Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

3 BR Cottage Near National Seashore and Rail Trail

Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 32564
3 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 1 queen, 1 double, 4 twins, Cot
Beach: 1/2 mile to Lecount Hollow Beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 6 months
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Never a Disappointment

We've been coming back to Lost Oak Cottage for years (don't even remember how many) for our all girl vacations.

Joy and Bill are the best - like coming home to family. The house is big enough to give everyone space for quiet time if they need it but intimate enough for all night "girl" chats.

So close to the beach, so close to the bike trail, so close to wonderful bakeries for that early morning pastry run and so clean. We couldn't ask for more. Oh we'll be back. You can count that as a promise or a threat.

Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Canadensis, PA
Member since May 2012
Paradise with amazing view

We loved our stay at Lost Oak Cottage. The house is clean, bright and comfortable with a new kitchen and large windows looking over the marsh.

Red-wing blackbirds, cardinals, turkeys and owls entertained us. The ocean beach at the end of the road is world-class. We definitely want to return.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2021
Date Submitted: April 2021
Sharon, MA
Member since Jun 2020
Wonderful Lost Oak Cottage

We stayed for one week in the Lost Oak Cottage and loved every minute, not only the short walk to the ocean but also the very tasteful decorated house, the beautiful views from every window, the sunny padio and so much more. The kitchen was very well equipped . The owner's son Justin who lives next door added to our happiness being so jolly and helpful.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2021
Date Submitted: April 2021
Pullman, WA
Member since Apr 2021
The Perfect Week

I stayed at the Lost Oak Cottage with my family in October 2020 and it was marvelous! It was the perfect size for my parents and my family of 4 (my husband and I, 4-year-old, and 8-month-old). It was extremely tidy and has everything you need for your stay! One of my favorite features of the cottage is there is a bathroom on every floor...so great when you have a toddler!

The cottage had plenty of space for all of us but was cozy and felt like quintessential Cape Cod. The property surrounding the cottage, which overlooks the lovely Blackfish Creek, was gorgeous and well-maintained. My daughter loved running around the brush and exploring the gardens. I loved the fact that the cottage was situated so closely to the Cape Cod Rail Trail. I really, really enjoyed taking a morning walk and enjoying the scenery.

Property owners Bill and Joy are truly a pleasure to interact with and their love for Wellfleet is reflected in the beauty of their cottages and property. I look forward to a future stay here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Kinderhook, NY
Member since Oct 2020
Fabulous house

The house is lovely and the location is perfect. You could be content to just sit on the rooftop deck and take in the scenery, but there is so much more nearby to explore! This is one of the best houses we have ever rented and we hope to return soon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Lunenburg, MA
Member since Oct 2020
Another Wonderful Lost Oak Stay

Five of us stayed a week at Lost Oak in September, 2020 and once again all of us had a great stay for second year in a row. We will be back in 2021.

Lost Oak is a beautifully restored/expanded/updated property right off the bike trail by PB's, etc. The marsh views are gorgeous and the Hidden Hollow compound is well-landscaped in a natural style by Joy & Bill. Bill & Joy are great owners.

I will say the bedroom on the second floor is much larger and private than the one on the main floor. We have taken turns re: bedrooms with the other couple that goes down to Wellfleet with us. My husband & I stayed in the Road House 2016 - 2018 before "moving up to" Lost Oak. Thank you, Bill & Joy! And, I love Wellfleet and all it has to offer and have for many years.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Clinton, MA
Member since Jul 2011
Lost Oak Cottage

This was our first time in Wellfleet. This property has private access to the one of the Cape Cod Rail Trails, and we loved that convenience for our biking excursions. There was a tented area with a bike rack that was good to have when it rained.
The house is well equipped and the property helped us to take a mental break from the world. A lovely view, wind chimes, flower beds, a screened in porch, and a sunny deck are all there. The beach is a short drive or bike ride away. Also walkable.
The owners live nearby. They made us feel welcome and were available to answer our questions about the area.

All in all, an excellent week!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Montclair, NJ
Member since Sep 2020
We love Lost Oak Cottage!

Our family of four has been renting Lost Oak for six summer now, and we simply can not speak highly enough of the house or of its owners. The cottage is immaculate, bright, light, spacious and comfortable. Its location—at the head of the Cape Cod Rail Trail, and a walk from two great bakeries!—is ideal. It's private and peaceful at night, and close to everything you want to be near during the day. Bill and Joy could not be more responsive, informative, helpful and kind. Our vacation in Wellfleet is something we look forward to every year, and we hope to return for years to come!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
North Easton, MA
Member since Sep 2020
No better place on the entire Cape!

Stunning views from the deck. Morning coffee or happy hour glasses of wine in the evening it is one of a kind!

This cottage has three full baths all in immaculate condition and extremely clean. The kitchen has granite counters and is large enough to hold four people cooking and prepping at once. Large and spacious. I wish I had it at home!

The time the owners take to make it feel homey and comfortable is very evident with fresh cut flowers from their garden and locally purchased ground coffee. The light in the cottage is remarkable. Large. Windows and another lower level enclosed sunroom is excellent for reading or sitting and enjoying your surroundings.

The owners could not be more helpful when you need anything. I highly recommend Lost oak or the roadhouse. I have happily stayed in both.

Also note: a great value considering location and anything else in the area!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Atwater, OH
Member since Aug 2018
The Most Wonderful Family Vacation

You have to see this beautiful property to believe it. It has everything you could ever want in a rental. The location is so perfect...right off the Rail Trail and within walking distance of the Cape Cod National Seashore and two wonderful bakeries. The house itself was so clean and organized and I loved the layout and feel of this home. It was extremely spacious, allowing all our guests to spread out and never feel crowded. So charming, tastefully decorated, and everything was completely up to date. The house had whatever you needed to be comfortable, and as a matter of fact, we spent many days on the property doing nothing but enjoying ourselves!

The exterior landscaping, flowers and plantings are impeccable and the privacy of the property makes you feel like there is no one around for miles. I took many early morning walks around the grounds just taking in the natural splendor. The upper deck, overlooks a natural marsh. We spent hours up there, drinking our coffee, enjoying some cocktails and having many great conversations and laughs. We were also in awe of seeing so many beautiful birds in their natural habitat.

Bill and Joy, the owners, couldn't be nicer. I remember thinking how thoughtful they were for leaving us a welcome gift of some delicious locally made coffee, to enjoy That was such a nice touch! They were also very attentive, asking if we needed anything and ensuring that our stay was up to their own high expectations. They also made some fantastic recommendations for local eateries, wineries and fun things to do that appealed to everyone.

I highly recommend this house for larger groups, families with children, couples, and anyone looking for a vacation house you won't forget. Your stay in Wellfleet will be one to remember if you stay in this house! We bought everyone a Wellfleet Sweatshirt, as a Christmas gift this year, because we all had such a great time, and we are making plans to return ourselves!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Bedford, NH
Member since Dec 2020
Great vacation at Hidden Hollow

I could not more highly recommend a perfect Cape Cod getaway than to stay in Wellfleet at Hidden Hollow. Bill and Joy's property is superbly equipped, and is kept immaculately CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN ! It's perfectly situated about one hundred yards from the beginning of the CC rail trail, and a 10 minute walk to Lecount Hollow Beach. From the upper open deck of the house, we enjoyed amazing sunsets overlooking the gorgeous marsh behind the property. Quiet and private, yet convenient to everything. We have stayed here several times now, and cannot hardly wait to book again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Bedford, NH
Member since Dec 2020
Heaven on earth

We have stayed with Joy and Billy three times since 2018 and will be back again as soon as we can. They are more than wonderful hosts, they are friends who have created a wonderful sanctuary in Hidden Hollow. The Lost Oak house was a perfect retreat for my son, his wife, their two boys and me and my husband. We had an amazing time exploring the beach, the ponds and the bike path. We walked out every morning to buy amazing pastries from the local boulangerie . We loved the birds, the surrounding woods, the delicious peace and quiet-- ah, heaven!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: September 2020
Berkeley, CA
Member since Sep 2020
Can you hear the love for this place?

My family stayed at hidden hollow for two glorious summers with a difficult decision not to travel this summer due to COVID. When our week came, I found myself thinking about Hidden Hollow and Wellfleet. The cottage is comfortable, neat, down to earth. The upstairs deck offers a lovely view and a nice gathering place in the morning and evening. The screened porch was perfect for post-ocean drying off and casual hanging out. The property has lovely landscaping including a fire pit.
The location offered all the things I value right out the door. Access to the rail trail for running, a hop skip to a bakery with dark coffee and French baked goods, a walk up the hill to a beautiful and never crowded ocean side beach. Bay beaches and a beautiful lake within a 10 minute drive.
Bill and Joy are welcome, responsive, generous, and flexible hosts. They care deeply for this area and their history here - and that care is felt in the homes they rent / and their interactions with guests. They value the environment and ask that guests do as well.
Can you hear the love? This is a wonderful place to stay and one that creates memories that hold fast.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: September 2020
Bristol, VT
Member since Sep 2020