Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Charming, Renovated 1870s Home with Private Beach
East Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 13424

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 king, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 1/2 mile walk/drive to private Pleasant Bay beach
Guest Reviews: 26 reviews
Time active: 9 years, 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Christy Johnson
Contact Christy Johnson, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (919) 357-7345 (Christy Johnson).
Please mention Property ID# 13424 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
26 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful vacation

We loved our week in East Orleans and wouldn't hesitate to return. The house was clean, homey and inviting. There was room for everyone to spread out. I loved the updated, well stocked kitchen. Peaceful describes the location and home. Goose Hummock, a local kayak company, dropped a kayak for us to use for a few days. The private Pleasant Bay beach is a 10 min stroll away. My daughters ran the 2.5 miles to Nauset Beach to see the sunrise twice. (can you say 4:40 am). We live near Boston, so our vacation is primarily to relax at the beach and visit with family. The house is off the beaten path with very little noise from neighbors; this is a good choice if you are looking for a quiet retreat not far from beaches. Prompt response time from owners. I liked the recycling set up and garbage pickup, updated kitchen and bath, outdoor shower and the hammock. Good selection of books and games, washer and dryer a plus. Master bedroom is up a steep set of stairs.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since May 2015
Couldn't ask better!

We're just about to leave this house, and we have to admit that it's with a little sadness! It's by far the most fully equipped place that we've rented so far! Everything's there! The size or the house was perfect for our family (2 adults, 4 kids under 5). The beds are comfortable and the kids really liked the bunk beds. Another highlight is the outdoor shower, wish we had one home! We particularly appreciated the yard and the secluded location. We felt on vacation the minute we left the road!

It was our first time in Orleans and really liked it. The house is away from traffic but close enough to all the essential: grocery, restaurants, ice cream and of course Nauset Beach! With the kids we used to go to bay beaches (smaller waves and warmer water) but we literally fell in love with Nauset. Yes it's crowded but the people are kind and respectful, and the kids loved the big waves and watching the seals. And no, the water was not that cold! Finally, dealing with Christy was a pure pleasure! All of our questions were answered promptly, and we really appreciated all the concern she had for our family's comfort! We also found the PayPal payment really convenient just as the insurance instead of the security deposit... Can't wait to come back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Canada
Member since Aug 2013
Ideal location, atmosphere, comfort, and charm!

We can't imagine a more ideal place to stay on the Cape!
We love staying in this region of the Cape, and the location of this house is quiet and private, but also near both a lovely town and a beautiful private beach. The house itself is comfortable, cozy, and full of character. We enjoyed exploring nearby beaches and parks during the day, and making use of the games and books in the house at night. A highlight was taking our kayaks to explore the spectacularly beautiful (and crowd-free) Little Pleasant Bay from the private beach. We would highly recommend renting this house for its location, privacy, charm, and comfort!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
South Hadley, MA
Member since Jul 2015
Typical Old-school Cape Farmhouse

Very quiet location, nice updated kitchen, big yard with west facing deck... great location, near Nauset Beach. Nice central location close to Orleans shopping and National Seashore - we had a great time and look forward to coming back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Wilbraham, MA
Member since Jun 2015

"Thank you for sharing your home with us! It was my first time here on the Cape and I had a wonderful time. Everything was wonderful - food, beaches, people and your home. I can't wait to come back!"

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: March 2015
Mia J
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you for letting us rent this *awesome* house for the week. We had so much fun playing monopoly after the beach day. The beds were very comfy!"

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: March 2015
Ben S
North Andover, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"A lovely time at the Cape... Connected with old friends, biked, and slept a lot! Very relaxing. House was great - very well equipped and clean. Thanks so much!"

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: March 2015
Leigh R
Centerbrook, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had wonderful two weeks in your lovely and perfect equipped house... We enjoyed our BBQ evenings in the back yard and, of course, the outdoor shower is really a big hit."

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: March 2015
Kristine P
Obertshausen, Germany
(Homeowner Entered)

"As always, I had a great time. My brothers and I love all the games and the back yard!"

Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Karina L
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had a great week on the Cape! ... The outdoor shower was very nice and the location is great because it's right next to the beach. Thanks for everything!"

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Samantha S
Duxbury, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Once again we had a wonderful time staying here.... You always have everything we need and nothing we don't. Love the house!"

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Kristin A
Springfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"We’ve been coming to the Cape for 25 yrs. and this has been our favorite place to stay. The wonderful 1870s farm house reminds us of another family home we used to summer at. Walking to the beach was a nice treat and we love your outdoor shower. It felt like you created this place just for us. We will surely return to this 'secret spot'."

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: May 2012
Kurt H
NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

"...sitting in the living room on our last day here, wishing we could stay longer. We like playing the piano at night and putting together the puzzle of the Lincoln Memorial... The whole house was cozy and welcoming."

Date of Stay: May 2011
Date Submitted: June 2011
Julia J
Springfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"The kids explored and explored in the grass and shallow water at the private beach. Kitchen was more than well-stocked. Hubby loved the deck and outside shower. Correspondence before our vacation was always prompt & polite!"

Date of Stay: September 2010
Date Submitted: December 2010
Roberta M
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"What a beautiful spot! The cottage was perfect, everything you could need and more... love the bunk beds. The house is comfy and cozy. Great yard! The trails are soooo cool."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: December 2010
Kristin A
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"It was nice to have some place quiet to come home to (and it really felt like home)... We loved the central location to beaches and grocery. We loved the outdoor shower!"

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: December 2010
Bill P
Indiana
(Homeowner Entered)

"We loved this house! This rental was comfortable, cozy and stocked with everything we needed right down to beach toys and a hairdryer! Everything was clean and welcoming. We loved the seclusion and the private beach. Would definitely rent again!!"

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Roslindale, MA
Member since Jul 2009

"What a beautiful place to spend the week in the fall. The house feels secluded, but we were a stones throw away from some of the most beautiful seashore we’ve seen… Outside shower a big hit! We loved it here. Thank you."

Date of Stay: September 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Paul D
Rhode Island
(Homeowner Entered)

"...we had a very restful and brilliant time! We loved your house-the kids especially… the two boys played a bit of croquet. My daughter told me she saw a humming bird outside the window in the living room a couple of times… hopefully we can come back another time."

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Lizza R
New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

"You have a lovely home. We've rented on the Cape the past 8 summers and this is the first that is truly homey."

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
John G
New York
(Homeowner Entered)

"Our week spent on the Cape has been amazing! ...The outdoor shower and deck are great! We loved how the house felt secluded."

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Jessica T
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

"WOW - what a fantastic week we had - our first on the Cape & perfect weather all week!! Loved the house. The outdoor shower a great hit. Basically - it's all good!"

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Brett C
, New Zealand
(Homeowner Entered)

"Right from the beginning we felt at home in your house. It was calm and comfortable, so we got over jet lag quite fast. The weather was mixed so we spent some evenings in the cozy livingroom... glad we weren't camping. We loved the piano!"

Date of Stay: August 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Claudia C
, Germany
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had a wonderful stay at your family's summer home. I love antique houses, and whoever did the renovations did them wonderfully. We really appreciated that the bathroom and kitchen were redone and spotless. Last year's rental was an entirely different story, and that experience made us very appreciative of the wonderful condition that this home was in. It was a pleasure to stay there."

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Andrea J
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

"This was a very good start of our first holiday in the USA. We loved the style of the interior and furniture. We really felt at home here and had a nice, quiet week."

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Peter K
, Holland
(Homeowner Entered)

"We LOVED your adorable house… We had the most quiet, relaxing and memorable vacation we've had in a long while!"

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Kate S
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)