Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Mermaid’s Rest – Perfect Cape Cod Getaway!
South Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 24878

3 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 queen, 4 twins
Beach: 0.4 mi to Forest Beach
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 8 months
Contact details:
  Email Karen and Karen
Contact Karen and Karen, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (774) 327-8807 (Cell phone), (860) 716-5920 (Cell phone).
Please mention Property ID# 24878 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfection!

Our week at the Mermaid's Rest was perfection. This cottage is so cute, well appointed and very comfortable. The attention to details by the owners shows throughout the entire property. Owners were very responsive. Location is great, love the walk thru the path to Forest Beach. Would stay again and recommend.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Longmont, CO
Member since Nov 2017
Mermaid's Rest

Our family had an excellent time at Mermaid's Rest. We loved the screen porch and easy access to the beach. We liked it so much we are going for a weekend in September!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Member since Feb 2018
Peaceful Retreat

Mermaid's Rest was a marvelous place to spend a week. We have spent years in the Pleasant Street / Forest Street Beach area but this is the first stay at Mermaid's Rest. Since the house is off the main road, it is a very quiet and restful. The screened-in porch is a terrific spot for breakfast and evenings just hanging out. The two downstairs bedrooms are well equipped to accommodate adults and teens. The upstairs loft area has a low ceiling so is a great escape for younger kids. Karen and Karen are extremely responsive to questions and have provided a lovely vacation home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Member since Dec 2017
Amazing vacation for the family!

We stayed at Mermaids Rest the 2nd week in July and could not have had a better time! The cottage is adorable, very clean and well equipped. Our boys (ages 6 & 9) loved the loft and the 2nd downstairs bedroom worked as a perfect nursery for our baby girl. The short walk down a cool little path to the beach was a favorite, along with finding a million horseshoe crabs and playing t-ball right on the quiet dead-end street in the evenings. (I enjoyed a glass of wine on the screened porch and watched the action.)

This is a great neighborhood with friendly neighbors, and it could not be more quiet. We hope to return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: August 2018
Plymouth, MA
Member since Nov 2017
Perfect getaway!

This vacation was for a girls mini getaway. The house was perfect in size for 5 of us and super clean when we got there. The kitchen had everything we needed (glasses, plates, ice, utensils). It was a little too chilly to go to the beach, so we spent the majority of the time on the back deck and the screened in porch. But we did check out the beach which is within walking distance. Very small and private beach. The house is on a very quiet road, away from any traffic, with friendly neighbors. The bathroom and especially the shower are very tiny, BUT, the outdoor shower is so nice! Karen and Karen answered my many emails with questions if we need to bring this or that, what's in the area, parking, etc. They were very responsive. I received my security deposit within 24 hours of "check out." We will definitely stay here again if time allows!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2018
Bristol, CT
Member since Dec 2017
New Favorite Cottage

Perfect vacation in Chatham! Absolutely nothing negative to say.. We were impressed with this home. Everything you need is there. Close to everything! Owners' attention to detail is clearly present. Delightful owners!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Member since May 2017
Just perfect

Mermaid's Rest was the perfect vacation spot for my husband, myself and our adult daughters. We discovered Forest Beach and enjoyed the flexibility that the short walk provided our group. The gas grill was just the thing for grilling our fresh fish purchased at the Chatham fish pier. We breakfasted on the sunny back deck and enjoyed dinner on the screened in front porch. The inside dining room became the "office" for those who had to "work" on vacation. Karen was a great host and we hope to return again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2017
Windsor, CT
Member since Jan 2012
Owners take great pride in Mermaid's Rest - it shows!

Everything about Mermaid's Rest was perfect.This cottage is adorable, comfortable, well-equipped and located on a quiet street within walking distance to the town beach. The owners thought of and supplied everything that renters may need for a week on the Cape. I was impressed with the decor and the quality of the furnishings. The kitchenware is nicer and more up to date than my things at home! We loved the outdoor shower (which has good water pressure and never ran short of hot water).

It is abundantly clear that the owners take great pride in this cottage and take their responsibilities as business women seriously. Booking was easy, communications were clear and timely and our security deposit was returned promptly. I would not hesitate to return to Mermaid's Rest and will enthusiastically recommend it to friends.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Member since Feb 2017
Fantastic Place

We had the best vacation staying at Mermaid's Rest! The cottage is very charming and is stocked with all of the conveniences you would need for a week away at the beach. The owners are thoughtful and checked in with us on our first day to be sure everything was fine. The neighborhood is quiet and really lovely. We'll be back for sure!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Niantic, CT
Member since Mar 2017
We loved Mermaid's Rest!

This cottage was perfect for our family of four, with plenty of space for everyone. Everything we could have possibly needed was provided. Our 10 and 12 year old kids were smitten with the loft area, and are already asking when we can return. The screened porch was even nicer than it looked in the picture and perfect for meals and for relaxing with a glass of wine in the evenings.

The neighborhood was peaceful and quiet, my kids felt very comfortable riding their bikes up and down the lane. The location is great, super close to the beach and convenient to other attractions as well. We loved the nearby rail trail for biking, exploring downtown Chatham and the Chatham Lighthouse, and checking out the Whydah Pirate Museum. The owners are an absolute pleasure -- very responsive and we very much appreciated their suggestions for some rainy day activities. So happy we found Mermaid's Rest for our stay in Cape Cod!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Stratford, CT
Member since Jun 2017
Wonderful

They have thought of everything. You need only pack your clothes and a set of sheets. Every other detail has been attended to and you can relax right from the moment you arrive. Comfortable size for our family of 3 and even when our son and family visited for a couple days, it didn't seem too small. One of the days he was with us it rained like crazy and we still had a wonderful time. The loft is a hit for kids of all ages. Everything is in great condition. Recently renovated and beautifully decorated.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Salem, CT
Member since Feb 2014
"Mermaid's Rest" is a perfect name for this beautiful cottage.The owners have thought of everything.

Mermaid's Rest is located on a quiet side street and has been recently renovated while preserving the charm of the cottage. The owners have tried to think of everything in terms of what a renter might need. The kitchen has full utility and the appliances are in excellent condition. The property has a shed with beach chairs and other beach necessities and there is room to store bicycles. Everything looks new or is exceptionally well cared for. The bedrooms are spaced such that the bedrooms feel private (opposite ends of the house).

Additionally, the owners are a pleasure to work with. They promptly responded to questions, and were happy to help with details such as recommending where to get linen rentals, etc. In all the years I have rented beach properties, I have never had a more pleasant transaction.

Highly recommend the property/owners. We will be back!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Needham, MA
Member since Jul 2014
Loved Mermaids Rest!

We had a wonderful time at this comfortable, adorable, restful, nicely decorated piece of Cape Cod. Quiet, dead end street within walking distance to the beach, and the smell of salt air! Great vacation spot!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Member since Feb 2015
Had a wonderful stay at Mermaids Rest

My family enjoyed our stay in Chatham at Mermaids Rest. There was lots to do nearby, we were within walking distance of the ocean, and I was happy to see we were on a quiet dead end street. The décor in the cottage was tasteful and it was well stocked with cookware. It had all the comforts of home. We were able to walk to the beach, and ride to the bike trail from the cottage. The kids want to go back. We will always have sweet memories of our stay there!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
Amston, CT
Member since Jul 2015