Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Spacious 1700s Home with A/C - Close to Paine’s Creek Beach
West Brewster Vacation Rental - ID 12721

4 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 1 king, 2 queens, 2 twins
Beach: 1 mile to Paines Creek beach
Guest Reviews: 28 reviews
Time active: 11 years, 6 months
Contact details:
  Email Christy Johnson
Contact Christy Johnson, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (919) 357-7345 (Christy Johnson).
Please mention Property ID# 12721 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
28 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Classic vacation home any time of the year

I just got back from a midwinter stay at this home. The house is fully winterized, so it was warm and cozy though the weather dropped down to 10 degrees or less at night.

This is one half of a large colonial house that has been modernized over the years. The half I stayed in is independent, however, and you are not aware of the owners who occupy the other side of the house -- unless you need them for any problem that may occur.

It is within walking distance of the famous Brewster Grist Mill and Herring Run, and a short drive from the beach at Paine's Creek.

I can't wait to come back again.

Date of Stay: January 2018
Date Submitted: January 2018
Grass Valley, CA
Member since Jan 2018
Fabulous Cape house!

We have stayed in this house several times, and it's a treasure. The owners can tell you the story of the house - it's about 300 years old and has fascinating nooks and crannies to explore. They've also done a wonderful job decorating it in keeping with its age, but in ways that are functional and satisfying to modern tastes. I particularly like the quilts and high quality sheets. The kitchen is also well-outfitted for cooking, with enough plates, cups, pots, etc., to feed a small army (there are enough beds for that, too!).

The home is in a good location for exploring the area, especially frequent jaunts to Paine's Creek. The yard is beautiful and quiet, and we've gotten good mileage from the hammock and wood tables for eating outside. There's a screened-in porch for buggy or rainy days.

Can't recommend it highly enough!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: December 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Buffalo, NY
Member since Jan 2018
One of a kind

I love staying at this house! I never seen anything like it: character, cape-ness, comfortable, wonderful yard, great beaches nearby. So many books - you can tell the owners are readers. The kitchen and dining room are perfect for eating good food with good conversations. Looking forward to my next visit!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Buffalo, NY
Member since Jan 2018
Comfortable, Convenient and Relaxing

This house is a great place to unwind and get away from it all - without getting too far off the beaten path. It is a fun, funky and sprawling home with many interesting features like the hand-hewn, exposed beam ceiling and a beehive fireplace in the kitchen/dining area. The grounds are large and perfect for kids to run around and parents to lounge. And, while it feels really isolated, it's actually really close to the bay, Brewster village and the highway, so you can get other places quickly.

Accuracy of listing:
Experience with homeowner:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Raleigh, NC
Member since Jan 2018
Brooke

Just stayed at this property with my family for a week, and it was SO relaxing! Beautiful old home with comfy beds and some serious character. Quaint! Lovely! Wanted to move in! The outdoor shower was a hit. And there was plenty of room at the table for 6 of us. Great trip and I'd highly recommend it. And possibly might return again next year! Thank you!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
San Francisco, CA
Member since Apr 2016
Great Vacation Home!

Our stay at this home was more than we anticipated. Clean, well kept and plenty of room for our party. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals. The dining room was very spacious and comfortable. The bedrooms were quiet and peaceful for anyone who wanted to nap or have a some quiet time during the day. The yard was very peaceful and secluded. We spent most of our time at the table under the beautiful tree. We would definitely use this house again, and highly recommend this vacation house to everyone.

The Fishbeck Family

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Saint Louis, MO
Member since Jul 2016
Perfect Cape getaway!

Perfect autumn getaway on the Cape shared by three old college friends despite inclement weather and threats of a hurricane. Handy location for visiting favorite sites like Nauset Beach, Coast Guard Station, Wellfleet, and Provincetown. Cape Cod Natural History Museum is just up the road as are many fine restaurants. Plenty of good reading for spare moments and well equipped kitchen for culinary exploration. Wonderful spot! Can't wait to get back again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: October 2015
Columbia, MD
Member since Oct 2015
Wonderful!

This is a house that makes you feel totally at home the minute you enter. It is historic and yet incredibly comfortable, with everything you could want or need.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Great Barrington, MA
Member since Jun 2015
Laid back, old Cape Cod charm. . .

My significant lady and I stayed in this lovely old home over the past Memorial Day weekend. The weather was glorious as was the reception we got from our hosts, Peter and Ellie. Their home is large, comfortable, and divided in half which meant that "our side" and "our yard" were entirely private. The home is secluded and quiet, but close to the Brewster flats where we spent endless hours exploring the tidal pools. And where we got engaged that very weekend, which of course we attribute, at least in part, to the sweet effect of the Johnson homestead.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: June 2015
Boca Raton, FL
Member since Jun 2015
spacious historic property

Wonderful old farmhouse, filled with enough books to make many libraries jealous! Great for large family groups (4 BR) and close enough to rte 6A for access both East & West - galleries, museums, bay side beaches. Huge yard, large ass't of beach needs (chairs, etc). We look forward to many more visits!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2014
Date Submitted: June 2015
Wilbraham, MA
Member since Jun 2015
One of our favorite places!

We have been here twice in the last few years and LOVE this place! The house is beautiful--spacious, historic, lots of character. Our family of seven was very comfortable. And the location is amazing. In addition to Paines Creek, which is just down the road, we used the house to launch outings and adventures to Nickerson State Park, Nauset Beach, even Woods Hole Hole and Martha's Vineyard. Hiking, biking, kayaking. On a rainy day, the Cape Cod Museum of Natural History is nearby (and if it's not raining, it's still nearby). Closer still are the thousands of books to explore on the bookshelves of the house! Overall, a fantastic family getaway.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2013
Date Submitted: July 2013
Ithaca, NY
Member since Jul 2013

"Thanks so much for allowing us to stay in your home which has so much character! So many interesting books too! Our special memories were created with daily trips to Paines Creek beach.... :-)"

Date of Stay: August 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Ash S
New York, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"Wonderful place, fantastic time!!"

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: March 2015
Amy B
Southampton, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you so much for the beautiful house for the week. It was a perfect accommodation for all of us.... PS - enjoyed all of the libraries in the house!"

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: March 2015
Leanna A
Albany, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

"What a terrific house! We enjoyed our stay.... It was a great pleasure to stay in such a wonderful historical house and with a modern kitchen."

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: March 2015
Bonnie G
Pikesville, MD
(Homeowner Entered)

"Wonderful accommodations. It really feels like home away from home. Our family had an awesome time on the Cape and look forward to returning here again soon."

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: December 2010
Dennis Z
New York
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you so much for the wonderful week in your charming farmhouse. Our family was so comfortable here - it is so well equipped. My grandchildren thought they were in Disneyland when they opened the closet full of toys! Thank you for thinking of everything to make our stay so enjoyable."

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: January 2011
Annette Z
NJ
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had the most super-duper time and can't wait to do it again."

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: January 2011
Jennifer P
CA
(Homeowner Entered)

"We had an incredible 3 weeks. Weather cooperated for the most part. It's amazing how this house has come to define our year. It has become so special to us. We look forward eagerly to our return next year."

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: January 2011
Cynthia R
MA
(Homeowner Entered)

"Our favorite week in the summer is over, but we enjoyed relaxing and reading in the yard as usual."

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: January 2011
Carolyn G
PA
(Homeowner Entered)

"You have a home full of history. Thanks for letting us enjoy it."

Date of Stay: November 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Chris M
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

"Once again we have had an outstanding time… and it’s difficult to say good-bye to our favorite home away from home. Everything was just perfect about the house. It has everything we could possibly need, and more."

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Michele P
New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you for a great vacation. Your home is lovely and we had one of the best stays ever."

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
C W
Massachusetts
(Homeowner Entered)

"What an experience. We had a wonderful time here at your beautiful farmhouse. Taking showers under the stars, sitting under the beautiful tree, cooking in your grand kitchen."

Date of Stay: July 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Christine K
, Switzerland
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you so much! You have made everything perfect with the comforts of home."

Date of Stay: May 2008
Date Submitted: April 2009
Jason T
District of Colombia
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thanks for the opportunity to stay in this historic house!"

Date of Stay: August 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Mark T
California
(Homeowner Entered)

"Thank you for the wonderful time. This has been one of the most memorable vacations of our lives… in a wonderful surrounding."

Date of Stay: August 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Rudi F
, Germany
(Homeowner Entered)

"Your home helped to make our trip to Cape Cod this year the best one yet. Brewster is our new favorite spot."

Date of Stay: July 2007
Date Submitted: April 2009
Jim L
Washington
(Homeowner Entered)