Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Paradise on Cape Cod - Close to both ocean and bay beaches
Orleans Vacation Rental - ID 29743

4 BR
3 ½ baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 1 queen, 4 twins, rollout cot, q. air matress, crib
Beach: 2.6 m. to Nauset Beach; 1.75 m. to Skaket Beach
Guest Reviews: 12 reviews
Time active: 7 months
Contact details:
  Email Jim
Contact Jim , by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (203) 272-2058 (Home), (203) 430-7745 (Cell), (203) 272-3234 (Work).
Please mention Property ID# 29743 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
12 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
A Great Vacation Home

We had a wonderful time in this home this summer. It is centrally located - an easy drive to the beach and to Route 6A for shopping, restaurants and more. The home's air conditioners and ceiling fans kept the house cool in even the most sweltering weather (late July-early August 2018). We enjoyed the hot tub on the deck right outside the bedroom. The master suite was wonderful - huge king size bed and large bedroom with a walk-in closet. The master bath was palatial and spalike. The owners furnish plenty of quality linens - towels and sheets, plus many beach towels and beach chairs, etc. The photos really don't do it justice - I took many photos myself that I wish I could post here!

A beautiful property with a long driveway so you are away from traffic - very quiet. We enjoyed coffee on the back deck every morning and enjoyed the many birds that came up to the feeders. The property backs onto a wetland so there are many many birds. We were able to meet the owners, Jim and Colleen, since they vacationed there as a family just before we arrived. A wonderful couple - we're glad we got to meet them. Jim is an excellent "landlord" with your interests at heart. You would do well to rent this property for a wonderful vacation!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Montpelier, VT
Member since May 2018
A Fabulous Vacation

I would definitely recommend our one week rental this summer, for Property ID 29743 in Orleans, MA. The quality of the rental, along with the location and friendliness of the owners made this an exceptional stay for our family that included our grandchildren.

We did not have to worry about anything form start to finish. All our rental needs were either met or exceeded our expectations.

I would definitely suggest this summer rental to anyone who wants an extended Cape Cod stay in an environment that is both pleasurable as well as comfortable.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Cheshire, CT
Member since Aug 2018

Quaint and comfortable, close to everything we love about Orleans
Our family has stayed at this house many times over the years with our family of six and absolutely love it. The indoor spaces are comfortable, and the deck with hot tub and large teak table are perfect to relax and watch the birds that nest in the expansive back yard. We love that we can walk to baseball games, to the library and into town. We can easily drive in any direction to get to beaches, shopping, theatre, restaurants. The home has everything you need to allow for a relaxing and memorable vacation.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: February 2018
Roy C
Raleigh, NC
(Homeowner Entered)

Luxurious Vacation Home
This is a beautiful home. It is situated far enough from the road so that you hear no road noise, but close enough to the beach and "town" so that nothing is a far drive. Morning coffee on the deck while watching a multitude of beautiful birds was a treat. We even saw the hummingbird several times!!!! All rooms, furniture, appliances, etc. are in top notch condition. The master bathroom is unbelievably beautiful!!! The owners were thoughtful enough to leave plenty of space for your food in the pantry; empty, brand new refrigerator, and dressers in all bedrooms for your clothes, plus plenty of space and hangers in the closets - very accommodating.

Orleans is a great town - plenty of shopping and restaurants. Short travel to Wellfleet for more restaurants and on to P-town for shopping and the sights! Beach was easy to get to and there was always adequate parking and space on the sand. The house also had umbrellas and beach chairs for our use - including a beach cart, which is nice not to have to schlep that with you!

We were there during an unusually hot week, but the house has plenty of fans and AC units - it was always very comfortable. And, having rented many homes before in different places, it was a real treat having a nice big flat screen TV in the living room and the Master BR! Don't miss the sunset at Skaket Beach either - that was a great tip - Thank you especially to the owners, who couldn't offer enough assistance to insure that our vacation was great. It was, and this house is a gem. . . all of the comforts of home and more.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: February 2018
Donna C
(Homeowner Entered)

Fabulous home and retreat
What a great spot and home! Our family enjoyed the house, the details of every nook and cranny- including the upscale appliances (love the Heartland stove!), homey mix of vintage and new furnishings, all the beach items you can imaging, spacious and private rooms, each with a bathroom and shower, DVDs, games, garage, and very complete instructions (and not too over the top) on what to do when arriving/leaving, etc. A book of restaurants and explanation of the area, beaches, ages of people on the beaches, access, etc was all very nicely planned out. Thank you for sharing your home with us. Highly recommend this home. Right near Chatham, past the 2 lane traffic point, SO many beaches to choose from in 5-10 minute drive,. Super!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: February 2018
Donna B
Charlton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

The ideal home for your summer vacation
We have stayed at several homes in Orleans and Chatham over the past 10 years. We even owned our own home in Nantucket (for vacations). This home is one of the very best we have stayed in. High quality furnishings in a home that is well maintained by the owners. The location is one of its great attributes: a short walk across the street to watch Cape Ball (and isn't summer about the beach and baseball?). I rode a bike to the beaches almost every day. Skaket (Cape Cod Bay), is 2.2 miles and the Ocean at Nauset Beach is 3.1 miles. One of the big values of the home is all the things they provide that most other rentals do not and they add up to a significant benefit: Linens for the beds, towels for showers and towels for the beach in great condition, beach chairs and umbrellas, beach toys, fully stocked kitchen (plates, plastic ware, utensils, everything we needed and more), DVDs...we used to load down a car to bring all the "stuff" we needed. Not so this year. Great TVs in the LR, Kitchen, Master BR and basement...great for a rainy day or keeping track of the Red Sox, the Tour de France or The British Open.

The hot tub came in handy the first day that was a bit cool...they have it maintained and monitored each week.

And the best ...a hammock that was great for peaceful reading or napping. A great big yard that is well maintained and great for a game of yard bocce.

We had a full house of kids and adults and everyone had a great time and will be back next year. There are stairs for upper and lower bedrooms so it may not be ideal for those sensitive about very young kids. We had puzzles on the dining room table as well as the family room....Great big deck with big family size table and chairs, big grill, Can't think of anything that was missing, Ceiling fans and window air conditioners in many rooms to make sleeping on those very hot and humid evenings tolerable. One of the big assets of the home are the owners who were there to make sure everything was as good as it could be. We had a couple of items that went south and they were there to make sure they were repaired and fixed within hours - we didn't have to worry about anything. Thanks, Jim.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: February 2018
Rob` D
Woodinville, WA
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Family Vacation Home
Our family just returned from 2 beautiful weeks at this home in Orleans. It was everything the owner said in the description online - no surprises. Master suite was awesome, especially for 2 weeks. Prior rental homes have had uncomfortable beds and that is hard to handle, so this was a very comfortable stay. Location is great. It was nice to be able to walk to the ballgames across the street! House is not baby proofed but aside from the one stairway it worked out fine with a 1 year old… The deck looks out onto conservation land as is very nicely landscaped all around. Tons of birds to watch as well. Owners were extremely friendly and helpful in every way. For the first time on VRBO we were very satisfied.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
Kristen B
South Salem, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Fantastic vacation house
My family and I have stayed at many houses on Cape Cod over the years, but this one ranks as one of the most beautiful, comfortable and well situated places we have stayed. The house is beautiful, spacious and very well stocked. The master bedroom sweet is luxurious. The kitchen is fantastic and the deck is a joy to spend time on as it overlooks a beautiful property. We had our 2 year old grandson with us and, although it was a bit of a challenge being in a non child-proofed home, it was great to be around the corner from a playground. My son, a big baseball fan enjoyed going to night games around the corner as well. The house is on a very private driveway but it is five minutes from shopping, gas and sites. Orleans is a great place to stay as it is easy to get down or up Cape in very little time. The owner was accessible and a pleasure to deal with. Just a great place to vacation.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
Judith W
(Homeowner Entered)

Great Cape Cod vacation
This house was everything it said it was in the description. I was surprised at how well stocked the house was from beach chairs, beach towels, games of all kinds ( for the house and beach). For a family flying to vacation, this was incredibly helpful. The property was clean and up to date, and Colleen and Jim were available to answer any questions and really wanted to make sure we were settled for our week. The location was convenient to two beaches, restaurants and grocery stores as well as some shopping. We didn't take advantage of biking on the rail trail, but it was a short run to get there and a perfect running route. We also took in two Cape Cod league baseball games and used the park a few times which was basically at the end of the driveway and across the street. Great place for kids. Washing the towels at the end of the trip proved to be a chore, and we did it the night before so we could leave very early the next morning. Really the only thing you couldn't do was walk to the beach, but other than that, comfortable and I'd recommend to friends.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
Debbie R
Ann Arbor, MI
(Homeowner Entered)

What a beautiful home! My family and I were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay very much. There was plenty of room and everything was clean and well-maintained. The owner was extremely helpful and quick to respond to questions. It was well stocked with every necessity which made our packing much easier. Jim, the owner, sent lots of brochures and detailed instructions which helped us immensely. I highly recommend this home, and hope to visit again.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
Carol W
(Homeowner Entered)

Cozy, but plenty of room
First of all, great location and setting. If you aren’t going to spend the big bucks and be right on the beach, then I recommend a quiet, restful place with a lovely yard, a big deck and a hammock for getting away from it all. This house had all of that. Once ready to explore, this house was from a grocery, two great and very different beaches, and the bike path. It was close to a ball field and playground and some cute shops and an excellent coffee shop. Orleans is the perfect location: close enough to everything you might want to do. It is also a very well stocked home.

Super fancy, light, and airy main floor master bedroom. It was nice to be able to slip away to this quiet retreat w super comfy king bed, double shower, and spacious double sinks. Another bonus for our family--all the bathrooms. We have four teen/tween girls among us, and they all stayed in the basement bedroom with their own shower and spacious closet--two on the beds and two on a queen air mattress we brought. This gave them some privacy and their own zone, which was nice. It is a basement bedroom, so on the Cape this means a bit of damp, but the girls did not seem to mind. Convenient half bath + laundry on the main floor, then one on our main floor master bedroom, and another full bath on the second floor, plus the outdoor shower. Super nice washer and dryer were a bonus, with a super quick cycle for towels and other lightly used items.

We spend a lot of time on the large deck around the spacious table, but when we came in we lingered in the room off the kitchen—nice to be able to prep food or coffee and chat with loungers.

For my family, we really enjoyed watching the birds. Behind the house there is absolutely privacy and a woodsy area--very quiet and peaceful.

Huge selection of videos and many channels to peruse. We were able to find so many family friendly films to watch together after a tough day of biking, beaching, etc. I appreciated how Jim and Coleen provided a neat, clean, comfortable house that became the foundation of a great vacation.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
Julie B
Littleton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you, Jim and Colleen, for making our recent stay at your home in Orleans, so enjoyable! The house was fully stocked with all the comforts of home. The furniture and especially the beds were very comfortable. You don't always find that when renting a home. The location was great!! Easy to get to everything! The beaches are beautiful. We didn't want to go home!!

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: February 2018
Julie G
Mansfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)