Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Bayside Getaway, Short Walk to the Beach

Eastham Vacation Rental - ID 33590
3 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 6
Beds: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 twins
Beach: 4/10 mi to Sunken Meadow Beach
Guest Reviews: 44 reviews
Time active: 1 year, 5 months
44 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

We loved this cape cod home in Eastham. We are a family of four and had plenty of space (14 yo & 10 yo). The deck and grill were great to come back to after a day out at the beach. We grilled up some summer dinners and relax on the deck with a glass of wine/beer. Jerry was so nice and easy to communicate with. Just a 10 minute walk to the sandy bayside beach and about a 30 min drive to Province Town. Jerry does provide all the kitchen supplies you could need to cook any meal. We hope you can have a wonderful vacation like we did!!

Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
Tracey B
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry's place is absolutely wonderful. It is the perfect house and location for anyone really but especially with kids. The yard is fenced in. There is plenty of beach gear to save you space in your car, a nice wagon to bring to and from the beach. Plenty of space in the house including a bedroom a bit removed with its own bathroom perfect for grandparents or if you want your own space. Jerry checked in to make sure that things were going well during the week and also made some great recommendations. Hands down best place we've stayed at in Eastham—FINALLY found a keeper 8 years later!! Enjoy!

Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
Katie Q
(Homeowner Entered)
Great home and location!

What a gem in Eastham! Located in a wonderful area, this home was a great space for me to vacation with friends. The house is comfortable with a nice layout and it's an easy walk to a bay beach. It's also near the national seashore and Wellfleet. Jerry and Eileen are responsive homeowners who are are so helpful and easy to work with. I hope to be back next summer!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: August 2021
Date Submitted: September 2021
Member since Jul 2020
Great layout, great amenities!

We were a group that at times was 2 couples and other times was 2 adults and 2 young adult children. We especially appreciated the bedroom/bathroom layout, large table on the deck and open kitchen/dining/living area.

We also appreciated the "extras" that not all rentals have: beach gear, cooler, Roku, washer and dryer. The owner was very responsive before arrival and during our stay. Highly recommend!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2021
Date Submitted: July 2021
Member since Jun 2020

You will love this rental! Spacious, spotless, comfortable beds, nice living room sofas, the perfect table for games or puzzles, a large deck, and it really is a short walk to the beach! The owner, Jerry, checked in a few times to make sure everything was perfect. We had the best week!!

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Pam M
(Homeowner Entered)

This place is beautiful! The owner, Jerry, communicated very well and answered promptly when asked for suggestions for the area. Place was clean and was a very short walk to sunken meadow beach. The owner has a beach wagon, cooler, beach chairs and umbrella for guest use which was very handy. Such a relaxing stay! We didn't want to leave!

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Jennifer R
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house 3 bedrooms and two bath was awesome. Perfect for a beach vacation.

Date of Stay: June 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Haidee L
(Homeowner Entered)

Perfect getaway for a mom, dad and toddler!

Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Samantha W
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry's house is a wonderful rental!
ALL the furniture is comfortable and is is well stocked for cooking.
We will definitely rent this house again!

Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Gretchen J
(Homeowner Entered)

You can't go wrong selecting this place! Super clean and nicely located close to a Cape Cod Bay beach. We were able to enjoy a grilled dinner on the deck followed by a walk to view the sunset. Jerry was an excellent host!!!

Date of Stay: May 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Carol S
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful spot on the cape. great location.

Date of Stay: April 2021
Date Submitted: August 2021
Joshua T
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry's house is cozy, cute, and well-equipped for every adventure you might want to take on the Cape. The location is ideal: in a quiet little spot in walking distance from a Bayside beach and from the main bike trail. The outdoor shower is such a fun feature, highly recommend it even if you're unsure. Especially in the middle of a global pandemic, it is so lovely to find a place that lets you feel safe while exploring a new place.

Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Amelia O
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry was a patient and wonderful host, communication was top notch and he gave a lot of great local tips! Location was quiet and private and we had a great trip

Date of Stay: October 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Janice K
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry's place is 100% as advertised, no surprises. The location is excellent. We loved staying there. Jerry is one of the mist responsive hosts I have ever encountered an we use ABNB quite a lot

Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Gary T
(Homeowner Entered)

We had that "oh this place is awesome" moment when we first arrived. The house is ideal for families with small children. The yard is fenced, private and very large and we felt comfortable letting our 1.5 and 4.5 yo run around while we hung out on the porch. There are very few stairs around the house and property. The house has a number of entrances, two of which lead to a more private bed/bath that is effectively separated from the rest of the living space. The main kitchen/dining area is nicely open and directly connected to two bedrooms. Importantly, sunken meadow beach is about a 10-12 minute walk away. The route is on the terminal part of a main road; the traffic isn't too bad and most folks driving are headed to the beach parking lot and expect pedestrian and bike traffic. We loaded are kids and beach stuff into a wagon and it was an easy trip. The bayside beach is terrific. Jerry was very quick and communicative in his responses to our questions, especially surrounding cleaning procedures (given the ongoing COVID pandemic). Highly recommended.

Date of Stay: September 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Arpiar S
(Homeowner Entered)

The place was perfect for a week long getaway. Two blocks away from the bayside beach which is great for kids and was not crowded at all. The Oceanside beaches were a short drive away. The house was well stocked with all the essentials, we really loved the deck off the sliding door, awesome BBQ and plenty of space to roam. The outdoor shower was also a really nice touch. Great was to relax after the beach. My wife and I have a toddler still in a crib so that the host provided a crib so that was awesome. He had his own room, and slept like a... you know... Due to COVID-19 we only got to eat out twice but we did not Mind because the house was so charming

Date of Stay: August 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Chris M
(Homeowner Entered)

Great location for a family with small kids! Short walk to the beach! We had a great stay, and found the house to be cozy and clean.

Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Ashlee C
(Homeowner Entered)

Sometimes when you signup for a week long rental, you never know what you're gonna get. Especially during this period of COVID, we figured we might have to temporarily relocate our entire house and the kitchen just to be safe. Jerry's place was incredible and more than we had ever imaged. One word of advice...don't go crazy on the packing, the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you might need, even for the chef in our party, extremely satisfactory. Just bring yourself and maybe just some basic groceries...there are so many incredible seafood shacks minutes away to source fresh seafood from. Two beaches are within a very pleasant short stroll down the road. Jerry was an exceptional host and answered all of our questions and concerns in advance, he even went the extra mile and picked up a second cookie sheet for us when I asked him if we should be packing one for the trip! The cherry on the cake was the spacious outdoor shower, perfect for that beach getaway, reconnecting with nature feeling. We're already talking about another week long stay next summer. Thank you Jerry for making our vacation during this time truly a relaxing stress free time!

Date of Stay: July 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Cha Cha W
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family had a wonderful week-long stay at Jerry's cottage. We loved walking to Sunken Meadow Beach every morning (great fun for our 3 yo with all the shells, rocks, and exploring to be done during low tide- recommend water shoes) and driving to First Encounter Beach in the afternoons before dinner (free to park after 4 pm and less crowded at that time). We encountered greenhead flies at both beaches, so bring some Skin So Soft bug spray. It was also very close to some good restaurants that all offered easy ordering and pickup (our favorites were Arnold's, PJ's, Rock Harbor Grill, and Hole in One/Fairway for breakfast). The house had a great setup for us. We really appreciated the crib, because our son is too big for a pack n play but not quite ready for a single bed. It was also nice to be able to do laundry and shower in the back area of the house after our son was asleep without worry of waking him up. Wifi worked well, and kitchen had everything we needed. There's no dishwasher, so we brought our own cups and utensils out of an abundance of caution. Jerry was super responsive to messages and gave good restaurant and beach tips, and he was very diligent about taking precautions re: Covid-19 to keep guests safe and healthy.

Date of Stay: June 2020
Date Submitted: December 2020
Amy R
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a fabulous week at Jerry's house in Eastham. The location was wonderful and the inside and outside of the house were perfect for our family of four. Several great perks in this house including a fabulous outdoor shower, air conditioners in the rooms (it was a hot week), lovely big tables for meals, game-playing, and sitting over wine and cheese, and more. We loved the kitchen and doing a lot of group cooking. Jerry was very responsive to all of our pre-questions, and once we arrived, we did not need anything. Check-in was easy, there was a book of things to do, and some lovely hints from visitors over the past many years. We especially loved the quiet. We were a 7-minute walk from a bayside beach and went several nights to watch the sunset. We would definitely recommend this house.

Date of Stay: August 2019
Date Submitted: March 2020
Rebecca K
(Homeowner Entered)

Great location and Jerry is very responsive to any questions or concerns. I'd highly recommend his place.

Date of Stay: July 2019
Date Submitted: March 2020
Richard P
(Homeowner Entered)

Great location, great value, very responsive host,

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: March 2020
Pat C
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry's home was clean, comfortable and he had recommended great places. It was beautiful to watch sunsets at the sunken meadow beach. We all enjoyed our visit. There was enough hot water for our family to all take showers after the beach. We also enjoyed the outdoor shower. Jerry was a response host and checked in throughout the week to make sure we were comfortable. We would love to visit again!

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: March 2020
Eleanor M
(Homeowner Entered)

We really enjoyed our stay, such a warm and tranquil stay! Thoughtful layout of spaces indoors and out! Fully equipped kitchen, bright cheery areas, with ample cool quiet places to wind down and recharge. One of the rare gems set off well by placement on beautiful grounds. Lovely!

Date of Stay: June 2019
Date Submitted: March 2020
Amanda M
(Homeowner Entered)

Great house, great location about 10 minute walk from the beach. Photos are accurate of the house. Jerry was an awesome host, incredibly responsive before and during our stay. We really enjoyed the deck & yard, a nice peaceful space - we saw butterflies everyday and even hummingbirds! Two notes on the bedrooms: 1. Nice to have A/C in all the bedrooms, even if the units were a bit loud. As the third bedroom is pretty separate from the other two, around two corners and through the laundry room, with the A/C noise we used a monitor for our 5 year old who was in that room (we normally would not with him). 2. A standard crib was provided in the bedroom next to the master (very nice!) but I'd recommend renting a crib mattress for a little baby - the provided one was very soft for our 6 month old. We found a local woman who rents baby supplies very affordably and that offered piece of mind. Overall, we really enjoyed our time at Jerry's house and would recommend, especially with kids!

Date of Stay: August 2018
Date Submitted: March 2020
Kim G
(Homeowner Entered)

Great property within a 10 minute walk to the bay side. Quiet and shady lot with lots of amenities, including large deck with table and lots of sitting, gas grill, new smart TV and DVD (if it rains), and ACs in every room (which makes a difference if the temperature hits over 80 degrees). Also, the kitchen is fully stocked with all the dishes, cups, glasses, silverware, serving dishes and pots and pans you would ever need. Very responsive host.

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: March 2020
Maria B
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a very comfortable stay at Jerry's place. It was spick and span when we arrived and has all the amenities of home. We loved the location which is a quick walk to the local beach on the Bay, a short bike ride to the Cape Cod Rail Trail and proximate to the National Seashore beaches. Jerry was very responsive when we had questions and was simply a gracious host. Thanks, Jerry!

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: March 2020
Susan W
(Homeowner Entered)

This was a great location to our favorite beach: Coast Guard Beach. We also enjoyed being fairly near PTown and The Beachcomber. There is one bedroom that is a bit more separate which was great for our son and his girlfriend. Our daughter had her 8th month old son with us and I was able to walk him to Sunken Meadow Beach each morning and afternoon so she could get some rest. The outdoor patio was great for meals-in and the outdoor shower was great for after a long day at the beach. Jerry was highly communicative and attentive to our needs.
Janet

Date of Stay: July 2018
Date Submitted: March 2020
Kim D
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry is a wonderful, responsive host. He responded right away to all my questions and even let us check in early. His house is in a wonderful spot near the bay beaches in Eastham with a lot of privacy. The deck and outdoor shower are awesome, and the kitchen is fully stocked. It was great to have a washer/dryer and air conditioners available. We had a wonderful time and the space was perfect for us!

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: March 2020
Janet F
(Homeowner Entered)

Place was just as advertised. Jerry is the kind of host you hope for. Responsive helpful accommodation. Loved the space. Great for families looking to relax on the cape. Close distance to the bay. Recommend biking but definitely walkable. Yard was awesome for my kids who played in a protected fenced in well managed yard. Centrally located to all beaches on the Atlantic side. Quick 30 min excursions to PTown and very accessible to dining options in the upper cape. Wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Date of Stay: June 2018
Date Submitted: March 2020
Craig M
(Homeowner Entered)

We booked this stay at the last minute (24 hours ahead of check-in) when hurricane Irma forced us to cancel other plans and head to the Cape. Despite the last-minute nature of things, Jerry was the best Airbnb host we have ever had. All communications about the house, check-in, and suggestions for local places were really great. The house is a perfect combination of traditional Cape Cod cottage architecture and just enough modern updates to make it very comfortable and homey. The location is secluded, but only a 10 minute walk from Sunken Meadow Beach on the bay and a 10 minute drive from the National Seashore beaches--it's perfect. Can't recommend it enough. We're already planning to go back again next year.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
Allen M
(Homeowner Entered)

great place. highly recommended. 10 minute walk to small beach, larger beaches easily accessible by car. nice fenced garden that suits families with kids well.

Date of Stay: September 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
Patrick O
(Homeowner Entered)

What a great hideaway. Our family really enjoyed the location and spent a lot of time on the beach enjoying both the low and high tide. The house had everything we needed and we loved the deck and did a lot of grilling.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
Cindy M
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry was a tremendous host. His property is clean central to all the activities available on the outer Cape. His communication throughout was excellent, he was very accommodating with any issues we may have had. I highly recommend this property and especially Jerry.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
John C
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a great experience on the cape while staying at Jerry's home. The location was ideal for a family with small children. There was a large, fenced-in yard and the house was within walking distance to a wonderful bay side beach. Jerry provided a crib as well as a pack n play which was incredibly helpful. The house was 5 minutes from the cape cod institute; in case anyone is considering this as lodging while taking a course. One could easily ride a bike over to the classes. The house was also close to the cape cod rail trail, lots of good restaurants, and was an easy drive to larger cape cod destinations. Jerry and his wife were very helpful and reached out to offer tips for activities on rainy days geared toward The needs of our family.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
Jared P
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful place, great location. Just be aware or beach sticker fees do you don't get a ticket.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
Melissa A
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry's home is in a wonderful neighborhood. It is walkable to Sunken Meadow beach and it is a lovely plot which is quiet and private. The house has all of the amenities one would need and is quaint, private, and cozy. The deck is also a delight - it is large with a great table for eating dinners outside. Jerry, as an owner, is extremely accommodating and responsive to our many questions. Make sure you read the sign-in book as former guests have left lots of great recommendations on local spots to see. Our family was very comfortable and had a great vacation!

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
Kristen P
(Homeowner Entered)

Beautiful Cape Cod cottage perfect for relaxing. Immaculate and cozy. We enjoyed our stay and will rent it again.

Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: March 2020
Nancy M
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry is a fantastic host!!! His communication with me was over and above what I was expecting. From booking to asking questions before our vacation and during our stay, Jerry was alway available and responded to texts very quickly. His place is better than in the pictures, they truly don't do his place justice. The place was clean, tidy and better than we expected. The kitchen had plenty of dishes, cookery and such. The beds were better than we expected, being a rental, we thought they may be on the hard side, but we were pleasantly surprised! The bathrooms were well kept, updated and of ample size. The kitchen was nice, having a full size fridge and gas stove was a plus. The living area was a good size with a love seat and couch, across was a large table with bench seating on each side. There is a good sized flat screen with cable tv and wireless internet. Outside there a large deck with a large table. This is where we spent out nights hanging out, it was so nice and peaceful there! The outdoor shower was huge and very nice after a hot beach day. We had been there during a heat wave and the air conditioners handles the heat with ease! The house sits on a corner lot and there is parking on both sides of the lot. The bayside beach, sunken meadow beach, is a short walk. If you stay at Jerry's place you need to take a walk or ride down to the beach at sunset. It is so beautiful there. It's not something you want to miss. There are lots of people that go own to that beach at sunset just to watch the sun go down. Shortly after we arrived, Jerry messaged me that someone would be by to look at a couple small issues the previous renters had damaged. These didn't bother us and it was nice to know that Jerry had things under control and his wanting to make sure we had everything working in the order that they should be. Jerry is a gracious host and we hope to be back there next year for our family vacation.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2020
Matthew L
(Homeowner Entered)

Wonderful house - nice and clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The deck and the outdoor shower are A+. It's also perfect for kids, with a great fenced in yard. The neighborhood is very quiet and the house felt private. We love this area of the Cape and had a fabulous week! Jerry was a wonderful host, always very prompt at responding and very helpful.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2020
Laura W
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a nice stay in Jerry's home. The deck was particularly nice for breakfast and BBQs. Bayside beach was in walking distance but be aware of the low tide - Jerry has this information in their booklet. There was also a great TV entertainment choice (ESPN, HBO etc). Bought a 60 $ pass for national seashore beaches and loved all the seaside beaches.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2020
Jochen P
(Homeowner Entered)

Jerry absolutely made us feel welcome and took care of everything that needed it. We loved the neighborhood, amid towering trees and honeysuckle and cape breezes; the two college girls accompanying us loved the fact that the beach was a short walk. The house is lovely; it feels like a beautifully maintained beach house, with all the creature comforts.

Date of Stay: June 2016
Date Submitted: March 2020
Tom B
(Homeowner Entered)

We had a wonderful stay in this little cape cottage cabin. We walked into a very tidy and clean home. The house sits on a large wooded lot with plenty of privacy, but nice neighboring homes nearby. It is obvious the owners have put in a lot of work updating the place. We had plenty of room for the three of us and many conveniences. Such as, laundry room, 2 full baths including outdoor shower and fully equipped kitchen. Along with large screen TV and basic cable. We were grateful the hosts supplied us with bedding and some bath towels. A shed offered sand chairs and other beach/water toys.

Date of Stay: September 2015
Date Submitted: March 2020
Nancy P
(Homeowner Entered)

Our family of 4 (mom, dad, Lia (6yo) and Sadie (2yo) loves our stay in the cape! This house was all we needed for the week. Wifi, access to kids shows, walk to a simple but fun bay side beach and lots of room to run around outside! We enjoyed the porch and grill very much. Ask, the areas surrounding were full of fun things to do (for adults too!) Beaides the beaches, we went to museums, a lavender farm, played mini golf, ate awesome ice cream and saw a potato chip factory - just to name a few. We loved Jerrys home and are happy he shared it with us :)

Date of Stay: August 2015
Date Submitted: March 2020
Christine S
(Homeowner Entered)