Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Private, Clean, Oceanside, Near Gull Pond, Seashore & Town

Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 32141
4 BR
2 ½ baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 2 queens, 2 doubles, 2 twins
Beach: 1/2 mi to Gull Pond and 1 mile Newcomb Hollow
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 4 months
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Great Secluded Getaway, Close to Everything That Matters

We spent over a month at Eric's wonderful home. We didn't want to leave. The house is spacious, well-maintained, with a great high-ceilinged living room, amazing deck, great grill, all set in a secluded wooded spot. Lots of birds, including a neighboring Osprey nest. Walking distance to many ponds and a short drive to Newcomb Hollow beach.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: August 2020
New York, NY
Member since Aug 2020

This is a spacious, well-maintained, bright house nestled in the trees. The floor plan is great for vacations with an open kitchen/dining/living area and a 1st floor mater bed and bath and lots of windows. The second floor bedrooms are also spacious and bright. The kitchen is well-stocked and has an efficient layout. The rear deck is very accessible and a great place to relax. The owner lives next door and is very responsive to any problems with the house, provides great service and is very knowledgeable about the area. The location is very convenient to the Wellfleet ponds, ocean and Wellfleet Center, but is quiet and away from the crowds. We have rented this house for 4 years and plan to continue for many years to come. We highly recommend this house.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: March 2019
Virginia
Member since Mar 2019

Great house
Nicely laid out and maintained house, convenient to Wellfleet - comfortably accommodates big groups with a nice large common area for socializing. It's reached via a hilly dirt road, so just be sure your vehicle can manage that. Also (like most Cape houses) linens are not included.

My Response
Thank you for the review Pam. Just wanted to point out that we had two flash floods this summer which effected our driveway. In fifteen years of renting we have never had an issue with any car on our driveway

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: March 2019
Brookline, MA
Member since Mar 2009

This house has everything we've looked for in a Cape Cod vacation. We have always loved Gull Pond on previous trips to Wellfleet and were delighted to stay in this beautiful house last month. The property is private and quiet and the house was comfortable and immaculate. The house is close to all our favorite restaurants and take out places. Our family enjoyed paddleboarding on Gull Pond through Funseekers, and the proximity to the ocean beaches. There is plenty of space in the house to spread out and a lovely deck to enjoy. We can't wait to come back next year. Thanks, Eric.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: March 2019
Maryland
Member since Feb 2017

Perfect Wellfleet getaway for 2 families

We had a wonderful stay at this house in July 2016. It has a great layout, lots of open space and great sunlight. The location is ideal - near beaches and ponds, as well as town, and so very little need to spend time on Route 6. The deck is ideal for relaxing and grilling at the end of a fun/sun-filled day. It really has everything you need, and it accommodated 2 families of four extremely well. Highly recommend!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2019
Member since Mar 2019

Great House in Quiet Location

This is a light, airy and very clean house with a great layout. While the owner lives nearby, the house felt very private and away from the busy summer traffic. At the same time it was close to town, ponds and ocean beaches. There are 3 bedrooms upstairs and the master on the first floor which worked well for our family. The house has a well equipped kitchen on the open layout first floor. We loved the large dinning table which worked well for both lobster dinners and large jigsaw puzzles. We suggest ordering to-go from Moby's if you don't want to cook the lobster yourself. After 30 years of renting all sorts of houses in Wellfleet, this was our second year staying at this house and we hope to return next year. Our family has a variety of interests and requirements but this house satisfied everyone.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2019
Member since Mar 2019

Perfectly sized for a family getaway

This house was the perfect base camp for a July family vacation. After searching high and low for a house large enough to accommodate two infants/toddlers, three parents, and two grandparents, we settled on Eric's house. This turned out to be a great decision: the house was modern, clean, and well kept, and was just the right size for keeping three generations together while still giving everyone their space. The location is perfect, about three minutes by car from Gull Pond, ten minutes from Newcomb Hollow Beach, and five minutes from the center of Wellfleet. Literally, if I'd looked at a map and picked the perfect spot for a Wellfleet house, I would've picked this spot exactly. It's on the north end of Wellfleet, which is also means your day trips to Provincetown will be fifteen minutes shorter -- a huge plus when you're driving back sunburned and hungry and raring for a lobster roll. Speaking of lobster rolls, the house is super close to both Moby Dick's and PJ's, so you never have to go longer than five minutes without a hunk of juicy lobster tail if you don't want to. The house doesn't have any spectacular seaside or harbor views, but it's pleasant and quiet, and it's set in the woods, so if you're lucky you'll get to see the local wild turkeys and even a fox going about their business. The kitchen is fully stocked and there's a propane grill on the deck that'll make short work of a burger or a tuna steak. Eric, the owner, lives nearby (at least during the summers), and is a gracious and pleasant host. He showed us around, answered questions, and stopped by occasionally to say hi, but also gave us our space. He was easy to communicate with and gave us our entire safety deposit back quickly and without any fuss. If you're looking to spend some time enjoying all Wellfleet has to offer, this place is for you! It worked out great for us, and if we can rally the whole family again, we'll definitely be staying here.

Date of Stay: July 2014
Date Submitted: March 2019
Thomas C
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful House, Terrific Owner
This is a very beautiful and well cared for house in an idyllic location. Quiet, except for the rustling of the trees and birdsong. We had a great vacation here, and enjoyed the comfortable, well equipped house and lovely deck. We were a group of friends spending a week together and we were delighted that there was great space to socialize in, and also enough space to do your own thing, if you wanted to. All the bedrooms are well appointed, comfortable and airy. We loved the proximity to beautiful kettle ponds and gorgeous ocean beaches. The owner was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: March 2019
Ruth M
(Homeowner Entered)

Love the house, owner very friendly

We rented this house for 5 days for a family get-together. The house was very comfortable and had everything we needed to cook. Large dining room was great for meals and the back deck is completely private. Location is great - about 1.5 miles to a fantastic beach that was secluded all week. Right by all Wellfleet restaurants. Eric (owner) was helpful when we called and left us completely alone the rest of the week. He was great despite us coming only for 5 days, and he even offered to let us stay for free past checkout since no one was coming immediately after us! Thanks, Eric. Great vacation for the whole family.

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: March 2019
Member since Mar 2019

Beautiful House in Gorgeous Setting!

I spent many summer in Wellfleet as a child. I wanted a house that was close to the best beaches, best ponds and also close to town. The location of this house is perfect! It is very clean and open with lots of light and has everything you need for a perfect family vacation--lots of stuff to cook with, boardgames, DVD player and stereo, blankets, wireless internet, a great deck with BBQ and picnic table. The set up is great with 3 nice sized rooms upstairs (all with ample closet/shelf space) and a big bathroom, and then a master suite downstairs that is huge and has a big closet and bathroom. The owners are great to deal with and were very helpful before and during our stay.I would definitely recommend this rental!

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: March 2019
Vanessa K
(Homeowner Entered)

The Real Cape Cod

The light, the light, the light….. Wellfleet is known for its golden light, and this house captures it more beautifully than any I’ve seen on the outer cape – and I have seen many! It doesn’t hurt that all the wood is honey colored and that the shadows dance across the light colored walls and cathedral ceiling. Another thing I loved was the quite… The wind going through the trees is just lovely, and it’s so nice to wake up, look out the windows and see the trees swaying…. No traffic, no noise – just the breeze and nature sounds. This space and location has three beautiful elements; it feels like you’ve found a haven in the woods; but if you stroll to the end of the entry lane, and cross the narrow Road (Gull Pond Road), you can find your way to the kettle ponds. (leave early while there’s still lots of light, so you can get lost….) They all remind me so much of Walden Pond. It’s little wonder that Thoreau found such inspiration down these same laneways…. Finally, you can take a cycle to the beach….. The magic three: woods, lakes, beaches…. I came to Wellfleet as a musician looking for inspiration and did my best work in this house. This is what people call the “real” Cape. Artists gather here because of the golden light, but creative folks of every ilk seem to find something really special here too. However, being on the “real” cape may include having to settle for a tiny dimly-lit, over-priced “saltbox.” That’s why I was so delighted with this house – it’s new, beautifully equipped and spotless with tons of room - airy and light…. The owner is a long-time Wellfleet resident and will happily share his love of this land with you, and just about anything else for that matter, including his home-grown tomatoes. Wellfleet is its own very special place, and this haven in the woods is as good as Wellfleet gets.

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: March 2019
Member since Mar 2019