Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Idyllic Pond Front Home in East Orleans! Fabulous deck!

East Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 28481
2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 5
Beds: 1 queen, 2 twins, single fold-up bed, comfy mattress
Beach: 1.5 miles to Nauset Beach (National Seashore)
Guest Reviews: 21 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 1 month
21 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Absolutely Perfect

If you are looking for a relaxing, wonderful and just perfect vacation accommodation for your Cape experience, then you have found the absolute perfect solution. This home offered a welcoming feeling that exuded comfort and warmth. The location was just a stones throw from beautiful Nauset Beach. The sunset views off the deck were beyond breath taking. While most rental homes offer all the amenities a vacationer could desire, this home not only did, but had a certain charm and comfort level that could not be matched.

The owner Lou, could not have been nicer and more professional to deal with. We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived to the all too sudden departure for home. Please do yourself a favor, and consider this your next vacation destination. Trust me, you won't regret it. Take it from someone who has been vacationing on the Cape for many years, that this property is truly a " Winner ". Beyond Highly Recommend - " The Brown Family "

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Baldwin, NY
Member since Sep 2020
Fantastic week in Orleans!

We spent a week in this wonderful pond-front house. As a family of 4, this house was a perfect fit for our vacation. Upon arrival, the house was VERY clean (we have high standards on this), and every aspect of the house was very well laid out. As people with many allergies, we would be sensitive to a lack of cleanliness, but this was no problem for us. Lou, the owner, took special care to make sure that we felt safe in a house that was thoroughly disinfected, and it showed. In addition, we especially appreciated all of the little touches left throughout the house to make sure we had an easy vacation, such as fragrance free laundry detergent, and a little tub of band-aids with first aid ointment in the bathroom, all neatly labeled and organized to you to find.

The house is wonderfully located just a few minutes from some wonderful restaurants (and our favorite ice cream parlor, Smitty's). Nauset beach is just around the corner, making it easy to get to before the parking lot fills up. Besides the wonderful location, one of the nicest features is the gorgeous deck, that looks right at the pond. Nothing is more relaxing than waking up and having a cup of coffee and watching the pond from that wonderful deck!

Before we arrived, Lou made sure to answer all of our questions, and was very attentive to any concerns that we had. We thoroughly enjoyed this vacation, and hope to return again to this wonderful spot!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you Jeffrey, Suna and kids,
You were a pleasure to have as guests, not hard to please and we were very grateful for the care you took with the house. Would love to have all tenants like you, the house was left in remarkably good order and clean. It was nice to see you with faces that expressed such great pleasure in staying at our home.
Please plan to come again.
Lou M.

Winchester, MA
Member since Jun 2010
A Wonderful Cape Experience!

This is the second year that we stayed for a week in the Pond House. We love it! The house is very comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. We especially enjoyed spending mornings and evenings on the large deck overlooking the pond. Very picturesque! The excellent location allows visitors easy access to nearby beaches, restaurants, stores and the village of Orleans. The owner, Lou, is very easy to contact and very helpful. We look forward to returning to the Pond House next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Fairport, NY
Member since Aug 2020
Lovely Cottage stay in Orleans!

We have stayed at the Pond Cottage for the last 6 years and always enjoy coming back. The pond cottage is very cute, comfy and also very convenient being only a few minutes away to both the downtown and the beaches! Plus the outdoor shower is a huge hit with our family and the view from the back deck to the pond while having breakfast or a drink in the evening is so very relaxing and beautiful!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Pelham, NY
Member since Aug 2020
Wonderful

This was our fifth year spending a week at Pond House. We spend as much time as possible outside on the deck watching the birds, listening to the frogs, and enjoying the sunsets. The house is comfortable, clean, well-equipped, and full of Marie's beautiful watercolor paintings. And the location is ideal. We bike the short distance to Nauset Beach most days and always make time for at least one longer bike ride on the rail trail to the National Seashore. Anything we might need to buy can be found in Orleans so we spend very little time in the car - which means more time at the beach! Lou has been incredibly responsive any time we've had a problem or a question. We hope to be back again next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you Jennifer & Ed for taking the time and effort to write a review. It has been a pleasure having you as tenants these last five years. You have been exceptional tenants always taking such good care of our home and leaving it so clean, reflecting that you are caring people — not a common thing these days. Marie and I are very appreciative of that. It has also been nice to have received your compliments after each of your past year's visits. Marie will be happy to know you enjoyed her beautiful watercolor paintings and I will be sure to hang some different ones for you to enjoy on your next summer visit.

Thank you kindly,
Lou & Marie.

Cambridge, MA
Member since Feb 2019
Just wonderful!

This was our fourth summer staying at Marie and Lou's Pond House and we hope to come again next summer! The house itself is very comfortable and has all the amenities. (I like to cook and can always find what I need!) The deck is particularly lovely. We eat most of our meals out there and love to watch the birds and the light on the pond. My mother-in-law, who is in her late 80s, can't get to the beach much anymore, but loves to enjoy the sun on the deck. Another attraction of this spot is that we can ride our bikes about 2 miles to the terrific local beach—Nauset Beach—or take a longer bike ride to the National Seashore. It is great to be car-free on the Cape! Marie and Lou have been wonderful. They have provided loads of info about places to go and things to do and are very responsive if we have a question or a problem. I can't recommend this spot highly enough.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Cambridge, MA
Member since Feb 2018
Wonderful Cottage

This Cottage was everything we hoped for in coming to Cape Cod. The cottage is very well equipped, well-maintained, clean, and situated in a wonderful location. Sitting on the deck overlooking the pond was a relaxing vacation in and of itself. Cottage is close to the beach, restaurants, bike trails, and anything else you will want to do on the Cape. The owners, Lou and Marie, are very kind and attentive, but not intrusive. Highly recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Owner Response:

Thanks Karen & Chris for your kind words. Glad you were able to enjoy yourselves after the poor weather you had at the start of the week You were great tenants and we appreciated the care you gave our home and also the fact that you left every thing so clean.

Please plan to come again, you are very welcome to return.

Sincerely,
Lou & Marie Morongell

Canonsburg, PA
Member since Oct 2018
The Most Wonderful Family Holiday

What a gorgeous place to stay, perfect for us and our toddler. She loved playing on the decking and looking for birds and chipmunks across the garden and pond. The house has everything we could have wished for—beautifully decorated, comfortable, very well equipped, and Lou and Marie went out of their way to bring us extra things to make our stay more comfortable.

The house is well located for this part of the Cape—so easy to get to everything and close to supermarkets, a play park and lovely places to eat.

We couldn't have been happier with our choice for our first visit to Cape Cod. We are really hoping we can make it back again in the not too distant future.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Owner Response:

Thank you Meriel for your kind comments. We enjoyed having you and family stay at our pond house. It was nice to know you made good use of the deck for your young daughter. I could see that she enjoyed being on the deck in safety while exploring and appeared to progress over the two weeks you were there.

As landlords it makes us feel good to know that you were happy with your stay and found the house provided you with all of your needs. Also nice to know you have interest in returning, we would like that too and would welcome you back, you were good tenants.

Thanks again for coming, good luck and good health to you all. Please come again.

Marie & Lou Morongell

Orleans, MA, United Kingdom
Member since Sep 2018
Simply fantastic!!!

Marie and Lou are absolutely delightful. The Pond House is lovely, well appointed, relaxing, comfortable, and clean. The location is great - close to everything. I can't say enough great things about my stay. Thank you for such a wonderful Cape visit!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: November 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you, Nancy,
It was nice of you to take the time to write a review of your stay, especially with such positive things to say. It is a good feeling to have a tenant truly enjoy their vacation visit to the Cape at our place and have them spread the word to others. You were a great tenant and we are looking forward to your return visit next summer.

Fond rgards,
Lou & Marie Morongell

Member since Aug 2017
Wow!

We could not get over the gorgeous view from "The Pond House." Lou and Marie greeted us upon arrival and were so welcoming! Their interest and hard work in providing a lovely stay for vacationers is obvious. We enjoyed two weeks of sunny, gorgeous days (only one rainy day!). The house is comfortable and well appointed. We certainly hope to return next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

It is great to have tenants like you. Leaving the house clean and in good order saved us a lot of work. Nice to hear that you fully enjoyed your two weeks and we look forward to your returning next year.

Thank you,
Marie & Lou M.

Member since Dec 2014
Amazing Pond House

This was our 12th year going to the Cape and renting different houses. This was by far our favorite. The house was immaculate and looked better than the pictures. The property had beautiful flowering bushes and was well maintained. We loved the deck and outdoor shower. Every night we ended with playing cards on the deck listening to nature sounds. The owner was very helpful with any questions we had. We finally found a house we want to go back to every year to come!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Owner Response:

Thank you, Kimberly & Michael, for your kind words about our Pond House. We are happy that you were pleased with our rental. We work hard to make it clean & comfortable, and it is always nice when renters acknowledge our efforts.

Thanks again, and hoping to see you next year.

Lou & Marie M.

Gales Ferry, CT
Member since Jul 2016

Lou & Marie
Can you believe this is our 5th year in this beautiful home we call "ours". You guys take the best care of us.

You are like family on the Cape – Will stay in touch and see you July 2017.

We all had a shower in the rain. The best.

Love you both
Sherry, Wendy, Biondi & Megan

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Sherry R
Claverack, Ny
(Homeowner Entered)

Lou & Marie ,

This is our second year at the pond house and we had a blast. This house and Orleans make this our best vacation of the year. We will be back again the same week again next year.
You do such a wonderful job of taking care of your place. The furniture and amenities are always top notch. We truly love the pond, it is the best view in Orleans.
Hope you both enjoy your year and hope to see you again in 2016

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Karyn T
W. Hartford, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for sharing your home with us, it was very relaxing. The pond view was spectacular. Orleans is our favorite place, we had a great time.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Christina & Paul H
Hopedale, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect and relaxing
This home was absolutely perfect for my family. The owners are attentive and have done beautiful renovations throughout the house. The new deck has a gorgeous view of the pond was our favorite place to relax at the end of the day. The location is close to everything yet in a quiet neighborhood. We will definitely return to this house!

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: May 2017
Andrew B
Wakefield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

This Year Was Better Than Last
Fantastic week! This was our second year staying at this wonderful home. Lou and Marie are just amazing. We actually feel like a part of their family. The house is so comfortable and clean. We love the new deck and new shower, can't wait for next year. It is so easy to travel to town and the ocean. Our granddaughter just loves her "new home." My sister came from IL. this year to enjoy the Cape and could not believe how relaxed she was. Just sitting on the deck having a beautiful dinner that we cooked on the grill and catching up on many things in our lives. Great stores, shops and wonderful people in Orleans. Who could ask for more. Marie and Lou, thank you for sharing your beautiful home on the pond. We will see you next year. :) Sherry and Family

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: May 2017
Sherry R
(Homeowner Entered)

Cozy, Comfortable Cape Cottage!!
Lou and Marie made this rental very special as it was clean, cozy and updated. I loved all the hard wood floors through out the house. The new deck over looking the pond was a great addition. If it got to buggy (which it never really did) you can still relax on their screened in porch. The updated kitchen cabinets and walk in shower was a nice plus, as well as the outdoor shower. The closeness to Nauset Beach was good as well as the little main street with the ice cream shop. Our boys love the Cape Cod Baseball and their games were played about 3 miles down the road which makes for a free fun night out. As Lou and Marie know, if we just had not inherited a Cape house Mid Cape we would definately be return renters! Thanks again!!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: May 2017
William M
Broad Brook, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect getaway, convenient to everything, but private and quiet
The description of this property does not do it justice. It was clean, well maintained and outfitted with everything you need. There are views of the pond from everywhere; living room, dining room, kitchen, breezeway and the wonderful new deck. You are only a few miles from town for shopping or dining. The beach is a mile away. We had a wonderful 2 weeks here and look forward to an opportunity to return. Thanks, Marie and Lou.

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: May 2017
Richard H
Easton, MD
(Homeowner Entered)

Most Charming Little Home
My family had the best time. We stay in East Orleans every year and this was the best week spent ever. Our home was so clean and charming and we wanted for nothing. Uncle Harvey's Pond was so peaceful and the neighborhood was very quite. (Just what we needed) Easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. Our granddaughter (age 3) loved the outdoor shower and when time to come home did not want to leave her new house :) Thank you, Lou and Marie!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: May 2017
Sherry R
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderfully peaceful
Our stay at Uncle Harvey's Way was wonderfully peaceful. The house itself was clean, charming and updated which made our stay comfortable. The WI-FI was on the fritz but the owners were very gracious and concerned that this did not deter us and it did not. There were plenty of local activities to keep us busy. The location was convenient to beaches and the center of town. Overall our stay was great, a perfect girl trip!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: May 2017
Natalie W
Manchester, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Fall Stay at Pond House
We stayed at this home in early October, 2011, and had a wonderful time. The house was clean, neat, and had everything we needed to cook for ourselves. We especially enjoyed sitting outside in the evenings or mornings and watching the wildlife in the yard and on the pond. We heard screech owls hooting at night and frogs calling. We had fun watching the birds in the area too: catbird, Carolina wren, belted kingfisher, common yellow throat, and others. It was very quiet at night which we really appreciated. We'd recommend this rental to friends and family.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: May 2017
Pat W
Greenfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)