Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Historic Summer Cottage and guesthouse - Great for Families
Oak Bluffs Vacation Rental - ID 19750

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 4 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Laurisa and Tim
Contact Laurisa and Tim, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 395-6985 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 19750 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Is Grandma Home?

This place oozes charm and simple friendliness. Tucked away at the end of a road, it was easy to believe we were the only people around. The trails were inviting and a short hike took us down to the lagoon. Vineyard Haven was a 5 or 10 minute drive in one direction, Edgartown about the same in the other direction - both handy but seemingly distant.

The decor doesn't just "look like" some representation of The Vineyard, it is as though you have passed through a time machine and are visiting your folks who have always lived on the island. The bookcase abounds with arcane literature, the old photos on the walls are of real people, the stairs creak, the air smells good...it's just plain wonderful. I understand it is about 100 years old and has been in the same family all that time. It has been their summer cottage and now was ours. The kitchen is a perfect blend of modernity and tradition. It is well stocked with spices and teas and coffees, and rummaging through the utensil drawers is a real treat - cork screws, apple corers and some items I still haven't figured out.

We had a fine mix of sun and rain during our visit. We had planned to "do" the island but found ourselves just hanging around the house, drifting from one chair to the next, rummaging through the books, sunning on the deck, taking naps. We went out several times planning to find a fine place for dinner, only to end up shopping for groceries so we could cook at home. That's what it was like - home. Can't wait to come back; we'll bring a canoe next time.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Phoenix, AZ
Member since Jul 2018
Charming, nostalgic cottage

Step back in time when you stay in this precious cottage. This cottage brought me back to my years spent on the Vineyard many years ago. The home is an untouched vintage cottage that reflects back to a simpler time. It is a true treasure! We loved sitting on the deck for morning coffee followed by a walk to the lagoon each morning. The deck was also great for evening meals and enjoying our wine. The home is very comfortable and welcoming. The owner is wonderful and very helpful with island information. We hope to get back there again soon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Norwell, MA
Member since Jun 2013
Unforgettable

Hard to put into words the wonderful time we had in Martha's Vineyard. Your home, your hospitality, etc., made our trip one we will never forget. We felt like locals after staying in your house and visiting all of the places you recommended. The house was perfect..... and the pond right around the corner became our morning go-to spot to check out the shells washed up overnight. I can't wait to return !!!!! Hopefully in September. But only if your house is available as it truly made our trip unforgettable!!!!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Member since Aug 2016
Charming, Cozy, Magical Cottage -- We Loved Our Stay!

Red Roof Cottage is so lovely and simple--every corner is charming and pleasing to the eye. It could easily be featured in Country Living magazine. Owner Laurisa has a great touch with vintage New England furniture and accessories. Everything you need for a relaxing week on the island is here. We stayed here with our 3 children--10 year old twin boys and a 7 year old girl. We put all 3 of them out on the sleeping porch, and that worked great. Our daughter used the upstairs loft bedroom as a play area for her stuffed animals. Even though the cottage is small, there is plenty of room for the kids and a way to keep their things out of the main sitting area and kitchen so the adults can have some peaceful space, too. Laurisa is a wonderful hostess--the house was super clean and welcoming when we arrived, and she checked in to make sure all was going great. I can honestly say our vacation was much better because of her and her awesome suggestions. We'd stay here again!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Member since May 2015
Enjoyed our stay

We always enjoy our time on Martha's Vineyard, and this trip was, once again, memorable.

We stayed at the Red Roof cottage "by chance." We did not know what to expect with a cottage that was nearly 100 years old, but what we experienced was reflective of the charm and beauty the island offers. The cottage was quaint and authentic. We found ourselves admiring the unique features the home offers, including our favorite, the outdoor shower. Staying at this home (and yes, it felt like a friend's home more than a rental) brought you back to cherish the beauty the island offers. We enjoyed private mornings on the back deck with coffee, the morning breeze that enters through the windows, the flower gardens that adorn the perimeter of the home and the intimate feel of the cottage.

The homeowners were instrumental in making us feel welcome and making our stay comfortable. They remembered everything that one would need while staying at their home. They offered suggestions prior to our arrival and were available if we had questions or concerns during our stay (although we did not have any concerns). The Red Roof cottage was an enjoyable part of our family vacation.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Member since Jun 2015
I’ll never forget my blissful time under a Red Roof

From the moment I stepped into Red Roof Cottage to begin a much-need restful time, I knew it was exactly what I needed. What a special place it was, sparkling clean, beautifully decorated, with an indescribable charm.

The owner’s ancestors left her this little gem and it is still has the feel of the 1940s, with white sheer curtains that move with the breeze, crisp white bed clothing, little twinkly lights and all the comforts—in fact more comforts than my own home has! The privacy does NOT come at the cost of remoteness and long drives to visit the Island’s little towns, shopping, movies, easy access beaches or restaurants. The convenient location was key to spending time at the nearby attractions, vs. navigating my way to them.

Red Roof is private, set back in the woods, away from traffic and noise. Just the songs of birds who gently awakened me every morning. In the cottage, I had no frustration about finding everything I needed, such as spatulas, vacuum sweepers, pen and paper. I was guided by inconspicuous, well placed note cards, identifying the location of everything I needed. The owner also assembled a helpful binder listing directions around the island, a lists of popular things to see and do and interesting facts about the area. Another binder tells the fascinating story of the owner’s beloved aunt, who lived a vibrant, fascinating life. A gripping read about the woman who originally owned Red Roof and left it to the current owner.

I loved the outdoor shower, also outfitted with little lights for an evening shower in the fresh air. The back porch is perfectly set up for a cookout or a hangout with family or friends. There is a soothing view from there out into a woods where the occasional deer quietly passes through. The short walk to the lagoon became a ritual for me.
The moment I stepped out to return home, I vowed to come back to Red Roof, truly a gem of a place, almost like a dream.

Not only is the owner a wonderful human, she’s re-created the Red Roof experiences she had as a child there. Everything is so meticulously done to create this cozy environment, easy access to things

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: June 2015
Greenwich, CT
Member since Jun 2015
Couldn't be more charming!

We have stayed at Red Roof Cottage at least 3-4 times, and could not love it more. It is beyond quaint, full of beautiful personal artifacts that make it feel like home. All of these personal touches represent not only the family's history, but that of the island as a whole as well. When we think of the Vineyard, we think of this lovely home. Laurisa and Tim are perfect hosts, always making sure we are comfortable and have whatever we need, while giving us plenty of personal space.

The cottage is in a magical spot, a short walk from a little local beach, 5 minutes by car into Oak Bluffs, etc., yet it feels like you are on your own private island, so quiet, beautiful, and well maintained.

Our children - now 8 and 10 - think of this cottage as the Vineyard. There have been times we've had to stay elsewhere because of scheduling, and we always sadly miss Red Roof Cottage. Our children complain, because the cottage really epitomizes the feel of the Vineyard for us. We never feel as at home or well taken care of as we do here. At this point we plan our trips around availability here, because it just doesn't feel right to stay elsewhere.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: February 2015
Bedford, MA
Member since Feb 2015
Charming Cottage - you'll love it!

I was delighted to find a summer rental that would accommodate my family so comfortably. Upon arrival we oohed and aahhed at all the hand-made items and antiques in this quaint cottage that make it so unique. It has all the old-time appeal, like the outdoor clothes line and the vintage furniture, yet we lacked nothing. The beds were comfortable. It has a fully equipped kitchen, and my family loved to eat out on the deck. We took daily bike rides to the nearby beach and town of Oak Bluffs, my favorite place on the island. It is rich with history and fun to explore. We can't wait to go back and create more memories at Red Roof Cottage. "Thank You" to our hosts Tim & Laurisa. It was everything you said it was... and so much more... We'll be back!
- Doug & Sunday

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: June 2015
Federal Way, WA
Member since Jun 2015

This cute cottage is old and quaint and comfortable and welcoming. It's location is very secluded while being a 15 minute walk from downtown, the best of both worlds. It is so quiet there. It gives you the feeling that you are staying in your grandmother's home. It is just plain cozy. Everything is well-maintained and the owner is just as charming as the cottage would indicate. She was more than helpful. If I were to revisit Martha's Vineyard, it would be the only place I would want to stay.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: February 2012
Santa Ynez, California
Member since Feb 2012

Imagine you have friends on Marthas Vineyard who invite you to use their home while they are away - "Just make yourself at home!". That is what this place feels like - a friendly, gentle home that was mine for a week. Everything is as described, plus a difficult-to-describe sense of welcome. Comfortable, that's the word: it was supremely comfortable. I felt at home. Can't wait to return!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: February 2012
Phoenix, AZ
Member since Feb 2012

This is the epitome of charming, and I felt very fortunate to be able to stay at Red Roof Cottage and discover some more about Martha's Vineyard's past. The lovely house has a very vintage feel and is full of personal antiques and memorabilia from the island's sailing history. I enjoyed the artwork, crafts, and bits of beauty tucked away here and there without feeling like I was walking in on someone's private house--it's very inviting, comfortable, simple...and gave me the feeling that I could easily connect to sun-filled, family-focused, fun times of the past century. You don't find any hotels like this, and few inns or private houses that are so quaint yet comfortable, bright yet cozy, and quirky yet beautiful. Every time I walk in, I take a deep breath, and smile. The homeowner is a personal friend of mine who has been so gracious as to host me on mini-vacations, and I know her as a reliable, conscientious, talented, and honest woman who enjoys building connections with people and sharing her love of the Vineyard with them. I love staying here and hope to again and again.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: February 2012
West Tisbury, MA
Member since Feb 2012