Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Ocean View East Chop Victorian Cottage - 6 Beds - Sleeps 10
Oak Bluffs, East Chop Vacation Rental - ID 5746

6 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 10
Beds: 2 queens, 1 double, 5 twins
Beach: 5-10 minute walk to public and private beaches
Guest Reviews: 36 reviews
Time active: 10 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Ted Meleney
Contact Ted Meleney, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (401) 862-3048 (Cell).
Please mention Property ID# 5746 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

From 2013-2018 we did not advertise on We Need A Vacation.com, so there are not reviews of our house for that period. We are back now! So, if you are one of our guests starting in 2019, please feel free to leave a review.

Thanks, Ted (Homeowner)

Date of Stay: December 2018
Date Submitted: December 2018
Ted M
Narragansett, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks so much! We loved the house. Wish we could stay all week!

Date of Stay: September 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Peggy & Friends N
Plymouth, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had lots of fun in your lovely home! Games on the back porch, swimming at the beach and going out to get ice cream! Thank you.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Lisa C
Sturbridge, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We had an amazing time here on the Vineyard. A wonderful time with family and friends. We hope to do it again!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Karen C
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We really enjoyed our stay. It was a perfect Vineyard week, complete with grand Illumination Night and fireworks. Thank you!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: October 2012
Lisa B
Holliston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks you for the use of your lovely home. Our stay on Martha's Vineyard was very special.

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Richard J
Alamo, California
(Homeowner Entered)

Lovely, perfect spot, great house. Girls loved walking to beach daily and running around East Chop. Having rented at the Vineyard since 1985, this is one of our favorite spots!! Thanks for all!

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Sue B
Brookfield, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Our 3rd wonderful year! Making memories with our 2 daughters, our niece and our 2 grand nieces - perfect!!

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Shirley P
Pittsfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We look forward to this vacation every year. The smell of honeysuckle at the end of the driveway, the comfortable home, and the daily walks along the chop and to the beach are sure to help you relax and enjoy MV.

Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Tara G
Pittsfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

A beautiful weekend enjoyed by all! Thanks.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Donna & Friends C
South Easton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

What a great time - A houseful of tri-family fun, fabulous food, sand between the toes, tired biking legs, windy swims and salt-air-sleeps... thank you. Save a spot for another year.

Date of Stay: September 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Chris D
Barrington, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for letting us stay in your house again for a week. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you!

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Jackie & Friends B
Stowe, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for sharing this charming home. We had a beautiful time waking up to see the sunrise and enjoying the comforts of this cozy cottage. It was my parents first time on the island and they have fallen in love. This is the first time the three of us have ever been on a trip together, because my brothers couldn't make it. What a great place to hang out being an only child! Despite having to leave early due to hurricane Irene, we will recall this trip fondly with much love and anticipation to return. Best to you and your family.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Loretta D
Chicago, IL
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for allowing us to share in the "cottage" here on MV. This was sort of the "last hurrah" before my oldest daughter & family move to Germany for 3 years. 10 of us in all & we had a great time; swam, grilled, walked & ran, explored and relaxed. Several jumped off of the 2nd bridge and have the T-shirts to prove it! We visited the gorgeous W. Tisbury beach twice, went on a schooner ride, ate out and cooked in. Saw a shark being cut up (700 lb Mako caught 2 days before the shark competition) and grilled up fresh shark for dinner, because they gave so much away. Marveled at the sunset. I could go on...Thank you!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Glenna K
Londonderry, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Great place to spend a family vacation on the Vineyard. This is very convenient to Oak Bluffs as we always walked into town even with a 2 yr old. The close beach is small but really convenient and great for watching the boat traffic coming into the harbor. State Beach is a short bike or car trip away if you like long walks on the beach and no matter what time of day has available parking even in July /August. The house is spacious and the 2 decks provide great places to sit outside whether your a sun lover or a shade lover(me), you'll find a great place to relax. In the description of this house it says that it fully equiped and in my opinion it is definitely true(esp in the kitchen). Bring bikes-Martha's Vineyard is very bike accomodating with many dedicated bike/walking trails. When I return to the Vineyard I will definely look to see if this place is available.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Harold C
Glastonbury, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoy our time at Ted's each year and don't take it for granted. Enjoy...laugh...do all that the days allow... and believe!

Date of Stay: June 2011
Date Submitted: January 2012
Andy & Marianne M
Zionsville, IN
(Homeowner Entered)

My family loves this house. We've rented a number of different places over the years but when we found this spot we knew we could stop looking. It is perfect; clean spacious, well equipped, close to town and peaceful. The kids love the back porch swing and the adults love to sit out there with their morning coffee and after beach cocktails. Jetty Beach at the end of the road(2 minute walk) is convenient or you can drive to any number of other beaches around the island. Each one is special in its own way. We have enjoyed many family dinners and lively board games around the long dining room table. There is ample room for all of us without having to eat in shifts. There are enough bedrooms to accommodate a large family. Pillows and blankets are provided. Each room has a fan although there is usually a breeze. The house is close to the center of Oak Bluffs( about a ten minute walk) but so secluded and quiet you'd never know the town was so close. We love it here and would recommend this house to others.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Jackie B
Stowe, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you for your lovely home which easily accomodates a large family as we continue to discover this beautiful island!

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Carol & Andre P
Baltimore, Maryland
(Homeowner Entered)

First time out for all of us. Fantastic island, great memories, wonderful weather and spectacular accommodations! Thank you very much!

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Jill & Friends O
Albany, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

As first timers we have only accolades for the cottage, neighborhood and island. For six friends celebrating a "major" birthday and friendships, no trip could have been more fulfilling. Hope to have future stays on MV and coming from Chicago, it is worth the trip. Many thanks.

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Patti H
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My first trip to MV was all I imagined it would be and your house was part of the experience. The history of this home is everywhere you look and I feel our family has added a page (literally!) My kids are on the door. We'll see you next year!

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Kendra R
Boston, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

There is only one word for this week - Perfect! Your little oasis, the location and good company re-energized - such a gift!

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Jana P
New Haven, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

The entire week was spent laughing on the deck, swimming in the Atlantic and enjoying the comforts of this magnificent home. Thanks for keeping it in fine condition for us to enjoy!

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Tara H
Portsmouth, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Spent a beautiful June week. Our niece, her children and our two daughters made it perfect. Hope to so it again. Enjoyed your beautiful house.

Date of Stay: June 2010
Date Submitted: January 2012
Jim & Shirley V
Akron, OH
(Homeowner Entered)

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of driving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "Woo Hoo, what a ride". Pretty much sums up our girls' weekend. Thanks for the vessel and the coziness! We'll be baaaack!!

Date of Stay: October 2009
Date Submitted: January 2012
Jenn, Karla, Pat & Doris C
NYC, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Met a woman on the pier wearing only a necklace and a tattoo! She gave me directions to Lucy Vincent Beach. the next day our friends flew in and we enjoyed a wonderful beach picnic with lots of wine and sun. Thanks again Ted!

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: January 2012
MIke & Joyce P
East Greenwich, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Another great week in your wonderful house. September is even more beautiful than June this year! Thanks so much!

Date of Stay: September 2008
Date Submitted: January 2012
Penny & Guy L
Wakefield, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family has been staying at this home away from home for eight summers. We love the seclusion of the house - yet the closeness to town and just steps from East Chop beach. Great location for walks along the bluffs in the morning and then back to the house for coffee on the sprawling back porch. Plenty of room for great dinners in the dinning room and a warming atmosphere by the fireplace on late Augusts cool evenings. Accomodations are great for friends and family to entertain. Mornings on the back porch and evening on the front porch. Just minutes to walk into Oak Bluffs - you won't miss a beat!

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: January 2012
Peter T
Hainesport, NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

My family has rented this special cottage every summer for 5 yrs, along with 2 other families. The owner goes out of his way to be helpful and lovingly maintains the property.The house is delightful, with many comfortable hang-out spots (DR,LR, sun room & 2 large porches), 5 BRs which somehow accommodated all 3 families comfortably, and a newly renovated kitchen and main bathroom. It is set back on a wooded lot that feels very private, but is walking distance to town (we felt fine letting our kids come and go on their own which they loved). There is access to a sweet beach and great bike routes. Our kids have moved on to other plans, but they loved every minute and are already as nostalgic as we are. As you can tell by now, we loved this place and highly recommend it.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: January 2012
Ruth H
Cambridge, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

We rented this cottage for 2 years in a row , with the uipdated kitchen and amenities it was super for the 2 boat crews that stayed here. We had comfortable bedding and was nice having the half bath upstairs. The out door shower was a big hit as some of the crew never had taken an outdoor shower.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: January 2012
Bill C
Quincy, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I and some good friends have rented this house for several summers and have thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It was clean, spacious and light, with good hang out spots on both the front deck and back porch. The kitchen is very workable. The landlord was friendly and responsive. We particularly enjoyed being a very short walk to a great beach, and could also easily walk into town.

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: January 2012
Bronwen B
Hanover, NH
(Homeowner Entered)

Another wonderful, relaxing trip to your beautiful house. This is such a special opportunity for three generations to come together and reconnect - over dinners, biking, diving, swimming, etc. We look forward to coming next year. All the best.

Date of Stay: September 2007
Date Submitted: January 2012
Julia F
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Very successful clamming at south beach (Mattakeset Bay) - delicious! We just love your beautiful house and look forward to next year already. The cousins are taking their final swings - so much fun. This is our very favorite week on the island and the weather couldn't have been better. Thanks for another perfect island memory!

Date of Stay: August 2007
Date Submitted: January 2012
Jackie B
Stowe, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

What a terrific vacation we had in this wonderful house and beautiful island! The guys caught 4 huge 20+ lb stripped bass and numerous bluefish - we feasted every night, trying different gourmet creations around the fish. The kids loved the swing and we all enjoyed the beach and each other. Everyone rented bikes and explored the island, but there's a lot more to uncover. Thanks so much Ted, from all of us!

Date of Stay: June 2007
Date Submitted: January 2012
Guy & Penny L
Wakefield, RI
(Homeowner Entered)

What a fantastic year on the vineyard. Thanks for the new kitchen this year! That was quite a treat! It's great to have a place you go every year and mark the passage of time. This year four boys still raced to the swing. Flying Horses was still fun and hermit crabs at the beach were the main attraction again. Ahh - another year.. Still kids...... We are soaking up the time which is passing so quickly!

Date of Stay: June 2007
Date Submitted: January 2012
Andy & Marianne M
Zionsville, IN
(Homeowner Entered)

Summer kick off! This is our 8th annual - 4th in this house. Everything about this weekend was PERFECT! The best weather we've EVER had! A great group of people. We did it all - biking, kayaking, swimming, lying on the beach, Memorial Day 5K, mopeds, shopping, eating, drinking & dancing! The house looks fantastic! We all love the kitchen and used the outdoor shower! THANKS TED! We can't wait for next year...

Date of Stay: May 2007
Date Submitted: January 2012
Tony & Denise W
New London, CT
(Homeowner Entered)