make meals. There were plenty of beach towels, chairs, and beach umbrellas available for our use on our outing, and every night we made use of the grill and outdoor eating area. Laundry and wi-fi are included.

The owner is just delightful. She is responsive, easily accessible, and well-organized. Upon arrival, a binder with helpful information awaited us. This made getting acquainted with the house much easier. Overall, it was a wonderful trip and I hope to bring my family back next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

Such appreciative comments are always a pleasure to read, and I thank you for them. I, too, hope that Bruce and his family spend their vacation at our place next year. One couldn't ask for better summer tenants -- that's for sure!

Yonkers, NY
Member since Jul 2017
Perfect vacation home

We have stayed in this lovely home for three summers in a row. The location is fantastic -- walkable to the ocean, to a boat dock, and to a beautiful cove. The owner lives in the house in the non-summer months, so the kitchen is stocked with everything needed for cooking. She also makes available beach chairs, beach towels, linens, and beach toys (as well as board games and puzzles). She has been wonderfully communicative and responsive. There is a lovely yard with a hammock. We have three young children, and this has been an ideal home away from home for our annual Cape week.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: December 2016
Hanover, NH
Member since Sep 2013
A true gem

We had another wonderful experience in this house (second year in a row). The owner is responsive but not intrusive. The house is spacious, with well-stocked kitchens, bathrooms, and laundry facilities. It was easy to cook and grill here: the kitchen has everything you need. The location is unbeatable and allows early morning and evening beach walks, when the beach is quiet and beautiful. Boat launches, a cove beach, and an ocean beach are all within walking distance. There is a nice yard with a hammock, as well as play space for children. The house has beach chairs and towels. The bedrooms are comfortable and equipped with air conditioning. We definitely hope to return next year.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Hanover, NH
Member since Sep 2013
Fantastic Cape Cod home

We stayed with another family and had plenty of privacy, as well as comfortable common space to share. The property was very clean and well cared for. The location was great for easy access to both ocean and bay beaches...as well as convenient accessibility to everything the Lower and Outer Cape have to offer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Member since Jan 2015
Amazing four days on Cape Cod!

We (five guests in their 30s) had an amazing time in this beautiful house! We had everything we needed and basically followed all the advice we got from the house owner, which turned it into a wonderful time! :-) We went kayaking, had some steamed lobster from the fish market, went whale watching, and of course some serious beach time! ;-)

We can only recommend this place and the very friendly owner! Have a good time! ;-)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Netherlands
Member since Jun 2015
Lovely Home - Great Location

My husband and I stayed in August 2014 with our two-year old twin daughters. The house was very kid-friendly with two bedrooms on the first level, along with kitchen and lots of common space. The bedrooms are sectioned off though to make it easy to put the kids to sleep and carry on. However there are also bedrooms upstairs on the second floor if you have some older kids and want to spread out more.

The house has a great kitchen fully stocked with all the equipment to make dinner. There are also great restaurants nearby in Orleans as well -- from casual to more up scale. Nearby towns of Chatham and Wellfleet have some great options as well, and for a little bit of a longer drive (but still not too far) Provincetown is great for exploring. Just watch for Carnival!

The location is great with Nauset and Skaket beaches nearby. Skaket is a great beach for little ones. And Nauset on the ocean side is nice as well - and you can catch glimpses of seals in the water.

Overall Orleans is a great area - both Orleans itself and its proximity to some of the other towns. This house is just enough off the beaten path to be quiet while still being convenient. I would recommend this house to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: November 2014
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Member since Sep 2011
A lovely vacation house

A lovely house with a good mixture of traditional and modern. Perfect for a family vacation. Lots of space inside and out. The house has everything you need for your vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
United Kingdom
Member since Jan 2014
Wonderful home in terrific location

We spent two weeks in this wonderful home, and we hope to return again next summer. We have three young children, and this house was just perfect for us. Inside, it had a lot of space and a relaxed, cottage feel. Because the owner lives here in the off-season, the kitchen was well-equipped with good appliances and spices; and we had everything we needed. The bedrooms were comfortable, and fans and air conditioning were available in all. There was even a little office space. We enjoyed a lot of "extras" that made our stay with children easier: puzzles, games, beach toys, and a lovely yard with hammock. There were plenty of beach towels, chairs, and beach umbrellas available for our use. We made use of the grill and outdoor eating area. Laundry and wi-fi are included (though the wi-fi worked better in some rooms than others).

We visited Nauset Beach every day, an easy walk by either the main beach road (0.6 miles) or the more private Cullinan Pass (0.4 miles). We enjoyed Priscilla Beach (0.6 mile walk), where we could launch kayaks to boat in the Nauset Marsh waters, and we explored and fished in the flatter waters on the back side of the Nauset dunes. The location was terrific. The house has older/antique-like furniture and a lived-in feel, which we liked and felt made it cozy. The owner was responsive and easily accessible. We ran and biked in the neighborhood, though Beach Road is heavily traveled, so biking on this road with young children was not ideal; however, it was a short drive to park in downtown Orleans to bike the rail trail to Nickerson State Park and Salt Pond Visitor Center and Coast Guard Beach.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Hanover, NH
Member since Sep 2013
Great location near a beautiful beach

This classic Cape with a contemporary family room addition is within easy walking distance of a quiet stretch of Nauset Beach. The house is very comfortable, well stocked (e.g., gas and charcoal grills) and located on a quiet street well suited to jogging, walking and biking. Even though the week we stayed was largely overcast, we visited the wide, beautiful beach daily for long walks, reading and just relaxing. We certainly plan to return there next summer.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: September 2013
Wayland, MA
Member since Jul 2013
Lovely retreat close to the beach

Our family stayed here this summer and, after years of trying different rentals, we finally found the perfect place. The location is perfect. You are close to the beaches, its' a great area for a run or walk, and it's close to the local market.

The bedrooms all had AC and the outdoor shower was large with plenty of hot water. This home also had a very nice washer and dryer which is very important when going to the beach every day.

The kitchen was nicely stocked with everything you could possibly need, and there is plenty of room if there are a couple of people working in the kitchen. We also had a choice of charcoal or gas outdoor grills. The yard is beautiful and private with beautifully maintained gardens.

I cannot say enough about this place. We cannot wait to stay again next summer.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Deep River, CT
Member since Jun 2013
Charming, Comfortable Home in Orleans

Our party of six adults and a two year old spent a delightful week in mid-July, 2012. The house is very clean and well set up for close friends or family to share. Open the windows to catch breeze, or use the room air conditioners. There is a door between the first floor living area and bedroom areas, allowing some people to stay up late without disturbing others who retire earlier. Master bedroom has direct access to the backyard. The kitchen has a central island providing convenient work space; several cooks can cooperate. The dining room table easily seats a group of 8, and the entire kitchen and dining area is easy to keep clean. The chairs and sofas in the living areas are welcoming. There are lots of books throughout the house, both of local and general interest. New, efficient washer and dryer are on main level. There are plenty of available towels, and the linens are high quality. There is a large, well maintained yard with beautiful flowers and trees. A long clothesline and a hammock are extras in the yard. The outside shower is a great aspect of the house. There is a large parking area in the rear of the house, able to accommodate several vehicles. Bins for trash and recycling are in the basement, which can be entered from the parking lot level. Bicycle rental is available in the village, which also has charming shops and restaurants. It is an easy walk to the oceanfront beach, saving the parking fee! A beach umbrella, beach toys, binoculars and various hats and rain jackets are available. The owner is charming and helpful. Highly recommended.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: February 2013
Chicago, IL
Member since Feb 2013
You couldn't ask for a more perfect Cape Cod stay

I stayed in Wendy's home for a week and a half for a vacation with my husband and his family, and it was just perfect. The house is very comfortable and spacious, and even with 6 adults and a toddler, we all had plenty of private space. The decoration is beautiful and tasteful, not at all hotel-like. It really feels like you're staying in someone's country home. There's a nice amount of counter space in the kitchen. We often had 3+ people working on dinner and didn't feel cramped. You are just a few minutes walk down a private road from a quiet stretch of Nauset Beach, a short bike ride from central East Orleans and the Sundae School, and a 10-15 minute drive from Skaket Beach and Crystal Lake. Nauset Heights Road dead ends a little way past the house so it's pretty quiet, and the property is nicely wooded and private. We would definitely come again!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Jamaica Plain, MA
Member since Jan 2013
Wonderful home at the Cape

My family and I have stayed here on more than one occasion. We love the spacious living area, comfortable furniture, outdoor shower and, of course - proximity to Nauset Beach. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful, and all in all the rental offers a totally relaxing vacation experience. On rainy days there is always shopping in East Orleans, the Whaling Museum further north, and so much to see and do. I highly recommend this home for rental.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2013
Takoma Park, MD
Member since Jan 2013
Wonderful vacation home

My husband and I rented this place some years back and I'm glad to see it's still available for others to enjoy. We watched the addition being built and can say that the place is even better with it. We spent one week there each July for 3 years running. I knew and loved the neighborhood, having spent childhood summers there. We stopped renting when we found our own place just up the road -- a cottage that had been built at the same time by the same builder! But this cottage remains a great memory. Well located, very attractive with comfortable furnishings and equipment.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2003
Date Submitted: February 2013
Newton Center, MA
Member since Feb 2013