Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.
Wellfleet Vacation Rental home in Cape Cod MA, 5/10 mile to Mayo Beach and 2.8 miles to Cahoon Hollow | ID 13155
4 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 7
Beds: 1 king, 2 queens, 2 twins, Futon and Captains Bed Upstairs
Beach: 5/10 mile to Mayo Beach and 2.8 miles to Cahoon Hollow
Guest Reviews: 5 reviews
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
Summer 2020
 
Off-season 2020/21
 
Summer 2021
 
Summer 2020
$1,495 - $1,995
Off-season 2020/21
$1,000 - $1,225
Summer 2021
$1,225 - $2,095
Summer 2020
$4,000 - $7,500
Off-season 2020/21
$3,500 - $4,000
Summer 2021
$4,000 - $5,000
State and local taxes of 12.45% will apply
 Online payments accepted
View complete pricing & availability
Contact: Allen Dalby
Click to see contact phone numbers
Phone: (717) 434-8258 (Allen Cell)
Phone: (717) 434-8258 (Allen Cell)
Time Active:
11+ years
5
Description

Description

A relaxing stay near the center of Wellfleet. Our home is conveniently located on a sunny corner two blocks from Wellfleet's town center. The house boasts four bedrooms, a living room, kitchen and fenced front yard with a gas grill and picnic table that seats six. Our WiFi and cable are high speed and fully loaded with powerful Xfinity signals to ensure connectivity throughout the property.
The kitchen has a round table (with extra leaves) with four chairs, A gas stove, a microwave, coffee maker, and plenty of cookware. The refrigerator is side by side doors with water and ice (crushed/cubed) in the door. The house is great for family entertainment, with a large front yard for kids and pets.
Our basement is a full size basement, with access to our top loading washer and dryer and access to the Outdoor Shower and back yard.
There is one larger TV in the living room with several chairs and a love seat. On the first floor one bedroom has a king size bed and the other a queen size bed. The bathroom with Tub and Shower is on the first Floor. Both First Floor Bedrooms and the living room have ceiling fans and window fans. The second floor bedroom on the right has a sitting area with a futon, coffee table, TV and DVD along with two twin beds. The other bedroom has a Queen bed and a twin captains bed. All bedrooms are stocked with extra pillows and blankets, and extra fans. Powerful Xfinity WiFi service is upgraded every year.
Wellfleets' beaches, markets, restaurants, fish markets, grocery stores and even bay beaches are easy to walk to from our home.
Holbrook House is a wonderful place to stay while enjoying the village and beaches. You will not find a more convenient place to stay.
show more show less

Location

Location - Wellfleet Town Center

Nearest beach: 5/10 mile to Mayo Beach and 2.8 miles to Cahoon Hollow

41.9377390 -70.033456 0
Photos

Photos

Pricing & Availability

Pricing & Availability

1

Calendar Last Updated: July 13, 2020

Additional availability info: House can be rented for months and or weekends depending on availability. This is a Sunday to Sunday vacation rental.

Long-Term Rental (1 month or more): Home is Available for Long Term Rentals Starting at $1550/month Six Month Lease Required

Payment Methods: American Express, Visa, MasterCard, Zelle, PayPal, Venmo, TransferWise, ACH/EFT (5%); and personal checks

Additional pricing info: Pets accepted Fee $50, State and local taxes of 12.45% will apply

Minimum Stay Requirements:
  • Summer 2020
    7 nights
  • Off-season 2020/21
    1 month
  • Summer 2021
    7 nights
Available
Unavailable
Unknown
  • Price JULY 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,495        1 2 3 4
     $1,695  5 6 7 8 9 10 11
     $1,695  12 13 14 15 16 17 18
     $1,995  19 20 21 22 23 24 25
     $1,995  26 27 28 29 30 31  
    Monthly: $4,000 - $6,500
  • Price AUGUST 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,995              1
     $1,995  2 3 4 5 6 7 8
     $1,995  9 10 11 12 13 14 15
     $1,695  16 17 18 19 20 21 22
     $1,695  23 24 25 26 27 28 29
     $1,495  30 31          
    Monthly: $6,500 - $7,500
  • Price SEPTEMBER 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,495      1 2 3 4 5
     $1,000  6 7 8 9 10 11 12
     $1,000  13 14 15 16 17 18 19
     $1,000  20 21 22 23 24 25 26
     $1,000  27 28 29 30      
    Monthly: $4,000
  • Price OCTOBER 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,000          1 2 3
     $1,000  4 5 6 7 8 9 10
     $1,000  11 12 13 14 15 16 17
        18 19 20 21 22 23 24
        25 26 27 28 29 30 31
    Monthly: $4,000
  • Price NOVEMBER 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
        1 2 3 4 5 6 7
        8 9 10 11 12 13 14
        15 16 17 18 19 20 21
        22 23 24 25 26 27 28
        29 30          
  • Price DECEMBER 2020
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
            1 2 3 4 5
        6 7 8 9 10 11 12
        13 14 15 16 17 18 19
        20 21 22 23 24 25 26
        27 28 29 30 31    
  • Price JANUARY 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                  1 2
        3 4 5 6 7 8 9
        10 11 12 13 14 15 16
        17 18 19 20 21 22 23
        24 25 26 27 28 29 30
        31            
  • Price FEBRUARY 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28            
  • Price MARCH 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
          1 2 3 4 5 6
        7 8 9 10 11 12 13
        14 15 16 17 18 19 20
        21 22 23 24 25 26 27
        28 29 30 31      
  • Price APRIL 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                1 2 3
        4 5 6 7 8 9 10
        11 12 13 14 15 16 17
        18 19 20 21 22 23 24
        25 26 27 28 29 30  
  • Price MAY 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
                    1
        2 3 4 5 6 7 8
        9 10 11 12 13 14 15
        16 17 18 19 20 21 22
     $1,225  23 24 25 26 27 28 29
     $1,225  30 31          
  • Price JUNE 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,225      1 2 3 4 5
     $1,225  6 7 8 9 10 11 12
     $1,225  13 14 15 16 17 18 19
     $1,225  20 21 22 23 24 25 26
     $1,225  27 28 29 30      
    Monthly: $3,500 - $4,000
  • Price JULY 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,225          1 2 3
     $1,795  4 5 6 7 8 9 10
     $1,795  11 12 13 14 15 16 17
     $1,795  18 19 20 21 22 23 24
     $1,795  25 26 27 28 29 30 31
    Monthly: $4,000
  • Price AUGUST 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $2,095  1 2 3 4 5 6 7
     $2,095  8 9 10 11 12 13 14
     $2,095  15 16 17 18 19 20 21
     $2,095  22 23 24 25 26 27 28
     $1,995  29 30 31        
    Monthly: $5,000
  • Price SEPTEMBER 2021
      Su
    M
    Tu
    W
    Th
    F
    Sa
     $1,995        1 2 3 4
        5 6 7 8 9 10 11
        12 13 14 15 16 17 18
        19 20 21 22 23 24 25
        26 27 28 29 30    
    Monthly: $4,000
Amenities

Amenities

Proximity to water and beach
  • walk to a salt water beach
Interior
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Coffeemaker
  • Cable TV
  • DVD or VCR
  • Wireless or wired internet
  • No Smoking
Exterior
  • Deck/Porch/Patio
  • BBQ-Grill
  • Outdoor Shower
Other
  • Pets considered
Green Amenities
  • Filtered water
  • Recycling
  • Reusable grocery totes
  • ENERGY STAR appliances
  • LED lighting
Reviews

Guest Reviews

5 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Pleasant House in 'Downtown' Wellfleet

My family and I have stayed at the Holbrook House in the summer of 2018 and the summer of 2019. Both times we had an enjoyable stay. The house is not fancy but that was not what we were looking for. Cleanliness was a bit of an issue the first year but much better the second. The location is convenient for a walk into town for groceries, shopping, or the farmers market, as well as to Mayo Beach. The drive to the oceanside beaches is short and as bikers we often braved the hills for a 25 minute ride to those beaches or a shorter ride to the ponds. Anna and Allen were quick to respond during the summer to requests of ours as well as picking up garbage, mowing the lawn, and the like. They were honest and forthright and we would stay there again. show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: April 2020
Brooklyn, NY
Member since Jul 2016
Holbrook house

This place was disgusting from the second we walked in! FILTHY!! Had I known the extent of the filth I would have NEVER paid to stay here. If I had a choice I would have gone to a hotel. We hated this dilapidated filthy disgusting hovel. It smells like old mold or mustiness that made us all sick. This place needs to be condemned. We even had the owners son fiddling with one of the TWO broken down boats in the backyard!!!!! That backyard looks like a junkyard and is unsafe for anyone. Really wanted to have an outside shower, but it was so disgusting I didn"t even get in it. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!! I"ve never ever had anything like thishappen before. Beware!!!! show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Owner Response:

We have been renting our Large Cape Cod Home for 20 years. We are IN TOWN. We do not live in the house year round, and in the Spring it takes over a month to get it cleaned and ready for visitors. EVERY SPRING we update at least one room, and touch up and repair ALL of the other rooms. This includes the furniture, windows, outlets, lighting, plumbing etc. We do not CLAIM that our beloved home is in TIP TOP totally updated condition. If we did claim that we would charge more than DOUBLE what we do. Our home has ONE bathroom. It is painted and updated (new toilet seat, new shower head, recaulk around the tub) EVERY YEAR.
In the SPRING when our rates are a BARGAIN, we MAY be working on our boat, if ANY work is done, we respectfully ASK THE VISITORS in OUR HOME. WE ARE CONSIDERATE, CONSCIENTIOUS, AND CORDIAL.
SPRING TIME in Coastal Communities can be quite DAMP, IF there is a continual pattern of rain, our HOME can smell musty in the BASEMENT. It is almost 100 years old. All of the windows open smoothly, and can help alleviate occasional mustiness.
If there was anything needed WE ARE IN TOWN. Just CALL. Perhaps there was no cell service. And of course it took months to formulate a complaint.
We APPRECIATE KNOWING YOU ARE NOT HAPPY IMMEDIATELY, not months later. We will send a crew in to clean, no problem.
If you do not CALL US we can not help to make your stay ANY BETTER.
As of last SPRING(2019) we had Redone the second first floor bedroom, painted the living room windows, and added a BRAND NEW SIX BURNER STOVE.
Our home although Old,is annually upgraded and improved, we try to keep our rates fair to the amenities and age of our home.
$950 for a WEEK in a FOUR BEDROOM HOUSE on the TIP OF CAPE COD, in the CENTER OF TOWN, within walking distance of a Beach, and the local restaurants AND Grocery store, is of Incredible Value. We assume that was why our HOME was chosen. As it frequently is.
You CANNOT GET A HOTEL IN TOWN FOR $136 per night, for FOUR ROOMS.
RESPONSE TO RATINGS
1. Our listing is accurate, although not all updated photos are added at time of every rental. Yet improvements should not be something that would cause a negative response, more so a happy, "OH! This bedroom looks different!". Or" Oh great a new Television!" We do not make our HOME DIRTY for our visitors.
2.Cleanliness is important to us. We thoroughly clean and work through every room in the house. As the HOME is a family home, it does have storage in the basement that is OFF LIMITS to visitors, and perhaps could purport a feeling of dustyness. Every season we work through more of the clutter in that section of the Closed Off section of our basement. However the MAIN Floors of the home are CLEANED, the reference to FILTH is bothersome, as our next Visitor is a RETURNING VISITOR, with SMALL CHILDREN. Actually a newborn the Second Year.
3. Experience with Homeowner: NONE as NO ONE CALLED ANY OF US OR CONTACTED US. WE ARE IN TOWN. As it was obvious from the above reference to OUR SON who asked the VISITOR if they would be bothered in the middle of the day, if he cleaned the Boat. It was ONE AFTERNOON.
4. Return, If A Person id as unhappy as this visitor seemed to be, of course not. If We had known they were this unhappy, as WE ARE HERE IN THE SUMMER, we would have come to the HOME and tried to do anything to resolve the issues. Sometimes NEW PAINT can have and odor.
IF YOU STAY IN OUR HOME AND HAVE ANY ISSUES, PLEASE CALL US.
It is written in Our agreement, and Allen's number is on the Fridge for you.
Sometimes, the grill runs out of Propane, or maybe a bedroom was not vacuumed. We are HAPPY TO RESOLVE ISSUES.
This is our FAMILY HOME. We love coming to Wellfleet and enjoying our time here. there is so much to do and much to see.


show moreshow less

Tuxedo Park, NY
Member since Jul 2019
Perfect location

I've never written a review on WeNeedaVacation (or really any website like that) but because I depend so much on them when making a decision for a Cape house, and the fact that this house has none (except for the dreaded homeowner entered) I thought I'd share.

To start off, I don't know that I've ever rented a house or gone to a restaurant or done anything when I can't do my due diligence through reviews. I took a chance on this house as they didn't have any, and I'm so glad I did. While the weather was truly pitiful (was only sunny for part of one day, while rained the other days, never reaching a high of above 55), the house made up for that because of the location. In my opinion, this location is second to none other than being right off Main St in Chatham- and honestly, could be even better. While we didn't have a proper beach day, we still spent our days walking and exploring the area. Whether it was walking to Hatch's Fish Market, Mac's Shack (best restaurant on the Cape in my personal opinion), the Pier, the Marsh walk, walking and awing over the old gorgeous homes of Mill Hill, Briar, Railroad, etc.- we made use of our entire long weekend in Welfleet. We went to a wine tasting at the liquor store right around the corner, bought some jams from the stand right up the street on Rt 6, walked the dog down to Town Beach most nights.

If you are a dog lover, and HATE to travel without your dogs, then this house is an absolute must. The fenced in yard was just perfect. Our dog is a rescue and never had proper training from a puppy on staying close by, so it is a very rare occasion we can have her be off leash. The fenced in yard was a real treat for all of us, including our dog.

The interior of the house is the reason this house is probably such a steal for the unbeatable location. I'd love to see the owners make some small updates, like repainting some areas and maybe replacing a few of the bed comforters. My bed was actually very comfortable (the downstairs king) but the twin mattresses upstairs seemed very thin, so probably best for kids. The living room was very comfortable, though- with lots of comfortable seating. For an old house, it was great that they had a dishwasher, and even though the stove is very small, loved having the gas and was excellent to cook on. They also had a fully stocked pantry of cookware which can be hard to come by in Cape rentals. We didn't find the eat in kitchen table to be very inviting, so ended up either eating our meals out at a restaurant or on our lap in the living room. One early evening that was mildly warm (50 degrees) we did eat outside, so if you rent over late Spring or Summer, I imagine that's where people spend most of their time.

It was also great to have so much parking! We had guests come and go throughout our stay, and never had to worry about where to park, which is excellent for such an in town location. It says there is an outdoor shower, but the surrounding area needed to be cleaned out for use (overgrown grass, etc). I imagine that was only the case since we were the first renters of the season- and wouldn't have used it anyway given the weather. Something we didn't realize was that there was no laundry- which was incredibly tough with a 1 year old. Our fault for not seeing that in the listing- but it wouldn't have stopped us from renting, or renting again. Just something to plan for.

All in all, we would absolutely come back, knowing that the house is really your launching point for doing anything and everything in Welfleet.
show more show less

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: May 2017
Owner Response:

We have since updated the floors in the kitchen and bathroom, painted two bedrooms, added a larger dresser, added new coverlets and are putting in a larger stove. The access to the basement is difficult to see because it is a door in the hall. That is how you get to the outdoor shower and washer dryer. We have put sign on this door. We have removed the glass table and added a second picnic table. We'll keep improving the house as we want our guests to love it as much as we do!

Boston, MA
Member since Feb 2010

We stayed in Holbrook House for three weeks in August. The house has plenty of room for our family and the few friends who came to stay over the weekends. It is close to the town center and also the harbor. There is plenty of parking and the large fenced in front yard is great fro evening relaxing.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: March 2012
Christina K
Ma, USa
(Homeowner Entered)

We rented the Holbrook House for 1 month. We enjoyed walking our dog down to the harbor, enjoying a lite dinner at the Bookstore restaurant or the Pearl or Even Macs and then walking back by way of town. We would visit many shops and sometimes stop for dessert up in town. A very convenient location,. We also enjoyed the front yard and the grill. Holbrook House was a nice vacation home for us.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: March 2012
Joe G
New York, NY, USa
(Homeowner Entered)

About Allen Dalby

Member since:
2/18/2007
Reviews:
5 reviews
My Name is Allen Dalby. I have lived in Wellfleet all of my life. I work for the Local D.P.W. This is my family home. I love Wellfleet and am glad to open my home to visitors, so they can experience, explore, and enjoy, everything Wellfleet has to offer. If you need me for anything just call or text. I'm available every day. Enjoy

What is special about this property?
If you like to ride bikes or walk around, my house is very convenient to everything Wellfleet offers. My house is simple, with large bedrooms upstairs and more cozy bedrooms on the first floor. I love to cook, so I try to maintain the kitchen amenities. I just added a fabulous new gas stove. I welcome suggestions for improving visitors experience. I always appreciate suggestions, and try to update the house regularly.

What is special about your town?
My house is in an amazing location. Convenient, easy to find, and excellent for a casual vacation, where walking and biking are exceptional.

Contact
 
 
Your Email
 
First Name
 
Last Name
Describe Your Dates
Phone (optional)
# Guests
Adults
Children
Done
Describe yourself, what you're looking for, and ask questions!
Message
Not from the United States?
Country
Send As Guest
Clear Form