Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Cottage in the Pines, Loved for its History and Charm
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 15950

3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 3 BRs: 1 king, 4 twins, Sofa bed - lower level
Beach: 0.5 mile to Great Pond; minutes to bay and ocean
Guest Reviews: 14 reviews
Time active: 4 years
Contact details:
  Email Barbara Weber
Contact Barbara Weber, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (508) 255-0272.
Please mention Property ID# 15950 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
14 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Cottage in the Pines

I just returned home from my 8th summer vacation at this lovely cottage. It is in a quiet neighborhood but still close to everything! It has everything that we need for comfort and relaxation. The owners have been very accommodating, always asking for suggestions and inquiring about our needs! It is like returning home each summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Norwich, CT
Member since Jul 2017
Cabin in the pines ?? ????

We rented the cabin for the week of the Fourth of July . The home was clean and provided the things we needed for the week. I was very disappointed that the home was advertised as having AC units, and it did not have AC. I contacted the owner and told her we would not have rented had I known there was no air conditioning and questioned why it was advertised as having AC. Barbara told me they had three Dyson fans and that they would cool the home so we would be comfortable. It was unbearable for three of the seven days. We could not use the stove because it would make it even hotter. The home owner called to check if it was cooler in the home and I again told her it was very hot. I suffer from migraines and when it is extremely hot it triggers the headaches and that is why I would have never rented if I would have known it had fans and not AC. If you do not require AC to be comfortable the cabin is nice and it would be great, if you require AC I would not recommend the home. I was very disappointed ?? and I feel like we should have been informed that the home didn't have AC and when we contacted the owner we should have had the opportunity to get a refund to a hotel . I hope the owner will list the home as having fans because if someone has health issues it isn't fair to be miserable on vacation.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Owner Response:

I am very sorry to learn from this review that our recent guest at Cottage in the Pines did not enjoy their stay 100% because of an unfortunate misunderstanding that the cottage provided air conditioning. We do provide plenty of both fans and heaters for all rooms to accommodate any weather conditions from May-October. In addition, we provide several Dyson air cooling and heating units that are thermostatically controlled to go from 32-99 degrees F. Many of our customers have been so impressed with their performance that they have gone home and purchased them for their own homes. In 20 years of renting, no customer has ever complained of being either too hot or too cold. I have deleted the amenity “air conditioning units” from my listing because I know now that the Dyson fans are air cooling units, not air conditioners.

Due to a cancellation, this recent rental occurred at the last minute and was offered at a special price reduction of 40%. The customer asked if we would install window air conditioners for them. We explained that we had learned from previous investigations it was not possible due to the age and size of the windows. The customer did not make any other requests from us during their stay regarding what she states in her review that she wished we had done; i.e. refund her money, pay for a hotel, etc; nor did she take us up on our offer to buy additional fans.

Customarily, summer cottages on the Cape are not air conditioned due to the period and type of construction when built. Our usual guests come to enjoy the quintessential Cape cottage experience. We strive to provide everything possible that a guest might need or want to have a wonderful, relaxing and memorable vacation. Unfortunately, in this case, the customer was not satisfied and for that I am truly sorry.

I do hope this one experience does not dissuade others from being guests at Cottage in the Pines. We do everything within our abilities to make it a vacation that will bring you back again and again. Come! Get sand in your shoes and enjoy! We look forward to welcoming you.

Member since Jun 2017

Dear Barb & Ed,
Thank you for a lovely time at the cottage! It's so cozy and relaxing - even though it rained all weekend, we were happy to chill out in this quiet place in the trees. The heaters and blankets kept us plenty warm, and the kitchen was perfect for making a lazy Saturday breakfast! What a great way to unwind away from the city. We look forward to coming back! L&A

Dear M&D,
What concierge service! Thank you so much for a wonderful long weekend @ #2 (a.k.a. Cottage in the Pines)! Even though it rained all weekend, we had everything we needed to have a fab weekend - good friends, good food, good drink and a quiet, peaceful scenic location. The rain forced us to be lazy & relaxed and not run around. Just what we all needed
We will definitely be back!!! ( Can you handle it? lol! )
Much love, D, A, &L

Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
L&A M
Brighton, Ma
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear Bar & Ed,
Thank you for your hospitality and the privilege of staying at the Cottahe in the Pines:). This place feels like home and is always hard to leave. The weather was perfect - one rainy day which was terribly needed. We did some new things and ate at new places: The Knack ( small restaurant in Orleans ( great fish sandwich), and a place in Marion. Brewster Fishhouse was the best find - poached cod with Portuguese spices with potato, stuffed clams, swordfish with great salsa. We visited Nantucket...pleasant but a bit pricey; returned to Provincetown - ate at Bubila's - great! Of course, we sat on the beach, did some biking, and had fun watching the seals swim under the docks at Chatham Fish Pier. They were very entertaining!
I spent the better part of a rainy day in Orleans at Westies (love the shoes!), at Snows ( they have everything -Christmas things out already! ) And last, but not least, we visited the Pirate Museum in N. Yarmouth - very worthwhile and fascinating! I did not know that a Pirate ship sunk off Welfleet, and that the treasure continues to be excavated!!! - after 300 years!!! We also loved the Coast Guard Rescue Boat at Rock Harbor that made a famous save in 1951, the subject of a current movie. ( The Finest Hours).

Our two weeks were filled, and we are both much richer from what we saw and learned, not to mention, a bit heavier after all the fried scallops we consumed at Arnold's). We hope to see you in September 2017 and wish you a wonderful Fall and peaceful start to 2017. Best of Health!
PS. I read, The Inevitable Guest from your book collection. I laughed so hard I thought I would be banned from the beach! What a find! I picked up a copy at the bookstore in town??


Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Janet L
Topsham, Maine
(Homeowner Entered)

Our first week was a hoot, Ron and david flew in from Santa Fe to celebrate Ron's 50th - Jessica made a feast while Luke and Bill tried to shuck oysters. Bowie & Alasdair loved the Whale Watch! Head of the Medow was beautiful- meteor shower on the beach - good company at least. Good Thai in Orleans, delicious cake, Olympics on TV. Excited for week two and a new cast of characters. Luke
Aug. 13-20 - Dear Barb & Ed,
Our second week here was action packed visiting friends on Skatet Beach & Aquinnan MV. We love Head of the Meadow Beach the best! We truly made fantastic memories in Cottage in the Pines and look forward to returning. ( The only thing I wish was that the outside shower was enclosed., but Luke didn't mind giving tha neighbors a show:. Ha!
The cottage has such good energy and we always have so much fun here. Here to many more fantastic summers!!! ( Karoo Cafe was fantastic!!! ) J, J, B, & A
Barb & Ed, Thanks for being fantastic and caring hosts! P S. We are gifting Luke's Huffy Cruiser for next time!

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Luke P
Kingston, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

July 30, 2016
Lovely! We all had a wonderful vacation in this cottage! Everything was so close to enjoy. We especially enjoyed being right on the bike trail. We had great fun at Marconi Beach- the waves were incredible and we saw many seals late in the day. Star gazing at 10:00PM on First Encounter Beach was a memorable family and friends experience. Until next time....

Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
John P
Watertown, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

"It is hard to believe that this week at Cottage in the Pines is over so quickly! I've been anxiously planning since the end of our last visit in 2015. Even though we are very familiar with Cape Cod sights, it's like returning to our second home. We had a wonderful time at Coast Guard Beach, swimming, bookie- boarding for the girls, relaxing for us " old folks," and even seeing playful seals and whales in the distance,
There is always too much food to experience..lobsters at Arnold's, Thai food, African food, the Chocolate Sparrow, The Lanyard...just to mention our favorites. No room for diets down here!! On the extra hot days, we would end our adventures with a dip in the pond(Great Pond), where the girls would float around on their blow-up donut, bagel and pretzel! So relaxing! We had a lovely visit to Truro Wineary: tasty and beautiful, followed by a shopping trip to Atlantic Spice Company.
Mark had a great time sailing this year. He said it's the best he has had on the Cape, ever! And, of course, our kayaking, thanks to you, was quite memorable in and around the grass to spy Great Blue Herons and Egrets settling in. On our final day, we drove 6A to search through local pottery shops. Many wonderful artists out there!
Thank you so much for welcoming us again! It was magical!
Love & Best Wishes from us all"
(Vacationers 5 th year)

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Karin H
Petersham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Dear barb & Ed,
We loved our stay at your wonderful Cottage in the Pines! Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality and especially all the baby equipment! We look forward to coming back next year!

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Louise E
Norwich, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

Barb and Ed,
Thank you for a lovely weekend at the Cottage in the Pines. The cottage has everything we needed so we didn't need to think about a thing - kitchenware, and a beautiful deck and a comfortable bed in a nice dark room. What more could we need! The cottage was perfect for fun w/ kids and for fun after they went to bed. We're looking forward to more fun times in Eastham.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Betsy C
(Homeowner Entered)

We had such a wonderful time at the cottage! Eastham and all of Cape Cod is so beautiful, and it felt great to start and end each day
Feeling like we were home. We enjoyed dining on the porch and cooking together in the kitchen and each night we would sit and chat while the radio played in the background. We love coming back here each year and see that nothing has changed! The weather was fantastic and we spent many days on the beach enjoying the sunshine. Thank you Barb and Ed for another wonderful stay!

Date of Stay: May 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Magda J
Bristol, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We loved our stay in this adorable little cottage! It feels like classic Cape Cod. Our family has lots of good memories of our time in the "red house", and are looking forward to coming back next summer

Date of Stay: September 2014
Date Submitted: April 2016
Alexandra H
(Homeowner Entered)

We rented the Cabin in the Pines for one week in August 2010 and two weeks in 2011. We have already booked two weeks for 2012. This lovely cabin is clean, extremely well equipped, and the most relaxing place to spend a vacation. It is centrally located and just minutes from the ocean, bay, bike trail, great restaurants, shopping and anything else that anyone could possibly desire.

The owners are warm, friendly people who cherish this cabin that has been part of their family for many years.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: April 2016
Paula M
(Homeowner Entered)

A charming cottage set in a lovely location (just far enough from the dreaded Route 6!). Great Pond is lovely and uncrowded (only 10 minutes walk away - if your going to park there you'll need a ticket $15 per day $50 a week). We found that there was no need to join the queues for the beach but make sure you take at least a peak at them when there's nobody there first thing in the morning.

Other great locations nearby include Chatham, Orleans, Wellfleet and the extraordinary Provincetown (definately take a whalewatch trip from here during the day and a peoplewatch trip in the evening!). Otherwise there's no need to travel far. Just use one of the bikes provided and explore either locally or via the Cape Cycle Path - it's all pretty flat so you don't need to be superfit.

Finally, don't miss out on the sunset either from Kingsbury Beach, First Encounter Beach or if you want it accompanied by a stel band, Rock Harbour - absolutely magical. Enjoy - wish we were there again (hopefully one day soon)

Date of Stay: July 2010
Date Submitted: April 2016
Stephen S
Brentwood, Essex, England
(Homeowner Entered)

At Cottage in the Pines in Eastham you will discover why Cape Cod is such a favorite vacation spot. . This comfy cottage is just minutes from the Cape Cod Seashore, both lake and ocean swimming, great shopping and fine or casual dining. We never miss the fried clams and steamed mussels, which are unsurpassed and easily available. Oh, and the bike trail is just a block away.

I think what is extra special about this cottage is that it has two separate areas. My husband and I slept in the large bedroom on the main floor, and our guests had privacy and additional comfort in the walkout space below. They had their own quiet bedroom with a bathroom and sitting area. I’m sure they enjoyed recovering there at the end of our busy days. I like my guests to be comfortable, and this arrangement seems perfect.

We love to cook and found the kitchen to be well supplied. A favorite part of the cottage was the spacious deck off the living room, which overlooked a picturesque, private back yard. For a true Cape Cod experience, you will find it at Cottage in the Pines where “the more things change, the more they stay the same!”

Date of Stay: August 2008
Date Submitted: April 2016
Chris P
Creswell, Oregon
(Homeowner Entered)