Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Gracious, Spacious home half-mile to Pleasant Bay beaches
Chatham Vacation Rental - ID 13546

4 BR
3 baths
Sleeps 8
Beds: 4 BRs: 3 queens, 2 twins, queen sleep sofa in family room
Beach: 1/2 mile to Jackknife Beach;2 miles to South Beach
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 10 years, 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Susan Mitchel
Contact Susan Mitchel, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (603) 284-7768 (home), (603) 494-0895 (Mobile).
Please mention Property ID# 13546 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Wonderful week in Chatham!!

We just finished a week long stay in Chatham with our family, and I can't speak highly enough about the beautiful house, location and overall time we had. From the minute we pulled in, we knew we would love this house. The kitchen is gorgeous with plenty of cabinet/counter space and great appliances. We ate dinner outside, and enjoyed the nice patio and yard (and the mother/baby bunny that visits). The neighborhood is great for walking about, and the yard was in fabulous shape. My two little ones had a great time running around and playing. The house was extremely clean, and we loved having the linens/towels there for us to use. I don't have any complaints except that we wish we could have stayed longer!! We can't wait to return. i would recommend this house to anyone looking for a great rental.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: August 2017
Owner Response:

Hello Amy.
What a lovely review - we thank you so much! I'm happy to schedule you in anytime you say for 2018 and hope you could do 2 weeks! Labor Day week is considered "Shoulder Season" and a lower rate if that would fit with your schedule. The July 4 week is at the "In Season" rate and anyone who books before the first of the next year gets this year's rates (I might not be changing them anyway).
We'd love to have you return!
Susan

Bedford, NH
Member since Mar 2014
Perfect Setting

This is a truly wonderful home in a perfect setting and an ideal location. The pictures do not sufficiently reflect the great spaces and comfortable surroundings. Everything one needs for a peaceful retreat or a non-stop vacation is at your fingertips.

There are beach towels, umbrellas and chairs, as well as sand toys and lawn chairs. There are puzzles and books and loads of information on things to do in the Cape. There is privacy and there is plenty of room for gathering.

Susan's home is beautifully decorated, impeccably maintained and in a lovely neighborhood. It is convenient to local beaches and the village of Chatham, yet only a short drive to the National Seashore.

In planning our stay, Susan was very accessible and responsive.

This is the quintessential Cape Cod vacation home, complete with an outstanding outdoor shower.
Thank you for an exceptional experience.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: September 2016
Member since May 2014
Best vacation ever

We are a family of four (two girls ages 4 and 7) from central Massachusetts and were joined by my parents and sister from Canada who stayed for four days. This beautiful home was perfect to accommodate all of us. The house is spotless and the kitchen is amazing. The outdoor area is beautifully landscaped and was a great place to relax after a day at the beach. We used the grill almost daily to cook the fresh fish we bought from the local fish market.

The house is in a great location, close to downtown Chatham, grocery store and the Old Schoolhouse ice cream shop (which has soft serve for those with nut allergies). We enjoyed Hardings Beach (a short 10 minute drive from the home), but Corporation Beach on the bay side in Dennis (25 minutes away) was our favorite with calm water for swimming and tide pools for collecting hermit crabs. We also enjoyed a trip to the Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary where we caught fiddler and hermit crabs on the guided seashore ramble. We even managed to find time for tie-dye Wednesday at the First Congregational Church in Chatham.

The entire family agreed it was the best vacation ever, and Susan and Kent's beautiful and comfortable home made it even better. We can't wait to come back.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Owner Response:

Thank you, Beth, for such a glowing review. It is not only helpful to know what makes the house a good rental, but you provided wonderful ideas for what to do and how to have fun on the Cape.
Well done!
Susan

Member since Jun 2016
Family Wedding

We rented this magnificent home for our daughter's wedding. The owner could not have been more welcoming, and the house was more beautiful than the pictures would suggest. Our eldest daughter was married from this home and it will be a part of wonderful memories forever.

Thanks, Susan and Kent.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: April 2016
Date Submitted: April 2016
Member since May 2015
Our Family Vacation

We are a family of 4 with 2 girls ages 7 and 9 from outside of Boston. We had a wonderful stay at your house. We were very comfortably setup (more than enough space) for sleeping, cooking, hanging out putting together puzzles (yes, we finished the 1000 piece baseball puzzle!). The central air and the living room music system were great as well as your helpful binder full of suggestions and info.

My mom came to stay one night and couldn't stop complimenting on the property, inside and outside. She adored your home for all the thoughtful details and care you put into it.

Your house is conveniently located, 10 mins to Chatham center, which is so pretty and has everything a family needs - many restaurants, cute shops, art sales on the lawn, and the gorgeous views by the Inn! We went to Ridgevale and Nauset beaches as well as couple of ponds (Goosebeck is a hidden gem). We had fun biking on the rail trail, go-cart racing, and fishing at the pond as well.

Thank you, Susan! We had a great time!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Owner Response:

How lovely to hear from you, Joona! So glad you and your family had such a good visit together and all was satisfactory. We welcome you back anytime!
Susan

Needham, MA
Member since May 2007
Perfect place to stay

This house is perfectly stocked, and there was everything that we could hope for. The kitchen had everything, plenty of towels and beach stuff too. The house was in great condition, and the yard was very spacious. The only slight downside was: 1) 2 out of the 4 bedrooms were tiny, 2) any running around in the upstairs could be heard by all. Very slight things and would stay again regardless

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: July 2015
River Edge, NJ
Member since Jul 2015
Great Vacation!

Our family enjoyed a great vacation at this lovely home. You can tell the difference between rental properties that are just for investment and those where the owners spend time. This property really has just about everything you could need. We, along with our two adult daughters, spouses and 18mo old grandson enjoyed being able to spread out in the spacious house and yard. The yard is peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed seeing bunnies and a family of wild turkeys crossing the grass. The outdoor shower is a special extra. Our guys had several rousing Ping-Pong tournaments. We had a nice hike on Monomoy Island, and enjoyed the National Seashore, Jackknife and Children's beaches in Chatham. The town is great and we loved the Chatham Pier where we saw the fishermen unloading their catch and seals swimming close by in hopes of a treat! We ate well enjoying local scallops and crab cakes we cooked at the house. We grilled several times on the nice gas grill, and enjoyed a fabulous meal at Buca's. Susan and Kent are easy to work with. We had a little problem with the air-conditioning. They had a serviceman at the house within a day and the problem was taken care of promptly.

We were sad to leave, but hope we are able to visit again.

Katie and Don

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2014
Date Submitted: August 2014
Rush, NY
Member since Jan 2014
Wonderful week in the perfect Chatham house

We searched for a home to accommodate us and our adult kids for a family reunion of sorts, and this home proved to be the perfect center of operations for our wonderful week on the Cape. Many a laugh-filled cocktail hour was spent on the patio watching the birds and other creatures at the feeders. We especially enjoyed the well-equipped kitchen for whipping up meals to eat at home -- our lobster feed was most memorable -- as well as picnics to take to the beach. We journeyed to P-town for dinner one night and had a couple of great meals at the Chatham Squire. Especially enjoyed the boat trip to Monomoy to check out the seals and to the beautiful National Seashore beaches -- Nauset Light and Coast Guard. We didn't really want for anything -- even beach towels were provided. We look forward to returning to this home.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Marietta, GA
Member since Apr 2013
Lovely home

Our family rented this beautiful home in Chatham in July 2013 and we were extremely pleased with the house. The house was exceptionally clean and had lovely furnishings, and had all the amenities you could possibly ask for! Susan was a pleasure to deal with as well. I would highly recommend this home as a fun, family summer getaway! Five stars :-)

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2013
Date Submitted: November 2013
Plantsville, CT
Member since Feb 2012

Wonderful to return from last year - feels like home. We reveled in the attractive enlarged backyard with all its flowers and the cozy and spacious living room.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: June 2010
Rich and Blythe E
Arizona
(Homeowner Entered)

I wish our front yard was as big as yours. Cooper liked the bunnies in the bushes. He named one of them Peanut. We tried 2 feed Peanut carrots. (It didn't work very well.)

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: June 2010
Anna Kate G
(Homeowner Entered)