This was our second time renting this cottage. The location is great for us, there was a path to the bike trail, and the cottage was so clean and comfortable. This year when we went the trail to the bike trail was closed off. So we had to ride on the main road to access the bike trail. When we first walked into the cottage, the smell of mold was so overwhelming that we were going to leave, but we couldn’t afford to go anywhere else for the two weeks. We tried all we could do to air the house out. Luckily, the weather was nice enough to open the windows, so we could breathe, but it sill wasn’t enough. I developed a cough that didn’t go away until a week after we left. I have never been in a place that smelled so bad. Unfortunately, we will not be going back. The owners are very nice and were easy to work with. I’m just sorry we can’t go back.
We are very happy that you liked our cottage so much that you booked a 2 week stay last year. We always have positive feedback from our guests. We have rented the cottage for 20+ years and have had guests that return year after year. The cottage is clean, and we are reasonable to work with as you say. We thank you for the compliment.
We are so sorry that you had a cough that developed during your stay and beyond. We are taken by surprise and so disappointed you did not let us know you were experiencing a problem. We do take very good care of the cottage and have it cleaned between each tenant. We did not have any other complaints all season including no mention of it from the guests immediately before or after you. In fact, two of those guests who have also stayed multiple times left very favorable reviews. Needless to say, we would have tried to do whatever possible to try to rectify the situation or help you find other accommodations within our community or elsewhere.
Also, I would like to respond to your other comment about the closure of the shortcut so that you know a little bit of the background. The shortcut path to the bike trail that we enjoyed for several years is located on the private property of our neighbor. Last year, the neighbor decided to not allow access and closed it off. Unfortunately, it is beyond our control and we are very sorry it did not live up to your prior experience. It was nice to have while it lasted, and believe me, our community did try to convince the neighbor otherwise including paying him an annual sum to continue to use it, but we were unsuccessful.
So, there is a short distance to travel along a sidewalk on a busy road, but other than that, we are glad our cottage location is still convenient to the bike trail. People can, as many do, load their bikes on to their cars and park next to the trail if there are any further concerns. We have so many happy and returning guests that see the charm and value in our property. We think that all of the other amenities that our cottage offers such as the pool, pond, playground and tennis court outweigh the minor inconvenience of a slightly longer route to the bike trail.
In closing, we truly hope your next stay on the Cape is a pleasurable one.