Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Spacious Home on Tidal Bay with Beauty Abounding

S. Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 11103
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 1 queen, 2 doubles, 2 twins, 1 of doubles is futon in the loft
Beach: 1/2 mile LeCount Hollow, 1/2 mi Pleasant Pt Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 14 years, 10 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Dream Home

We returned from a perfect stay in this idyllic home in Wellfleet a week ago, but the effect lingers. Yes, the photos and description of the house and surroundings are completely accurate, but the peace in the air is indescribable. Our vacation began as soon as we started communicating with Betty, the warm and gracious woman who lovingly shares her home. This is a truly special and very loved place, undoubtedly not only by the owner, but also by those of us who now feel that it's our rentable dream second home. We can hardly wait to return.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Owner Response:

So deeply grateful to Martha and the beautiful connection that flourished between us.
Betty

Member since Jul 2020
A Quiet Repose

Tucked away off Rt. 6 you enter another world surrounded by nature, with beautiful views of the cove from the house and deck, stretching out the back. If you love bird watching this is the place. The house is spacious and well cared for, eliciting as sense of comfort and relaxation in an environment that underscores what time away is about. Easy access to Wellfleet Ctr. and the National Sea Shore, could not be more convenient.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Owner Response:

Dear Kathleen,
Thank you very much for sharing your "time away" in our home. Thank you for your kind words and appreciations.
Betty

Jamaica Plain, MA
Member since Jun 2016
A Beautiful and Peaceful Place

This is an idyllic and beautiful home. The dining room, living room, and deck look out on Drummer's Cove with many birds and magnificent trees. It has been so peaceful being here. It feels like paradise. There is a warmth and magic to this home. The kitchen is fabulous. The owner is such a warm and considerate person. I have loved every minute of being here!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: July 2020
Owner Response:

Thank you very much Lisa. It has been a joy sharing our home with you and your family and to know that it has met your needs for rest and ease. Look forward to staying in touch,

Betty

Member since Dec 2016
Wonderful Bayside Home

This is a beautiful house overlooking the bay, with great views for birdwatching out of the living room picture window and deck. It is spacious, well kept, very comfortable with lots of different places to stretch out and relax. The location is great, just a few minutes from town and the beach, with a couple good bakeries just a minute or two away. Highly recommended!

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Owner Response:

Thank you very much. Hope you will come again!
Betty

Roslindale, MA
Member since Jul 2019
Relaxing and enjoyable stay in beautiful home!

This home has been well loved and is full of warm, peaceful, and inviting energy. Betty was a wonderful host. She kindly emailed us after our arrival to ensure that we were settled in well and asked if we needed anything.

We were staying with two families with four kids of varying ages and three parents. The kids loved waking up early to watch the tide come in and walk down to the saltwater marsh to go fishing and crab spotting. We all enjoyed the view from the deck and spent hours spotting the beautiful birds coming to the many bird feeders. Cooking together was wonderful in the very well stocked kitchen and on the outdoor grill. We also appreciated the excellent collection of books and board games, that helped keep us occupied during a rainy morning.

The home is very centrally located. We loved how close it was to PB Boulangerie and it is a short drive to beaches and gorgeous ponds. It is also a stone's throw from Truro and Provincetown. We could not have had a better vacation and we hope to return again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: July 2019
Owner Response:

Thank you for this thoughtful and descriptive review. So pleased to know that your family enjoyed spending your holiday time in the Wellfleet home. We look forward to your return!
Betty and Catherine

Member since Mar 2019
Peaceful, Spectacular and Well-Loved Home on Gorgeous Tidal Bay

What an honor to stay in your beautiful home. Waking up to the birds, watching the tides flow in and then leave, eating wholesome food at the table, trying to read on the deck but getting distracted by the marsh and the light, having time, space and peace to face each other and be quiet and fulfilled.

This place will stay with us and we leave part of ourselves here.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you!

Cambridge, MA
Member since Oct 2017
Perfect spot -- peaceful, gorgeous, great kitchen

We had a truly wonderful stay over Labor Day. Betty was responsive, accommodating and easy to work with. The property was great - clean and as advertised. Peaceful deck looking over a bay, great kitchen, cozy setup. I'm a light sleeper and never heard road noise. We were there with a 3-year-old, and it was great.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Owner Response:

Thank you, Amelia.

Ithaca, NY
Member since Oct 2017
Beauty and Comfort

Dear Betty,

Thank you very much for the use of your wonderful house. Its setting and location, decor and comforts gave us great pleasure.

Our best wishes to you,

Harold and Suzanne Bershady

Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Philadelphia, PA
Member since Feb 2017
I love this house

I love this house - not merely as a place but as an idea about how to live. There is a gorgeous and thoughtful peace to be found here.

It's always dangerous to probe into the moral basis of beauty-- the sea is beautiful but is there moral content to it? Perhaps yes, to be experienced in its implacable will to exist... But some beauty shows its relation to the good quite openly, plainly, and this house -- with its unfussy order, with its layout and design and the light that it draws in, with its artwork (especially that) -- is abundantly one of those places.

You can feel a goodness all around the place. There are so many areas in the house where you can sit and watch the tide change slowly in the tidal basin out the back windows, watch the extraordinary multitude of birds at the different feeders outside along the ridge where the hill drops off behind the house. Cape Cod despite its summer crowds -- especially in the upper Cape -- remains something of a wild place and you can feel that presence of nature here, away from the road, pointed toward the woods and the water below. Everything about the house shows the love and care with which it has been kept and with which life inside it has been lived. I cannot recommend it more highly.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
New Rochelle, NY
Member since Aug 2014
Beautiful Place!

Most beautiful week ever!

The water was so warm, the waves so awesome, the weather perfect! We all are so blessed to share your beautiful home! So many great loving memories!!

Thanks for providing such a serene comfortable space... We will miss you, Wellfleet! See you next year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: October 2017
Leverett, MA
Member since Jan 2012
Glorious home with a special feeling!

Our family stayed here in July of 15. We had 3 generations and enjoyed all of the beautiful rooms with lots of places for games, reading, listening to music, browsing the books and enjoying meals and tranquility indoors and out! The location was perfect for our needs, views out over the salt water river included wonderful sunsets. I especially loved the decor and the art in all of the rooms, a truly special home. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: February 2018
Owner Response:

With a deep bow of gratitude.
Thank you.
Betty

Member since Jan 2015