Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Classic Chatham Beach House with Open Floor Plan
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 31223

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 7
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 king, 1 queen, 1 double, 1 twin
Beach: 6/10 mile to Pleasant Street Beach
Guest Reviews: 30 reviews
Time active: 1 month
Contact details:
  Email Kathie
Contact Kathie, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (310) 619-6792.
Please mention Property ID# 31223 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.

5 out of 5 stars. Our family had a great time at Kathie's house! The house is very clean and has all of the amenities you'd need for a vacation. We liked all the beach toys, beach chairs, and other toys in the garage for our kids to play with. Everything inside and outside of the house is labeled which was helpful. The location is quiet. Didn't even hear any of the neighbors. Close enough to walk to a few different beaches and a quick bike ride to the Cape Cod Rail Trail. Definitely recommend.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
C Z
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. We had such a wonderful week in Chatham. The house had everything you could imagine and the property is well-maintained. We spent most days at Ridgevale Beach where our two year old felt very comfortable in and out of the shallow tide pools. There are many great restaurants in the area as well as shopping, beautiful walks and biking trails, ice cream shops and the ferry to Nantucket (which is a must). It was the perfect family vacation and we hope to return again next summer!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
V S
(Homeowner Entered)

4 out of 5 stars. This home had everything we needed and then some! Great location, super clean, comfy beds, well-equipped and organized. Beautiful home! The kids had an awesome time riding their bikes! We enjoyed our time here.

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
M D
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. My family enjoyed a truly relaxing vacation in this lovely home. The home owners are extremely detail-oriented and organized. The binders they left are full of a bevy of information and provide details on everything you could need or want. The house is close to two beaches and they have plenty of beach chairs and beach gear to help you relax. The secluded back yard provides a quiet area to sit, relax and enjoy. Located just a short drive to restaurants, grocery shopping, or downtown was an added bonus. If we choose to return to the Cape for vacation again, we would definitely stay at this lovely home again.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
P M
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. It's such a relief to arrive at a vacation rental and not only have the place look exactly like it does in the photos (super clean and super cute), but have everything you could possibly need on vacation...from kitchen stuff, to beach stuff, to things you might not even have thought you needed. Kathie was extremely helpful when we had questions and her riders of all the local attractions and restaurants made our vacation so easy and fun. One of her recommendations, renting kayaks and sunfish boats at Ridgevale Beach was a favorite for my boys (13 & 17) as my husband too! Thanks for a great week and wonderful memories! We'll be back next summer for sure!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
M F
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. A perfect home base for a multi-generational family getaway. Our family, ranging in ages from 3-75, recently stayed at 'Down By The Sea' for our first Cape Cod getaway in ages. The home was perfect - remarkably clean and located just a few blocks from wonderful little beach. We enjoyed days on the beach or out exploring all that the Cape has to offer, and were happy to spend a few "nights in" grilling and playing croquet and frisbee in the private, sizable yard. The location was ideal not only with Pleasant Street Beach so close, but also the convenience of the bike path, a few key restaurants, and of course the main drag, Route 28. Kathie is swift to respond to questions you may have and I would highly recommend this property.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: September 2018
A A
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. The owner has supplied so many thoughtful details! She also was very reachable by text. It was spacious for three women and has a large lawn for fun and games if visitors have children. A wow. Good location too.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
C P
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. A lot of thought and care has gone into making this rental an ideal vacation base. We especially appreciated the extensive local annotated restaurant menus. We hope to rent this house again soon.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
J S
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. My husband, son and I had a wonderful stay. The house was well-equipped with everything you need for fun and relaxing vacation. Tons of beach toys and gear, along with a well equipped kitchen and beautifully appointed guest quarters. We spent our days at the beach, exploring Chatham, and checking out the area attractions. After a long day out and about we loved coming back to the house and relaxing. Best family vacation rental! Hope to be back again next year. Thank you Kathie for being so responsive and helpful thought the whole process.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
M M
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. We just returned from a week at this relaxing and comfortable house. Kathie is a pleasure to work with and has put in so much time creating a warm and relaxing home for guests. She has the touches that make you feel at homeland a huge binder full of everything imaginable about the area. The home is clean and in a great location. We loved the yard and outside seating areas. I would highly recommend this property and can't say enough about how nice and helpful Kathie was. We are hoping to return again next year.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
J C
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. This home is perfectly located - private setting yet close to town. Thank you Kathie for a pleasant stay in your home. We enjoyed our second stay very much! The home is perfectly stocked with everything a family would need at the beach, in the yard, and for family dinners together! The location is just right - close enough to downtown Chatham, Chatham beaches, and the National Seashore. We enjoy Coast Guard beach every summer! It's such a perfect way to spend a vacation on the Cape! We hope to be back again next year!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
E H
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. Beautiful property on a large, well maintained property. Kitchen and dining areas well laid out. Bedrooms large with great beds. Plenty of room in the house. Location - close enough to walk to local beaches and centrally located for a myriad of shopping, eating, etc.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
S P
(Homeowner Entered)

5 star rental home! Everything that was presented in the profile was right on, especially with all the little extra items that you would not expect to have available in a home. The home was clean and located in a great spot close to the water and downtown Chatham. The best compliment I can make is that we hope to rent again from this location next year.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
P P
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. This was a lovely, clean and comfortable home in a great location! The house has all amenities one could ask for and more! The owner was responsive and helpful - We look forward to staying here again soon!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
L S
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. We, a party of 4 adults and one toddler, had a great week at this house. This is a really spacious house with a huge yard in a very quiet neighborhood. It is well maintained and the owner is doing everything to make you feel at home. The garage is packed with beachwear and stuff for outdoors activities. I have been to a lot of rental houses in Europe and North America but this was one of the prettiest and is, by far, the best equipped I have ever seen.

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: September 2018
R S
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. Excellent location and very close to restaurants and shopping. Very private with nice property grounds. Kathie is very helpful with questions and issues prompt replies.

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: September 2018
M W
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed this adorable vacation house full of character. It is in a very quiet neighborhood, and offers privacy all around. The decor was beachy, nice and bright - - loved it! Spotlessly clean too. The large, level yard was perfect for my 3 and 6 year old grandkids to play in. The home is stocked with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen and bathrooms. There was lots of beach gear - chairs, towels, umbrellas, toys, and even a cart to haul it all in. The kids were very easy to entertain there as well, and checked out all the games and movies. Loved the outdoor shower! Although we brought our own, there were several nice quality bikes in the garage too. I wouldn't attempt to cross Rte 28 with smaller children, but the access to the rail trail was easy to get to from the house for adults. My favorite ride was to go to the end of Morton Street, then off to the left for terrific riding, and at the rotary, turn up to the right and head to Brewster. The views and riding were fantastic! It was easy to crank to 25 miles, or just a few. My 3 year old grandson found a beautiful box turtle in the driveway under my car early one morning, and it totally made my day...I haven't seen one since I was a kid myself, so keep it slow and say hi to "Zippy" if you see him again! I would love to return again for another fun week in the future.
Owner Response: For any guests with questions about the bike trail, you may Google the Cape Cod Rail Trail to see the route. There is an access point on Morton Street which is across from Forest Street at the cross walk on Main Street/Rte 28.

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2018
K C
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. We have vacationed in Chatham for several years and this home was definitely a favorite - quiet location but near everything, clean and comfortable, charming decor and plenty of space and yard for every summer activity. Kathie, the owner was always available and attentive to all our questions prior to our stay, during our stay, and we were appreciative of her time, no matter the time of day or night. The house was appointed with everything a family needs for a comfortable stay - our girls enjoyed riding the bikes along the long private drive, and the nearby Chatham Bike Trail. They also loved their room upstairs and enjoyed the TV- something they don't have in their rooms at home! Nights were spent in Chatham and nearby Harwich racing go carts, jumping on trampolines, and enjoying many different ice cream options. The home is located near a few beaches and we got a weekly sticker which allowed us to visit many of our favorite Chatham beaches during our stay. Kathie was very helpful with suggestions for Martha's Vineyard - we drove to Falmouth and rode the Island Queen ferry - as well as other points of interest in and near Chatham. Very happy we chose this rental and will look forward to returning again! Thank you Kathie!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2018
G F
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. A wonderful home in a great location. Our family of four had a great week at Kathie's house. The house is in a great location close to the Red River Beach and Pleasant Street Beach. We either biked to or ran to both beaches almost every morning. The house itself was lovely. Very clean and loads of space. We had lovely weather, but the one hot night the window Air Conditioning units kept the house very comfortable. The long private driveway was a novelty for us and made the house more unique. We made use of the bikes for exploring the area. Overall a great trip at a great house. Kathie is very accommodating and easy to work with. Highly recommend!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: September 2018
L H
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. The house is absolutely lovely - the pictures don't even do it justice. It was absolutely spotless when we arrived. It is in a quiet neighborhood with a long private drive - ideal for families. We stayed with four adults and three young children - plenty of room for everyone. The kids loved playing in the large side yard! This house is fully stocked with absolutely everything you need - the kitchen was better stocked than my own! Plus, the owner provides everything you need for the beach. Pleasant Street Beach is a short walk (we loaded up the kids in the wagon provided). We also enjoyed Ridgevale Beach ( a short drive). Chatham is absolutely beautiful. There was so much to do! I can't say enough about the owner, Kathie. She is extremely responsive and runs everything very professionally. We had a brief power outage caused by a lightning storm, and she was on it! The power company was there very quickly, and everything was sorted quickly and efficiently. This was honestly one of our best vacations ever. We had such a good time - whole heartedly recommend this lovely home to anyone looking for a great Cape Cod holiday.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: September 2018
A K
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. We were very pleased with this property. The listing was accurate and we found the amenities more than expected. The layout and location were perfect and we enjoyed the backyard for playing with our granddaughter and for evening meals. The house was neat and well maintained. The owner provided excellent customer service, and supplied a wonderful book of listings in the area as well as a guest journal (with recommendations). We enjoyed the town of Chatham, just walking around. We loved the beaches and visited them all. We enjoyed the Morris Island Beach. We like the Captain's Table, and the seafood store on Route 28 in S. Chatham, where we purchased fish for several meals. We hope to return in the future. Thank you!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2018
A A
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. Wonderful! House (nice, clean)+host were PERFECT! Everything was perfect. House was SUPER clean, very well located, host was nice, VERY responsive, neighborhood was a quiet as it could be, 10 minute walk to the beach. In conclusion, a lot more than we were looking for. We've been renting houses for years in North America and in Europe and this one was one of our best!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: September 2018
A A
(Homeowner Entered)

4 out of 5 stars. Great house on the Cape! This house had all it said it would have, clean and a great quiet location. A nice surprise was the large side yard that didn't show up in the photos. My young son thoroughly enjoyed playing wiffle ball there. The house has many games, also, badminton, bocci, etc., for guests use. The bikes were in good shape and we have some nice rides on the nearby bike trail. The patio was superb to hand out and dine at, which we did daily. We enjoyed Red River Beach nearby, as well as Ridgevale Beach, which is a great spot for young children given the inlets off the ocean. Overall, a great house on the Cape!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2018
J W
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 Stars. Charming home away from home. House was beautiful, comfortable and centrally located to all the hot spots on the Cape. Owner did a fantastic job pointing out where everything was, and we had full use of appliances, beach gear, and grill. Loved every minute of our stay.

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: September 2018
G Y
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 Stars. Great time at "Down By The Sea." We can only recommend that vacation rental. The house is so lovely decorated and well equipped with whatever you can think of - from beach towels to books, guides, and DVDs. The house is in a quiet neighborhood and you can walk to two restaurants. We can recommend the Box Office (note: now called 'The Talkative Pig'), good pizza and nice people. The beaches are nearby - you can choose between Chatham and Harwich. We would love to return!!

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: September 2018
A R
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. Beautiful, Charming, and sooooo relaxing! Everyone in our family loved this house! It was so charming, convenient, and peacefully quiet. The house was spotless and very comfortable, with lots of space for our family to spread out. The outdoor shower was a big hit; we want one now. There were abundant ideas for dining and local activities left by the owner and prior guests. The bikes, beach chairs, and other gear provided, made for convenient, stress-free excursions. Our highlights were kayaking and playing at Ridgevale Beach, eating anything from Marion's Pie Shop, and the luxuriously rich ice cream at the Old Schoolhouse. The house is perfectly located to take advantage of the entire Cape. We hope to return again and again!

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: September 2018
A A
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 Stars. What a great place! We stayed at this wonderful house with a total of four people, but there is plenty more room, especially for kids. The house is very well kept and up to date. It has lots of equipment, such as beach chairs, umbrellas, bicycles, games and cooking utensils to make sure you can enjoy your time on the Cape. We cooked several meals at home, which was a pleasure with the outdoor dining area, as well as the open layout of the kitchen. It sits on a secluded lot with a nice yard, but is close to most everything you could want, at least with a car of bicycle.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: September 2018
A A
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. Perfect Home For Family Vacations. This home is updated and has everything you need to enjoy your vacation at the Cape. Great yard for children to play. Lovely patio for wine in the evening.

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2018
S T
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 Stars. This was the perfect house for our family vacation. The house is absolutely beautiful, clean, well maintained and has lots of Cape Cod charm. There is an open layout and a beautiful yard for playing. This house is situated on a private lot but it is close to all. A short ride/walk to the beautiful and quiet Pleasant Street Beach as well as many other beaches that Chatham has to offer. A short bike ride to the bike trail, and a short ride into Harwich Port and town for plenty of shopping and great restaurants. There are also two great restaurants right up the block. The owners were wonderful to deal with which made the whole rental process very easy. They also included so many amenities with the house which made for a very stress free vacation. It was truly a home away from home, and I would not hesitate to rent this property again!

Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: September 2018
N I
(Homeowner Entered)

5 out of 5 stars. Great house and location - - highly recommend. This is a great vacation house for a week in Chatham. The house comfortably fits 7-8 people and is very well maintained. There is a great patio and a large yard that is perfect for grilling and outdoor activities with your friends or family. The beach is within walking distance, but it is definitely a bit of a long walk and much easier to hop in the car and drive (about 3 minutes). It is not located all that close to downtown Chatham, so if you plan to go to restaurants or bars in Chatham frequently, pan on a bit of a drive to get there. However, given the high quality of the house and patio/yard, I'd highly recommend staying here.

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: September 2018
C S
(Homeowner Entered)