Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Whispering Pines - Beach Freshwater Pond, Pool, Tennis etc.
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 15738

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 2 twins, hi-riser/trundle daybed
Beach: ~500 feet to beautiful, private swimming & fishing
Guest Reviews: 11 reviews
Time active: 3 years, 4 months
Contact details:
  Email Jennifer Cullen
Contact Jennifer Cullen, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (516) 835-1553 (call or text message).
Please mention Property ID# 15738 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
11 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Another great vacation

We've enjoyed many vacations at this charming little cottage over the years and love going back in September when the crowds are gone. The grounds are peaceful and the people friendly. The cottage is always clean, the beds comfortable, and the kitchen has everything we need. Love the convenient outdoor shower and the hammock and fire pit. When we’re not relaxing, there is always so much to do—swimming and sunbathing at the pool or down at the pond, going to the ocean and bay beaches, bike riding, antique shopping, the Christmas Tree Shop, and whale watching tours from Provincetown. When the weather isn’t great, there is always the movie theater and Pizza Barn for some gaming. There are also many good restaurants to try. We are looking forward to another stay soon.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: May 2018
Garden City, NY
Member since May 2018
Renter

This was our second time renting this cottage. The location is great for us, there was a path to the bike trail, and the cottage was so clean and comfortable. This year when we went the trail to the bike trail was closed off. So we had to ride on the main road to access the bike trail. When we first walked into the cottage, the smell of mold was so overwhelming that we were going to leave, but we couldn’t afford to go anywhere else for the two weeks. We tried all we could do to air the house out. Luckily, the weather was nice enough to open the windows, so we could breathe, but it sill wasn’t enough. I developed a cough that didn’t go away until a week after we left. I have never been in a place that smelled so bad. Unfortunately, we will not be going back. The owners are very nice and were easy to work with. I’m just sorry we can’t go back.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Owner Response:

Christine,
We are very happy that you liked our cottage so much that you booked a 2 week stay last year. We always have positive feedback from our guests. We have rented the cottage for 20+ years and have had guests that return year after year. The cottage is clean, and we are reasonable to work with as you say. We thank you for the compliment.

We are so sorry that you had a cough that developed during your stay and beyond. We are taken by surprise and so disappointed you did not let us know you were experiencing a problem. We do take very good care of the cottage and have it cleaned between each tenant. We did not have any other complaints all season including no mention of it from the guests immediately before or after you. In fact, two of those guests who have also stayed multiple times left very favorable reviews. Needless to say, we would have tried to do whatever possible to try to rectify the situation or help you find other accommodations within our community or elsewhere.

Also, I would like to respond to your other comment about the closure of the shortcut so that you know a little bit of the background. The shortcut path to the bike trail that we enjoyed for several years is located on the private property of our neighbor. Last year, the neighbor decided to not allow access and closed it off. Unfortunately, it is beyond our control and we are very sorry it did not live up to your prior experience. It was nice to have while it lasted, and believe me, our community did try to convince the neighbor otherwise including paying him an annual sum to continue to use it, but we were unsuccessful.

So, there is a short distance to travel along a sidewalk on a busy road, but other than that, we are glad our cottage location is still convenient to the bike trail. People can, as many do, load their bikes on to their cars and park next to the trail if there are any further concerns. We have so many happy and returning guests that see the charm and value in our property. We think that all of the other amenities that our cottage offers such as the pool, pond, playground and tennis court outweigh the minor inconvenience of a slightly longer route to the bike trail.

In closing, we truly hope your next stay on the Cape is a pleasurable one.

Torrington, CT
Member since Jul 2015
A week in paradise

Quiet, restful location! Pleasant surroundings with trees providing shade and beauty. Hammock is the experience my daughter talks about all year long! Neighbors are within sight but we still have privacy. Comfortable beds make for a good night's sleep! Pleasant dining in the large dining room with screened windows looking out on the yard. Easy access to great restaurants and beautiful, scenic views and beaches. Great experience both times we stayed!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Columbus, OH
Member since May 2015
Loved it!

Awesome cottage, super clean, well maintained and all needs well provided for. Lots to do and great location. Swam, biked , ate a lot of great seafood and ice cream , and enjoyed every minute. The perfect spot to unwind and go home relaxed. Owner could not have been more friendly or helpful. Will be back again for sure!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: May 2018
Port Washington, NY
Member since May 2018
Fabulous Time in Cape Cod

We rented this cottage last summer and had a fabulous time. The accommodations were very clean, cozy and comfortable. The updated bathroom was lovely. Everything that we could possibly need was provided. Loved the porch for eating our meals and relaxing. The fire pit was our favorite nighttime activity and we made use of the outdoor shower after coming in from the beach. The bay and the ocean were just a short distance from Whispering Pines. We are looking forward to renting this cottage again and again.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: May 2018
Albrightsville, PA
Member since May 2018
Love this cottage

We loved everything about this cottage in Whispering Pines. Most of our time when not at the beaches was spent on the huge screened in porch. The whole cottage is spotless and extremely well kept. Having both the pond and pool as options is a wonderful bonus. The patio with fire pit was a big hit for the kids after dinner for s’mores. Wonderful!!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: May 2018
Simsbury, CT
Member since May 2012
Wonderful week at the Cape

Wonderful week at the cottage in Whispering Pines! The cottage was a perfect getaway with children - the neighborhood is quiet, no speeding cars, plenty of room for kids to run and play. The cottage was stocked with everything we needed and very clean!! The location is convenient to grocery shopping, beaches, bike trail, and restaurants. Looking forward to a return visit in the future!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: January 2013
Member since Apr 2007

What a wonderful vacation home! Very clean with everything you need for a week at the Cape. The outdoor patio table with the built in fire pit was my favorite! Whispering Pines is a great, kid friendly community with many activities to keep the kids busy while maximizing the adult relaxing time! My kids really enjoy being able to swim in both the pool and the pond. Trips to the beach are easy and having access to both the bayside and ocean side is fantastic! Last summer we biked the rail trail to cahoon hollow beach which was a family favorite! Thanks for the opportunity to rent your cottage. We will definitely be back each summer!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: April 2012
Auburn, MA
Member since Feb 2011

Mr. and Mrs. Cullen

Today is our last full day of vacation. We have enjoyed your cottage this past week. We only had one day of bad weather and that was only for a few hours. Other than that, it has been an enjoyable vacation. Were planning to go back to the beach today before starting to pack. Thank you for the recommendations for things to do and also for restaurants.
We had a wonderful time on the a whale watching trip. They said we would have a hard time topping the day. The whole family went fishing almost every day at the pond.
The cottage was very cozy and perfect for our family. Just the right size. Enjoyed the setting. We live in the country so it was pretty homey. Everyone was really friendly.
We hope to be able to rent the cottage again.
Thank you very much,
The T Family

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: March 2012
Robin T
Erie, PA
(Homeowner Entered)

This is a great cottage, well kept, clean and it has everything you need. It has a small kitchen, but very well equiped down to the wine glasses! The eating area on the porch is wonderful. The location has its own pond and is close to rail trail, Coast Guard beach, restuarants (did need to go a little farther for the trips to Moby Dicks in Wellfleet!), Salt Pond Visitors Center and Nausett Ice Cream (the BEST!). The homeowners were great to work with and very helpful.

Date of Stay: September 2009
Date Submitted: September 2009
Wilmington, DE
Member since May 2009
Cherished family memories

We rented this cottage for many years, beginning from the port o criib days up to and beyond college. The community is lovely with a small but really fun pool, easy access tennis and basketball court, and pretty pond to walk to and observe nature. The hammock under the pines is a favorite place to relax. Location is great: close to a choice of beaches and the town of Orleans. We love the Cape League baseball games. Cottage is basic, clean, and cozy. Well maintained. Drawback as with much of the Cape is route 6 traffic. Owners are very attentive.

Date of Stay: July 2002
Date Submitted: April 2018
Port Washington, NY
Member since Apr 2011