Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

On Campground Beach; Panoramic View of Cape Cod Bay
Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 19642

2 BR
1 bath
Sleeps 4
Beds: 2 BRs: 1 queen, 2 twins, Futon
Beach: 75 steps to family-friendly Campground Beach
Guest Reviews: 33 reviews
Time active: 5 years, 3 months
Contact details:
  Email Sue
Contact Sue, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (860) 918-3162.
Please mention Property ID# 19642 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
33 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review
Beach Cottage Perfection

Gorgeous cottage on Campground Beach. Exquisite in every way: the decor, the perfect outdoor shower, the sturdy rooftop deck with sensor lighting for the evening, screened-in porch, great comfy beds with good mattresses, high speed WiFi, clean, sunny and well-lit. And to top it off, beautiful landscaping complete with baby bunnies hopping around the front yard amid the flowers. Quick & easy access to the beach, plenty of beach gear, great location and still a sense of privacy as it’s tucked away among the trees and plants. The owner was accessible, helpful, responsive and kind. Highly recommended.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: June 2018
Stone Ridge, NY
Member since Mar 2014
Another "Blue Skies" escape.

This was our second trip to Blue Skies and was as relaxing as the first. A lot of thought and energy has been poured into this cottage and the result is a true "No Worries" escape. You will have everything you need.

Make sure you check out the Cape Cod Guide in the binder. Even if you've been to the Cape many times in the past, it is an excellent reference that is routinely updated.

See you in September!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: July 2018
Manchester, CT
Member since Sep 2016
A Wonderful, Well Appointed Cottage...

...not a scuzzy vacation “place to stay.” This was our first trip to Blue Skies on the Half Shell. It is, by far, the cleanest, best stocked cottage we have ever rented. We love to cook. There were pots and pans of many sizes, all with lids. All the window treatments were identical and worked well. The beds were comfortable and there were extra blankets. The owners provided a washer, dryer, and detergent for our use. The area is quiet and near the water. There is an upper, outside deck with chaises, chairs, and umbrellas. We spent hours and hours there talking, resting, and gazing at the water. After being out for the day, we looked forward to returning to the cottage, because it was so inviting. We can assure you that you will be pleasantly surprised if you choose to stay at Blue Skies.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: May 2018
Date Submitted: May 2018
Anchorage, AK
Member since May 2018
The perfect spot....

It's only January and I'm already dreaming of our return to Blue Skies on the Half Shell 9 months from now. This cottage is truly a corner of Heaven. I've come to think of it as a home away from home. The cottage is well equipped with just about everything one could need down to dryer sheets for your laundry. It's conveniently located near services, restaurants, and shops. The beach is just a few steps away and the neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. There is nothing to add to make this the perfect place for your family getaway!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Buffalo, NY
Member since Sep 2014

Beautiful, comfortable, relaxing place. Great weather. Thanks for the kayaking tips! See you again.

Date of Stay: October 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Steve & Elaine N
Manchester, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Our Stay by the Bay

We arrived from Naples, Florida, escaping Hurricane Irma to find a lovely, quiet spot in a beautiful, tiny cottage...We had a great time even though the weather did not exactly cooperate most of the time we were on the Cape...We visited with friends and went to a few of the local places...all good...Hope to return one day in the future...

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: October 2017
Naples, FL
Member since Oct 2016

Thank you for a MOST RELAXING week! My husband, my elderly mother and I were thrilled with the cottage. It had everything we needed and more! Thank you again for everything.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Jim & Ann M
Somers, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
Blue Skies

This was our third year coming to this beautiful place. It has everything you could possibly think of and is so convenient to walk a few steps back and forth to the beach. This place is immaculate, and Sue does an amazing job making sure that all needs are met. Our family expects to continue to come back for many years to come.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
United states
Member since Feb 2015

We enjoyed our 3rd stay here even more than out 1st and 2nd visit! Everything was perfect! This year we had a moonlight family walk at low tide that was really neat. Our twins experienced their first lobster dinner, we played a LOT of whiffle ball on the beach and watched a lot of Red Sox baseball and Little League World Series. And of course there was ice cream...daily! We are going to miss having our annual visit in 2018 but we have adventures awaiting us next summer in Alaska for a cruise and big birthday celebration. So we'll patiently count down the 720 days until our next beach vacation in 2019. We're off now to complete our shopping for 3rd grade school supplies and to get ready for the new school year. We're going to squeeze as much summer out of the next few weeks as possible before the chilly night of fall arrive! Until 2019, all our best!

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Chad & Ellen B
Ashland, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Ahhh! Two weeks with nothing to do but roll 'round heaven all day. Bike to The Landing for the paper just to see what's happening, then a walk down Bay Rd. to Gail's Way, then down the steps to the beach there, up the stone steps (nice railing - new), then back to Blue Skies for another day of walking the beach, floating at high tide, a great dinner and the best sunsets ever. So good.....

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Michael & Michele R
Cromwell, CT
(Homeowner Entered)
A little slice of heaven!

My husband had to drag me out by my ankles as I was kicking and screaming that it was time to leave. Well, ok, that was only in my mind but seriously this home is a little slice of heaven! Every detail is thoughtful, from the clamshell soap holder to the cork ceiling ( yup we left a few). This was my 50th trip to Cape Cod (my parents started this tradition in the early 50's). What started as a family of 3 has grown into a family of 32 and we all rent homes near Campground and go as a family.

My family was so jealous of our accommodations. It really is a spectacular place! Beautiful large outdoor shower, and the layout of the home is amazingly appointed with amenities and you can see how much effort our hosts put into making it stand out. We spent much time on the rooftop deck and the screened in porch. Thank you for sharing your amazing home with us!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: July 2017
Granby, CT
Member since Mar 2015

We truly enjoyed our week in Eastham. Your home is lovely! We were very comfortable here and loved being able to walk to the beach whenever we felt like it. Campground Beach was just perfect for our 7 and 4 year olds. Thank you so much. We hope to be back in the future!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Tara & John E
Whitman, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Once again our stay couldn't have been any better! We finally got use out of the extra bedroom and abundance of beach toys for our 15 month old daughter. She surely gives Blue Skies on the Half Shell two thumbs up. We all loved the easy access to the beach from this perfect little cottage. See you next year!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Emmy H
Quincy, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Lovely location

This charming little cottage is in such a great location. You can walk a few steps to the beach, walk about a mile to quite a few places to eat, drink, get ice cream, etc., or bike just over a mile to the rail trail.

The cottage is very cozy and has everything you need for a great stay. The kitchen is well stocked, the internet is fast, there are dvds, games, books about the Cape and a giant binder of tourist info. Nice screened porch and a roof deck for relaxing.

You'll want to stay!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: June 2017
Member since Jun 2016

Thanks again for another wonderful week at Blue Skies on the Half Shell. The skies, alas, were not often blue, but we managed to make the best of it in spite of all the capricious weather! Can't say enough about what a welcoming homey place this is. You've thought of every detail...as usual. WE are already looking forward to next year. One week here just isn't long enough!

Date of Stay: June 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Tracy & Liese B
Hudson, Ohio
(Homeowner Entered)

Your cottage is absolutely adorable and we had a wonderful time staying here even through it rained. The upstairs deck is heavenly and everything is beautifully appointed. We loved having a view of and easy access to the bay. We would definitely come back and stay here again.

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Dori O
Florence, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

Thank you so much for our special week at the cottage. It was a joy to return to the Cape. This was my 6th trip and mom's 4th. Can you tell how much we love the comfort and graciousness of your home?! There are so many delightful touches at the cottage. Somehow year after year you continue to provide for all the necessities and then some. We enjoyed the bright colors of the rugs, bedspreads and pillows. We had everything we needed in the kitchen. Eastham continues to be our favorite location, though we found the bird store in Orleans to be interesting. It was hard to leave the comforts of the deck and porch with the landscape so pretty. We made all the usual rounds of antique shops, nature centers, hikes, boutique stores, bookstores and of course foodie stops. As usual I mailed a box of favorite purchases back to Alaska. We loved our bayside walks and enjoyed the views and sounds oceanside as well. Mom and I are leaving with lighter steps having enjoyed this time of rest, renewal, joy and laughter together. Thank you!

Date of Stay: May 2017
Date Submitted: January 2018
Sandy K
Soldotna, Alaska
(Homeowner Entered)
Outstanding!!

If you are looking for a beautiful beach cottage, in a great location, and steps away from the beach, then look no further. Blue Skies on the Half Shell will not disappoint! I spent hours on line looking for that special cottage on the lower/outer Cape that would "just feel right" from the moment I saw it. Arriving with anticipation and hoping the cottage was as advertised, Blue Skies on the Half Shell exceeded everything we hoped for from the moment we opened the front door. We did not want or need for anything during our stay (except more time).

The location and close proximity to the beach can't be beat! The sunsets from the roof deck were amazing! We explored most of the outer Cape and part of the lower Cape and were always happy to return home after a day of exploring to see the sunsets with a cocktail in hand. Sue is wonderful to work with. She was responsive to all of our questions prior to arrival and even checked in with us a day later to make sure we didn't have any questions or concerns. We definitely will stay here again when coming to the Cape and highly recommend this cottage without hesitation. Thank you, Sue and Lee, for sharing your special place with us!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2016
Date Submitted: October 2016
Hooksett, NH
Member since Oct 2016
Just Right for Us

This was a repeat visit at Blue Skies & we continue to find that it's just right for us. The central location to beaches, restaurants & P'town is key. Whale Watch was outstanding this year. Campground Beach next door for actual swimming a real plus. Stewart's seafood restaurant was our favorite for dinner this year. Cottage immaculate as always & decorative touches & attention to detail make it unique. Hope to return again soon. Evelyn & Steve

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Endicott, NY
Member since Aug 2016
Sweetest Cottage!

Our week long stay was truly the most relaxing we've ever had! The cottage has every amenity you could possibly need! And the beachy decor put a huge smile on our faces! It's exactly how I would decorate my own little piece of heaven. The proximity to the beach was excellent! Since we were in the middle of a heat wave, we enjoyed spending long days at the beach every day! Loved it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: August 2016
Framingham, MA
Member since Jan 2007
Happy House

Another wonderful time at Blue Skies! We've always enjoyed the Cape but this Happy House has taken it to another level. Our two weeks here still wasn't enough, might have to consider 3 weeks next year! We feel so at home here. Everything you need is right here, love the porch, deck, beach, the privacy and convenience of everything in the area. Fun, sun, food, wine in the Summertime at Blue Skies. Love it!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: July 2016
Cromwell, CT
Member since Jul 2016
A Corner of Heaven ....

We just completed our fourth stay in Blue Skies on the Half Shell. This truly is home away from home for me. The only change I would make would be to have it on the waterfront! Since that is not possible, I'd say there is nothing to be done to improve our enjoyment during this time. The cottage welcomes us with its warm, sparkling atmosphere, is cozy and bright, and well stocked anticipating nearly every need we could have. The walk to the beach is about 100 steps and beach chairs and toys are provided as well. We continue to discover neighboring delights, such as Fairways restaurant, coffee from the Hole in One, the Yarn store for those knitters who come, and the wonderful community of Orleans.

Sue and Lee, the owners, are so very accommodating and pleasant, you will feel as though you've known them for a while, even though they are not nearby. Renting from them just might be one of the best decisions you'll ever make. We are fortunate to be able to be there for 2 weeks, yet every year when we pack up and leave, I'm sad and start counting down for the next visit.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: October 2015
Date Submitted: November 2015
Buffalo, NY
Member since Sep 2014
Blue Skies does it again!

Our family was back for a second time at Blue Skies. The place is perfect. Our young family of 4 found the accommodations just what we needed for a week of rest and relaxation. We're looking forward to returning next year. Just a note that may be helpful: you don't need to bring anything for the beach! The owners have been kind enough to provide beach chairs and as many kids toys as you could need... umbrellas, wagons, kites, buckets and shovels...

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: September 2015
Hamden, CT
Member since Aug 2014
Our Favorite Cape Cod Cottage

Our fifth visit here and counting. I don't know what we've ever done to deserve another post-Labor Day week of glorious weather!! Swimming in the clear, cool water of Race Point within view of whales spouting their beautiful fountains of water…well, for me, this is my idea of heaven. I'd like to put that day in a Mason jar, put the lid on tightly, and then save it for a brutal day in January when we're being assaulted with bitter cold and mountains of snow…then pop the lid and out pops September 16th! We love being here. See you next year.
Nancy & Ray
N.J.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: November 2015
Bridgewater, NJ
Member since Nov 2015
BlueSkies Vacation

This is a great cottage in Eastham. This was our second visit. It's a beautiful, clean and comfortable cottage that has everything you need. The beach is a very short walk away. No need to pack up the car and drive back and forth to the beach, especially when you have small children. Sue and Lee provide beach toys, wagons, chairs and umbrellas. The outdoor shower and rooftop deck which overlooks the beach are also great. If only vacations could last forever!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Owner Response:

Gina & Ryan:
Thank you for your wonderful endorsement. Absolutely love your sentiment "If only vacations could last forever!" Allowing yourself to get wrapped up in the charms of Cape Cod is the clear bonus of time spent there. We look forward to hosting you in the future for your next dose of Cape magic!
Sue & Lee

Member since Aug 2015

Thank you so much for the most amazing time! Wonderful memories for our son! The bay is so beautiful and the sunsets were amazing! The cottage is so quaint and had everything we needed. We'll be back for sure! Thanks again for everything.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Donna E
Stoneham, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
A little slice of heaven!

This gorgeous cottage was the perfect place to spend our vacation in Eastham! It's the best of both worlds keeping with the beachy, cottage vibe, yet offers all of the modern comforts we truly appreciate (and would miss if we didn't have them) like cable, wifi, and AC.

Every inch of the house (inside and out) is clearly meticulously planned and cared for, from the kitchen, to the decor, to the beautiful garden. The house provided everything we needed (and more) for our beach vacation.

We'll definitely be back next year and are already counting down to our next outdoor shower, coffee in the garden, and sunset from the roof deck!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Member since Aug 2015

Another fun week! Blue Skies is the best!!! Looking forward to our next visit and more fun on the beach. WE LOVE BLUE SKIES ON THE HALF SHELL!!!

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Michele and Michael R
Cromwell, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

We all had a wonderful time here! It was nice to return to such a beautiful place and do so many new things, as well as some old favorites. We enjoyed the cottage - especially the roof deck, but we spent the majority of our time at various beaches and on the bike path. Thank you for sharing your beautiful well-kept cottage with us!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Amy and Tony A
Boulder, Colorado
(Homeowner Entered)

Thanks for another delightful week. All was perfect including the weather! Visited all of our favorite haunts and found some new ones. Hope to be back next year. Feels like coming home!

Date of Stay: June 2015
Date Submitted: August 2015
Tracy and Liese B
Hudson, Ohio
(Homeowner Entered)

Once again our annual spring fling at "The Mermaid Cottage" (as our daughter calls it) was terrific even though the weather was chilly. We had a great time as we always do. See you next year!

Date of Stay: April 2014
Date Submitted: August 2015
Peggy and Larry C
Amherst, MA
(Homeowner Entered)
Our all-time favorite Cape Cod rental

We've stayed in rentals all over the Cape, but Blue Skies on the Half Shell is our all-time favorite. When we visited last September, we found the cottage to be incredibly clean and beautifully maintained. It delivered on every promise made in the description. The weather gods cooperated and delivered warm and sunny skies every day. We plan to return again next September. Until then, we'll look forward to another great vacation in a perfect location.

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: September 2013
Date Submitted: January 2014
Owner Response:

Bianca,

Thank you for your hearty endorsement! We work hard to present the best cottage on the Cape to our clients. We appreciate the fact that our diligence has not gone unnoticed. We look forward to hosting you again in 2014.

Sue & Lee

New York, NY
Member since Jan 2014
Great location

If location is your prime concern, then this is the place for you. It was so easy to shuttle my young family to the beach, and then return to the cottage for lunch and naps. The owners provide so many amenities that we basically only had to bring our bathing suits for our week of vacation. The cottage is bright, clean and perfect for 4. Coffee on the sun deck, looking at the bay, was how I started each day. Heaven! Campground Beach is very clean. My kids loved exploring the tide pools at low tide. The area offers lots of family friendly restaurants. Fried clams at Arnold's are something I look forward to every summer. We brought our bikes and enjoyed riding on the bike trail when we felt like a change of pace.

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: February 2011
Northvale, New Jersey, us
Member since Feb 2011