Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Paul and Mary's Place: Central AC/ walk to Forest Beach
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 16106

3 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 kings, 1 queen, Queen sofabed, portacrib
Beach: 8-10 minute walk to Forest Beach
Guest Reviews: 21 reviews
Time active: 7 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Martha
Contact Martha, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (310) 344-9523 (Martha), (213) 434-0802 (Kevin).
Please mention Property ID# 16106 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
21 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Charming, comfortable house close to the beach
We (a family of four and a dog) spent two lovely weeks at Paul & Mary's in late July. The house is nicely positioned between two classic Cape Cod towns, Chatham and Harwich Port, both of which have some great restaurants, bars, theaters. It's located on a quiet, attractive street, within walking distance to Forest Beach as well as the Cape Cod bike/hiking trail and a few restaurants. The house is well stocked with beach toys, movies, games, and a ping pong table. We found it to be very clean and comfortable. And nearly every question we had (about laundry, garbage, etc.) was answered in a strategically placed note. The owners were quick to respond to text messages.

The house has A/C but we only used it on 2-3 very hot days. Typically, leaving the windows/doors open was enough to capture the sea breeze. We grilled on the back deck several times and took a long walk around the neighborhood nearly every night. We also had friends over for BBQ on two occasions and there was plenty of room for everyone. Being big baseball fans, we also attended several Cape Cod Baseball League games in both Chatham and Harwich.

On our first morning back home, our eldest son said, "I'm going to miss that Cape Cod house." Us too.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2018
Jeffrey O
Mill Valley, California
(Homeowner Entered)

Amazing
I have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years but never one as welcoming and well equipped as this. The home is just as pictured, and is perfectly located in the beautiful town of Chatham. I highly recommend Paul and Martha's home to anyone thinking about renting on the Cape.

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: March 2018
Kay T
Arizona
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful house for a restful vacation getaway!
This is the 3rd summer we stayed at this beautiful house in S. Chatham and it was as nice as always. This spacious house is equipped with state of the art appliances and was immaculate with all the amenities of home. It is beautifully landscaped and tastefully decorated with beautiful hardwood floors throughout. The basement has a new ping pong table which we always enjoy. Chatham is a great town with lots of child-friendly restaurants with great food and beautiful beaches and playgrounds. There is a small railroad museum near the fire station which is always a hit with our grandsons. The owner is extremely accommodating and truly went out of her way to make our stay as memorable as possible. We look forward to returning next summer!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: March 2018
Howie & Barbara P
Paramus, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

Five Star Perfection
From the moment you drive into the driveway, you know you have made a good choice. The first impression of Paul and Mary's place is one of comfort and beauty. In July, the front yard is filled with summer flowers--hydrangeas, black-eye susans, coneflowers. A small deck off the front entrance overlooks this garden and is a lovely place for pre-dinner drinks. Inside, every attention to detail is evident. Kitchen is well-stocked right down to the salad spinner; appliances are top quality. Bedrooms are furnished with comfortable top-quality linens and toiletries are supplied. We loved grilling and eating dinner on the back deck.

We had a three week booking and friends and family came and went. Everyone enjoyed the quiet neighborhood, the 10 minute walk to the beach, the 10 minute walk to a gourmet restaurant. The charming town of Chatham is a 10 minute drive and offers shopping, restaurants, Friday night lobster dinner at the Methodist Church.

You really couldn't be in a better place. This house is the very best beach house we have ever rented. Highly recommend!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2018
Jan R
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful and comfortable!
This home is beautiful and so comfortable! Warm and inviting, this home is beautifully decorated. The beds are super comfy and the central air was so nice after a hot day at the beach. Everything is provided, including sheets and towels. The neighborhood is adorable and quiet!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2018
Nicole R
Philadelphia
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful home; well cared for an fully equipped
We found the home fully equipped. Generous amounts of towels, basic cleaning and paper supplies, soap and shampoo. 2 nice bicycles; one needing a flat repaired. Gas grill worked. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated with lots of natural sunlight and comfortable beds.

We paid a premium for this home in order to have the handicapped accessible features. However, it was also a bonus that it was so well-equipped. We had lobster night for our extended family of 20+ one evening and had plenty of plates, utensils, pots and pans and seating for everyone.

We loved walking down to Forest Beach, which is less than 10 minutes on foot.

The owner Martha is a very positive, helpful person and I found her very available for questions.

I would definitely recommend this home!

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: March 2018
Jim R
Ferguson, MO
(Homeowner Entered)
Amazing....home away from home!!!!

We have never rented a home where we felt "at home" immediately. Martha was amazing every step of the way. The home was in a great neighborhood, very safe and walk-able any hour of the day or night. The amenities, supplies, and thoughtful layout of the home, with 3 master baths, made it a great home for our family with 3 teenagers. The ping pong table was used every waking hour....and the basement was almost another living quarter. We greatly appreciate everything that Martha did to make this trip to the Cape a very positive and memorable one!!!!!
Thank you again Martha!
Mark and Maria
Pittsburgh (Upper St Clair,), Pa

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: June 2012
Pittsburgh, PA
Member since Jun 2011

We fell in love with the house in the photos and knew this was the house for our family vacation.  We were not disappointed! Not only is the house as lovely in person, we found that Martha has thought of everything we could possibly need for a perfect vacation! The kids loved the ping pong table and legos in the basement while the adults loved sitting on the back porch with a glass of wine.  The house is in a perfect location close to the beach as well as bike trails. We were able to bike to town, parks, ponds, and the beach--not too bad for someone who hasn't been on a bike in years!  We had a wonderful time at Paul and Mary's Place and will surely recommend it to friends and family. We cannot wait to go back!

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Houston, TX
Member since Apr 2011

Martha, this was our first time renting in the winter, and we will sure be doing it again. The Cape is just as beautiful in the winter as in the summer. We had a great time at the Squire for New Year's. The house is amazing and thank you so much for the lobsters.

Date of Stay: January 2011
Date Submitted: May 2011
Melanie L
South Windson, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

This is such a warm home! So full of love. Thank you for sharing it.

Date of Stay: November 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Mary D
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Martha, what a memorable Thanksgiving! Your help and the nice home provided the best environment for our family and friends. The lobsters were DELICIOUS.

Date of Stay: November 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Santino D
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

We will miss the time we had here. Can't wait to make this a family tradition for years to come! Thank you for providing such a wonderful place for great memories.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Donna W
Noahville, MI
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We've enjoyed our time at the cape, reconnecting with family and nature. There's a great energy in this place. We also love the eclectic artwork! It's just like home, only better!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Peter G
Manchester, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We have been vacationing at the Cape for more than 20 years and I can write, with conviction, that this was the finest property we have ever rented. The pictures, descriptions and testimonials on this site accurately describe this home away from home. The property was extremely clean and well manicured. In fact, the lawn, garden and decks are the finest in the neighborhood. Loved having breakfast on the back deck every morning. And a top of the line gas grill and tools to prepare all of the fresh seafood from the Chatham Fish Market every night. Very short walk to Forest Beach--We walked there with the family morning, noon and in the evening to watch the spectacular sunset. Mattresses and sheets to die for. All new mechanicals, including two level AC. Books, CDs and your own DVD library to choose from. We look forward to visiting again. Martha, thanks for making this a wonderful vacation experience

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: July 2010
Macungie, PA
Member since Oct 2008

We had a wonderful stay in this beautifully appointed home. The living areas are very tastefully and comfortably furnished, and the color schemes throughout the house are lovely. All of the beds are furnished with top of the line mattresses and the quality of the sheets, towels and pillows are what you would expect to find in a 5-star hotel. (If you've never slept on a Tempurpedic mattress [in the master bedroom] you may never want to sleep on anything else ever again.) The bathrooms are beautifully finished and roomy. As a cook I was extremely pleased by the high-end appliances, and how well-stocked the kitchen was with utensils and cookware. As I was preparing food I would search for a particular utensil thinking, "nah, they wouldn’t have that in a rental" but there it would be. The location of the house is close to everything and is a pleasant walk to the lovely neighborhood beach, a perfect shell-combing place for kids. Right down the street is the Box Office Cafe -- a gem with some of the best sandwiches we’ve ever had. Martha is super nice and immediately responsive to any questions or suggestions. Add in the superb air conditioning system and dependable wi-fi, and you have the perfect home away from home. Our stay was everything we could have hoped for and more!

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: August 2009
Oakland, CA
Member since Jun 2009

What a wonderful rental! The kitchen is fully equipped, the beds are extremely comfortable, and there are all the comforts of home. It truly lived up to all of the owner's descriptions from the amenities to the length of time it would take to walk to the beach. 9 of us were very comfortable here and we would not hesitate to rent again or recommend to friends. Thank you! Susan C.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: July 2009
Wellesley Hills, MA
Member since Apr 2009

My husband and family stayed at this beautiful house last fall. The owners thought of everything you need and made our stay most enjoyable. We loved sitting out on the deck for breakfast and BBQ's and the fact that you are so close to the beach and a great coffee shop. The house is very tastefully decorated and gives you a warm and welcoming feeling. We just loved it very much and we'll be back. We will definitely recommend your place to all our friends. Thanks again for making this vacation special. Gaby & Klaus Hollerith

Date of Stay: October 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Los Angeles, CA
Member since Apr 2009

This rental had very comfortable mattresses and bed linens, nice towels, good cooking utensils and appliances. The back porch and inside dining area are great in the evenings for visiting and there was alot of privacy. The property owner is friendly and cheerful. She is very interested in everyone having a great time. I would recommend this place highly!

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Homer, Louisiana
Member since Apr 2009

We loved our stay in this lovely cottage on Cape Cod - and it looks just like the great photos. The owner has decorated it beautifully and with the convenience and comfort of the guest in mind. All the beds are comfortable and the linens are truly sumptuous. The bathrooms are beautiful and the bedrooms are spacious. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck in the mornings and evenings. Also near this house is a secluded pond with clear cool water and its own small beach. Our kids liked the beaches and the pond and the TVs in every room of the cottage!

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Houston, TX
Member since Apr 2009

This home is very spacious and comfortable and is located on a very quiet street. Homeowners clearly understand the value of providing comfortable, high-quality living space and furnishings, although parents of small children should not be afraid to rent the home because the furnishings are child- friendly. The back deck was one of our favorite parts of the house. It is large, has a gas grill and is made of a material that contains no splinters for little feet. The whole Chatham area was picture-postcard beautiful.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Sugar Land, TX
Member since Apr 2009

I have never had a vacation before where the facilities and amenities were so completely designed for the guest. Peace. Quiet. Luxury. Convenience. Joyce T. - Houston, TX

Date of Stay: August 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Houston, Texas
Member since Apr 2009