Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Chatham Pondside Home w/AC, Dock & Separate Cottage
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 4700

3 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 2 queens, 2 twins, trundle bed with twin mattresses
Beach: 1/8 mi to fresh water beach,1.5 mi to Cockle Cove
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Heather
Contact Heather, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (781) 974- 4445 (cell, 9AM EST - 9 PM).
Please mention Property ID# 4700 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Perfect place

My wife, 3 kids, and I stayed here for a week.

The location on the pond is idyllic and the house is wonderful. Chatham is a wonderful town. I couldn't recommend this rental more.

Thanks to Heather,
Derek

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Owner Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed our Pond house and a special thank you for taking such good care of it for us.

Member since Jul 2018
We loved the home!

My family had a wonderful stay at Heather's home. We loved the pond and the view. My children were either fishing or in one of the boats all the time. The house was immaculate and close to everything we wanted to do.

We highly recommend this home!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: November 2017
Owner Response:

Penney,
We have had so many great family memories from our time on Ryder Pond. We are glad you enjoyed the house. Heather

Milton, MA
Member since Feb 2017
Great private retreat, with easy access to Chatham

Spent a week in August with our two kids (age 7 & 5) and their grandparents. The house was perfect for a group of 6 with the cottage providing a little privacy a few steps away from the main house. It is on a very quiet gravel road, and you might spend the whole week not seeing any neighbors. The house is well stocked with linens, dishes, pots/pans. We didn't need to interact with Heather often, but she was always very quick to respond to any questions.

It's a very short (<5 minute) walk to a large swimming pond, and canoeing/fishing right from the house's dock on a smaller pond. We caught tons for small yellow perch, and half dozen or so 12 inch+ bass! We were also frequently visited by a massive turtle, Big Al, which the kids loved to feed.

Very convenient to Chatham and nearby beaches including Oyster Pond and Cockle Cove which were perfect for the kids. We will be back in the future!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: November 2017
Owner Response:

Brennan,
So glad you enjoyed our home. Ryder Pond is home to an amazing assortment of wildlife including our turtle friend Big Al. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Heather

Brooklyn, NY
Member since Feb 2017
On Golden Pond

Our family of four spent a wonderful week in this lovely house on Ryder Pond. The house was well fitted for the four of us (our daughter of 18 had her private sleeping unit in the little separate house) and, as the weather was fantastic all week, we thoroughly enjoyed our dinners on the spacious terrace with beautiful views over the pond. The house is close to stores and charming Chatham, as well as the ferry to Nantucket. Heather was really helpful in giving us all the directions we needed and making us feel at home. It was great!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: December 2017
Member since Dec 2017
Pondside Bliss

A well-kept home on a quiet dirt road with absolutely no noise, day or night. Quick and easy access into town and nearby grocery shopping.

Wraparound deck with great views and the additional cottage for guests is a plus.

Take the canoe across to the next lake (a very short portage) for additional views, swimming from the sandy beach and fishing. Plenty of fish in both ponds.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Mendham, NJ
Member since May 2017

This was our second time renting this property. We have 2 kids and love the water access off the back yard. The owner did some lovely landscaping and renovations during the off season. We had great weather and it was a perfect week. We can't wait to be back next year!

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: November 2016
Kim K
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

We're more than pleased to have rented this house for our Cape Cod vacation. It's hard to imagine better for our family of four. The house itself is clean, airy and cool. The wraparound porch was perfect for alfresco dinners, and we surprised ourselves with how much we liked the outdoor shower. Use of the canoe and rowboat was a real bonus -- Ryder Pond had more than enough yellow perch for a taco dinner, and a trip to Schoolhouse pond was easy and pleasant. There is access to the Cape Cod Rail Trail along a public road -- not fabulous, but not bad either -- as well as an easy drive to the fun in Chatham. On balance I'd be hard put to think of a place with all-around better amenities. Very pleased!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: November 2016
Timothy L
(Homeowner Entered)

This was a perfect lakeside retreat for our first visit to Cape Cod. Large deck to enjoy the view of the lake. My 3 boys loved the jetty and canoes, they fished from them every day, providing a great holiday memory. Kitchen beautiful and very we'll equipped. The house was also great for exploring cape cod. Chatham itself is a beautiful town, we travelled the whole cape during our stay and found it to be the most beautiful town. Friday night jazz nights in the park were perfect. Lovely mix of shops and eateries too. Beach wise lighthouse beach beautiful walking along to the monomoy nature reserve, Atlantic still cool to the foot in July so we found another couple of beaches at Skaket and neighbouring rocky harbour and ridgevale which is just a few minutes from the house. SkAket enjoys the warm waters of the Nantucket sound and a lazy river - we loved jumping on our inflatables and drifting around the lazy river circuit. We also enjoyed tuna fishing and whale watching. A perfect break. We'll return. A++++ property owner to work with - thanks heather.

Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: November 2016
Hayley P
England
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I took our 2 young kids (2 and 4) for some much needed family time away from the city and this home was perfect for us. The house was very clean, well-maintained, and stocked with everything we needed when we arrived. The location is great for children because it's located right on a pond very close to a wonderful family beach (Schoolhouse). Every day my husband took one of the kids in the paddle boat while I walked with a wagon of gear with the other kid. Everything was super easy and made our vacation so relaxing. The drive downtown was also easy and quick when we needed something or wanted to explore. Heather is incredibly nice and great to communicate with. She was available when we had questions, quick to respond, and refunded our security deposit right away. She even texted me a picture of a baby doll our daughter left to see if she was missed and then mailed her home! My husband is already thinking about planning our vacation for next year...we would definitely stay at this home again.

Date of Stay: June 2014
Date Submitted: November 2016
Esther T
Brookline, Mass
(Homeowner Entered)

John and I were recommended this home by Bernard, who had come here last year. But even that did not prepare us for just how fantastic it would be. From the moment we stepped into the house after a long journey of 14 hours from England, we knew it was just perfect for us. It was so welcoming, clean and well equipped. Nice and secluded just like my john likes it. That first morning was amazing. We had a sail in the boat, john caught two fish( although we couldn't eat those) We had breakfast looking out over the lake and then the sun came out. I love cooking, so the kitchen and BBQ were well used. We particularly loved the location, so close to Chatham, and the great stop and shop, and of course the liquor store for champagne to celebrate our anniversary. It was sad to leave!

Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: November 2016
Janette M
England
(Homeowner Entered)

My wife and I stayed here for a week as part of a holiday to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We chose this house after being really impressed with the photos and the video - the reality is even better. The house is immaculately clean, well presented and is equipped with everything you could wish for. It is located right at the edge of the lake in an incredibly tranquil setting but is also only minutes away from Chatham and is well located for reaching just about everywhere on the Cape. It seems that late September is a wonderful time to visit too, it was much quieter than when we previously visited in August and we had the most fabulous weather. The owner is an absolute treasure, she was quick to respond to requests for information and gave great advice about places to visit. She also helped us with a problem we had later in our holiday. It was not connected with our stay in Chatham and she had absolutely no need to get involved but she did and we were so pleased that she tried to help.

Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: November 2016
Bernard N
England
(Homeowner Entered)

A fantastic holiday stay nestled between the forest with direct lake access and the use of 3 boats in which the children made good use of.A peaceful stay with only the birds to disturb you and even had a small beach to visit just around the corner.Property was v clean on arrival and excellent kitchen facilities especially loved the huge fridge.Chatham is a charming holiday town with upmarket shops and restaurants and loads of stunning beaches to visit .

Date of Stay: August 2013
Date Submitted: November 2016
Ruth w
Baltimore, Maryland
(Homeowner Entered)

My husband and I spent a week in June at this rental in Chatham. What a find! The property is private and directly on a beautiful pond. The house was clean with new appliances and had everything we needed. The owners couldn't have been nicer. It was a great way to celebrate our anniversary.EditDelete

Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: November 2016
Chris S
Seattle, Washington
(Homeowner Entered)

For two Bostonians, my wife and I, this was the perfect summer getaway. We woke up every morning to warm sunlight and chirping birds. We had our coffee outside on the wrap around deck overlooking the quiet pond. You'd think you were miles from civilization, but in a very short drive you can see all that Chatham has to offer. When our friends came to visit there was more than enough room for them. Everything in the home's description is accurate and the property was very clean upon our arrival. The owner was very easy to work with and I would certainly recommend this rental to anyone.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: November 2016
Nick B
Boston, Mass
(Homeowner Entered)