Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Superb Ocean View Acre Lot: Quintessentially Perfect!
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 3050

4 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 queen, 1 double, 4 twins, Sofabed
Beach: 4/10 Mile to Harding's Beach
Guest Reviews: 25 reviews
Time active: 12 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Bill
Contact Bill, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (925) 932-4590 (Call 9 AM - 9 PM PDT), (925) 200-6405 (Call 9 AM - 9 PM PDT).
Please mention Property ID# 3050 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

What can one say about "Mr. Bill" and his wonderful Chatham Home except "Fabulous"! The house itself is as delightful as it appears in the photos ---- spotless and beautifully appointed, but homey and very comfortable. Great Bedrooms and Beds on each end of the house, a family area with Living Room, Dining Room, and Kitchen ------ producing lots of together time in the center of the Home. As a bonus, there is a Game Room downstairs with Pool Table, Library, and Bar. There is a Den on the Main Level with a Computer and pamphlets that probably provide more information on the Cape than the Chamber of Commerce. We had Books, DVDs, Board Games galore, and children's toys and books ------- and everything you could want for cooking/serving Meals.

When I originally booked this house, I asked Bill in passing if there was a Domino set (or I'd have one of the kids bring one). He went out and bought one. WHOA! Since then, in correspondence back and forth,
I have come to understand their much deserved pride in this Home, and their desire to go above and beyond to make their Guests feel welcome, comfortable, and happy. The gals at the Realtor's Office were very pleasant and efficient ----- and obviously very fond of Bill.

My adult kids loved the house, as well as all the information at our fingertips. Within 24 hours they were referring to our Landlord as "BILL" ------- like an old Family friend. We walked the Beach at the Chatham Bars area, played, and dined like Kings. Had great lunches at the Chatham Squire and the Beacon in Orleans, but best of all we relaxed and enjoyed sunsets at this Family Home. This was a wonderful experience! Thank you so much, Mr. Bill.

Date of Stay: November 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Marlene S
(Homeowner Entered)

A thoroughly wonderful experience! Clean, comfortable, well equipped, great location. Dealings with the Owner and Rental Agents excellent and efficient! Buck's Creek and Harding Beach were easy to walk to; and Downtown Chatham is close and charming. We biked, and walked many Cape beaches during our stay. Perfect for a Family Reunion!

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Karen S
(Homeowner Entered)

We have rented this house for several years now; and each time we return, it is as if we're returning home. We normally rent Off-Season, as we like the quiet, beautiful setting and neighborhood. On our initial stay, I was able to find the perfect environment to pursue my love of photography ------ with lots of space to concentrate on processing my images taken at the end of each day. This location is perfect, as it is a short walk to water, and easy to travel to either end of the Cape from Chatham --- as well as both the Bay and Atlantic coasts of the Cape.

The Owner (Bill) is the quintessential Host, and has provided amenities you will not find elsewhere. The Concierge Info, the Game Room, the stunning view of Buck's Creek and Nantucket Sound are a treat after a full day exploring. The Kitchen is indeed very well stocked.

The gals at Pine Acres Realty are a very competent Support Team. The Owners clearly care about their property; but more importantly, they obviously care about their Guests!

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Cheryl P
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed a Family Reunion at this Home, and it was great! The house has everything, and is nearby everything! The Game Room was a favorite of the kids. We enjoyed the Picnic Table, and cool nights on the
Deck. The sunsets were gorgeous from the house, and also from Harding Beach. We cooked in a lot, and the Kitchen truly has all you'll need. Perfect house, and will stay again!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Debbie A
(Homeowner Entered)

Our Family of eight had a wonderful Reunion at this beautiful Vacation Home. With a great layout, this Home is very comfortable and spacious. Having three full baths and four Bedrooms at opposite ends of this very clean, nicely decorated Home provided privacy for all ---- and plenty of shared space, too. The Outdoor Shower was an added delight not to be missed! The Kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need for big Family meals, including a Lobster Feast. Bill (Owner) left clear Instructions and notes so there was no guessing where to find whatever we needed. The Pool Table, Card Table, Hammock, and Horseshoe Pit kept our active group happy. Even the threat of a hurricane didn't detract from our fun. The book selection and DVDs provided plenty to do during the few rainy hours we experienced. We tried out many of Bill's Restaurant and Shopping tips, too. Quite helpful indeed! Coffee down by the Dock, and Cocktails overlooking Nantucket Sound in the late afternoon was such a treat. This house is located in a nice, quiet neighborhood among other lovely Homes. "Check-In/Out" was simple. Thank you, Bill, for allowing us to be your Guests. We'd love to come back!

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Debra M
(Homeowner Entered)

We are 4 childhood friends who got together to celebrate our 80th Birthdays at this wonderful Home in Chatham on Cape Cod. It was a perfect Home and destination for us, and we had a great time. Thank you, Bill, for all your efforts and suggestions. It was a pleasure dealing with you. Everything was perfect! Ann, Cynthia, Betsy, and Bev.

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: June 2017
Ann O
(Homeowner Entered)

My wife and I , and our two kids, spent Christmas at this spectacular house. It was all that we expected, and more. The Owners were very attentive to our needs, and they really made us feel at home! The Kitchen had everything that my wife wanted to cook Christmas Dinner. The Living Room is the center of attraction in the house ------ with a huge Fireplace. The views are spectacular, and just a short walking distance to the Beach. The house is very warm and inviting; we couldn't ask for a better location!

The kids didn't want to leave the Game Room, and what a huge selection of DVDs (over 300)! This house is a treasure in Chatham, and we thank you for the opportunity of renting it to us for Christmas.

Can't wait to wait to come back!

Date of Stay: December 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Mark L
(Homeowner Entered)

My Family spent Thanksgiving week at this lovely Home in Chatham. Well, the weather could have been better ..... but the cold rain outside made the inside of the house even cozier! There was ample room for all of us to settle into the Living Room for conversation and games, with a blazing fire on one side, and a view of the Ocean on the other. Firewood was cut and stacked in ample amounts for our six days there. The Owner (Bill) has an amazing collection (300+) of DVDs of all genres (catalogued and reviewed too) that gave us some great evening entertainment as well.

I was a bit apprehensive about cooking a traditional turkey dinner in a Kitchen that I knew nothing about.
Worry was for naught, as it was stocked with every platter/utensil/pan that I needed. I had asked the Owners previously about a couple of items that I would need. They quickly responded and let me know what they had/didn't have ......... and kindly offered to get me a bread pan that I needed, and would reimburse me for the cost. I guess that extra special attention and care from the Owners is what makes staying at their Home truly a treat. Bill provides tons of info about Chatham in his "Concierge Notes". While we didn't eat out, other than picking up fresh Lobster cooked and cracked from the local Fish Market, we did enjoy shopping in Chatham during the Black Friday sales, seeing the seals at the Chatham Fish Pier, touring the Cape ------ all the way to Provincetown, and walking to the beach and lighthouse. it was a great, clean, comfortable Home. All in all, a wonderful stay.

Date of Stay: November 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Mary C
(Homeowner Entered)

Given the many rentals available in Chatham, we made an excellent choice! We are a "mature" couple and, because the house had 4 Bedrooms, we invited a bit of Family and Friends for a day or two throughout the week. Though our party was of adults, this would be a fantastic rental choice for families with children as well. It is generously equipped for those preparing meals at home; the Kitchen has everything you could want. We mostly chose to dine out (except for Breakfasts), and one evening we picked up cooked and cracked Lobsters ----- which we enjoyed with corn on the cob, etc. The Owner's (Bill) Restaurant recommendations were perfect ------ as was his helpful and detailed information about the home and the area. Additionally, this home has clearly been decorated by loving hands (and eyes). All the Beds were comfortable according to our seven Guests. The home is in a quiet upscale area. You'll love it!

When returning to the Cape, we hope to rent this home again!

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Ann K
(Homeowner Entered)

We recently spent a relaxing, enjoyable vacation week here with our four children, one son-in-law, and one niece. It was perfect in every way. Bill has done everything possible to ensure his Guests have every amenity possible. The house is comfortable and spacious, the Kitchen is incredibly well stocked, the Video Library is truly expansive, and the Books and Games are plentiful. The kids loved playing Pool in the Game Room at night. His "Concierge Notes" and Binders are so helpful. Having all the beach paraphenalia available for Guests made it much easier on us too. We spent mornings drinking coffee on the beautiful Deck, headed to Harding or Ridgevale beaches during the day, and then came back to have a Drink on the Deck in the evening. The days were capped off with Dinner in the roomy Dining Room.

Our entire Family agreed that it was one of our most memorable, enjoyable Vacations! Many thanks to our gracious Hosts!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Paula C
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I, two daughters, a son-in-law, and two grandsons had a delightful stay here for the first week of August, 2015. The house and grounds are just as described, and are located in a very nice neighborhood that is perfect for walking. We loved the Dock, a few yards away from which we launched our kayak to take us easily to Ridgevale Beach. We also loved the easy proximity (walking or driving) to Harding Beach ------ on which we walked many times. The Kitchen is amazingly well stocked, the beach chairs were gratefully used, the Beds comfortable, the Living Room perfect for the whole Family, the Pool Table lots of fun, and the Deck off the Living Room a perfect post-dinner gathering spot to watch the sun go down.The Living Room and one Bedroom do not have air conditioning, but the fans did the trick for us.

The grandsons asked to return to this house again next year, and we gave an enthusiastic "yes"!

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Aurelia S
(Homeowner Entered)

We stayed at this property from 4/21/2015 to 4/25/2015. The house was perfect! We loved the location on the Cape, as well as the proximity to Chatham. The property is very spacious, clean, and well taken care of by the Owners. The Ocean can be seen from the Deck, so we spent a lot of time out there enjoying the view.
The Owner is spectacular; he responds quickly to every E-Mail, and has lots of suggestions to enhance your trip. We took his advice on everything ........ and we're glad we did. I would highly recommend staying at this Home. It is reasonably priced, and you get a lot for your money!

Date of Stay: April 2015
Date Submitted: June 2017
Tanya P
(Homeowner Entered)

Five years ago on a late night Internet search, I came across the Home By-The-Sea in Chatham, and it sounded to good to be true!" How could this Vacation Rental in such a desirable location, with so many amenities, be so reasonably priced? As soon as I inquired, I was contacted by the Owner who was so accommodating and helpful that I couldn't resist! I still remember walking into the Home for the first time and thinking WOW ........ we found a gem. This isn't just a house; it's a Home! Now, we have just returned from our fifth visit to "our Home away from Home". I have to say that it is a major highlight of our year. Four generations of our Family descend on the house in early October every year, and it accommodates us all. Whether you just want to sit on the Deck and enjoy the sea breezes and view, play outside in the yard, go to the Dock and bird watch, play games, watch movies, or cook a good meal ....... it's all there for you.

Not to mention that any question you may have is answered in the extensive information and literature that is available to you via "Bill's Concierge Notes". We have made so many treasured memories in this place and our yearly visit has really become a Family tradition. My personal favorite place to go is the Dock at the end of the property. Any time of day it is so beautiful and peaceful. Last year we brought a kayak and had great fun exploring the salt marsh, and even got out to Nantucket Sound. tTe beach is within walking distance, and the sand path that leads to the Stage Harbor Lighthouse is not to be missed! It's really a walking meditation! I remember that before we came for the first time, the Owner sent us a three page detailed E-mail about all the great things to do, things to see, and places to eat in Chatham and beyond. Slowly, over the years, we have done many of those things, and added some of our own.

We really can't say enough about the Home-By-The -Sea ........ it's a treasure. Many THANKS to the caring Owners for sharing it with us!

Date of Stay: October 2014
Date Submitted: June 2017
Patty C
(Homeowner Entered)

We enjoyed staying at the house. The Owners are perfect Hosts; everything is well organized and they provide you plenty of information prior to your arrival. As a result, you are immediately ready to enjoy your stay. Everything about the Home was great. We barbecued, we shot Pool ........ and got to relax.

Chatham is a perfect location. It allows to easily drive up to Provincetown, or to Woods Hole to get the Ferry to Martha's Vineyard.

Simply stated, if w were to come back to Cape Cod, we would not need to search around, and would stay at this Vacation Home again!

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: June 2017
Aivars K
(Homeowner Entered)

What a wonderful Home in an awesome location! When we walked into this lovely Chatham Home the first thing we could see was the huge Living Room with the large sliding glass doors out to the Ocean view Deck.
What a gorgeous sight! I couldn't wait to pour myself a cold one and sit out on the balcony to take in the fresh air and Nantucket Sound. The Kitchen was nicely remodeled , and opened up to the Dining Room ---- which was perfect for Family conversations while preparing meals. The kids and grownups enjoyed playing pool in the Game Room in the Basement. The grandkids loved watching the fiddler crabs crawl into their holes at the Dock.

We had a great time watching movies each night, with the huge Fireplace adding to the cozy ambiance. There were so many wonderful DVD movies at the house to choose from! The grandkids were also very happy with the book selection down in the Library ......... they couldn't stop reading!

The home was clean, and very well kept. Bill was extremely helpful with information about the home and all the great Restaurants and attractions in the area. There are also Binders in the Den/Computer Room which provide all kinds of helpful information.

We all had such a wonderful time at this beautiful Chatham Home away from home that we did not want to leave. We are thrilled that we found it, and we can't wait to come to come back!

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: June 2017
Mary W
(Homeowner Entered)

What a spectacular week we had! Your Home couldn't have been more perfect for the eight of us. The weather was wonderful ........ did you plan that for us? I can tell that you have lovingly taken care of your property. We had such a great time ........ from sitting on the Deck, to cooking in your beautiful Kitchen, to taking walks down to the beach, etc. Your information regarding anything we would possibly have wanted was so thorough, and appreciated. Thank you so much!

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: June 2017
Vicki H
(Homeowner Entered)

We just wanted to thank you so much for allowing us to rent your wonderful Home in Chatham! It was in immaculate shape when we arrived, and we felt immediately welcomed, and "at home". We tried to see as much of the Cape as we could in the week we were there ------ thanks to your notes and suggestions.

We enjoyed the Land Ho and Chatham Squire Restaurants, among others. We visited Sandwich when we first got across the Cape Cod Canal bridge, then made our way down Route 6A through many other beautiful towns. One day we took a Ferry over to enjoy Martha's Vineyard, and another day we went to Provincetown did some Whale Watching. We also enjoyed downtown Chatham and Orleans. Great Towns!

Thanks to Ginny who, in coordination with Comcast, helped us when the T.V. and Internet were not working for our first few days.

We hated to leave, but made such wonderful memories during our stay at your Chatham Home. Thanks again. We would love to return again sometime!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: June 2017
Nancy G
(Homeowner Entered)

We are all safely back home now, and getting into the swing of our regular routines. We were very pleased with our visit to Chatham, and staying at your beautiful home made everything even more special for us. There was plenty of room for everyone, and the view was spectacular!

We took your advice on several of the Restaurants, and were delightfully pleased! We enjoyed Carmen's Pizza, Kream & Cone, and Larry''s P.X. to name a few. Our only disappointment was at the Wild Goose when we found out they no longer made the Lobster Bisque. However, I did locate some at the Chatham Squire that was exceptional! Marion's Pie Shop was perfect for a night that we didn't want to eat out, but didn't want to cook either. We enjoyed their Seafood Pie, Chicken Pot Pie, and Shepherd's Pie, and found them all delicious.

Your Home was fantastic! Thanks again for making our Family get-together so relaxing and pleasant.

And you, Bill, are an excellent Concierge!

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: June 2017
Jean S
(Homeowner Entered)

My relatives and I stayed at this home for an extended Mother's Day weekend, and could not have found a better stay! It was clean, spacious, and had all of the amenities we needed. The women in my Family have been vacationing in Chatham for a Mother's Day Getaway for almost 25 years, and this house was an upgrade from what we've been used to in the past.

The four Bedrooms are all very spacious. We've always had an issue with eight women showering in the morning at other homes, but we had no problems with hot water supply ------ which we were very happy about! The large Living Room, and Dining Room Table, were quite comfortable. We were there in early Spring, and the neighborhood was was quiet and had a great view of the Buck's Creek marsh and Nantucket Sound. It was great to sit on the Deck and look out while we had our coffee in the morning before we headed for our day.

Bill was a pleasure to work with from booking our weekend through the end of our stay. We were also impressed with the women at Pine Acres Realty'. Everyone was helpful and responsive.

We hope to return to Bill's Home in the future for our Mother's Day Getaways. We even spoke about renting it for a week one Summer because we think it would be a great place to bring our Families for Vacation.

We couldn't have asked for a better visit!

Date of Stay: May 2013
Date Submitted: June 2017
Jennifer S
(Homeowner Entered)

We had two important criteria when searching for a house to rent on the Cape: First, tbe in Chatham. Second, have a view of, and access to water. This property met those criteria; so we booked our first visit. Within minutes of entering the house, we declared this home our "home away from home", and were so happy our search for the quintessential retreat was over. Our work schedules allowed for long weekends and Off-Season rentals that gave us a perfect venue to explore the amazing coast in and around Chatham. This Rental time, in combination with my focus on photography, provided a unique opportunity to practice my skills, and have a perfect place to work on post production in the area of our daily shoots.

This Home is spacious and accommodates our travel group ---- providing each of us with our own space. The neighborhood is quiet and, from the Deck, we enjoy wonderful views of water and sunsets at the end of the day.

The Owner (Bill) is a perfect Host, and provides a full range of amenities ------ making us feel right at home. In addition, he is always looking out for new dining experiences which he passes along to his Guests ---- as well as recommendations about local events and activities. Last Winter we spent a long weekend during which time a storm hit the Cape, and our Host called each day to make sure we were okay, and that the gals at Pine Acres Realty were also looking in on us.

We have been renting this Home going on three years now, and I am grateful to have found this wonderful property, which has in every way been our home away from home.

Date of Stay: February 2013
Date Submitted: June 2017
Cheryl P
(Homeowner Entered)

I have very little to add to what Bill has already said on his Vacation Home site. No fluff! No hyperbole! Renting from Bill is like borrowing the keys to the lake house from Uncle Bill.

Because we were not familiar with the area, receiving Visitor Tips was invaluable! He anticipated every question we'd have, and left lots of Concierge Info for us. We always felt comfy and cared for.

There is an emotional warmth about this Home. It is not a sterile Vacation house. This a Home where one could hear the laughter of children from another generation ------- or smell Holiday favorites cooking on the BBQ, or in the Oven. A place where dreams were made, and others came true. Ours did!

Date of Stay: November 2012
Date Submitted: June 2017
Bob G
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great stay at this Home! The house was very clean, and the Owner provided a lot of useful information about the area, and the Home. We not only felt welcome in this Home, but encouraged to make ourselves at home!

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: June 2017
Julie Z
(Homeowner Entered)

Chatham is my Summer, and has been so for the past 32 years. I no longer own a home there, but have been renting for the past few years. This Home was wonderful for an extended Family staying together. Two lovely Bedrooms on one side of the house with a Bathroom, and the same on the other side. it also features a large Living Room, exceptionally stocked Kitchen, and Dining Room large enough far all of us to enjoy a relaxing Dinner.

The Game Room on the lower level is fun for a game of pool, or if you need space to work while on Vacation (Boo ........ but it does happen). Another great thing was all the detailed instructions about and around the house. The DVD synopsis book. the maps of all the Cape towns, the games, the vast supply of books, etc. make this Rental above all others. The Home is very clean, and the spacious yard is excellent for sports of numerous kinds. Finally, it is an easy walk to beautiful Harding Beach.

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: June 2017
Barbara C
(Homeowner Entered)

Our girls' group loved this Chatham Home for our annual Summer trip! It was spacious, and contained everything we needed for a great stay. We just purchased the food for the week, and let the fun begin. Bill was like our own private Concierge. He provides Guests with Notebooks of information about Chatham, surrounding area day trips, Restaurants, and more.

The house became our Home for the week, which we eagerly returned to after "beaching it, traveling to Martha's Vineyard ---- or other nearby Cape venues.

It was easy to relax in the lovely Living Room, or gather around the Dining Room Table for a Lobster Dinner. With hundreds of DVDs and shelves of Books, there was plenty to choose from for an evening at Home. The Town of Chatham has many fun night spots for those times we wanted to "go out on the town". We enjoyed the local Chatham Squire Restaurant & Pub often.

I would heartily recommend this property to anyone wishing to experience a Vacation on Cape Cod! I hope to go back in the future on another trip to Chatham with my Family.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: June 2017
Debbie S
(Homeowner Entered)

We stayed in Bill's Chatham Home for ten days in April, 2010. It was fantastic, clean, and well cared for ----- with everything you need for a Holiday. The location of the house was excellent. The Owner is extremely helpful, and gave us some excellent tips on what to do, where to go, and even recommended a fantastic Hotel in Boston where we stayed before returning to the U.K.

Date of Stay: April 2010
Date Submitted: June 2017
Ann W
(Homeowner Entered)