Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

The Road House at Hidden Hollow

Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 33217
1 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 1 queen, 2 full-size sofabeds
Beach: 1/2 mile to Lecount Hollow Beach
Guest Reviews: 16 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 9 months
16 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Our wonderful Cape Cod Vacation Home.

We enjoyed so much our week long stay at your 'Road House' rental property! It was cozy, practical and made us feel at home while away from home. Appreciated all the little things in your cupboards that one forgets to bring on vacation! We especially enjoyed the hammock and backyard deck for eating and taking in the sun! We had a great experience staying here!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
Columbus, OH
Member since May 2015
Road House

Loved reading inside the porch of the Road House. You can see the history of this house. Really sweet.

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Woodstock, VT
Member since Jan 2014
The Road House in Wellfleet

We had a fantastic week at the Road House, waking up to birdsong and gazing out at the lovely gardens. The inviting cottage, which included a well-equipped kitchen, was within walking distance to a beautiful beach, a French bakery and the Cape Cod rail trail.

Joy and Bill were great hosts who had thought of everything. We especially appreciated having an indoor place to store our bikes. We would return to the Road House again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Maplewood, NJ
Member since Mar 2021
Very happy

Loved our stay here and I miss it. We're planning to return. Cottage has a nice deck overlooking a yard with garden plantings and a view to the marsh. The best beach on earth is down the street - I walked/biked it, less than a mile. Owners take excellent care of this property.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Sharon, MA
Member since Jun 2020
Road House at Hidden Hollow

This is a very nice cottage in a brilliant location in Wellfleet within easy walking distance to the ocean beach, bike trail, nearby shops including incredible French bakery, package store and post office.

The interior space is clean and inviting with a fully equipped kitchen, refreshing cross-ventilation in the bedroom, and reliable internet.

Joy and Bill are gracious hosts, and we will not hesitate to return to the Road House in the future! Janet & David - April 2021.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2021
Date Submitted: April 2021
Beacon, NY
Member since Feb 2020
What a wonderful place to stay!

We had a wonderful time at the Road House at Hidden Hollow. The location could not have been better! We took a short walk to the beach every morning to start the day. We were then able to experience all that Wellfleet and the surrounding areas offer. The house was perfect for us. It was clean and had everything we needed. We used the grill almost every night and I always had my morning coffee in the sunroom.

I would recommend the Road House to everyone and look forward to a return trip.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2021
Date Submitted: April 2021
Hoboken, NJ
Member since Jul 2020
The Best!

I found Road House by lucky accident a number of years ago. Fell in love with location. Have come to appreciate the owners and the setting more each year. Can't imagine a better place to stay on the Cape.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2021
Date Submitted: April 2021
Member since Apr 2021
The perfect cottage!

The Road House has become "home" for a week each October for over a decade. It's not just location (which is central to just about anything you want to do on the Cape) that makes this such a find. The cottage is spotless and has everything you need to enjoy a week on the Cape. The grounds and gardens are immaculate and Bill and Joy take great pride in the properties. Each year there is another improvement.

We enjoy our walks on the beach (this year we saw whales!) and afternoon strolls on the Wireless Road to Marconi Station and the White Cedar Swamp. There are many trails to walk if you enjoy peace and quiet, and we easily find new paths to explore each year.

Bill and Joy are wonderful hosts -- they are welcoming and go out of their way to make guests feel at home.

Having stayed at numerous properties in a number of states, The Road House is hands down the cleanest and most comfortable of all of them. If we could give more than 5 stars, we would do so.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Cobleskill, NY
Member since Oct 2020
A perfect location, everything you need!

We've been staying at the Road House at Hidden Hollow for six years now, and it's a highlight of our summer. The location is minutes away from Wellfleet beaches and ponds, the town, great restaurants and the bike trail right next door. The sparkling clean cottage has everything you could possibly need (an iron, a flashlight, a corkscrew, a blender, an umbrella, a washer/dryer, pool noodles etc.!) which makes packing a breeze. Provincetown nightlife is in easy reach. So are star-filled nights on the deck or warm afternoons lazing in a lounge chair with a book. We love the outdoor shower, the landscaping, fresh flowers on the table, and pastries from the amazing French bakery just steps from the front door. Joy and Bill are gracious and attentive hosts. We are already looking forward to next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Troy, NY
Member since Aug 2010
Wonderful cottage and incredible location

The cottage was wonderful with everything you would need to have a fabulous vacation.
The inside was cozy and inviting. The deck had tables and chairs for outside eating and which also made a relaxing place to read. The outside shower was large, well laid out, and a perfect place in the morning or at the end of a beach day. The path in the back brought you to the rail trail for biking/walking or to a wonderful bakery. Incredible beaches and ponds were all within 1/2 to a few scenic miles away. You could tell the owners take great pride in the cottage, the plantings, and surrounding property which is filled with small and large delights. The owners couldn't have been nicer and were incredible in providing information, welcoming , and being available if anything was needed.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: October 2020
Newton Highlands, MA
Member since Sep 2020
Road house

We loved our stay at the roadhouse. The house was wonderful , the grounds were immaculate . The cottage had an outdoor deck , hammock, grill , outside table. The house itself was big enough for the three of us. Kitchen was well stocked with everything we could have needed. Bill and Joy the landlords were very helpful and even gave us great ideas for activities and restaurants. I would highly suggest renting this property

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Punta Gorda, FL
Member since Jan 2021
This property is a gem

We have been coming here every summer for the past 10 years, and every year there is something new added, many thoughtful touches and everything you would need. Bill and Joy are very easygoing and responsive. Property is very clean well maintained. Couldn't ask for a more convenient location on the outer Cape - a 15 minute walk to Lecount hollow beach and a short drive to Marconi, a quick drive into downtown Wellfleet and its fabulous restaurants, galleries and shops. Winslows Tavern is one of our favorites, dining outdoors under the trees. Mayo Beach is a lovely bay beach with free parking and outdoor summer concerts across the street. The cottage is about 200 feet from the head of the bike trail, and PB Boulangerie - in our opinion the best French bakery on the Cape. We love hiking on the Audubon Society trails. We have also been to many plays at the Wellfleet Harbor Actors Theater and Provincetown is about a twenty minute drive. As this was the year of Covid, the cottage was a perfectly relaxing place to hang out. We frequently ordered curbside and had dinner and/or lunch and cocktails on the deck. We really look forward to coming back every year.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Portland, ME
Member since Mar 2010
This cottage is charming and relaxing and the hosts friendly and accommodating! Great stay.

If you get a chance to stay in this charming and quaint cottage you should do it ! Fantastic location. It's close to the ocean beaches and with easy access to the bike path that leads to Marconi beach. We partially enjoyed the back deck of this house in the morning sipping our coffee and smelling the sea air! Amazing birds sounds abound on this property and the grounds are lovingly cared for by the hosts adding to the total sense of being in paradise!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Wappingers Falls, NY
Member since Jan 2021
Road House at Hidden Holllow

My family and I have had the pleasure of staying at Hidden Hollow's Road House over the last few years. The property is in a pristine location with easy access to every South Wellfleet beach, as well as being a quick drive into town.

Besides the one bedroom, there is a pull out couch in the living room and a daybed on the enclosed back porch. This provided ample room for my family of four. The outdoor shower made coming home from the beach so easy and the beautiful patio and yard equip with a grill was perfect for our cookouts. There is a washer and dryer in the basement too, which was such a bonus. It had everything we needed for our Cape Cod vacation

The owners Joy and Bill were perfect hosts answering all our questions about Wellfleet and giving us suggestions on restaurants and activities in the area. I can't say enough about this quaint cottage. It has the charm of Cape Cod and all the modern conveniences to enjoy a stress free vacation. We will certainly be back

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Palm Harbor, FL
Member since Jul 2019
Cozy Oasis in Wellfleet

We are so glad that we found the Road House four years ago! The house is comfortable and cozy with a kitchen that has everything you need if you want to prepare meals at home. The washer/dryer and new outdoor shower are real bonuses. The entirety of Hidden Hollow is lovingly maintained and landscaped; the whole property conveys a sense of serenity. All of these are a reflection of the great pride that Bill and Joy take in their family compound, and that's a big part of what makes returning every year a delight. The owners are thoughtful and responsive to the needs of their guests; for example, when a smoke detector decided to chirp away one evening, Bill immediately showed up with a ladder and fresh batteries. And you can't beat the location – with its proximity to the National Seashore, Wellfleet town beaches, the bike trail, and great restaurants (and croissants!). Returning to the Road House each year is a highlight of the summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: January 2021
Glen Ridge, NJ
Member since Jan 2021
A Hidden Gem

I have stayed at the Road House for a number of years. The smartest thing I do every fall is reserve early for the following year. The O'Connors are the best possible landlords: friendly or invisible or helpful depending on what's needed. The setting is beautifully landscaped.The cottage is charming and comfortable. The location is amazing -- it's possible to bike, swim, eat gourmet food, walk or bird watch with little or no driving.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: September 2020
Arlington Heights, MA
Member since Sep 2020