Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Cahoon Hollow Beach House on National Seashore
Wellfleet Vacation Rental - ID 10381

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins, Roll Away
Beach: On beach above dune Cahoon Hollow and 100 feet to Cahoon Hollow Beach
Guest Reviews: 30 reviews
Time active: 9 years, 1 month
Contact details:
  Email John Regan
Contact John Regan, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 612-0585.
Please mention Property ID# 10381 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
30 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect Cape Cod vacation house

We had such a wonderful stay at the Cahoon Hollow house. It really is perfect. Clean, bright and open with amazing decks overlooking the ocean. We did yoga on the deck every morning. Loved being so close to the beach. So many great options of things to do and great restaurants. The welcome guide had so many great suggestions and we even managed to find things on there that we had never done before in all our trips to the Cape. Hope to be able to come back again in the future. Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Haworth, NJ
Member since Dec 2007
A+ Cape Cod Rental

The view from the deck and proximity to the beach are the two highlights of this house. It was great to walk to the beach and not worry about chasing a parking spot. But the house itself is great too. All bedrooms and bathroom very neat and clean. Kitchen is great and comes with everyone you would possibly need in case you forgot something to cook with. Seasonings, aluminum foil, etc etc. Laundry units in the basement in case you need to wash something or dry towels at the end of the day.

I've been renting houses on the Cape since 2004 and this was by far the best house I've ever stayed in. The homeowner was easy to deal with - he does phone calls, text messaging and emails. Whichever is your preferred method to communicate he will get back to you quickly. He also accepted Venmo as payment, which in my opinion makes things much easier. Long story short, I would highly recommend this house.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Tewksbury, MA
Member since Apr 2008
Best week of the year

This rental house could not be more perfect! My family and I have rented it for the past four summers for a week and absolutely love it . Prime location, beautiful views, plenty of space! The owner is great! He is so quick to respond and always there for any questions! We will be back every summer to enjoy the best week of the year!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Boston, MA
Member since Jun 2019
My happy place

I have many happy places but returning to the Cape is so healing for me. I completely reset, ahhhh... I've spent my whole life going to the Cape and my sons have been right there with me for 24 years. We hosted an Italian exchange student this year who grew up on the beach, no waves, no dunes, no surf, minimal tide. Truly an eye opener. John's house was designed with the vacationer in mind. Privacy with the bedrooms and wide open living area. From any vantage point, one could interact with all. Decks galore. Couldn't get enough of the views, whether in or out, including the day we had to "hunker" down. John, thank you for everything. It was easy to work with you. We WILL be back!
PS. I even got to boogie board with my 24-year-old!
I think of it as, "Passing the baton at "the comah..." A truly special place!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: June 2019
Milford, NH
Member since Jun 2010

5 star review imported from VRBO.com (337579)

Our time at Cahoon Hollow was great! The home was clean, had all the amenities you could want and was located a short walk from the beach. The outdoor shower was a pleasant and often used surprise! The owner communicated well and was very accommodating. I would highly recommend this to others.

Date of Stay: September 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Ray B
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star review from VRBO.com (337579)

The best
Beautiful home with the best location. My family did not want to leave, thanks John for your hospitality. Cant wait till next year!!!!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Marry C
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star review imported from VRBO.com (337579)

We loved every minute of our stay! The view and location were awesome and the house was charming.
We’ve rented several times on the Cape and have always longed to be on Cahoon Hallow Beach and near our favorite spots — Moby Dicks, the Beachcomber, the Lighthouse and the Lobster Pot in Provincetown. Renting John’s house right up from the beach was a dream come true. The house is in the perfect location with gorgeous ocean views for miles. At night from the huge deck, the stars were amazing and always put on a show. The house itself feels like you are in a tree house with natural light on the top level streaming in everywhere. Everything was clean and easy and we were very happy with the comfortable beds and furniture. We were a little concerned about the potential noise from the Beachcomber at night but were pleasantly surprised that it was not at all an issue. In fact, even though we were just steps from the beach and the wonderful Beachcomber, we always felt very private and serene. And John was very helpful throughout the whole process and a delight to rent from. Our whole family feels very blessed to have the opportunity to experience this wonderful beach house and all the magic of summer on the Cape. Thank you, John, for making it possible!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Gloria J
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star review imported from VRBO.com (337579)

Beautifully situated, with a magnificent ocean view, plenty of natural light.Short walk to the beach
This property is in a magical location, with gorgeous full ocean views. There's a huge deck with tables and chairs for eating outside while watching for whales, seals and birds. It's incredibly convenient to walk to the beach, from the house, without loading in and out of the car to drive constantly. The house is well maintained, and has most everything one needs. I tend to cook a lot, so I bring specialized knives and kitchen tools, but the basics are there. The first summer I rented the house, I was both excited and concerned about the proximity of the famous Beachcomber restaurant to the house. It's fabulous to be able to grab lunch or dinner on the way to or from the beach, but I was worried about the live bands and DJ's in the evenings, as well as the crowds. It really wasn't as bad as I expected, and there is a sound machine in the bedroom. It never was an issue, and the convenience of walking to the beach outweighs every other concern! The owner is extremely responsive to any issues that arise, and has kindly taken many of my suggestions for an improved stay. My family and I have had an excellent time, each time we've stayed in this house!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Blair B
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star review imported from VRBO.com (337579)

Beautiful house and setting
I wish I owned this house. Its design (light interior and lots of deck space) and its proximity to the National Seashore made it the perfect place to stay.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: April 2019
Loretta G
(Homeowner Entered)

What a beautiful home...and a great location, with it's wide, wrap around deck, comfortable furniture and amazing view of one of the most beautiful beaches. Every morning was filled with a different, spectacular sunrise to start off your day. The house was equipped with those little 'extras' of home that made the stay more comfortable. Trips to Provincetown were convenient with great restaurants (Post Office Restaurant had great food) and sightseeing (whale watching and shopping). A trip and tour of the Truro Winery was a fun afternoon (with wine tasting!) It was a great 'girls' week getaway and I'd definitely recommend this property !

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Norma H
(Homeowner Entered)

This was our second year staying at John's house and again it is the best house we have ever rented on the Cape. We have been coming to the cape since 2000, always looking for a house in Wellfleet near the ocean. The location is perfect, and the view and decks spectacular. Each morning we walked to the beach, showered in the Outdoor shower and dried off watching the sun over the ocean. This week was relatively cool, so barely any A/C required - but when it was needed, it cooled the house quickly and took out all the humidity. We BBQ'd one night -- and it is great that he has an extra propane tank just in case (we didn't need it). With our college kids, they have easy access to come and go to the beach and Beachcomber -- and plenty of busses, bicycling, ponds within easy reach if they wanted it. The house was very well stocked with paper goods, beach chairs, dishwasher detergent & cleaning supplies, foil and saran wrap too! Duster/Broom and vacuum helped keep sand-free. The blender tackled frozen marguerita's - perfect for the evening watching the moon on the ocean from the deck. Our favorite restaurants -- We start and end at PJ's, and tuck in the middle Moby Dick's, Red Barn, and The Red Inn in PTown (you must reserve 4-6 weeks in advance) -- we've been there three times these past few years and tried nearly every dish -- fabulous). Spiritus Pizza in Ptown is THE best Pizza we have had anywhere (and we have great pizza in NYC). Yoga Tuesdays at the Library 9am with Jaya is great. Bikes from Idle Times - will drop off and pick up right at the house (you don't have to be there). Flea Market and the movies at the Drive Inn are a must. We hope to come back again.

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Deb S
Staten Island, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Just back from a fabulous week in this house on Cahoon Hollow Beach. We LOVED being able to walk to the beach and the Beachcomer. Wellfleet beaches are fabulous for their pristine views of ocean and dunes, and at the Beachcomer, you can look out at the ocean, feel the breeze, and enjoy freshly shucked oysters and great drinks all at the same time...and then head back to your beach umbrella and book. We also biked from the house to the Cape Bike Trail and pedaled all the way to the Eastham Visitors Center, visiting Coast Guard and Nauset Beaches, Nauset and The Three Sisters Lighthouses, and all for free. No beach stickers or sandy cars. The house is well stocked with cleaning and paper products; is clean, light and airy; and has wonderful decks. We also enjoyed the outside shower. We had some rain and made use of the cozy wrap around couch and flat screen TV, which accommodates Blueray DVDs. The bar that separates the kitchen and dining area is great for a cocktail hour, and we ate all our sunny dinners on the deck, overlooking the Atlantic. The owner is very nice and quick to communicate. We've been coming to the Cape for decades and love the beaches, ponds, galleries, W.H.A.T., Payomet, Provincetown, The Box Lunch (especially the Gilded Lobster Roll), the Bookstore Restaurant, Napi's in P-Town, the bike trail loop from P-Town Visitors Center, and so much more.

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Evelyn S
(Homeowner Entered)

Just back from a fabulous week in this house on Cahoon Hollow Beach. We LOVED being able to walk to the beach and the Beachcomer. Wellfleet beaches are fabulous for their pristine views of ocean and dunes, and at the Beachcomer, you can look out at the ocean, feel the breeze, and enjoy freshly shucked oysters and great drinks all at the same time...and then head back to your beach umbrella and book. We also biked from the house to the Cape Bike Trail and pedaled all the way to the Eastham Visitors Center, visiting Coast Guard and Nauset Beaches, Nauset and The Three Sisters Lighthouses, and all for free. No beach stickers or sandy cars. The house is well stocked with cleaning and paper products; is clean, light and airy; and has wonderful decks. We also enjoyed the outside shower. We had some rain and made use of the cozy wrap around couch and flat screen TV, which accommodates Blueray DVDs. The bar that separates the kitchen and dining area is great for a cocktail hour, and we ate all our sunny dinners on the deck, overlooking the Atlantic. The owner is very nice and quick to communicate. We've been coming to the Cape for decades and love the beaches, ponds, galleries, W.H.A.T., Payomet, Provincetown, The Box Lunch (especially the Gilded Lobster Roll), the Bookstore Restaurant, Napi's in P-Town, the bike trail loop from P-Town Visitors Center, and so much more.

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Andrew M
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Group of 5 stayed here for some golf down on the Cape. The house is fantastic and you really can't beat the location. Great deck with views overlooking the water, comfortable furniture and plenty of space. Property owner was very accommodating and easy to work with both before and after our stay. The place was clean and delivered as-promised. We had no complaints whatsoever.We would absolutely go back.

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: December 2013
Andrew M
Boston
(Homeowner Entered)
October vacation

John,
Thanks for the opportunity to share your beautiful home. It truly had all the comforts of home. We have been vacationing every year for the past 25 years at the Cape and this is one of our greatest finds. Every morning we were able to watch the seals (many of them) play very close to the beach. Most times we chose to bring food in (lobsters, steamers, clam chowder) from Macs as a restaurant could not offer the view and comfort. Great location, convenient to everything from Provincetown, to dinner with relatives in Dennis. It was a great vacation for us. We also appreciated your email letting us know of things happening that might be of interest to us. We hope we'll be returning next year.
All the Best,
Barb

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Somers, CT
Member since Sep 2012

We had an amazing week at the beach, and your house is spectacular. The views, the smells, the comforts -- it is just as you'd described. We were each comfortable with our beds and rooms - the master is so spacious and great to have a private bathroom. The other two bedrooms were spacious, on a lower level, and separated by a shared bathroom so there was privacy all around. We spent the mornings walking on the beach, the afternoons BBQ'ing and luxuriating on the deck. We rented bikes from Idle Times and biked across Ocean View before it got too hot -- or rode to Great pond for a dip and a ride back. We ate at Wicked Oyster, Moby Dick's, PJ's and Red Barn (Thanks for having the menus - it helped us to order in advance.). The extra propane tank was a real plus -- we did not have to use it, but it was reassuring to know that the would not have to drop everything if we ran out of gas. The AC was great -- most evenings and mornings were cool - but by mid-day we were glad to cool off with the outdoor shower and some air conditioning. Thank you for a lovely week -- this was the best house we have rented in our 13 years renting in Wellfleet. It has all the critical amenities - space, big comfortable beds, AC, outdoor shower, good cooking space, lounging space, great great views, bike rides, walks -- and so very close to the ocean.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Debbie S
(Homeowner Entered)

Location was great; short walk to the Cahoon Hollow Beach. Some of us were out of bed early, down to the beach early and the late risers joined up later in the day. Everyone could go at their own pace, so no-one felt rushed. One of best beaches on National Seashore; never crowded. Beachcomber across from house had great food and good drinks. Could listen to the nightly music from deck, but not too loud to sleep. House was very clean and had multi zone ac in common space as well as each bedroom; so could close windows or leave open for ocean breeze. Wrap-around deck was hugh and had great views of ocean.Could of had some more chairs or a couch for deck. Galley kitchen had nice gas stove and was adequately equipped. Wifi was nice as everyone brought their electronic gadgets. Washer/Dryer a plus. Owners provided info on the entire Wellfleet area from restaurants to recreations. If you're looking for all the amenities and a great ocean beach location this is the place!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Jeff S
(Homeowner Entered)

If there was 6 stars I would put that. (note from owner:. 5 stars max review on another website)

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Will c
(Homeowner Entered)

Outstanding home that is perfectly located to enjoy everything that Wellfleet and the Outer Cape has to offer. Our family of four adults thoroughly enjoyed the accomodations. Highly recommended!!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Jim H
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks John, The beach at Cahoon Hollow is our absolute favorite on the Cape. It was a delight being able to take long walks almost everyday. The week was a memorable treat. We have enjoyed walking on the beach almost every day. The storm and resulting surf at last weekend was quite amazing. Your house is perfect for beach lovers.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Lynne S
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John,
we just arrived home in San Francisco after a long day of travel. I left a short note with the keys letting you know how much we enjoyed staying at your lovely home. The views make one want to camp out at the house however we took many walks along the beach including one to pb boulangerie. We took in a movie at the drive in and checked out Provincetown but our favorite thing to do was to read and rest on your deck. We hope to return someday. So
have a great summer.
best, paula

Date of Stay: May 2012
Date Submitted: May 2012
Paula B
San Francisco, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Everything was great. Loved the house. Awesome beach. We had the best time ever, and look forward to staying there again.

Date of Stay: November 2011
Date Submitted: November 2011
James C
Bloomfield, Connecticut
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great time and once again thank you for the use of your wonderful home. Thanks so much and we do hope to be able to return again as we had a very good time.

Date of Stay: October 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Kyle G
Glendale, AZ
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful time and the house is lovely. We haven’t had a chance to reconnoiter and discuss next year’s plans, but I know everyone thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cahoon Hollow Beach. Thank you for providing such great information, tips and guides. Add “Sweet Escape” to your “places to eat” list (I might have already told you). Its just north of Truro on west side of  #6. Will keep in touch—and thanks again for a wonderful vacation.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Nancy B
Redlands, CA
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John! The weather has improved beautifully and we've been on the beach for the last 5 days straight! We had the most amazing time at the house and we are all very sad to go.

Again, can't thank you enough for an amazing week and an amazing home to enjoy it in! We'll be very sad to go home tomorrow!!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Courtney H
West Haven, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

The place was great, we especially loved the deck. Between there and the beach/beachcomber, we barely left..

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: August 2011
Brian L
South Boston, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

Hi John Want to thank you for all you did for us. Your place is great. Please thank your wife for the wine she brought us on Sunday. Today is Monday, I'm sending out another $xxx to hold the house for next July 4th week. As I started before we really like it down there. I hoped we proved to you & your wife we are good rentals. Now I am headed to work! This is going to hurt!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Paul H
Norton, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

It's a great house and we enjoyed our stay.

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Adam W
Brookline, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks so much - everything was wonderful! Your home was beautiful and everyone had a great weekend. It was better than I had even imagined and if this becomes an annual trip, we would be thrilled to visit again! The location was fantastic and we couldn't have asked for better weather.

Date of Stay: May 2011
Date Submitted: May 2011
Rashima S
Brookline, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

we had a great week! A delightful house! We were lucky to be there to see the whales! Many visible from the deck. What a treat! Thanks again for a delightfully, restful place!

Date of Stay: April 2011
Date Submitted: April 2011
Suzanne Z
Brookline, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)