Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

''The Nauset Teepee''-A Private, Peaceful Place Near The Bay
North Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 32115

3 BR
1 ½ bath
Sleeps 7
Beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 3 twins, Add'l Tempurpedic/Queen in sofa
Beach: 7/10 mi to Campground Beach and 2 miles Coastguard Beach
Guest Reviews: 18 reviews
Time active: 5 months
Contact details:
  Email Jeanne Fleming & Peter Mino
Contact Jeanne Fleming & Peter Mino, by e-mail, or at Phone(s): (845) 216-4041 (Jeanne's), (845) 216-4429 (Peter's).
Please mention Property ID# 32115 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
18 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

Great Cape Week
Loved our stay last week! Property was in a great location, close to both bay and National Seashore beaches. Especially loved the outdoor shower, zoned A/C in bedrooms and open layout. Thanks Jeanne for a great week!

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Warwick, NJ
Member since Aug 2019


Jeanne's house !
Spacious, cozy and clean! Great house, would rent it again!

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: August 2019
Marylinn M
NYC, NY
(Homeowner Entered)
Anniversary get away

My wife and I had an amazing time here. Awesome house had everything we needed and more. Great area tons to do and amazing food. 10/10

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: March 2019
Owner Response:

So glad you enjoyed the area and that the house had everything you needed! We aim to please!

Haverstraw, NY
Member since Mar 2019

We love this house. This is our 7th year in this property. It's peaceful and relaxing. Quick drive to Campground Beach on the Bay side of the Cape. Part of National Seashore area. House is located near Route 6 but you rarely hear traffic. Just birds and other wildlife. Clean and nicely appointed great room with master bedroom, a functional kitchen and full bath on first floor. Spiral stairs to 2 bedrooms and half bath on top of A-frame. Has Wi-Fi for those who can't disconnect (but recommend you turn off computers and cellphones and enjoy!) Catches great breezes from the Bay and the outdoor shower has its own changing area separate from shower area so towels and clothes stay dry. Picnic table, gas grill in back. Front porch is perfect for enjoying morning coffee or tea. Best sunsets on the Cape. We highly recommend this unique A-frame house on Cape Cod.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: March 2019
Owner Response:

And we love having you back year after year. Just so folks know, we are off of Herringbrook, closer to the Bay, a good distance from Rt. 6, so the occasional passing car is never going to be Rt.6 traffic noise, :) nor will you see any cars passing by because of tree-lined "fences". We have excellent local folks taking care of the grounds, trash removal, and cleaning. All you have to do is come and enjoy this very special spot on The Cape! See you soon!

Pa
Member since Mar 2019

We were so lucky to sleep on the second floor with a balcony overlooking a wooded area full of birds. The house is so private and cozy and yet both the bay and the ocean are minutes away. As well as excellent food with a Cape Code atmosphere. The house has the perfect vacation layout with lots of room-- indoors and out. Thank you-- when can we come back?Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers.
My Response

Cool! It was sorta like sleeping in the forest canopy right?, only better because you are in a comfy Queen sized bed with a glass door ( or screen slider if you choose to leave the door that leads out to the balcony open) and a bathroom just steps away in the hall. The sun sets on that side of the house so you get the colorful evening sky. Next time you could check out the Master, with the King bed, on the other side of the house where the sun rises if you like to be up with the sun :) There's plenty of room for everyone to spread out and relax, read, nap and then come together for meals and games. Great restaurants nearby and of course, some of Cape Cod's most brilliant beaches. Check the calendar and book your next visit! You're welcome anytime.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: March 2019
Owner Response:

Cool! It was sorta like sleeping in the forest canopy, right? Only better because you are in a comfy Queen sized bed with a glass door ( or screen slider if you choose to leave the door that leads out to the balcony open) and a bathroom just steps away in the hall. The sun sets on that side of the house so you get the colorful evening sky. Next time you could check out the Master, with the King bed, on the other side of the house where the sun rises if you like to be up with the sun :) There's plenty of room for everyone to spread out and relax, read, nap and then come together for meals and games. Great restaurants nearby and of course, some of Cape Cod's most brilliant beaches. Check the calendar and book your next visit! You're welcome anytime.

Darien, Connecticut
Member since Mar 2019

Very spacious with plenty of comfortable entertainment space. Peaceful setting amongst nature with complete privacy. Front porch and backyard perfect to unwimd. I found my zen moments frequently. Comforts of home while never far from the excitement of shopping and partying when we went out. Found this home stocked with games, books, information for local pleasures and restaurants. Thank you Jeanne and Peter for the experience and the obvious love filled in this home. Wanted for nothing but a longer stay.

Date of Stay: May 2018
Date Submitted: March 2019
Owner Response:

How fabulous to hear that you wanted for nothing but a longer stay. We aim to please, therefore it is most gratifying to hear that our guests did in fact, thoroughly enjoy their time on the Cape and in and around The "Teepee." I agree that with all the "excitement and partying" that can be done on Cape Cod, it is nice to know that rest and relaxation await you when you return to the peace and comfort of the house and its surroundings. Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you return in the future!

Cornwall, NY, U.S.
Member since Mar 2019


Quiet & peaceful but close to it all
We had a peaceful, relaxing vacation at the Nauset teepee. The cottage is clean, well maintained and secluded. Jeanne was very helpful and attentive. We were close to everything and enjoyed exploring the national seashore, area restaurants, whale watching from Provincetown and just lounging around the cottage.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: April 2019
Owner Response:

I'm pleased to hear that you found the cottage clean, well maintained and while secluded and peaceful, close to some of the very best destinations on the Cape. Lovely restaurants and National Seashore as well as biking, paddle boarding, kayaking and shopping nearby as well. Hanging at the cottage! Wonderful. You are welcome back anytime :).

Member since Apr 2019

Tranquil
Unique property on a quiet lane. Everything you need for a peaceful, relaxing vacation near all of Eastham's beautiful beaches.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: April 2019
Member since May 2019

The Nauset Tee Pee House is a wonderful retreat!
We truly enjoyed our week-long summer vacation in this well-maintained cottage. It has everything we had hoped for and more! The location and privacy of the beautifully landscaped yard gave us the seclusion we desire when we wanted to relax. The open floor plan gave us plenty of room to do what we wanted, yet still, be together. The instructions left to run the day to day operations were well thought out and made simple. The owner was very accommodating and easy to work with as we planned our vacation. We definitely would like to stay their again.....and again! Thank you Fleming-Mino family for offering such a wonderful summer home.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: April 2019
Member since Mar 2014



Peace and quiet surrounded by nature.

Nauset Teepee is located centrally on beautiful Cape Cod. Beach is minutes away. Tranquility beauty and adventure out your door.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2019
Alexis C
Asoria, NY, U.S.
(Homeowner Entered)

I highly recommend the TEEPEE! The Nauset Teepee is one of those hidden gems that one finds and immediately thinks “WOW! This place is great! So great in fact that my husband and I spent our honeymoon there and returned 2 more times with family and friends. So why is the TeePee so special? For one, you not only get the great beaches and all the great restaurants and shops in town, but you also get a great surprise to find that the TeePee is located in a secluded wooded area, which is unlike most of the other houses in the area. As you drive into the half circle driveway the foliage and shrubbery are beautiful and natural, with an abundance of bird activity and natural coverage for privacy. As you make the turn halfway around the circular drive your eyes come to rest on the TeePee, a large ‘A” frame house that has a quaint porch that stretches in front of the house that has windows that stretch across the whole front of the house. The back yard is spacious with an outdoor shower (hot water!), fire pit, BBQ and outside furniture to entertain on. The entire back yard is also secluded with large trees and shrubbery. Inside, the TeePee offers more than any other rental we have experienced before. For one thing, we immediately felt welcome and comfortable as if it is was our own weekend home. The floor plan is open with a full kitchen ( which is loaded with everything you could ever need to cook a full 7-course meal, or simply spread newspaper on the dining room table and spend hours cracking crabs). The living room is spacious with plenty of comfy couches and chairs to accommodate a large group, but in no way cluttered or crowded. Games (all the pieces are there!), DVD’s and books overflow on the large floor to ceiling bookshelf for the many hours of enjoyment when we were not riding the endless bike trails, sunning on the beach, hiking, exploring or oystering. Last, but very important for our family are the bedrooms. Downstairs has one bedroom that has a washer and dryer and a queen size bed that is more comfortable than our own at home. Upstairs (a circular staircase!) has two bedrooms. One has a queen size bed with a great balcony, and the other has two single beds. Televisions are in all the rooms if you choose to watch (we never did). Each bedroom is quaint and comfortable with ample pillows, blankets, and comforters. One of the best aspects of the TEEPEE is how the owner incorporated her own artistic touch into all the artwork and special touches throughout the house. The taste is eclectic, colorful and warm. We have enjoyed the TEEPEE during the summer and early autumn months. Both seasons offer so much to do! Each time we leave I feel rejuvenated and relaxed from a week full of laughter and quiet moments spent with family and friends.

Date of Stay: September 2016
Date Submitted: March 2019
Owner Response:

Congratulations on your wedding! and thank you for choosing the Nauset Teepee as your honeymoon destination! And thank you for such a wonderfully detailed review. You described so much of the house and grounds, there is little more to say. I wanted to gently correct two items mentioned. The main bedroom, on the first floor, has a King size bed and the upstairs bedrooms are one room with a queen and balcony (correct) and the other has two twins with a very comfortable and adequate fold out twin futon bed, so three twins in that room! Great for the kids/teens. I agree that the location of the house -smack dab in the middle of the Cape-makes it a great choice for exploring all the Cape has to offer from end to end and the property lends itself to peace and privacy when you are back from your daily excursions. To many more return visits, Cheers!

Oakland, NJ, U.S.
Member since Mar 2019


GREAT place to relax AND enjoy! The house is ideally located...nestled within the trees provides privacy and a peaceful atmosphere. The house is comfortable and beautifully furnished in a most welcoming way! It is close to the beach and bay. I particularly LOVED kayaking through the salt marshes! People in the area are super nice! This was our 2nd time going to this house and look forward to going back again!!!!!
08/11/2016 at 12:02 PM

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: April 2019
Annette P
New Jersey
(Homeowner Entered)

This was our second year staying a week at the Teepee, so that says something I suppose. For our families (adults and 5-6 year olds), this location is the most ideal on the Cape. And we just love this house! It has a woodsy feel, with a back yard perfect for making smores in the firepit. As others have mentioned, it's convenient for spectacular bay and ocean beaches (plus the underrated Great Pond / Wiley Park right down the street- a very nice swimming lake), and for getting on the bike trail (bike rental spot is within walking distance). The house is so comfortable and relaxing and well-equipped (but, yes, the spiral staircase that leads to the two upstairs bedrooms is a bit tight and could be challenging for some). It should be noted that the house is not really "in town"- you will be biking / driving to most stores and activities. Works for us, since the trip is always beautiful no matter which direction you go, and cute Cape towns are within a few miles, but it's not for those who are looking for an in-town, walk-to-the-corner-store (or pub) experience. We enjoy the quiet, and the sounds of the birds...the tree-house feel of it all, and the easy accessibility to beaches and such. The nearby Wellfleet Drive-In is good fun for the family (fun to bring lawn chairs and sit in front of the car), and whale watching in P-Town was definitely worth the money- it's magical to see them flopping around out there. Also should be noted that we did pull a tick off one of the kids last year when we got home (probably picked-up at the Welfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary, but hard to say for sure). Didn't turn into Lyme thankfully, but they are out there, and we were not so good at checking last year. We got the message- it is important to be vigilant every day about checking for them. All in all, the Teepee house, and this part of the Cape, come highly recommended for those looking for a family-friendly, nature-loving vacation in a comfortable home with accessible, friendly and helpful owners. And I bet it's really nice off-season, when the crowds have thinned out and you can get more bang for your buck. It must be beautiful in spring, with everything coming to life, and the water's still warm in the fall (actually, the ocean is warmest then). Thank you Jeanne- see you next year!
My Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this thorough review. I agree with you, "The only bad part is leaving", yet on a brighter note, there is always next year. Welcome to the Nauset Teepee Family of returning guests. Beaches, Wiley Pond, Whale Watching (we often see different kinds each time we go), Wellfleet Drive-In ( bring your picnic supper), biking ( the Rail Trail is safe and scenic), sightseeing and trips to all the little towns ( each with their own personalities) from our central location - sounds like a vacation filled with many of the Cape's goodies. Looking forward to your visit next year or perhaps a long weekend in the Fall, when the children are off from school? Outdoor shower is up and running until late October-still warm enough. Good place to do a tick check -welcome to the North East :( - especially after hikes on the trails all over the Cape. Or shower indoors, of course, and then cozy up to the wood burning stove. We aim to keep our guests cozy, comfortable and in-the-know about our local culture. :) Thanks again. See you next time!

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2019
Jason I
New York, NY, U.S.
(Homeowner Entered)

5/5
Perfect place for a get away
My girlfriend and I stayed at the property with friends for a long-weekend (post labor day). The property was amazing -- the house is beautiful and very roomy, and it is wholly private. You can't see the house from the road, and in the backyard, you can only see a hint of the neighboring property behind it. This led to a very quiet and private atmosphere, which was very relaxing. The house comes well equipped (plenty of pillows, blankets, kitchen supplies, spices) and is conveniently located. There are plenty of restaurants nearby (I highly recommend going to Arnold's for lobster rolls), as well as nearby grocery stores. Jeanne (the owner) is very responsive to questions and gets you all the information you need well in advance. We all loved it and would definitely go back.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: April 2019
Justin A
(Homeowner Entered)


5/5
Lovely Vacation Rental
We loved the open spaces on the first floor, the well-equipped kitchen, the big dining table we could gather around, the outdoor shower, the quiet, and the proximity to the bay, ocean, and pond beaches. The kids loved the games, puzzles, and backyard for playing catch. The beds were comfortable. The owners were very helpful in answering questions. We had been to Wellfleet, but know almost nothing about Eastham, so we appreciated their information. We like the bay beaches better in Eastham. Do try the Chocolate Cafe, Nauset Ice Cream, the National Park beaches, and First Encounter Beach, where we saw a magnificent sunset. Swimming in Great Pond at Wiley Park was wonderful, and the parking lot was never full. I would recommend this property to a friend or relative.

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: April 2019
Owner Response:

You described your stay so wonderfully and made some great recommendations for future guests. We loved your suggestions..Chocolate Sparrow..oh yeah..perfect for fresh made lemonade near the bike path in Orleans. We also like to get our ice cream cones at Nauset Ice Cream and then head for the Bay sunset or to Wiley Park ...a great place for a freshwater swim, kayak, to throw your line in (with a permit over 16 if someone checks :) or a read on the bench while the little ones play in the playground there. And of course, all the miles and miles of National seashore (and their many summer programs for all!) We hope to see you back enjoying our Eastham beaches again soon! Thank you.

Warwick, NY
Member since May 2015

Great Place
Very nice place to stay. It was exactly as described. We had a wonderful vacation there and look forward to renting again. Owner is great. Answered questions before they were asked

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: April 2019
Tom L
CT
(Homeowner Entered)

What a great place for a family reunion!
Everyone was pleased and felt comfortable around this captivating house and property. Plenty of room to stretch out and relax. Private surroundings. Great games for kids and adults. Perfectly equipped kitchen. We had Surf and Turf every night from the local purveyors. We even sent the menfolk to rustle up some clams from Salt Pond on Sunday. Being able to explore the two very different beaches (ocean and bay) was an exceptional treat for our west coast members - it is a contrast not found in many places! All in all, everyone was so pleased, they are inspired to get together again next year!

Date of Stay: May 2015
Date Submitted: April 2019
Emily M
(Homeowner Entered)

Relaxing time in Cape Cod
We arrived at the Nauset Teepee after two hectic days of visiting in Boston. We were immediately charmed by the comfortable cottage feel. Visiting in November, we loved being able to heat the cottage with the wood stove. The beach is also walking distance and the walk through the cottage roads was romantic. There were plenty of activities to do just a few minutes away from the house. We rented bikes and ate at a few of the nearby restaurants, all of which were quite decent. One of our best night was spent cooking a massive lobster we bought fresh at Mac's a few blocks away. The place was great and I would recommend it to anyone, particularly families with children.

Date of Stay: November 2014
Date Submitted: April 2019
Yannick F
Canada
(Homeowner Entered)