Your browser's security settings have disabled Javascript, which is required to use this web site effectively.
Please alter your security settings. Click here to see how.

Comfortable, Family-Friendly Bass River near Beaches
So. Yarmouth Vacation Rental - ID 16900

5 BR
2 baths
Sleeps 9
Beds: 5 BRs: 1 king, 2 doubles, 3 twins
Beach: 1/2 block to River; 1 mile to Bass River Beach
Guest Reviews: 13 reviews
Time active: 4 years, 2 months
Contact details:
  Email Lucy
Contact Lucy, by e-mail.
Please mention Property ID# 16900 from WeNeedaVacation.com! And don't forget to check availability first.
13 reviews
Have you stayed here? Write a review

A real taste of historic Bass River with a local "beach" area and windmill just steps away and a
healthy hike to Nantucket Sound. Area amenities were within 1 mile with a ton of restaurants,
shops and recreational activities. This is a getaway for someone who longs for old Cape Cod, the
simplicity of life (with all the amenities!) and sand in your feet. The home was clean, the
property owner delightful with lots of information and assistance. She helped in every way to
make our stay a pleasant one.

Date of Stay: August 2017
Date Submitted: March 2018
Seward, AK
Member since Mar 2018
A place to come back to

We love renting this house, and this will be our fourth year back. It’s spacious and has everything you need. We spend most of our time on the screened in porch as that’s our favorite place. I love that we can walk two houses down the block and be at the beach at Bass River. It’s small and good for kids as it’s never crowded and has shallow water and lots of sand. We even walk one mile to the bay beach to go swimming. The house is in a quiet community and is very nice for taking walks.
We can’t wait to come back this August for another stay!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: July 2017
Date Submitted: April 2018
Mahwah, NJ
Member since Apr 2018

My family chose this house to celebrate our parents' 50th anniversary and it was a perfect fit. They spent their honeymoon nearby and were amazed that after all these years, Bass River remains quaint, picturesque, peaceful. This house is charming and reminded them of the "old days". They sat on the porch, walked along the River and sat at Windmill Park. Most days we took the kids to the beach but my parents tire easily and didn't join us but they were never bored staying in. We held their party in the wonderful private yard and made surf 'n turf on the grille. We've rented houses before but never had the level of personal attention we received here.

Date of Stay: July 2016
Date Submitted: March 2018
Portland, ME
Member since Mar 2018

Quaint house filled with antiques, great location
This is a spacious older home filled with lots of antiques. Plenty of room to spread out although
most of us ended up on the screened porch in the evenings, reading, relaxing or making a puzzle.
Our family spent many summers in this area and the location was perfect for us. Easy walk or
short drive to all the local places we love. As mentioned, there is no dishwasher but there are
plenty of paper products provided as well as multiple sets of dishes for those not adverse to
hand washing. As in any old home, the stairs were somewhat steep and narrow but there was
adequate lighting and hand rails on both sides for safety.
The internet service throughout the house was excellent. There was never a problem getting on
even with 7 of us using it at the same time. Lucy is a joy to work with, very responsive if we had
a question without being intrusive. We enjoyed exploring the house with all it's historical
elements, had a fantastic vacation and would definitely come back here again.

Date of Stay: July 2015
Date Submitted: March 2018
Daryll P
Williamsburg, VA
(Homeowner Entered)
Antique charm

This was our second year staying here. I can't say enough about the location, it is close to everything you need and yet very peaceful. The front porch is great at night and morning. My family enjoys the side yard for games and dinner. Lucy, you are the plus that other rentals don't have at times. My entire family thanks again and hopefully you will be seeing the crew in 2013.
Kevin K Syracuse ny

Date of Stay: July 2012
Date Submitted: August 2012
Syracuse, NY
Member since Feb 2012
"A Very Special Vacation Home"



My large extended family just returned from a magical Fourth of July week in this special home. We have been coming to the Cape for many, many years and have finally found the ideal house for us. The area is beautiful, and ideal for walking. The house is infused with a sense of history with it's many antiques, yet is very comfortable, extremely clean and well maintained. A comfy bed is high on my wish list when traveling and this house provided a great night's sleep. The yard was so pleasant after the beach or for morning coffee, and at night the porch was the perfect gathering spot. The Windmill felt like an extension of our vacation spot, just adding to the magic! We hope to return!

Accuracy of listing:
Cleanliness of home:
Experience with homeowner:
Return to rental or recommend to friend:
Date of Stay: June 2012
Date Submitted: July 2012
Warwick, RI
Member since Jan 2008

Thank you for letting us use your home. It was the perfect place to spend our vacation as a family together. We enjoyed the close walk to the river and the family games in your beautiful yard.

Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: October 2011
Erin B
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Great family Cape home! My family and I stayed last week at this house on Willow and Willow. It was a great location for families. I stayed with my wife, and 9 other family members including 1 toddler, 1 5 yr old, and 2 teenage girls. It was the perfect place for all of us. The Bass River at the end of the street was a nice place for the kids to go in the morning to play in the sand and catch minnows and other sea life. I enjoyed running through the streets of yarmouth and across the bridge on 28 in the mornings. It's a beautiful view. Also, very close by are bars, restaurants, putt putt, and many beaches. We went to West Dennis Beach and Seagull beach that are less than 10 min drives. The rooms were quiet and had a decent amount of space. It might be tough in the hot summer with air conditioning only in one room, but it was cool at night so we slept pretty well. Also, the yard was very nice for games during the day, we had some serious family badminton games in the yard and some nice BBQs. I would recommend this house for large families that are looking for a traditional cape house. To me it was a perfect cape house with plenty to do. Lastly the large screened in porch was a nice place to end each night with a game of sorry or Skip-Bo!


Date of Stay: August 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Kevin K
Syracuse, NY
(Homeowner Entered)

Very Enjoyable Week . There was plenty of space for all of us to spread out & enjoy different activities. Dining room was great for board games, & we liked sitting in the screened porch . The beach was nearby. Lucy is a considerate owner, & we'd definitely recommend this property to friends & relatives.

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: September 2011
Mary O
Rome, GA
(Homeowner Entered)

Cape Cod-the way it should be!!! We fell in love with 'Old Cape Cod' right here at the Winslow Homestead! What a wonderful home to make lasting memories with our family. There was so much room for everyone to sprawl out and totally relax. You just can't beat the location-every morning we walked down the street to the historic Bass River Windmill Beach with coffee in one hand and a basket of homemade pastry in another.The house was so close-three homes away-that we were able to walk our kayaks down to Bass River and spend many hours enjoying the historic homes and the boats along the water. We spent many evenings on the screened porch dining,enjoying family games and relaxing conversation. Everything we needed was right there. The entire vacation was idyllic-It felt like a moment in time. I'll be back next year for TWO full weeks......I can hardly wait!!!

Date of Stay: July 2011
Date Submitted: July 2011
Peg A
Cheshire, CT
(Homeowner Entered)

In 2010, my family spent two weeks at the Winslow house. It was magic. I'm from Cape Cod and I wanted my children and grandchildren to see it as I always have. And they did. It wasn't just the house but also the big yard where they played countless games of croquet. Lucy . . . is a most accommodating owner and scoured the Cape until she could find perhaps the only croquet set there. We appreciated it. The house was big enough to give us all privacy when we wanted it. So much fun! .

Date of Stay: August 2010
Date Submitted: May 2011
Lois C
Covington, WA
(Homeowner Entered)

The Winslow house was a wonderful spot for our 2009 family vacation. There are more than enough bed rooms for our big group. The large dining room table and beautiful screened in porch were the centers of activity for evening meals and card games. The proximity to the river via the Windmill for kayaking and fishing was a great bonus not to mention the delicious bakery at the other end of the street. Being able to walk or bike to Bass River / Smugglers beach also saved a weekly $70 parking pass...we abousutely loved our stay!

Date of Stay: August 2009
Date Submitted: May 2011
Bruce B
Springfield, MA
(Homeowner Entered)

I love your house and yard! Thank you for making it so pleasant . . paper supplies very nice! Our vacation was wonderful - - your house is AMAZING!!! Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

Date of Stay: July 2009
Date Submitted: May 2011
Lee and Kit H
Knoxville, TN
(Homeowner Entered)